Sash’ Sawh’s death to be investigated

Former Agriculture Minister Satyadeow Sawh

PRESIDENT David Granger says his administration is committed to establishment of a Commission of Inquiry (CoI) to investigate the deaths of hundreds of Guyanese during the 2008 crime spree.Speaking on his weekly programme, ‘The Public Interest’, which was aired on Wednesday, May 11, the President said the commitment he made to the relatives of those who died during that criminal upsurge will be fulfilled.

President David Granger

He disclosed that a “blood relative” of former Minister of Agriculture Satyadeow Sawh has approached him and he has “committed to having that crime investigated.”

President Granger said the former Agriculture Minister’s family are “baffled that the Government to which he use to belong did not even hold an inquiry” into his death.

The Head-of-State said he was also approached by other relatives of the deceased during that time and they too are eager to have investigations begin so that they can have some sort of closure.

But while the President has committed to having a CoI conducted into the execution-style killings of those who died, he made the point that many of the witnesses to the killings are either dead or are reluctant to speak for fear of being killed.

Some of the witnesses the President spoke of are the prison escapees: Rondel `Fineman’ Rawlins, Jermaine `Skinny’ Charles, Troy Dick and David `Biscuit’ Leander.

“We have not actually conducted any formal CoI, we have had only short term CoI, for example, the prison or CANU, but in due course we will initiate investigations. Since so many people have been killed my first commitment is to assure the relatives that the death of their loved ones would not go uninvestigated,” said the President.

While serving as Opposition Leader, President Granger had called for a CoI into the criminal activities that surfaced in the country, resulting in the loss of lives. In 2013, Granger took a motion before the National Assembly and called on the former People’s Progressive Party Civic (PPP/C) to appoint a CoI to probe criminal violence from 2004 to 2010. He made specific mention to the former Agriculture Minister Sawh’s death, as well as the Lusignan, Lindo Creek and Bartica massacres.

The motion put by President Granger at the time was deferred on a number of occasions, due to concerns raised by the PPP/C and the Alliance For Change, (now a party to the coalition government) about the content of the motion.

Granger believes that it is important to have the CoI into the deaths, but his administration has thus far failed to establish any such CoI.

On April 22, 2006, seven masked gunmen invaded the home of the Sawh and fatally shot him, his two siblings, Phulmattie Persaud and Rajpat Sawh and his guard Curtis Robertson at their La Bonne Intention, East Coast Demerara home. At the time of his death, Sawh was a serving minister of the PPP/C Government. That party failed to investigate the killing of Sawh and his family

From what I read, this guy was a PPP activist living in Canada. He was asked to return home to Guyana when the PPP was elected, but was assassinated, along with family members. Why did the PPP not investigate his death? This makes no sense whatsoever. This needs to be investigated.

I thing Jagdeo was pig headed not to investigate but it could be that he knew thee killers were taken out and so investigating would have been a waste of time and resources.

Now, the new Govt(RETARDS) already proved to us that they are indeed DUMMIES and will investigate why its Cabinet are suffering from constipation. They will hire PNC old age Pensioners as Investigators and pay them hundreds of million of dollars to find absolutely nothing!!!!

I hope that Sawh gets justice. I have done my best to keep his same in the limelight on GNI for years, and shall continue to do my bit until this case is solved. I hope others will follow my lead as well.

From what I read, this guy was a PPP activist living in Canada. He was asked to return home to Guyana when the PPP was elected, but was assassinated, along with family members. Why did the PPP not investigate his death? This makes no sense whatsoever. This needs to be investigated.

The fact that it is APNU and not the PPP, which wants to investigate this provides the answer.

This incident is very much like the Teekah affair.

"While serving as Opposition Leader, President Granger had called for a CoI into the criminal activities that surfaced in the country, resulting in the loss of lives. In 2013, Granger took a motion before the National Assembly and called on the former People’s Progressive Party Civic (PPP/C) to appoint a CoI to probe criminal violence from 2004 to 2010. He made specific mention to the former Agriculture Minister Sawh’s death, as well as the Lusignan, Lindo Creek and Bartica massacres.

The motion put by President Granger at the time was deferred on a number of occasions, due to concerns raised by the PPP/C and the Alliance For Change, (now a party to the coalition government) about the content of the motion."

