Looking back from 1953, does anyone really think our problem is a lack of democratic elections.

The sad truth is that our elections really never mattered much in terms of articulating the legitimate needs and aspirations of our people. We have garbage politicians so we get garbage government no matter the result.

Anyone ever listened to a debate in Parliament? It's little better than a rum shop.

Looking back from 1953, does anyone really think our problem is a lack of democratic elections.

The sad truth is that our elections really never mattered much in terms of articulating the legitimate needs and aspirations of our people. We have garbage politicians so we get garbage government no matter the result.

Anyone ever listened to a debate in Parliament? It's little better than a rum shop.

you losing faith bro,there must be hope that people will get wiser

I'm not convinced that sensible coolies are the majority. If they were, the PPP wouldn't be in power. Now would we have people on here defending the indefensible....ironically from the safety of white/black run societies.

Elections don't solve problems anywhere. Only the dead have no problems.

But elections give promise and hope that problems can be tackled and minimized. Because of the periodic nature of elections, voters are always free to choose alternative parties if they're unhappy with the current one in power.

The core issue here for Guyanese is illiberal democracy. Basically that's a fancy political theory way of saying we have weak public institutions such as police, courts, civil society etc. etc.  Couple this with a disgusting rum shop political culture where no one can have any honest policy debate without it degenerating into a coolie-black war and you have a country that will always remain stuck in the mud.

Democracy may begin with free and fair elections but it certainly doesn't end with them.

Originally Posted by alena06:

The cost of the elections is definitely something they can't afford at this time.  The Government and the opposition don't give a heck either.  You read the posts of some of the AFC 'elites' here and you wonder really how vindictive and nasty they are. 

I'm not bothered by the cost of the elections. Plenty of money wastes in Guyana regularly either through theft or mismanagement.

My point is just that choosing between Guyanese politicians is not unlike choosing between types of blows to the head. You're just choosing the one that you hope will do the least amount of permanent damage.

Personally, I'm ashamed that Guyana is an "Indian-run" country. It's bad enough that we're racist. But we're just so goddamn incompetent. Can any coolie really say they are proud of Garbagetown?

Elections don't solve problems anywhere. Only the dead have no problems.

But elections give promise and hope that problems can be tackled and minimized. Because of the periodic nature of elections, voters are always free to choose alternative parties if they're unhappy with the current one in power.

The problem is that Guyanese do not hold their politicians accountable.  Unless they learn to realize that it is THEY, and not the politicians, who atre responsible for determining the direction that Guyana takes, and so it is THEY who must demand that the politicians are elected to implement these goals, then Guyanese will be disappointed.

In Trinidad Kamla fired several ministers.  Not because she is any better than Ramotar.  Its because she knows that if she didn't, she would face the wrath of the voters.  The PPP can assault, and even kill ordinary Guyanese citizens, and yet can be expected to win elections, simply because race based voting guarantees it the most votes, even if it can no longer guarantee control over parliament.

Janey Jagan, Forbes Burnham and Bharat Jagdeo all turned Guyanese into a collective bunch of wimps who are terrified of the govt which they voted for.

The cost of the elections is definitely something they can't afford at this time.  The Government and the opposition don't give a heck either.  You read the posts of some of the AFC 'elites' here and you wonder really how vindictive and nasty they are. 

I'm not bothered by the cost of the elections. Plenty of money wastes in Guyana regularly either through theft or mismanagement.

My point is just that choosing between Guyanese politicians is not unlike choosing between types of blows to the head. You're just choosing the one that you hope will do the least amount of permanent damage.

Personally, I'm ashamed that Guyana is an "Indian-run" country. It's bad enough that we're racist. But we're just so goddamn incompetent. Can any coolie really say they are proud of Garbagetown?

Yes .....Yuji & Skeldon

Plus dem Hero....Kwame...But we cant count him...

He is not a Collie Bhai....

I'm not convinced that sensible coolies are the majority. If they were, the PPP wouldn't be in power. Now would we have people on here defending the indefensible....ironically from the safety of white/black run societies.

Barbados, in its worst recession in decades remain much better than Guyana.

Alena

do you think De Majority....

Must shut dem mouth & remain Quiet

and Allow the PPP

fuh thief fuh another 2 years.

Was the PPP wrong

for trying for 28 years

to stop PNC thiefing?

or

Is PNC Corruption & thiefing Bad?

and PPP Corruption & Thiefing Good?

The sad truth Shaitaan is that Guyanese political loyalties, especially at the polls, do not confirm to the norms of our lens in the diaspora. The dynamics, as illogical as we may deem them, are embedded from years of suspicion of the other race.

Please consider two little facts:

[1] The PPP regime has already spent $200 million on the Rodney COI, the findings of which will bring no benefit to the economy.

[2] The PPP regime advanced US$4,285,440 to Surendra Engineering and even though the court has ordered Surendra to pay back G$900 million there is no guarantee Surendra will comply.

Now, $200M + $900M = $1,100 million.

Surely, that sum is more than enough to run general and regional elections, right?

Please consider two little facts:

[1] The PPP regime has already spent $200 million on the Rodney COI, the findings of which will bring no benefit to the economy.

[2] The PPP regime advanced US$4,285,440 to Surendra Engineering and even though the court has ordered Surendra to pay back G$900 million there is no guarantee Surendra will comply.

Now, $200M + $900M = $1,100 million.

Surely, that sum is more than enough to run general and regional elections, right?

They coulda bought nuff nuff red t shirts an fry chikenm with some a dat cash.