What would you be doing?

On a Sunday in hometown Guyana? Not today's Guyana, but yesteryear Guyana where fond memories meant something to talk about.  

Image result for bush cook in guyana

Bush-cook?

Image result for sooring girls in guyana

Mommy holding her children hands on a cool stroll going to aunty kumsy house? 

Image result for bush cook in guyana

Catching, buying or selling Iguanas to cook with a bottle of white rum waiting?

Image result for going to cinema in guyana

Going to a cockroach-infested cinema to soor a girl you think you like? 

Image result for children days in guynan

Or this?

Image result for bush days in guynan

Or this?

Image result for riding bicycle in guynan

Or this?

What are your fond memories (for keepsake) when you were there?

1.  Why are the Indo kids walking around barefooted, and the mother has on slippers? Is that not dangerous?  What if they step on a piece of glass?

2. Are the iguanas used as pets or are they eaten? 

VM, I suggest you visit Guyana and see how people live. Iguanas grow as huge as tyrannosaurus rex bai. What you see in the picture are just hatchlings. You should see the rats, they are as large as hyenas. The cockroaches are as big as Alaskan King Crab.

Valid question Vish, why are those children walking barefoot ?

I suggest you visit Guyana and get in touch. There are those who brag about their wealth, homes, cars.... A genuine human being will help those in difficult times and identifies with their pains and share what little he has.

People who enjoy their wealth all by themselves, without sharing, are no different from animals who fill their stomachs with what they grab. Such a person is not a Vaishnav.

1.  Why are the Indo kids walking around barefooted, and the mother has on slippers? Is that not dangerous?  What if they step on a piece of glass?

2. Are the iguanas used as pets or are they eaten? 

VM, I suggest you visit Guyana and see how people live. Iguanas grow as huge as tyrannosaurus rex bai. What you see in the picture are just hatchlings. You should see the rats, they are as large as hyenas. The cockroaches are as big as Alaskan King Crab.

Huh?

Banna, Yu wan knucklehead.

There is an Iguana on dis site....a wonda he related to dem iguanas above.

I suggest you visit Guyana and get in touch. There are those who brag about their wealth, homes, cars.... A genuine human being will help those in difficult times and identifies with their pains and share what little he has.

People who enjoy their wealth all by themselves, without sharing, are no different from animals who fill their stomachs with what they grab. Such a person is not a Vaishnav.

Bai, you hit it better than I could.  He is a talker!

Interestingly, the first thing we did when we started the Learning Center was purchase over 200 pairs of slippers for kids to attend school.  I remember my sister-in-law compiling a list of names with foot sizes and went to Guyana Stores and street vendors and filled it all in the trunk of a car.  When she arrived at the village, more kids from neighboring villages came for slippers!

Valid question my foot. Gilbakka attended primary school most times barefoot. I ran errands for my parents most times barefoot. I stumped my toes, walked on pimpla, got a bottle cut in a drains, etc. But I never got chigga.

Went to primary school without owning a pair of shoes. Walked barefoot on the hot road at lunchtime. Got caught in the rain returning to school after lunch and sat in wet clothes all afternoon. These were common conditions for most kids growing up.

Bai, you hit it better than I could.  He is a talker!

Interestingly, the first thing we did when we started the Learning Center was purchase over 200 pairs of slippers for kids to attend school.  I remember my sister-in-law compiling a list of names with foot sizes and went to Guyana Stores and street vendors and filled it all in the trunk of a car.  When she arrived at the village, more kids from neighboring villages came for slippers!

Best wishes with the work you and your family are doing.  Hoping to see peace between you and Tola.

Valid question my foot. Gilbakka attended primary school most times barefoot. I ran errands for my parents most times barefoot. I stumped my toes, walked on pimpla, got a bottle cut in a drains, etc. But I never got chigga.

Went to primary school without owning a pair of shoes. Walked barefoot on the hot road at lunchtime. Got caught in the rain returning to school after lunch and sat in wet clothes all afternoon. These were common conditions for most kids growing up.

There is not virtue in being poor banna....

Maybe yall should do some good and send some barrels, slippers and food for them sugar workers kids in Berbice who were laid off. 

You can start a drive for Xmas in your hood. The Dharam Sala needs help.

There is no vice in being poor either. Poverty taught me not to waste stuff, to cherish even cheap stuff, to strive for betterment, to educate myself, etc. Come to think of it, all these things make up the virtue in poverty.

Whats a pimpla?

Something painful if ee guk you foot.  

Tola posted:

There is no vice in being poor either. Poverty taught me not to waste stuff, to cherish even cheap stuff, to strive for betterment, to educate myself, etc. Come to think of it, all these things make up the virtue in poverty.

Whats a pimpla?

Something painful if ee guk you foot.  

So true. Whilst some will pave the way with petals for you, there are others who will throw or set pimplas.

Whats a pimpla?

Thorn. Walking barefoot through tall grass you could encounter thorns on hidden fallen branches. I stepped on one. My grandmother extracted the broken embedded pimpla and then dropped hot soft grease on the spot to prevent infection.

Whats a pimpla?

Thorn. Walking barefoot through tall grass you could encounter thorns on hidden fallen branches. I stepped on one. My grandmother extracted the broken embedded pimpla and then dropped hot soft grease on the spot to prevent infection.

There is no rose without a pimpla. 

Vish

yuh need some more education bout Guyana

Its a work in progress banna

....KP and Skeldon-Man with his NANCY (I got this word from Django dictionary) stories.

Anansi (/əˈnɑːnsi/ ə-NAHN-see) is an Akan folktale character. He often takes the shape of a spider and is considered to be the spirit of all knowledge of stories. He is also one of the most important characters of West African and Caribbean folklore.

He is also known as Ananse, Kwaku Ananse, and Anancy. In the New World he is known as Nancy, Aunt Nancy and Sis' Nancy.[1] He is a spider, but often acts and appears as a man.

Vish,

hopefully you know who is Nancy,the above explains.

Whats a pimpla?

Image result for thorn

Why don't YOU send them something. Seems like a lot of the folks here help out already in various ways. Plus thru the school alumni associations in the US. Instead of lecturing we and asking shitty questions day in and day out, send dem people back home a lil freck nuh?

What would you be doing?

On a Sunday in hometown Guyana? Not today's Guyana, but yesteryear Guyana where fond memories meant something to talk about.  

Sunday afternoon was for the movies - Strand, Metropole, Globe, Astor, Plaza. All the fun of joining big lines to get in. Pretending yuh older than 16 or 18. And sooring dem gyurls, especially de ones from yuh school.