Sujata, made by Continental Industries.

Indi, made by Edward B. Beharry.

Sari, made by Ricks & Sari.

All these curry powders made Guyana the Curry Capital of South America.

Here in Canada my household cooks with Lallah's curry powder made in India. Lallah's and Chetty's Madras Curry were sold in Guyana before Edward Beharry pioneered local production of that ingredient.

these packaged curries standardized curry making and destroyed creative culinary experimentation which produced a variety of flavors by family when each made it from scratch. It was only at the wedding houses the special curry formulations persisted but I presume it is all lost today as the packaged flavors killed off initiative.

Danyael posted:

these packaged curries standardized curry making and destroyed creative culinary experimentation which produced a variety of flavors by family when each made it from scratch. It was only at the wedding houses the special curry formulations persisted but I presume it is all lost today as the packaged flavors killed off initiative.

Same thing happening over here. Not many make anything from scratch anymore. Everything only require a microwave now. Even this abomination.

Danyael posted:

Same thing happening over here. Not many make anything from scratch anymore. Everything only require a microwave now. Even this abomination.

Wha wrang wid allyuh? Dem modern coolie gyal nah want fo sit donk pon peerah in front loarha and sill and grine up dye and corianda and massala and bird peppa and whatnat. Dem days done!!!

It is not only coolie gyal though.

Danyael posted:

Listen banna, there are people right here in the US who still peechey the masala on a masala brick like our parent and grandparents.  It did not destroy anything as most people took it and added what they want to get their own unique flavor.  I don't know of anyone [including baseman] who just take the package and cook as is!!

Danyael posted:

I make all my curries from scratch.  I do not buy any mixed spices...not even seasoning salt. Same with salad dressings and marinade. Those are all filled up with additional stabilizers and artificial ingredients so making one's own gets back to what the food is naturally.

ba$eman posted:
It did not destroy anything as most people took it and added what they want to get their own unique flavor.

True. If that was not the case, everyone's curry would taste the same way. That is not so. In my opinion, no one cook curry better than my wife, whether beef, chicken, fish or even ital.

You rass know how fuh scratch people back.  You mek sure you aint going to bed hungry bai!