Wondering what were the concerns of the PPP/C and AFC when Granger took the motion before the National Assembly in 2013.

I thing Jagdeo was pig headed not to investigate but it could be that he knew thee killers were taken out and so investigating would have been a waste of time and resources.

Now, the new Govt(RETARDS) already proved to us that they are indeed DUMMIES and will investigate why its Cabinet are suffering from constipation. They will hire PNC old age Pensioners as Investigators and pay them hundreds of million of dollars to find absolutely nothing!!!!

Banna are you fuh real.

The fact that it is APNU and not the PPP, which wants to investigate this provides the answer.

Who is Teekah?

Who killed Monica Reece? That "cold case" should be reopened too. I was told that powerful persons in the 1992-97 PPP government shut down a police probe because a powerful minister's son was allegedly implicated. 

Who is Teekah?

http://www.guyana.org/features...dence/chapter15.html

http://guyanachronicle.com/sta...dley-vincent-teekah/

Vish seems like you are a young fella,click on links for some info.

Looking forward to an early start of the promised Sash Sawh Commission of Inquiry. There are more questions than answers presently.

I am so happy to hear that there will be a COI into Sash Sawh's death. Sash and I both devoted Arya Samajist attended Arya Vir Dal Camp at Number 64 Village way back in the 1970s. I also had the pleasure of interviewing him, in his capacity as the President of the Association of Concerned Guyanese, in 1978 on CHIN Radio in Toronto on the situation in Guyana at that time. He was a very decent, devoted, hardworking, honest and patriotic Guynaese. Sash did not deserve to die the way he did. Jagdeo stated on numerous occasions to the media that he knew who killed Sawh but did nothing to apprehend and bring to justice Sash's killers. Therein lies one of the problems of the PPP government under Jagdeo.

Dondada, I agree with you. This was a very serious CRIME against a man who was a saint. The PPP Govt should be ashamed to have treated this as an ordinary crime. The other PPP stupidity was their silence on Corruption and shoddy works. They were too deep with their Contractors and other Businesses.  A Govt MUST be the gate keeper of the Citizens of a Country and more so for the POOR and needy.

The Jagdeo Govt had OUR FATHER THE GREATEST CHEDDI BERET JAGAN turning in his grave!!!!

Who is Teekah?

http://www.guyana.org/features...dence/chapter15.html

http://guyanachronicle.com/sta...dley-vincent-teekah/

Vish seems like you are a young fella,click on links for some info.

Thank you. 

Guyana seems to have a heck of a lot of political assassinations or many political people who seem to die under mysterious circumstances. Politics is a very dirty business in this country. 

I am still troubled by the death of Rodney and Shah. It seems that both the PNC and PPP have their demons.

Vish, At the time who were the people sitting at Buxton Railway smoking Pot, giving pot and GUNS to youths and picking Targets for them?????// 

I cant wait for an INDEPENDENT inquiry of Sawh and Lusignan!!!!!!!!!!

Vish, At the time who were the people sitting at Buxton Railway smoking Pot, giving pot and GUNS to youths and picking Targets for them?????// 

According to Granger,

all the key witnesses in Shaw's death are dead. How is this possible??

Who is Teekah?

How old are you?

According to Granger,

all the key witnesses in Shaw's death are dead. How is this possible??

When did Granger say this?  If the key witnesses are dead then why have a COI?

If Sash Sawh murder case was negligible under the PPP administration, the PNC would have started an inquiry if their intelligence believe the PPP was responsible. I think the PNC is saving its own ass from further embarrassment.

Cobra posted:

If Sash Sawh murder case was negligible under the PPP administration, the PNC would have started an inquiry if their intelligence believe the PPP was responsible. I think the PNC is saving its own ass from further embarrassment.

In 2013, Granger took a motion before the National Assembly and called on the former People’s Progressive Party Civic (PPP/C) to appoint a CoI to probe criminal violence from 2004 to 2010. He made specific mention to the former Agriculture Minister Sawh’s death, as well as the Lusignan, Lindo Creek and Bartica massacres.

The motion put by President Granger at the time was deferred on a number of occasions, due to concerns raised by the PPP/C and the Alliance For Change, (now a party to the coalition government) about the content of the motion."

