Originally Posted by Reza R. Rahaman:

Where in the world is Moses Nagamotoo.  And, if he is jetting off to Texas, what is the reason for such a sudden visit?  Too much secrecy going on.

Could be he gone for a penile implant or to get cavity filled or to bang some hot chula in a west texas colonias he met on a trip elsewhere. When we know we should speak to it.

Originally Posted by Django:
Originally Posted by Tola:

Texas is known for a lot of things,one of them is

black gold.

And an author who supply free books to Guyanese students.

He used some of my 60s photos for a publication. 

You got to post some of those photos,make sure you

put your name in water mark.

Just finished scanning 1000 B&W 120mm negatives  from 60-67. Plan to publish about 400 early next year for Guyana 50th and will try to locate other people and give them prints, no charge. 

Parents and grandparents  allowed me to take their family picture 50 years ago and its my gift to their families, most are overseas.

Their children and grandchildren might appreciate the gesture.

Reunions in TO, NY, Atlanta and Florida will assist with delivery.

I have a question.

About the same time, I also took about 50 photos of our extended family in Nikari and would like to give them prints, but I lost contact, because all of our older family members have passed on.  

Photos including female/male broadcasters at the Nikari radio station who broadcasted Indian songs to Guiana in the 60s.

There are photos of old people and children who will now be about 60. From poor families who might not have photos of their family.

But I am lost, been away from Guyana/Nikari  too long.

I visited an old man name Hito Ram whose son owned the Cosmopolitan Hotel in Nikari and other son Lilboy lived  a few miles outside of Nikari on a sugar plantation. I have photos of them.

Any suggestion from anyone ?    

Best you create a website using something like Wordpress because it is template based and easy to use. Practice using the free version then you can buy a name at godaddy and move the final site there.

Upload the pictures by year and by location and or occasion since you have so many of them. Each grouping can have a narrative associated so people can find  them

You can watermark the uploaded version and reserve the rights to be paid for others who want to use them in publications or even charge for a real igh rez hard copy.

Originally Posted by VVP:

There is also Weebly.com where you can build your

own website it is free and also paid cost not much,

i use it for my business webpage.

What the rass yuh sehing there bai?

oww bhai i mean it is free and you can also pay to

get their weebly logo off your website.

arite, now ah comprehend 

Originally Posted by ball:

Tola one of the radio announcer was it Kamla Devi from radio Radhika?

Oh my goodness Ball yes, its Kamla and the other guy announcer, including photos of the building in 1963. About four photos were taken of them at the broadcast location. It was a new building in an open area with no fence or trees. An 'L' shape high one-story building on 6/8 feet pedestals, flat top. 

I was looking  for the original proof print so I can give the exact date and the guys name, but I have prints all over my kitchen table/ counter and cant find them at the moment., More later.

She was/is a very pretty young women and two other guys are standing in the photos.

I used to have their contact information, but it got misplaced.     

Originally Posted by D2:

Best you create a website using something like Wordpress because it is template based and easy to use. Practice using the free version then you can buy a name at godaddy and move the final site there.

Upload the pictures by year and by location and or occasion since you have so many of them. Each grouping can have a narrative associated so people can find  them

You can watermark the uploaded version and reserve the rights to be paid for others who want to use them in publications or even charge for a real igh rez hard copy.

Thanks D2, I am starting to think the photos could be distribute more efficiently  on a website, similar to  albioncommunity.webs.com [sp], cant find the exact name at the moment.

The most difficult part of scanning is complete and I started to text the scanned photos with dates.

Fortunately, I had the insight to write at the back of the proof prints some details, that is helpful to date the photos. I don't even remember my GF name 50 years ago, so some  photo dates with the prints  might be bit challenging.

I really appreciate your suggestions.    

There is also Weebly.com where you can build your

own website it is free and also paid cost not much,

i use it for my business webpage.

Thanks Django, I like the idea of a website, I don't mind paying the cost.

I believe the collection of photos have a significant value to the new generations of Guyanese, especially those living overseas. The photos tell a story about Guyana and the people during that time. Politics, everyday life, scouting, traveling in the train, GT, photos from Nikari to Charity, Bartica, Redwater creek, including Essequibo islands and about  20 other categories.

But bai, its a big job and I am not 19 any more.  

I really like how this topic evolved, that benefit this project tremendously. This is what is so great about GNI.

We need to appreciate GNI more often and not be so negative, including myself.

This is a wonderful resource for our growth as Guyanese.

D2 knows about computers, Django know how to say the right thing and Cain and Warria keep everyone in line.

