Sri Srinivasan is pictured in this undated file photo. (Courtesy of the Department of Justice)

President Obama has narrowed his list of potential Supreme Court nominees to about six names, our colleagues on The Post politics staff report.

One jurist in the running, whose name has been floated for the Supreme Court starting almost immediately after Justice Antonin Scalia’s death, would make history: Sri Srinivasan would be the first Hindu justice ever to serve on the Supreme Court.

On a judicial body whose members’ faiths have often been discussed by observers trying to understand their rulings, Srinivasan would bring a different experience.

He was sworn in on the Bhagavad Gita, a Hindu holy book, when he started his current job on the U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit. “Hindus Laud Judge Srinivasan for Taking Oath on Gita,” the Hindu American Foundation’s news release read at the time.

[A 2013 profile was already speculating about Srinivasan as a future Supreme Court prospect]

In what way would a hypothetical Justice Srinivasan bring Hindu tradition to bear when making decisions about religiously charged issues like abortion and gay rights? What do Hindus believe about contraception or the death penalty?

Srinivasan did not respond to a request for comment about his own religious beliefs, and his prior judicial record gives few clues.

Hinduism, the faith of less than 1 percent of the American public, includes many gods and a belief in reincarnation. While it is distinctly different from the Protestant, Catholic and Jewish faiths of prior Supreme Court justices, several religious leaders and academic experts say that the religion might be well-suited to the high court — because it is a highly pluralistic faith, with no dogmatic guidelines that every Hindu community agrees on.

“There is no such thing as a Hindu belief about, say, abortion or stem cell research right now which would influence any particular case. Any Hindu who occupies a judicial position will interpret the law as it is, rather than through his or her religious viewpoint,” said Vasudha Narayanan, an expert on Hinduism in America who teaches at the University of Florida. “There is no Hindu baggage, as such, at all.”

Source: https://www.washingtonpost.com...r-the-supreme-court/

baseman posted:

This is a long shot, but that would be something if Srinivasan becomes a Justice of the Supreme Court.  

Caribj might have a pique of fit!!

Oh, I forgot the "mother of all Thief"

And some Indian ones would go to Home Depot and buy rope

baseman posted:

This is a long shot, but that would be something if Srinivasan becomes a Justice of the Supreme Court.  

guess you know your Guyanese suicidal people well

baseman posted:

Crabs??

Is why you getting personal with Bibi?

If Obama is shortlisting this judge for consideration to the Supreme Court then it means that he is a Liberal leaning judge. There is no way that Trump will appoint a Liberal judge to the Supreme court if he is a Republican president. 

baseman posted:

If Obama is shortlisting this judge for consideration to the Supreme Court then it means that he is a Liberal leaning judge. There is no way that Trump will appoint a Liberal judge to the Supreme court if he is a Republican president. 

Trump has a lot of Liberal views.  For example, he totally disagreed with Scalia comments on Affirmative Action regarding allocation of slots for Blacks!!  Trump does not tout the Evangelical agenda as other GOP conservative do.

He is conservative with certain things, mainly economic, but on Social issues he is more Center than Right!!

This elections is a battle for the presidency as well as the balance of power in the Supreme Court. There is no way in hell the Republican Congressmen and Senators will allow him to appoint a Liberal judge. Just not happening. Why do you think they are trying to block any appointment by Obama? You think now they will allow Trump to appoint the same judge that Obama had in mind? You real jokey.

baseman posted:

I'm sure the Donald views the Hindu doctrine as an ally in the front against the marauding Islamists and Sharia!!

in context, what exactly is "the Hindu doctrine" of Sri Srinivasan klown?

baseman posted:
Cobra posted:

Donald Trump may agree with Sri Srinivasan pick to the supreme court since he has the Hindu elites backing him in his presidential bid.

I'm sure the Donald views the Hindu doctrine as an ally in the front against the marauding Islamists and Sharia!!

are you one of those silly people who think that Sharia will  become the law of the land in the US?

Is you Rass the man ta;lkin bout

Some thing is fishy,bhai bust the bubble nuh.

She thinks like a man and act like a woman

Who dis, Cobra?

redux posted:
baseman posted:

If you don't know, well, stay off this topic. Justice Sri Srinivasan is one very educated "coolie man".

redux posted:
baseman posted:

If you don't know, well, stay off this topic. Justice Sri Srinivasan is one very educated "coolie man".

oi, idiot setting fowl, guh ask yuh chile or sumbady with lil bit of education to translate my post for u, arite?

i embarrassed for u simply because we are both Guyanese

smh