Cobra,why will Granger took the motion in 2013 before the National Assembly??

Cobra posted:

Now I know that you think that the PPP was powerless, and that the PNC ran Guyana between 1992 and 2015, but this isn't the case.

The PNC could NOT initiate a COI.

And given that you and the rest of the brown bai KKK scream that the PNC killed Sat Sawh, I don't know why you are afraid of an inquiry. 

In fact I don't know why you all didn't insist that the PPP tie the murder of a gov't minister to the PNC, when they were in gov't.

Dondada, I agree with you. This was a very serious CRIME against a man who was a saint. The PPP Govt should be ashamed to have treated this as an ordinary crime. The other PPP stupidity was their silence on Corruption and shoddy works. They were too deep with their Contractors and other Businesses.  A Govt MUST be the gate keeper of the Citizens of a Country and more so for the POOR and needy.

The Jagdeo Govt had OUR FATHER THE GREATEST CHEDDI BERET JAGAN turning in his grave!!!!

For the first time I see you agree with me. When I go after Jagdeo it is not because I just don't like your old drinking buddy. It is because he has been the most damaging Indian ever to walk the streets of Guyana. Instead of improving the lives of many, he improved the wealth of a few. It was a puppet government ran from his office with the aid of people like Roger Khan. Sawh wanted Guyana to be great for the right  reason after years of PNC rule. But others had different ideas, and nobody, not even one of their own in the government, was going to stand between them and untold wealth.

The problem is that those who gave the order to have him murdered also gave the order to have as many witnesses as possible silenced as well.

Sash’ Sawh’s death to be investigated

Former Agriculture Minister Satyadeow Sawh

PRESIDENT David Granger says his administration is committed to establishment of a Commission of Inquiry (CoI) to investigate the deaths of hundreds of Guyanese during the 2008 crime spree.Speaking on his weekly programme, ‘The Public Interest’, which was aired on Wednesday, May 11, the President said the commitment he made to the relatives of those who died during that criminal upsurge will be fulfilled.

President David Granger

He disclosed that a “blood relative” of former Minister of Agriculture Satyadeow Sawh has approached him and he has “committed to having that crime investigated.”

President Granger said the former Agriculture Minister’s family are “baffled that the Government to which he use to belong did not even hold an inquiry” into his death.

The Head-of-State said he was also approached by other relatives of the deceased during that time and they too are eager to have investigations begin so that they can have some sort of closure.

But while the President has committed to having a CoI conducted into the execution-style killings of those who died, he made the point that many of the witnesses to the killings are either dead or are reluctant to speak for fear of being killed.

Some of the witnesses the President spoke of are the prison escapees: Rondel `Fineman’ Rawlins, Jermaine `Skinny’ Charles, Troy Dick and David `Biscuit’ Leander.

“We have not actually conducted any formal CoI, we have had only short term CoI, for example, the prison or CANU, but in due course we will initiate investigations. Since so many people have been killed my first commitment is to assure the relatives that the death of their loved ones would not go uninvestigated,” said the President.

While serving as Opposition Leader, President Granger had called for a CoI into the criminal activities that surfaced in the country, resulting in the loss of lives. In 2013, Granger took a motion before the National Assembly and called on the former People’s Progressive Party Civic (PPP/C) to appoint a CoI to probe criminal violence from 2004 to 2010. He made specific mention to the former Agriculture Minister Sawh’s death, as well as the Lusignan, Lindo Creek and Bartica massacres.

The motion put by President Granger at the time was deferred on a number of occasions, due to concerns raised by the PPP/C and the Alliance For Change, (now a party to the coalition government) about the content of the motion.

Granger believes that it is important to have the CoI into the deaths, but his administration has thus far failed to establish any such CoI.

On April 22, 2006, seven masked gunmen invaded the home of the Sawh and fatally shot him, his two siblings, Phulmattie Persaud and Rajpat Sawh and his guard Curtis Robertson at their La Bonne Intention, East Coast Demerara home. At the time of his death, Sawh was a serving minister of the PPP/C Government. That party failed to investigate the killing of Sawh and his family

Do you think that maybe the PPP was 'shytting' in their pants and scared to death...the drug situation seemed to have spun out of control and took over the country in leaps and bounds...

