WHY IS APNU OPPOSED TO A SWAT UNIT AT THIS TIME?

January 8, 2014, By Filed Under Features/Columnists, Peeping Tom, Source

It is mind-boggling that APNU would oppose the creation now of a SWAT Unit after what was experienced a few months ago when a miner went berserk in the city and killed four persons including two policemen who had gone to investigate the reports of a shooting on Middle Street.

The police walked straight into gunfire and there was a three-hour-long standoff before the gunman was shot and killed. That incident sparked debate about the need for a Special Weapons and Tactics (SWAT) unit.

No country should wait until incidents like this one reoccur before it decides to have such a unit. It is very much like a country awaiting an accident before implementing road safety measures. Preemptive steps always have to be taken, because when terrible acts of violence take place, it is the very opposition parties who question why certain measures were not in place.

It is abhorrent to have read that APNU is opposed to the establishment of a SWAT unit. Why would anyone question the need for such a unit considering the nature of crime in Guyana?

APNU has railed against the levels of crime in Guyana. It has complained that enough is not being done and that the Ministry of Home Affairs has failed. Yet, it is opposed to something that all modern police forces have – SWAT units.

The basis of APNU’s arguments is very confusing. It argues that that while a SWAT team may have been necessary in the past it is not needed now, since none of the incidents requiring a SWAT response escalated into armed interventions. That is very confusing rationale, because if the incidents required a SWAT response, then by implication that justifies having a SWAT unit.

Whether or not armed intervention is required seems irrelevant to the need for a SWAT unit, unless implicit to the argument is that a SWAT unit is only required where an armed response is necessary.

In this context, how accurate is it for APNU to contend that none of the incidents requiring SWAT intervention involved armed interventions?  The incident in Middle Street, involving the miner, clearly involved armed intervention, unless of course APNU is suggesting that this miner who went berserk and began shooting at persons could have been subdued without the need for armed intervention.

While APNU is contending that a SWAT unit is not necessary at this time, it goes on to contradict another argument made by APNU which is that a SWAT unit is better prepared in times of inactivity. Since by APNU’s own argument, a SWAT unit is not needed because of the lack of incidents requiring armed interventions, now would therefore seem to be the most propitious time for a SWAT unit. Why then the opposition to having a SWAT unit in place?

One reason given is that the Guyana Police Force should be concentrating on filling the shortage of manpower rather than having a SWAT unit. This is an argument akin to saying instead of having a forensic lab the Guyana Police Force would be better advised to fill all its vacancies. The filling of manpower shortages need not be done at the cost of creating a unit which is now seen as vital to any modern police force and especially given the sophistication of criminal activity including those that require specially trained units.

Perhaps the real fear of APNU is that the SWAT unit to be assembled will represent the rebirth of the much-maligned Black Clothes Unit which has been accused of excesses against citizens but which also did some very good work in neutralizing threats to public safety. If the real fear of APNU is that the Guyana Police Force is reviving another Black Clothes Squad, then this is an issue on which the Force need to provide assurance to all concerned that the unit will not attract the same adverse publicity as the Black Clothes Squad but will instead report to a chain of command, be held accountable for operations, and will follow certain prescribed rules of conduct and engagement.

APNU opposed a SWAT unit because he is elected and reserve the right to do so under the constitution of Guyana. Sometime people forget the black man have a right to speak. I disagree with APNU on their stance against a SWAT unit, but I can answer why they think it is a waste of time. The person behind the SWAT team is incompetent because they have a water cannon to fetch water only. They buy a new fleet of four wheels scooter with a bunch of jackass with no training to ride then. The GPF is being overran by criminals. They are already short of police to start training. Rohee is not giving an any incentive for young Indian to join the force. Now, tell me what difference a SWAT team will make?

Simple, APNU is responsible for all violent Crimes in Guyana. SWAT will put a stop to them.

wai..yuh mean KN is not toilet paper suddenly? whenever someone post an article from KN, yuh does jump like ah fowlcock...now no word against KN

APNU opposed a SWAT unit because he is elected and reserve the right to do so under the constitution of Guyana. Sometime people forget the black man have a right to speak. I disagree with APNU on their stance against a SWAT unit, but I can answer why they think it is a waste of time. The person behind the SWAT team is incompetent because they have a water cannon to fetch water only. They buy a new fleet of four wheels scooter with a bunch of jackass with no training to ride then. The GPF is being overran by criminals. They are already short of police to start training. Rohee is not giving an any incentive for young Indian to join the force. Now, tell me what difference a SWAT team will make?

for ah change...yuh funny

Now, tell me what difference a SWAT team will make?

A beneficial direction for Guyana and a major difference from the myopic explanation for it to not occur.

Originally Posted by raymond:

Simple, APNU is responsible for all violent Crimes in Guyana. SWAT will put a stop to them.

wai..yuh mean KN is not toilet paper suddenly? whenever someone post an article from KN, yuh does jump like ah fowlcock...now no word against KN

I does use it to wipe my Batty.

A beneficial direction for Guyana and a major difference from the myopic explanation for it to not occur.

BTW, I made that point for Granger. I am just as optimistic as you about the SWAT unit.

There are two things that the GPF lack in my view . Good intel and response time. What the sense of putting together a swap unit if these two criterias can't be met.

The PNC/afc don't want a swat team as it will disrupt their fund raising campaigns against the citizens of Guyana. They prefer lawlessness and disorder, it allows for quick getaways after a successful robbery.

i donot know where the APNU say it is against a SWAT, but if they did say this then i think they are wrong.guyana need a SWAT team this government have to find a way to curb crime in guyana.With the SWAT they will be room for improvement in the GPF.I am sure their will be expert advise my personal advice is to fire rohee     

No country should wait until incidents like this one reoccur before it decides to have such a unit. It is very much like a country awaiting an accident before implementing road safety measures. Preemptive steps always have to be taken, because when terrible acts of violence take place, it is the very opposition parties who question why certain measures were not in place.
It is abhorrent to have read that APNU is opposed to the establishment of a SWAT unit. Why would anyone question the need for such a unit considering the nature of crime in Guyana?
APNU has railed against the levels of crime in Guyana. It has complained that enough is not being done and that the Ministry of Home Affairs has failed. Yet, it is opposed to something that all modern police forces have – SWAT units.
The basis of APNU’s arguments is very confusing.

Originally Posted by raymond:

I does use it to wipe my Batty.

You sayin' you does wipe your mouth with it after eating?