This is a good thread....if we could stay on point and not allow it to degenerate into mudslinging. It's a good academic exercise and could yield some interesting observation for someone studying migratory patterns. So y'all who want to sully te thread please stay off and let civic-minded GNI posters mine some useful information.

Skeldonman stole Guysuco money, nah I can't beleive that.

I know Toolsie Persaud stole from Bookers Skeldon sugar estate and got fired. He then went to GT where he became one of the most sucessful businessman  inb that era.

Tulsie Persaud does encourage his employees to steal but don't get caught. Burnham used to ask his people if they does put their money in good use (thiefing money). 

Skeldonman stole Guysuco money, nah I can't beleive that.

I know Toolsie Persaud stole from Bookers Skeldon sugar estate and got fired. He then went to GT where he became one of the most sucessful businessman  inb that era.

Tulsie Persaud does encourage his employees to steal but don't get caught. Burnham used to ask his people if they does put their money in good use (thiefing money). 

oh god why you did not stay in guyana

I left because my parents and other siblings were here.

People leave Guyana for different reasons but never from political pressure. Migration had been and still happening all over the world. People on GNI will use this thread to score political points against the PPP government, especially Kari.

I started this thread because one poster Skeldonman said he left Guyana because of one blackman.

Can you tell what year you left Guyana? Was it during the PNC or PPP era?

You wouldn't know when I left Guyana. Those days you were hanging your baxside on the two board bridge shit*ing and washing your baxside with the drain water.

I started this thread because one poster Skeldonman said he left Guyana because of one blackman.

Can you tell what year you left Guyana? Was it during the PNC or PPP era?

You wouldn't know when I left Guyana. Those days you were hanging your baxside on the two board bridge shit*ing and washing your baxside with the drain water.

WE ONEWED A GAS STATION AND USED TO EMPLOY YOUR TYPE TO CLEAN THE DRAIN.

I came to America to escape the tropical sun so that my complexion would improve to the point where people will say 'the climate mek he real fear". LOL.. Just kidding!

We had the opportunity to leave Guyana since the late sixties and did not even though other family members encouraged us to do so. The country was still not that bad in the early seventies. However, things began to deteriorate constantly and each year it only got grimmer. As people began to see no hope for the country under Burnham we decided it was time to leave.

Originally Posted by Amral:

At what age did you guys leave? and I guess most of you left as a family. I left at 18 and came over alone. Lived with my aunt for 3 years and then strike out on my own.

My siblings all emigrated for university studies and stayed on because of work opportunities (a common curse of developing countries serving as farm systems for the major leaguers). Some came after the established ones sponsored them, to join family members (another characteristic of migrations)

I left because the wife (at that time) wanted to join her sister in the US, as while I could have made strides in Guyana she couldn't. That simple.

Maybe your wife saved your ass cuz run-mouth wasn't getting you anywhere.

Base,

You're saying that this man was a news carrier? That's how he got ahead?

I left during the peak of the PNC dictatorship era.

The economy was devastated and Indo Guyanese were marginalized by an Afro led dictatorship. There was no economic opportunities hence the departure.

Looking back, it was a good decision but I still love Guyana and miss the motherland.

I left because I did not like Guyana anymore. That was in 1987 and I became less interested in Guyana with every passing day. I stumbled on this message board during the big floods a decade ago and appreciated the opportunity to communicate with other Guyanese but could live without it. I personally don't care who runs Guyand because they are all crooks. None of them is better than the other. That is why I refuse to get emotionally invested in their shenanigans. I think everyone here is more concerned with pushing their own party and shamelessly pretending that they care about the poor people of Guyana. Let's see how the intellectuals that patrol this forum demonstrate otherwise.