Why can’t the M&CC fix the Stabroek Market clock?

Dear Editor,
Why is it that the Georgetown City Council cannot simply repair and maintain the famous Stabroek Market clock?
All over the world, there are prominent clock towers such as the Big Ben in London; the Philadelphia City Hall tower clocks; the Saviour Tower clocks located in the famous Red Square, close to Saint Basil’s Cathedral in Moscow, Russia (the Tower is part of the Kremlin’s walls); the Peace Tower Clocks in Ottawa, Canada and the list goes on and on with many, many more.
But in Georgetown, in the heart of downtown, in our capital, our Stabroek clock ground to a halt ages ago and was left like that, possibly to remind us that time stands still at City Hall with hardly any thing moving forward.
Why is this so? Are we cultural barbarians? Do we have to learn history to appreciate heritage?
Repairing it and keeping it going would not require rocket science. It is a mechanical clock, and some of its component parts may be worn or broken. With today’s technology, spare parts can be easily fabricated to replace the obsolete ones.
Are we inviting thousands of persons to visit our country in this year of Guyana’s Golden Jubilee of its  Independence, many of whom will  certainly tour the Stabroek Market area, to glance upwards at the clock and then smugly retort to each other  that time seems to be standing still in the city of Georgetown?
Digging a few drains and weeding a few parapets is fine, but if one morning, I could pass by the Market, and observe this iconic clock ticking away, for me it would be the first real step in the restoration of our capital to its former glory and I daresay for many others as well.

Sincerely,
Debra Gibson

Debra Child, Hammie only got money to pay his sychophants in a big financial scandal that does not follow the procurement laws to clean up the city.

But on the UP and UP, was in GT last week.  It clean, clean, clean.

Never saw it as clean like this even under the white man days.  I deh bout long time.

So he gets a pass, he did deliver a clean city.

They will not fix the clock because they do not know hot to fix it for 'back to the future'. Return to the PNC days.

KishanB, yes, they have been spending lots of money on cleaning up GT and it looks good. Find out who has been paying for this cleanup and secondly, whether it is sustainable. 

Z