Originally Posted by Devindra:

The Amalia Falls Hydro Project poses large fiscal risks, should it fail to deliver the promised benefits.  Source IMF

Well Dev if you think it is a risk, read this:

"In the event, however, that the government assumes the full obligations of the project, public debt to GDP ratio would rise by 30 percentage points."

Nah me seh this, I read this on an IMF website and have always kept this on my computer.  If Amalia goes wrong, it will bruk the bank in Guyana and it is back to the PNC days of hyperinflation.

I have read also an IMF report which says that:

"Tariff reduction of 20 percent will result in a 0.4% surplus to the Guyana economy".

So who benefits from a 20% reduction in tariff for the workers?

The poor and the working class, so all those who continue to play politics with this issue are not hurting the PPP, they are hurting the working class and I call on the AFC and APNU to seriously review this project and join with the PPP in lobbying the IDB and the Americans to support this project.

THIS IS A GOOD PROJECT FOR GUYANA, UNLIKE THE MARRIOT AND THE AIRPORT PROJECT WHICH ARE CLEAR EXAMPLES OF PPP SQUANDER-MANIA AND TIEFING.

Originally Posted by Ronald Narain:

I have read also an IMF report which says that:

"Tariff reduction of 20 percent will result in a 0.4% surplus to the Guyana economy".

So who benefits from a 20% reduction in tariff for the workers?

The poor and the working class, so all those who continue to play politics with this issue are not hurting the PPP, they are hurting the working class and I call on the AFC and APNU to seriously review this project and join with the PPP in lobbying the IDB and the Americans to support this project.

THIS IS A GOOD PROJECT FOR GUYANA, UNLIKE THE MARRIOT AND THE AIRPORT PROJECT WHICH ARE CLEAR EXAMPLES OF PPP SQUANDER-MANIA AND TIEFING.

Bai, stop braying.  The project is already underway.  The Chinese already have their pilot force in place in Guyana.

i support this hydro project this is the first project any government should have done but to be honest i cannot see the ppp finishing this project which is a big lose for guyana the government should be more open and show the books on this project so they can get the whole country support

You could never see....even if you are about to be hit by the passing train.

WHEN WILL GUYANA GET AMALIA?

Guyana will never develop a project at AMALIA.

However, the hydroelectric proposal at AMAILA Falls will be developed.

What a genius we have here???

The helpless Stormborn mutters to himself.

Originally Posted by ABIDHA:

The Amalia Falls Hydro Project poses large fiscal risks, should it fail to deliver the promised benefits.  Source IMF

This obsession of "what if" is fit for the rasta man when say kill it before it grows. Any sensible person wouldn't waste their effort on failure.

I know you you old fart and if the person I see you hanging out with is Nehru them I also know him, another old fart.

But I am not a technician, so I leave this to the brains on the site.  Where is Ronald, he seem to know what he talking about.