Free ride for a month via Berbice River Taxi

September 20, 2015 10:19 am Category: latest news A+ / A-
Prime Minister, Moses Nagamootoo.

[www.inewsguyana.com] – Prime Minster Moses Nagamootoo has announced that school children, nurses and pensioners will be able to travel free for one month, starting on Monday, September 21 via the Berbice River Taxi.

The announcement was made on September 18, during the opening ceremony of the11th annual Berbice Expo and Trade Fair.

“We are going to provide this service initially for one month so that we bring relief to the many poor, vulnerable and disadvantaged people in our community,” the Prime Minister said.

He explained that the APNU+AFC government is taking such a measure to reinforce the message to the bridge company that the government will not give up until the toll for crossing the Berbice River Bridge is dropped.

“The present fare is unconscionable and un-payable and they must reduce,” the Prime Minister said.

At the budget presentation on August 10, Minister of Finance, Winston Jordan had announced that the government would subsidize the Berbice Bridge Company Incorporated (BBCI) the amount that is lost from the reduced fares.

While passenger vehicles would enjoy a fixed reduction with the fares expected to drop from $2200 to $1900, other vehicles would have been granted a 10% reduction from September 01. 2015. But due a stalemate between the government and the BBCI, the deal was rejected by the company.

As a result, the government came up with a plan B and announced the introduction of the water taxi service to ply the Rosignol/ New Amsterdam route.water-taxis

Originally Posted by Danyael:

Dude each day you give us a bigger magnifying glass to see who is the real ass....YOU!!! ( note effective use of capitalization here!)

So dat make you a CERTIFIED AHOLE!!  CONGRATS!!!

Dude each day you give us a bigger magnifying glass to see who is the real ass....YOU!!! ( note effective use of capitalization here!)

Good morning gangadin...you need to add some more words to your workable vocabulary "certified *******" and "house slave" are already overused. But given you think capitalizing is effective you wont take my advice.

Free ride for a month via Berbice River Taxi

September 20, 2015 10:19 am Category: latest news A+ / A-

[www.inewsguyana.com] – Prime Minster Moses Nagamootoo has announced that school children, nurses and pensioners will be able to travel free for one month, starting on Monday, September 21 via the Berbice River Taxi.

The announcement was made on September 18, during the opening ceremony of the11th annual Berbice Expo and Trade Fair.

“We are going to provide this service initially for one month so that we bring relief to the many poor, vulnerable and disadvantaged people in our community,” the Prime Minister said.

He explained that the APNU+AFC government is taking such a measure to reinforce the message to the bridge company that the government will not give up until the toll for crossing the Berbice River Bridge is dropped.

“The present fare is unconscionable and un-payable and they must reduce,” the Prime Minister said.

At the budget presentation on August 10, Minister of Finance, Winston Jordan had announced that the government would subsidize the Berbice Bridge Company Incorporated (BBCI) the amount that is lost from the reduced fares.

While passenger vehicles would enjoy a fixed reduction with the fares expected to drop from $2200 to $1900, other vehicles would have been granted a 10% reduction from September 01. 2015. But due a stalemate between the government and the BBCI, the deal was rejected by the company.

As a result, the government came up with a plan B and announced the introduction of the water taxi service to ply the Rosignol/ New Amsterdam route.water-taxis

Welcome to Progress, PNC style !

Good morning gangadin...you need to add some more words to your workable vocabulary "certified *******" and "house slave" are already overused. But given you think capitalizing is effective you wont take my advice.

When you are capable of making sense we can discuss the issue. Until then and I expect then to be at least two decades, we will try.

These water taxis are a disaster waiting to happen.

Tek time.

PNC:

How instructive!...dunce, these taxis will serve a purpose and not lower the bridge income too much. It will be away to revitalize both corridors and increase the number of people who would simply want to take a walk to New Amsterdam. It will reintroduce a newer generation to our wonderful old city Alas is on its way to being a gaudy place with those absurd colors. I hope the council prohibits the use of some colors...pink out,,,grass green out,,,magenta out..etc

In any event, the government had no right to shut off trade here. That is the PPP habit of using the Mexican model for development...monopolies to friends.  The APNU just increase its membership by a good 10000 indos who are ecstatic at this chance to revitalize the corridor once vibrant with economic activity to the glory it once was.

I do hope a hundred more water taxis take to the river.  We need lots of personalized crafts plying the route. Each should pay a fee so the government can hire ancillary workers and security and grounds people to secure and beautify the area.

Tek time.

PNC:

Over four decades this type of service are in use at

Demerera River and the mighty Essequibo River and

no major disaster happened and it will also function

at the Berbice River.

Any major disaster at the Courantyne River crossing

to Suriname before the new ferry crossing,that service

was there for years.

When you are capable of making sense we can discuss the issue. Until then and I expect then to be at least two decades, we will try.

What presumptuousness! You rant at in each of your two line posts and yet still have the nerve to insist you make sense!

Who is this we that will try? Dude go back to being a useless paper pusher.

HAHAHA Is weh TK deh.  Dis time Ah  laang time, dis ah time fuh Canoe and Balahoo.  Laad Ah Mercy

What an informative posts....do we give this one two idiot merits or three?

What presumptuousness! You rant at in each of your two line posts and yet still have the nerve to insist you make sense!

