Everybody is somebody’s friend” – Harmon defends GWI CEO

December 11, 2015 5:54 am Category: latest news A+ / A-
Minister of State, Joseph Harmon

[www.inewsguyana.com] – Minister of State, Joseph Harmon has defended the hiring of two persons at the Guyana Water Inc (GWI), both of whom are friends of the Chief Executive Officer (CEO).

The men were hired without the posts being advertised. iNews had reported that soon after he was appointed CEO of the state entity in October, Dr Richard Van West Charles hired Lance Mars as a Consultant within the Bill Department and Lear Goring as the Manager of the Debt Recovery Unit.

When contacted for a comment on the matter on Monday, December 07, the CEO told iNews that those persons who are concerned about his decision to hire the two men should write the Board of GWI.

The CEO also confirmed that the two men were known to him personally. Asked whether it was government’s policy to fill such posts without ads being placed, Minister Harmon defended the CEO’s decision, saying that it is a non-issue as long as the men were qualified.

Dr Richard Van West Charles.

Everybody is somebody’s friend” – Harmon defends GWI CEO

December 11, 2015 5:54 am Category: latest news A+ / A-

[www.inewsguyana.com] – Minister of State, Joseph Harmon has defended the hiring of two persons at the Guyana Water Inc (GWI), both of whom are friends of the Chief Executive Officer (CEO).

The men were hired without the posts being advertised. iNews had reported that soon after he was appointed CEO of the state entity in October, Dr Richard Van West Charles hired Lance Mars as a Consultant within the Bill Department and Lear Goring as the Manager of the Debt Recovery Unit.

When contacted for a comment on the matter on Monday, December 07, the CEO told iNews that those persons who are concerned about his decision to hire the two men should write the Board of GWI.

The CEO also confirmed that the two men were known to him personally. Asked whether it was government’s policy to fill such posts without ads being placed, Minister Harmon defended the CEO’s decision, saying that it is a non-issue as long as the men were qualified.

Dr Richard Van West Charles.

That is called 'putting your foot into your mouth'  Mr. Harmon.

They should advertise all public service and state entities open positions. This makes it transparent and above board. Taking this route will enable the government to acquire an inventory of skills throughout the country for future openings. This is real change.

B

"Minister Harmon defended the CEO’s decision, saying that it is a non-issue as long as the men were qualified."

Every time Harmon address an issue,he sounds like a fool they should send him to the back bench,Granger made a bad choice to select him as a spoke person.

Dis Richard Van West Charles ah Forbes Burnham son in law?

Yes Bhai.  He was SENIOR Minister appointed by his Father in Law. He took 20 years to finish his Medical Degree

"Minister Harmon defended the CEO’s decision, saying that it is a non-issue as long as the men were qualified."

Every time Harmon address an issue,he sounds like a fool they should send him to the back bench,Granger made a bad choice to select him as a spoke person.

This confirm the saying here of my two buddies who say: "they cyan't run wan cake shap and dem want fuh run wan big big country". Guyana gone fuh channa(should be goat channa).

GUYANA HAS A GOVT OR A BUNCH OF DUNCES STRUGGLING TO RUN A CAKE SHOP????????????

this is so ironic if you guys used to say the same thing when the ppp  was running the country maybe the ppp will still be ruling 

warrior posted:

GUYANA HAS A GOVT OR A BUNCH OF DUNCES STRUGGLING TO RUN A CAKE SHOP????????????

this is so ironic if you guys used to say the same thing when the ppp  was running the country maybe the ppp will still be ruling 

You did it for us. It just happen that some people could not understand what you were writing.

warrior posted:

You did it for us. It just happen that some people could not understand what you were writing.

i love the ppp i always want to be wan thief,u can teach me how to jump house

warrior posted:

Rumors have it that the PPP hired you as a thief teacher.

warrior posted:

Rumors have it that the PPP hired you as a thief teacher.

now that is a true village boy always listen for rumors