The suicide of the secretary of Hindu priest, Reepu Daman Persaud

JANUARY 18, 2015 | BY  | FILED UNDER LETTERS 

Dear Editor,
The wife of a prominent lawyer made contact with me. She said her aging aunt in London eagerly reads the daily newspapers and came across something last week in one of my columns and would like more information, but she hasn’t got an e-mail address or phone number for me.
The something is a reference to the 1995 suicide of the secretary of the then Minister of Agriculture, Reepu Daman Persaud (deceased). I have made several references to this death in past columns, so the aunt must have missed it. I was told that the aunt was a fervent young parishioner of Minister Persaud when he was the officiating Hindu priest at the Seaforth Street mandir in Campbellvile. She would like to know about this suicide.
The death was reported in the Chronicle. I got to know this young lady, weeks before she took her own life. She told me her name was Shanti and she lived at Cornelia Ida. I have never written about what is to follow below but here it is now. After the PPP came into power in 1992, I thought I would like to leave UG and go into farming.
I was never attracted to the idea of a long career in academia, and country life was curious to me since I felt, as an urban boy my whole life, I needed a change of environment. All my wife’s cousins, aunts and uncles were rice-growing people. I wanted to try my hand at rustic life.
At the time the new PPP Government of Cheddi Jagan had advertised for application for state land. I applied. At the time, Mr. Datadin was the head of Lands and Survey. It was a lengthy process and I had to be back and forth at Mr. Datadin’s office and that of Minster Persaud. That is how I come to know Shanti.
As I typed this letter, Shanti is right in front of my eyes – petite with sand brown complexion, flowing black tresses and kind of short in stature with a definitely winning smile.  I would put her age at about twenty one. At the time, the Minister would have been roughly forty years her senior.
For the short months I knew Shanti, she opened up to me about her sexual relation with Minister Reepu Daman Persaud. The problem was not her sexual affair which to me she showed no particular disapproval of. It was the Minister’s failure to secure her a visa that he sincerely promised to get her.
I had no particular words of advice for Shanti, because it was clear to me she liked the Minister, trusted him and was just waiting for her visa. But Shanti was depressed because the visa wasn’t coming. The last time I saw her, before I got the land, she told me she wanted her passport to be returned because she felt she had enough of the Minister’s promises.
Mr. Datadin eventually assigned a plot of land to me at Mahaica and I was instructed to go to Minister Persaud for him to sign. The Minister was not there but Shanti was in a terrible state of depression. It was clear she needed counseling immediately. She told me the Minister tore up her passport and she pointed to her replacement in the office that the Minister had brought in. It was clear to me that the Minister had used Shanti and had now moved on. That was the last I saw of this tragic young woman. The next week the Chronicle reported her suicide.
Almost forty years, yes forty years before Shant took her life, I had urged my mother not to attend the mandir where Reepu Daman Persaud preached. I told my mother that he was a total snob of ordinary Hindus and that he only conducted private services (like durga pat’ jandhi, yags) for rich Hindus.
At the time, the competitor of Reepu Daman Persaud was Gowkarran Sharma, a Minister in Forbes Burnham’s Government. He was a Hindu priest with his own mandir at Camp and Quamina Streets. He was my mother’s first cousin (his sons still carry on their father’s tradition at that very mandir which would make them my second cousins) but my mom was an ardent supporter of the PPP, so she preferred to worship at the temple of Reepu Daman Persaud.
The other side of Reepu Daman Persaud is well known in Guyana and it certainly is not flattering. I will leave that for another discussion on this most controversial Hindu pandit who died several years ago. I hope these notes satisfy the lady in London. I hope it has opened her eyes. In the academic world, we call it, revisionist history.
Frederick Kissoon

Originally Posted by Wally:

Pandit Reep did many jandhis for families and he never charged a penny or wanted anything. I saw it with my own eyes.

Does that make him a saint ?

Religious leaders in Guyana continue with the same abuse.

Government officials in Berbice have destroyed many young women, now with mental illness, who went for jobs. 

