So begins day two of Guyanese Wedding-palooza. Yesterday was the maticore, the pre-wedding blessing ceremony. On tap for today is the actual wedding.

Planning for the day began early in the morning when dozens of family members took to their kitchens and backyards to cook all the food for the reception. Yes, my white brethren, you read that right. Guyanese people (at least my Guyanese people) embrace as tradition the idea of cooking all their own food for religious events. Curries of pumpkin, mango and potato are mixed in cast-iron pots the size of tractor-trailer tires. Rice is cooked and dal is boiled. No meat, however, and definitely — hold onto your flasks — no alcohol. The rum is reserved for the day after the wedding, when a Western-style wedding reception is held. More on that tomorrow.

http://www.cynthiaramnarace.co...at-guyanese-wedding/

Originally Posted by GT Stingaa:
So begins day two of Guyanese Wedding-palooza. Yesterday was the maticore, the pre-wedding blessing ceremony. On tap for today is the actual wedding.

Planning for the day began early in the morning when dozens of family members took to their kitchens and backyards to cook all the food for the reception. Yes, my white brethren, you read that right. Guyanese people (at least my Guyanese people) embrace as tradition the idea of cooking all their own food for religious events. Curries of pumpkin, mango and potato are mixed in cast-iron pots the size of tractor-trailer tires. Rice is cooked and dal is boiled. No meat, however, and definitely — hold onto your flasks — no alcohol. The rum is reserved for the day after the wedding, when a Western-style wedding reception is held. More on that tomorrow.

http://www.cynthiaramnarace.co...at-guyanese-wedding/

Stingaa, your post reminds me of  photo shoot at Mara's daughter wedding and most recently at another in Chicago.

Dem women invited me to film the mati-core and one tried to take off me shirt. De women seems high and danced in blackguard ways.

I believe its dangerous for men to be at mati-core celebrations.    

Last edited by Tola

This may sound intolerant but I've always tended to skip Hindu functions (except jhandis) for the very silly reason that they don't serve meat (I grew up expecting dead animals at religious and happy occasions). I really really can't think of a worse sin to inflict on a guest than to invite them over and serve them aloo curry and baigan and pumpkin.

As an exception, I like jhandis because of the ceremonial, the bhajans, and chants.

yuh sure youse not wan madrassi? besides fullahs deh does have meats at religious ceremonies

Seriously dude, it's an irrational pet peeve of mine. I absolutely detest being forced to accept invitations where the fare is vegetarian. And my Gods, does Hindu food suck. I'd rather eat a piece of cow skin than eat some dhall, rice, pumkin, and achar. Disgusting!

It's suppose it's my inner fullahman. Maybe I sub-conciously enjoy the fact that some poor animal suffered for my culinary enjoyment

her inlaws love she blue eyed bahu

He was her Moby Dick

Jai Shri Ram! A white girl is like equal to brahmin x chat-3 (Lakshmi squared)

lmfao quite an equation dat bro

I have an honorary doctorate degree in maths (Karaila League of course)

yuh sure youse not wan madrassi? besides fullahs deh does have meats at religious ceremonies

Seriously dude, it's an irrational pet peeve of mine. I absolutely detest being forced to accept invitations where the fare is vegetarian. And my Gods, does Hindu food suck. I'd rather eat a piece of cow skin than eat some dhall, rice, pumkin, and achar. Disgusting!

It's suppose it's my inner fullahman. Maybe I sub-conciously enjoy the fact that some poor animal suffered for my culinary enjoyment

Whatderass you got against curried veggies banna? Iman does curry everything when I get the chance. I does even curry Mac an cheese.

I don't like vegetables to begin with. And I certainly don't like them curried.

The only thing I remotely like in this area is roasted baigan. That's it. And that's probably because I eat it with corned mutton on the side.

I will eat practically anything as long as it has meat in it.

I'm a huge fan of blood pudding (British and Guyanese), organ meats (livers and kidneys esp), fish heads (salmon head chowder is a favorite), cow feet soup, pig feet souse etc. etc. Basically, I eat lots of strange gross foods.

But I can't stand vegetables and I loathe Hindu foods. I always leave a Hindu function and go straight to a restaurant to get some necessary protein and absolve myself from the sin of being proximate to vegetarian food.

The only thing I remotely like in this area is roasted baigan. That's it. And that's probably because I eat it with corned mutton on the side.

I'm a huge fan of blood pudding (British and Guyanese), organ meats (livers and kidneys esp), fish heads (salmon head chowder is a favorite), cow feet soup, pig feet souse etc. etc. Basically, I eat lots of strange gross foods.

But I can't stand vegetables and I loathe Hindu foods. I always leave a Hindu function and go straight to a restaurant to get some necessary protein and absolve myself from the sin of being proximate to vegetarian food.

UGH Gross!!! You would probly eat dem tings alive too won't ya?

My very ultra conservative halal observing significant other claims she can vomit sometimes as she watches me wolf down my favorite meal of rare to blue steak....basically my idea of a steak is you butcher a cow whose been dreaming of fire and serve him up