Corentyne High School. I've heard some of the names over the years.
Seelall and Seepaul, I knew as two outstanding cricketers from Bushlot, Corentyne. Prince may know them too. I assuming it's them.
J.C. Chandisingh Secondary School cricket team. Many were residents of Canje and Susanna Farms.
Wuh team dis..dem from Bangladesh?
ah wonda is weh him pull this one from, oh wait this is the original Lagan team
cain posted:Wuh team dis..dem from Bangladesh?
Bangladesh, Corentyne
cain posted:Wuh team dis..dem from Bangladesh?
Nah Timbuktu Africa
Bibi Haniffa posted:J.C. Chandisingh Secondary School cricket team. Many were residents of Canje and Susanna Farms.
Susannah Farm was populated by people from New Dam, only a few were rich enough to go to private schools. Most went to Belvedere, BHS or BEI if they went to high school. I do not know anyone off hand who went to chandisingh from susannah farm. Canje folks maybe.
Harper, Lloyd, Charles in younger days.
Is dat Blackboy standing right??
D2 posted:Bibi Haniffa posted:J.C. Chandisingh Secondary School cricket team. Many were residents of Canje and Susanna Farms.
Susannah Farm was populated by people from New Dam, only a few were rich enough to go to private schools. Most went to Belvedere, BHS or BEI if they went to high school. I do not know anyone off hand who went to chandisingh from susannah farm. Canje folks maybe.
I think JC was granted the MBE honor.
Correct.
Milton Pydanna sitting on the extreme right and Andrew Lyght next to him. Garfield Charles top left and Roger Harper in the middle of the back row. Based on the names written on the photo, it looks like Lambert sitting on the extreme left. I know a few other faces but can't quite remember the names.
Mitwah posted:D2 posted:Bibi Haniffa posted:J.C. Chandisingh Secondary School cricket team. Many were residents of Canje and Susanna Farms.
I think JC was granted the MBE honor.
I do not know if he was granted an MBE. Knew Rohan Chandisingh. The protest movement against Burnham began in earnest in '78 with student protests. Burnham punished teachers by indiscriminately transferring them to remote areas or demoting them. He transferred SK Singh, Chetram Singh ( a west point graduate) and Rohan Chandisingh. This started a student protest movement that actually only grew in stature and in boldness across the country until the dictator kicked the bucket.
I remember the student protests because of the transfer. We walked out of classes that day...
Any of you fellas ever seen these two Trinidad spinners bowl. Raphick Jumadeen and Inshan Ali.
Yes, many times.
Prashad posted:Any of you fellas ever seen these two Trinidad spinners bowl. Raphick Jumadeen and Inshan Ali.
Went to only two international cricket matches in Guyana. Pakistan against West Indies and the other I cannot remember against whom or who the players were.
D2, was that the match Majid Khan and Zaheer Abbas show how classic batting is done?
I saw Zaheer Abbas bat at Borda ground. He made close to 100 runs.
He made 80 and Majid made 169 in the second inning.
Nehru posted:D2, was that the match Majid Khan and Zaheer Abbas show how classic batting is done?
too far back in my memory. I know there was a superb spin bowler who took all the WI cricketers out in short order. It was a one day match.
Is Majid Khan Imran Khan Uncle?
I am not sure'
D2, I was referring to a Test Match around 1980
Nehru posted:I am not sure'
I was not in Guyana then so it could not be that time.
Mars posted:Gilbakka posted:Correct.
Milton Pydanna sitting on the extreme right and Andrew Lyght next to him. Garfield Charles top left and Roger Harper in the middle of the back row. Based on the names written on the photo, it looks like Lambert sitting on the extreme left. I know a few other faces but can't quite remember the names.
Derrick Kalicharran, Tyrone Etwaroo, Kamal Singh.
Nehru posted:I am not sure'
It can't be 1980. Pakistan with Zaheer Abbas and Majid Khan was more like 1975/1976.
Bibi Haniffa posted:Mars posted:Gilbakka posted:Correct.
Was Kamal Singh the big all-rounder?
Prashad posted:Bibi Haniffa posted:Mars posted:Gilbakka posted:Correct.
I don't remember much about Kamal Singh. Garfield was a batsman and he had a brother also named Roger who was an excellent cricketer. Roger Harper was the spin bowler and later Captain of the West Indies team.
Lloyd and Fredricks who was the manager/player of the team would keep Kamala Singh for the one day games. He was a big man. He bowled medium pace and was a useful lower end batman. There are two players that should be there also. Tyrone Etwaroo who was the opening batman and Timor Mohammad. Timor was known as the Professor because he was a marine biologist and a world class batman who certainly could have made the Indian cricket team then.
Prashad posted:Timor Mohammad. Timor was known as the Professor because he was a marine biologist and a world class batman who certainly could have made the Indian cricket team then.
Marine biologist. I now know why he established a fish processing complex at Houston EBD.
I did not know Timor established anything in Guyana. Thanks Gilbakka for letting me know.
Prashad posted:I did not know Timor established anything in Guyana. Thanks Gilbakka for letting me know.
You late, his business established can't remember exactly, will say around 80's, he was a friend of my former boss son, went to his house on a service call, while working for the company.
Django posted:Prashad posted:I did not know Timor established anything in Guyana. Thanks Gilbakka for letting me know.
You late, his business established can't remember exactly, will say around 80's, he was a friend of my former boss son, went to his house on a service call, while working for the company.
Rass man, since in Guyana you doing service call
Dave posted:Django posted:Prashad posted:I did not know Timor established anything in Guyana. Thanks Gilbakka for letting me know.
That's the business bhai, not all customers come to you.Quite an experience how much people of all walks of life you meet. Met some big folks here.
Bibi Haniffa posted:Prashad posted:Bibi Haniffa posted:Mars posted:Gilbakka posted:Correct.
I don't remember much about Kamal Singh. Garfield was a batsman and he had a brother also named Roger who was an excellent cricketer. Roger Harper was the spin bowler and later Captain of the West Indies team.
Roger Harper - captain of WI. Nope. He was coach for WI after his retirement in 1996, payed only 25 Test and was only good for his fielding
Django posted:Dave posted:Django posted:Prashad posted:I did not know Timor established anything in Guyana. Thanks Gilbakka for letting me know.
That's the business bhai, not all customers come to you.Quite an experience how much people of all walks of life you meet. Met some big folks here.
Service call or installer in NA has lots of perks boy.. with the ladies ð