Last edited by Tola

Dear Editor,
The wife of a prominent lawyer made contact with me. She said her aging aunt in London eagerly reads the daily newspapers and came across something last week in one of my columns and would like more information, but she hasn’t got an e-mail address or phone number for me.
The something is a reference to the 1995 suicide of the secretary of the then Minister of Agriculture, Reepu Daman Persaud (deceased). I have made several references to this death in past columns, so the aunt must have missed it. I was told that the aunt was a fervent young parishioner of Minister Persaud when he was the officiating Hindu priest at the Seaforth Street mandir in Campbellvile. She would like to know about this suicide.
The death was reported in the Chronicle. I got to know this young lady, weeks before she took her own life. She told me her name was Shanti and she lived at Cornelia Ida. I have never written about what is to follow below but here it is now. After the PPP came into power in 1992, I thought I would like to leave UG and go into farming.
I was never attracted to the idea of a long career in academia, and country life was curious to me since I felt, as an urban boy my whole life, I needed a change of environment. All my wife’s cousins, aunts and uncles were rice-growing people. I wanted to try my hand at rustic life.
At the time the new PPP Government of Cheddi Jagan had advertised for application for state land. I applied. At the time, Mr. Datadin was the head of Lands and Survey. It was a lengthy process and I had to be back and forth at Mr. Datadin’s office and that of Minster Persaud. That is how I come to know Shanti.
As I typed this letter, Shanti is right in front of my eyes – petite with sand brown complexion, flowing black tresses and kind of short in stature with a definitely winning smile.  I would put her age at about twenty one. At the time, the Minister would have been roughly forty years her senior.
For the short months I knew Shanti, she opened up to me about her sexual relation with Minister Reepu Daman Persaud. The problem was not her sexual affair which to me she showed no particular disapproval of. It was the Minister’s failure to secure her a visa that he sincerely promised to get her.
I had no particular words of advice for Shanti, because it was clear to me she liked the Minister, trusted him and was just waiting for her visa. But Shanti was depressed because the visa wasn’t coming. The last time I saw her, before I got the land, she told me she wanted her passport to be returned because she felt she had enough of the Minister’s promises.
Mr. Datadin eventually assigned a plot of land to me at Mahaica and I was instructed to go to Minister Persaud for him to sign. The Minister was not there but Shanti was in a terrible state of depression. It was clear she needed counseling immediately. She told me the Minister tore up her passport and she pointed to her replacement in the office that the Minister had brought in. It was clear to me that the Minister had used Shanti and had now moved on. That was the last I saw of this tragic young woman. The next week the Chronicle reported her suicide.
Almost forty years, yes forty years before Shant took her life, I had urged my mother not to attend the mandir where Reepu Daman Persaud preached. I told my mother that he was a total snob of ordinary Hindus and that he only conducted private services (like durga pat’ jandhi, yags) for rich Hindus.
At the time, the competitor of Reepu Daman Persaud was Gowkarran Sharma, a Minister in Forbes Burnham’s Government. He was a Hindu priest with his own mandir at Camp and Quamina Streets. He was my mother’s first cousin (his sons still carry on their father’s tradition at that very mandir which would make them my second cousins) but my mom was an ardent supporter of the PPP, so she preferred to worship at the temple of Reepu Daman Persaud.
The other side of Reepu Daman Persaud is well known in Guyana and it certainly is not flattering. I will leave that for another discussion on this most controversial Hindu pandit who died several years ago. I hope these notes satisfy the lady in London. I hope it has opened her eyes. In the academic world, we call it, revisionist history.
Frederick Kissoon

Lies, Lies and More Lies.

Dear Editor,
Frederick Kissoon

Lies, Lies and More Lies.

One of the things the PPP is good for, everyone else lie, but they are the only on speaking the truth. Denial at its best.

FREDDIE GOT TO ANSWER THIS LETTER or else his reputation will be blown to smitteren.

Freddie has shown himself to be a complete coward

JANUARY 19, 2015 | BY  | FILED UNDER LETTERS 

Dear Editor,
I read with dismay and disgust the letter published by Frederick Kissoon in your papers on Sunday January 18, 2015. Freddie has shown himself to be a complete coward and of truly despicable nature to write this story when my father, Pandit Reepu Daman Persaud is no longer alive to defend himself or to file a defamation action against Freddie for printing blatant lies clearly aimed at destroying his reputation and character; the reputation and character of someone who has been a dedicated servant of Guyana and the Hindu community for decades.
Freddie’s allegations are shown to be patently false from the first line. My father never had a Secretary named Shanti. His Secretary who committed suicide was Ramona. She was not petite and, during the time I knew her, which was many years, I never saw her “flowing black tresses”. She always had her hair tied up in a bun on top her head. Further, she was not from Cornelia Ida, but had lived her whole life in Leonora. Ramona and another Secretary, Rosanne, worked together in my father’s office for years.  Ramona worked with him up to the time she died and she was never replaced during her lifetime.
Ramona was a decent and hardworking girl who got married to a Trinidadian man in a midnight ceremony at her parent’s home in Leonora. She subsequently found out that the man had another wife with children and had fooled her. She was devastated by this betrayal and the relationship ended. Prior to this marriage, and during her teenage years, Ramona had loved a boy from her village but this relationship was not allowed to progress because of disapproval by the boy’s parents.  When she took her life, dressed in bridal clothes, this boy was getting married to another girl that same weekend. It was his matikor night.
It is clear that Freddie has manufactured this story for his own malicious purposes. It is obvious from his letter that he had a long standing dislike for my father. With regard to the land, my father told me that Freddie was annoyed with him and abusive to him because he told him that he needed to apply for land like everyone else.
I trust that Kaieteur News would not continue to be party to this one man campaign which is clearly aimed at destroying the memory of a person who was very much loved and respected  in Guyana and further afield.
Vindhya Vasini Persaud

Originally Posted by TI:

Freddie has reputation? Hehehe! The Librarian looking for him

Dont skin yuh teet like wan likkle chile. Is a true true story. Dat man Reep was de biggest pandit bandit pun de land. De man had sweet homan pun Mahaica and pun Wakenaam. Doh is a true true story.

Did Cheddi ever cared to know the character of the people he put in power?

I met Reeps in 1992. He was not a nice person. He was a racists. And had no business to be in the government. That chap wanted to know from me,"Who the hell is Sam Hinds."

CBJ was no leader-he lacked the insight of knowing honest people.

I don't think the pandit was a racist.  His first wife may have been a Chinese Guyanese.  I mean if he was a racist then he would have never married someone from another race.

Well more definite. He wasn't  too fond of black people. Even Indians feared him for his vindictiveness. Any Indian who progressed under PNC rule, he juss hated them. And CBJ knew this. And I thought at the time, even Cheddie feared him. Asgar Ali was on his target sights, eventually Cheddie fired the man.  

The Jagans knew of the suicide of the girl, but they looked else where. Just as they looked else where on the Monca Reece murder.  

Was Reepu a bandit? I mean was Hubcap a bandit?