The unspoken truth is that this was not a PPP issue initially. PPP politicians got involved when they were confronted with the simple choice of being part of it, or getting sidelined. FARC had been expanding its reach towards trade with Guyana and Suriname. When FARC started to lose ground the Guyanese and Surinamese middlemen began getting involved with other suppliers. Now every drug dealer worth his weight knows where to get hard drugs from without too much hard work finding it. They don't need the secret airstrips that Khan wanted to open up, and Sawh tried to block.

Why did the PPP not investigate his death? This makes no sense whatsoever. This needs to be investigated.

Maybe because they allegedly had a hand in his demise? What's new here? Investigated and the results not released? Enough with the COI's - money would be better spent on fixing the roads or providing potable water to rural communities.

Rohee playing dumb now

http://www.kaieteurnewsonline....-inquest-never-held/

Rohee has “no recollection” why ‘Sash’ Sawh murder inquest never held

MAY 17, 2016 | BY | FILED UNDER NEWS 

-welcomes recent announcement of inquiry

Following pronouncements by President David Granger that an inquest would be opened into the

Former Home Affairs Minister, Clement Rohee

assassination of former Minister of Agriculture, Satyadeow ‘Sash’ Sawh, People’s Progressive Party (PPP) General Secretary Clement Rohee has welcomed the move.
When asked why an inquiry was never launched into the killing of the PPP Minister, which occurred in 2006 while former President Bharrat Jagdeo’s government was in place, Rohee stated that he had no recollection of why this was never done.
During his weekly press conference yesterday, Rohee, who was the then Home Affairs Minister, did acknowledge that the PPP’s failure to hold the inquest while in Government would likely be held against it. This is especially in light of the fact that the promised external assistance that Government had announced it would have been seeking, never materialized.
“We welcome that,” Rohee was adamant. “They may come with the thing saying that we didn’t do it. But we didn’t do a lot of things. You name one government that does everything it is committed to doing in a manifesto. Take for example the APNU+AFC. How much have they done? I don’t think we could go back to… well we didn’t do it.
“So what I am saying is that we welcome that. They are the Government now and they are free to open any investigation or set up any board or commission of inquiry, or investigate any matter that was of concern to them while in the opposition. So let them carry on with their investigation, they have the authority to do so now and let the chips fall wherever they may.”
During the weekly televised show, ‘The Public Interest’, President Granger had stated that a ‘blood relative’ had approached him and appealed for an inquiry into ‘Sash’ Sawh’s brutal murder on April 22, 2006.

Minister of Agriculture, Satyadeow ‘Sash’ Sawh

The head of state said that a formal Commission of Inquiry will be launched in due course, as part of a bigger quest to find answers to other unsolved cases back in the early 2000s. President Granger also noted that many were killed, including witnesses.
According to the President, his first commitment would be to assure relatives that the deaths will be investigated. Last year August, the President had promised, during a Berbice Slave Rebellion symposium, that thorough inquiries would be held into the killings of Sawh and all who were slain during the period between 2000 and 2008.
“When you have Ministers of government bringing in computers so you can track down people’s mobile phones; when you have a lot of men being shot at the back of their heads with their hands tied; when you have so many deaths which are not being investigated; when you have a minister of government who has been assassinated and you don’t have an inquest into his death, there is something stink, and we are going to investigate those deaths,” Granger stated.
“Never before in history have so many policemen been killed than during the tenure of office of Bharrat Jagdeo and that is why they constructed that monument (Fallen Heroes) and if you go to Buxton you will see another huge monument,” the President remarked, referencing the Monument in Buxton, East Coast Demerara, where the names of over 450 victims of extra-judicial killings over the last two decades are inscribed.
Sawh, his sister Phulmattie Persaud, Brother Rajpat Rai Sawh and security guard, Curtis Robinson, were gunned down on the evening of April 22, 2006 at the Minister’s La Bonne Intention, East Coast Demer­ara residence. The killing sent shockwaves throughout the nation and there were many questions and an abundance of speculation over his death. After a police investigation into the killing, one man, Jermaine ‘Skinny’ Charles, was charged. He was fatally shot by police, years later, after escaping from custody.