Source   Strong presence needed on the ground – Jagdeo
L-R: Former Prime Minister Samuel Hinds, Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo, PPP General Secretary Clement Rohee, and PPP Parliamentarian Zulfikar Mustapha at Sunday’s memorial for Dr Jagan

Strong presence needed on the ground – Jagdeo

THE Peoples Progressive Party Civic (PPP/C) on Sunday commemorated the 19th death anniversary of Dr Cheddi Jagan at Babu Jaan on the Corentyne. Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo used the occasion to call for the party to have a stronger presence ‘on the ground’.

He said this is vital if the party is to regain political power anytime soon. Dr Jagan is a founding member of the People’s Progressive Party and is a late President of Guyana.

Former president Bharrat Jagdeo told what can be described as the smallest crowd to attend the memorial in the past 23 years, “The Babu Jaan site is sacred, and is a place of inspiration as well as a place where (they) go to bare (their) souls and analyse the way forward, based on the issues that affect the people.”

Addressing a few hundred supporters at the memorial site, Jagdeo said the reasons for the PPP being in Opposition were due to several factors, including complacency; false promises by the coalition; and the message of alleged corruption on the part of the then Government, which was being published by certain sections of the media.

He also spoke about the party’s plans being good on paper but weak in structure ‘on the ground’.

A section of the gathering at the memorial at Babu Jaan on Sunday

He used the opportunity to call on supporters to participate fully in the upcoming Local Government Elections and get back to “house-to-house works” to ensure victory for the PPP.

The former President also stressed that the party has to be strengthened from “bottom up”, and it has to happen through team work.

“There is no place for arrogance,” Jagdeo said. He noted that an action plan has been put in place for the 2020 Elections to be free and fair, and promised to lobby for legislation to ensure same.

“Before the next elections, we have to lobby for legislation to make elections crime punishable by law. We must have thorough legislation against GECOM officials who act fraudulently,” he declared.

PPP General Secretary, Clement Rohee, assured the gathering that the party will continue to use the occasion to let its supporters know of its future plans, based on the legacy of its late leader.

“I think we could assure ourselves that there will not be too many celebrations of this type before the PPP is returned to office. Normally, at every Babu Jaan activity, people pay a lot of attention to what is said at these functions — the press, Government and the PPP so-called watchers. They pay very close attention to the pronouncements and speeches that are made here; but we all know close attention is made every year to this Babu Jaan activity, because these activities are a sounding board to tell the nation, the supporters of the PPP; tell those who are still committed to serve, to tell them what is our future based on the legacy of Cheddi Jagan,” Rohee said.

Rohee said the PPP will commemorate its own activity to mark Guyana’s 50th Independence Anniversary. He accused the Government of distorting the struggle for Independence in a bid to take most of the credit for the historic achievement.

Someone told me he is writing a book and is spending a lot of time in the Ashram....not sure about this.

Praying will not help him try giving him some poison 

Someone told me he is writing a book and is spending a lot of time in the Ashram....not sure about this.

Ramotar is on the campaign trail every single day.  Check the PPP/C website.

What happen he shame to meet the people

warrior posted:

Praying will not help him try giving him some poison 

Why don't you go get some poison and drink it? The world would be a better place without you. You are one sicko!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The torch has been passed.  From one leader to the next, the flame continues to burn bright and the struggle for freedom continues.  Honoring Cheddi Jagan at Babu John.babu 

• babu

DEm Katahars are indeed SHAMELESS.  Dem mek the Showtime Series SHAMELESS look like Mother Theresa!!!   These are the kind of Parasites that want to tell the Guyanese people about truth and fairness!!!!!!!!!!!

Good to see him active,i am seeing some signs the PPP throwing the towel come 2020.

What does that mean??

From the tit bits i read in the media today,they don't seem to think they can't win in 2020.They have a lot of ground work to do[my view]also i noticed some red herring smoking.

Good to see him active,i am seeing some signs the PPP throwing the towel come 2020.

What does that mean??

From the tit bits i read in the media today,they don't seem to think they can't win in 2020.They have a lot of ground work to do[my view]also i noticed some red herring smoking.

Nothing could be further from the truth.  What you read in the media is a pack of lies.  The new PPP is going to be a force to be reckoned with.  They are young, strong, and bright.  They will have to be some massive rigging in 2020 for them to lose.

