We will fix the mistakes at Skeldon factory – Ramotar

April 15, 2013, By , Filed Under News, Source

SIx years later, a 100 million US in the fixing strategy and the lemon remains a lemon. What is this gentleman talking about? They should not have accepted delivery of a non functioning plant in the first place. He sat on the sugar board when this process was initiated and through its completion so he ought to be fully aware it is a lemon. We have not begun to pay the chinese and interest is piling up and yet this thing cannot function to fifty percent of its intended capacity. There is no fixing this thing if you have to spend its cost in its repair. It is replacing it under the guise of fixing it and all on the backs of the poor sugar workers.

Of course when the opposition complain that the thing is s money sink hole they will deny responsibility and insist it is the opposition who is opposed to making this thing work. Mr Ramotar, you fiddled, fattened your pocked and failed the people. You are directly responsible for this mess as jagdeo is. There is no fixing this. There is a replacing of it. At lest that is what is the result if you have to buy it at twice its proposed cost to get it to work

Storm,

Do you mind if I ask what's your expertise? Do you have a real fulltime job? I don't mean playing guitar at the park waiting for someone to throw a buck or two in the guitar case. I see that at Skeldon market every year I go to Guyana.

SIx years later, a 100 million US in the fixing strategy and the lemon remains a lemon. What is this gentleman talking about? They should not have accepted delivery of a non functioning plant in the first place. He sat on the sugar board when this process was initiated and through its completion so he ought to be fully aware it is a lemon. We have not begun to pay the chinese and interest is piling up and yet this thing cannot function to fifty percent of its intended capacity. There is no fixing this thing if you have to spend its cost in its repair. It is replacing it under the guise of fixing it and all on the backs of the poor sugar workers.

Of course when the opposition complain that the thing is s money sink hole they will deny responsibility and insist it is the opposition who is opposed to making this thing work. Mr Ramotar, you fiddled, fattened your pocked and failed the people. You are directly responsible for this mess as jagdeo is. There is no fixing this. There is a replacing of it. At lest that is what is the result if you have to buy it at twice its proposed cost to get it to work

Storm,

Do you mind if I ask what's your expertise? Do you have a real fulltime job? I don't mean playing guitar at the park waiting for someone to throw a buck or two in the guitar case. I see that at Skeldon market every year I go to Guyana.

SKELLO WAH YUH EXPERTISE A MINNOSOTA. 

Originally Posted by PRK:

Storm,

I am a WD(a wife dactah). Yu gat any female prablems?

Storm,

SUH SKELLO YUH LIVIN ON WELFARE. HEH HEH HEH...YUH IS A LIL POT BELLY PARASITE. 

Storm,

SUH SKELLO YUH LIVIN ON WELFARE. HEH HEH HEH...YUH IS A LIL POT BELLY PARASITE. 

You are a moron to use the phrase "yuh is". Is the WD too much for you? Hahahahahaha!

You mean I can get a good spot at Skeldon market? Damn, if only I did not have other commitments to the local subway stops!

Let me know when you plan on going. I will head out there. I will bring pictures of you sitting with the rest of the crowd and post them on GNI.

I do not talk to you now why would I care to talk to you then?

President Donald Ramotar has assured Private Sector representatives in Berbice that the government is working assiduously to “correct the mistakes at the Skeldon Sugar Factory”.

http://www.kaieteurnewsonline.com/images/2013/04/donald.ramotar.jpg

President Donald Ramotar

In March, Cabinet Secretary Dr. Roger Luncheon announced that the US$200M Skeldon Sugar Factory, which was built as part of Government’s plan to reverse the sorrowful state of the country’s sugar industry was a “letdown”.

The Skeldon Sugar Factory is operating at just over 50 per cent of its capacity, and it was announced by the government in December last that millions of dollars being spent to modify the factory will still not bring it to its full operational capacity.

The Skeldon Estate was designed to produce 110,000 tonnes of sugar per annum.

In 2010, production was 33,237 tonnes and in 2011, production was 29,410 tonnes. Former President Bharrat Jagdeo had vowed to see the factory up to its full capacity.

Mr. Ramotar told the Berbice private sector over the weekend that the government had hoped that Skeldon would have performed much better, “but unfortunately it didn’t, but we are moving to correct those mistakes and I have every confidence that it will realize its full potential in the not too distant future.”

Mr. Ramotar is hoping that by the next out- of- crop, all of the remaining work left to be done on the factory will be completed.

Addressing the deficiencies at the modern sugar factory is South African firm, Bosch. However, critical works such as modification to the punt dumper design and replacement of the structure was not catered for in the Bosch contract.

The defects which will be fixed in the Bosch redesign works are those related to the bagasse feeding system and the cane conveyor system. Installing a condensate tank and obtaining a clean water supply to the factory are also on the cards.

President Ramotar believes the other sugar factories across the country can do well with more co- generation plants like the one at Skeldon. Guyana’s energy (electricity) needs will [continue to] rise in the years to come, even with the operation of the Amaila Falls Hydro Power project.

“We would have been using up all the power that the plant [Amaila] produces…. Sugar has a big role to play, [so] we must not see sugar as just sugar anymore, but we have to start seeing sugar as a complex,” the President stated.

Sugar, he said, “has not been performing as well as we wanted to”…but he believes that it has a great future, hence government’s continued investment in the sector.

“The industry has to move to do things differently, and in any type of transition in this nature with such a huge industry, it creates some levels of difficulty.”

The President noted too, that it is only a matter of time that all of the fields in GuySuCO will have to be redone to “make them more machine friendly.”

The industry, he stated, must be made more capital intensive and [must] move away from the labour intensive mode in which it currently operates.

Right on Brother  - STILL WAITING!

Originally Posted by raymond:

DG said the same about Skeldon factory when they were building it...he is a classic full ah shit Guyanese

He just want an excuse to state his credentials, as if that will somehow make the project a success

Mr Moderator you are hard on Mr Demerara_Guy.