Who is this we that will try? Dude go back to being a useless paper pusher.

You unemployed BUM who is a PARASITE to Society.  Go Fly a Kite!!!!!!!!!!

Originally Posted by Django:

Tek time.

PNC:

Over four decades this type of service are in use at

Demerera River and the mighty Essequibo River and

no major disaster happened and it will also function

at the Berbice River.

Any major disaster at the Courantyne River crossing

to Suriname before the new ferry crossing,that service

was there for years.

the racist pig is not thinking in terms of a disaster of that type. He is insisting that this is a poor decision..."blackthink" as he sees it hence sub par.

HAHAHA Is weh TK deh.  Dis time Ah  laang time, dis ah time fuh Canoe and Balahoo.  Laad Ah Mercy

ker yu r...s everything is not backward,i was in Basel

Switzerland about 700 ft away there is a bridge

across the Rhine River,a boatman runs a service

across the river people take the ride for the fun

of crossing with a boat,I had a ride too.

Here in Connecticut(during spring to fall)there is

a vehicular boat service across the Connecticut river

connecting two towns and people use it .

Next move by the government, full ferry service like Essequibo.

Get two more ferries from India for Berbice river.  

Let those greedy bastards keep their bridge and go after them for the government investment.

The government should make the Bridge contract public and let the Guyanese people decide.  Let the chips fall.

These greedy asses are holding the Guyanese people at ransom.

Last edited by Tola

Regarding the bridge, I do not know why it is so difficult to publish the bridge contract. This should be a simple matter and if there are contractual reasons why it cannot be published, there is the possibility of a "leak"

regarding the the free passage for a month. This will help in the short run but will do nothing in the long run. Well, the government discontinued the $10000 for each child attending school instituted by the PPP/civic government parents who are facing severe difficulties paying for transport for their children attending school will still face extreme difficulties. Attendance and academic performance will decline. 

People who had used the full ferry service prior to the construction of the Berbice bridge will tell you about the many oroblems they experienced. Business owners and others using the Essequibo ferry for vehicles will attest to the many delays in getting vehicles on to the ferry.

Z

the free-for-a-month is a dry run . . . i'm interested in how this affects traffic on the bridge

let's see if it concentrates the minds of de rat and the BBCI tiefmen

Contracts or not, there must be recourses for addressing the Berbice Bridge contract. Public bridges should never become private properties and even if the government has to strong arm the minority owners of this bridge, they should. Sometimes, government strong arming is necessary in the best interest of the public. What is look worse for this government is if they decide to not challenge this contract but challenge another later on which seem to benefit some special interest. The public will then bemoan that the government did not look out for them in the same way it looked out for its friends. 

Originally Posted by Tola:

Let those greedy bastards keep their bridge and go after them for the government investment.

The government should make the Bridge contract public and let the Guyanese people decide.  Let the chips fall.

It's not the wisest move to try to make the bridge unfeasible as the Govt will be on the hook to bail out.  However, some alternative should exist for those not wanting to use the bridge.  However, I don't think the Govt should get involved in making one more feasible at the expense of the other.

Originally Posted by Tola:

I do not think they should go to India. They can procure those on the west coast from BC or Washington. Just check the internet on ferry sales. Most of these boats are far more luxurious than the Chinese boats and a great deal more efficient.

Originally Posted by Zed:

Regarding the bridge, I do not know why it is so difficult to publish the bridge contract. This should be a simple matter and if there are contractual reasons why it cannot be published, there is the possibility of a "leak"

regarding the the free passage for a month. This will help in the short run but will do nothing in the long run. Well, the government discontinued the $10000 for each child attending school instituted by the PPP/civic government parents who are facing severe difficulties paying for transport for their children attending school will still face extreme difficulties. Attendance and academic performance will decline. 

People who had used the full ferry service prior to the construction of the Berbice bridge will tell you about the many oroblems they experienced. Business owners and others using the Essequibo ferry for vehicles will attest to the many delays in getting vehicles on to the ferry.

These are not identical circumstances. It is to ease the burden on poor people who have to make a five mile detour when they can take a water taxi. Most of the People going to the multilateral schools or local high schools are mere pedestrians trapped into vehicular traffic by the bridge. The businesses in the areas can need the boost. I am sure there would be increased foot traffic not catered for or not feasible by the bridge.

the free-for-a-month is a dry run . . . i'm interested in how this affects traffic on the bridge

let's see if it concentrates the minds of de rat and the BBCI tiefmen

These are mere students and workers in New Amsterdam or people who would like to do business there more frequently. A water taxi would make the run in 10 mins. It would increase traffic between the town and the rosignal area and increase business once existing between the two places.

PNC and their back to the days of rice flour, and ferry service and they will not hesitate to break down the Berbice Bridge, PNC style.

PNC, a bunch of scumbags.

PNC and their back to the days of rice flour, and ferry service and they will not hesitate to break down the Berbice Bridge, PNC style.

PNC, a bunch of scumbags.

Dunce dude, if the US did not donate wheat to boot strap our anti HIV epidemic we would be eating rice flour and have a the same 25 percent infection rate or more. Jagdeo did not put that flour there. It was the US trying to stop HIV and using wheat to boot strap the process.