What does that mean??

Nothing could be further from the truth.  What you read in the media is a pack of lies.  The new PPP is going to be a force to be reckoned with.  They are young, strong, and bright.  They will have to be some massive rigging in 2020 for them to lose.

They had their legacy, they nations assets, patronage etc and they lost. Why do you think the can win when the reverse is not arrayed against them? I did not mention they do not have the numbers and black people felt excluded and now understand that it is to be included given your own will be in the corridors of power. They will vote massively to protect that. The PPP and their compulsion to be crooked, superior and insulting to black people by overtly excluding them from avenues of power are now doomed to taste the reverse.  I have no sympathy for them. My hope is that a black administration show respect to the rank and file and ignore these corrupt manufactured elites.

What does that mean??

They had their legacy, they nations assets, patronage etc and they lost. Why do you think the can win when the reverse is not arrayed against them? I did not mention they do not have the numbers and black people felt excluded and now understand that it is to be included given your own will be in the corridors of power. They will vote massively to protect that. The PPP and their compulsion to be crooked, superior and insulting to black people by overtly excluding them from avenues of power are now doomed to taste the reverse.  I have no sympathy for them. My hope is that a black administration show respect to the rank and file and ignore these corrupt manufactured elites.

Te he he. Granger is doing a good job at that!!!!!  The one thing he has succeeded in doing is making dem PPP boys look like stars.

What does that mean??

Buckman power to the rescue. The natives will support the PPP IF there is no PNC rigging.

What does that mean??

Buckman power to the rescue. The natives will support the PPP IF there is no PNC rigging.

Skelly not sure about that,the coalition are making in roads in the natives support.

What does that mean??

Suh all the media lying.

What does that mean??

Skelly not sure about that,the coalition are making in roads in the natives support.

Making inroads doing what? Selling them cassava bread and piwari made in GT?

What does that mean??

The PPP in their greedy quest to control and own denied Native people their rights by watering down their claims with onerous rules. Annex C of the Pre independence agreement afforded them claims and control to some 25K square miles and that has been whittled down to less than six. Even on these claims the saw to it that these are eggshell titles and native people are restricted by onerous rules on how they administrate and control these. The PPP lost the first time because of Amerindians. Region 8 saw them being booted from office. Region seven has a disgruntled population that has been oppressed and abused and if this administration continues on the path they are on they will fully capture the native peoples vote.

What does that mean??

Suh all the media lying.

What did the media say?  And which media are you referring to?  I get my information from the source.  I talk to the people on the ground.  Next time you go to Guyana, you should meet with BJ.  Sit down with him and ask him questions and get to know him.  I promise that you will walk away with a very different view of him.

"Rohee said the PPP will commemorate its own activity to mark Guyana’s 50th Independence Anniversary. He accused the Government of distorting the struggle for Independence in a bid to take most of the credit for the historic achievement."

Rohee seh they guh have their own activity fuh 50th independence celebration.

Te he he. Granger is doing a good job at that!!!!!  The one thing he has succeeded in doing is making dem PPP boys look like stars.

To this point they are. Where ever there are disputes they are a consequence of flawed policies of the previous administration. The only people who think those filthy corruptocrats were ever worthy of adulation are the knee benders who fed with them at the trough or the poor confused indian peasant who lived pridefully ( while almost on starvation diet)  in the reflected glow of the Indian elites. They should have worked hard for the people while in office not work as they did assiduously to fill their pockets every which way.

What does that mean??

Suh all the media lying.

What did the media say?  And which media are you referring to?  I get my information from the source.  I talk to the people on the ground.  Next time you go to Guyana, you should meet with BJ.  Sit down with him and ask him questions and get to know him.  I promise that you will walk away with a very different view of him.

I may take a trip mid year,will try if i get a chance to meet him.

What does that mean??

Suh all the media lying.

I may see you there if you ever visit Skeldon.

What does that mean??

Suh all the media lying.

Walk wit a condom 

What does that mean??

Suh all the media lying.

I may see you there if you ever visit Skeldon.

U trying to get my friend in skeldon so your family can rob him

What does that mean??

Yes Bibi, you are 100 percent accurate.

PPP has all stars bigger than hollywood and bollywood.

Granger, Moses and Ramjattan are like crooks and fools.