Others contribute too, but dem get knock down often.  

Originally Posted by D2:

Thanks D2, I am starting to think the photos could be distribute more efficiently  on a website, similar to  albioncommunity.webs.com [sp], cant find the exact name at the moment.

The most difficult part of scanning is complete and I started to text the scanned photos with dates.

Fortunately, I had the insight to write at the back of the proof prints some details, that is helpful to date the photos. I don't even remember my GF name 50 years ago, so some  photo dates with the prints  might be bit challenging.

Cool website However, you will have to be a bit more creative than these people since you will have lots more pictures and they will have to be searchable.. I suggest you start naming the scans after a scheme that may be composed or a place name, occasion, and date so you can get accurate searches.

Originally Posted by D2:

Cool website However, you will have to be a bit more creative than these people since you will have lots more pictures and they will have to be searchable.. I suggest you start naming the scans after a scheme that may be composed or a place name, occasion, and date so you can get accurate searches.

Early this year we hosted the [National] Canada Winter Games, where I captured  a few thousand images from a number of sport events.

Nikon was in town and lent us their most recent equipment  and huge lens.

They also did free servicing for our own cameras.

I retired my D200 with CF card and got a D7100 with dual SD cards,[D7200 just came out] as first backup with dual images,  because I had a card failed, which could  be a disaster on assignments.

It would seem off-market cards with brand names are surfacing, with frequent failures.

Each photographer  at the CWG was allowed to selected 50 of the best photos from each event for the website.

We used a program called GEM-PRO to ID and make the photos searchable to the international press and others.

I already arranged the scanned photos in 20 categories and made selection for each category.

This was my thought for the book, about 400 photos, but  a website could accommodate much more.

Thanks D2.  

Originally Posted by D2:

Early this year we hosted the [National] Canada Winter Games, where I captured  a few thousand images from a number of sport events.

I retired my D200 with CF card and got a D7100 with dual SD cards,[D7200 just came out] as first backup with dual images,  because I had a card failed, which could  be a disaster on assignments.

It would seem off-market cards with brand names are surfacing, with frequent failures.

Each photographer  at the CWG was allowed to selected 50 of the best photos from each event for the website.

We used a program called GEM-PRO to ID and make the photos searchable to the international press and others.

I already arranged the scanned photos in 20 categories and made selection for each category.

This was my thought for the book, about 400 photos, but  a website could accommodate much more.

Thanks D2.  

Get with the times man. That camera was released in 2005. 

Photography is one of my hobbies. One of my lens is 500 times more expensive that that ancient camera.

I pity you.

Originally Posted by D2:

Thanks D2.  

Photography is one of my hobbies. One of my lens is 500 times more expensive that that ancient camera.

I pity you.

i KNOW tOLA WOULD LOVE TO ANSWER WITH

I BEG YUR FKIN PARDON DIPSHEET!!!!

Originally Posted by D2:

Thanks D2.  

I pity you.

Thanks for the compliment Yuji. Wha you shooting with ?

Originally Posted by D2:

Thanks D2.  

I pity you.

SHIT!

Originally Posted by D2:

Thanks D2.  

I pity you.

Yuji me serious, maybe we can learn from each other.

Cain on he pipe again and me with a glass of Spanish sherry.

Originally Posted by D2:

Thanks D2.  

I pity you.

Dats what youtube is for.

Originally Posted by D2:

Thanks D2.  

I pity you.

Dats what youtube is for.

Personal experience from that of Yuji, is better dan UTube.

Originally Posted by D2:

Thanks D2.  

I pity you.

Only a dummy will know anyone who think a lens costing 500 time more than a  D200, is what makes excellent photographs.

Cameras don't make exceptional pictures, people do from experience.

You must be like  the guy last weekend with an elaborate Canon DSLR, with a nice suit and looking very impressive, asking me how to turn on his speed light.

Yuji, look up the word RETIRE and come back with some intelligence, if you have any.

Nothing is wrong with a D200. A lady photographer who recently charged $250/hour, used a D200 at a very elaborate wedding, where I did the video and also took a few hundred images.

Some wedding photographers still use D90s with excellent results.

If photography is ONE of you hobbies !!  What else are you skilled at, minding cow ? 

Yuji, why do you ask so many questions and are too dumb to answer those from others ?

What do you say Yuji, you want to talk cameras, or are you too chicken..

Lets talk about my other cameras, including the 610/810.

I would make an educated assumption that I was taking pictures, long before you rass was even born.  Your writing shows your immaturity.  

Last edited by Tola