I am NOT excited by the fact that the PPP allowed over the last 5 years, all that garbage to pile up only to give IRFATT ALI BABA and his boys $1 billion to tief half and clean half.

Kishan, I do not belong to any political party and would not support or defend the wrong things they do. That being said, I do not make statements without evidence like you keep doing all the time. With regards to cleaning up the garbage, what is the Mayor and City Council doing about it. It is their job. It is also the job of the people can help by not to littering and throwing their garbage everywhere unless they want to live in filth. Gaad man stop blaming the PPP for everything.

Where are the jobs???

Look, I just return from Guyana, and there are a lot of young people who are so damn lazy, it is beyond one's imagination. These are well paying jobs, but it seems some of them want to name their price. One of them told me that the  Boss man got to provide them food as a condition of employment. They prefer to drink rum, sniff lil drugs, behave bad and thief. Laziness is the becoming an industry in Guyana right. AND THERE IS A LOT OF WORK AVAILABLE SO DON"T BRING THAT SHIT TO ME.

Why is the PPP failing to transform the

economy???

The key word here is "transform". Even those who support the PPP, in order to make the PPP better and greater, should ask the same question.Greatness is measured by how much you can achieve with your potential, NOT how much you are different from a low standard (the past PNC).

Originally Posted by Dondadda:
 AND THERE IS A LOT OF WORK AVAILABLE SO DON"T BRING THAT SHIT TO ME.

Like what?  If jobs were so available Guyanese wouldnt have been running to the Islands, Suriname and Venezuela to do slave work.

It might shock you to know that not everybody gets remittances from overseas.

Indeed its often estimate tht unemployment in Guyana is in the 20-30% range, and the fact that the PPP hides that statistics suggests that they are right.

And whats wrong with people naming their price, especially in a country like Guyana where there is rank abuse?  Filthy rich business people drinking a bottle of liquor worth more than a month's wages for one of their employees!

I am NOT excited by the fact that the PPP allowed over the last 5 years, all that garbage to pile up only to give IRFATT ALI BABA and his boys $1 billion to tief half and clean half.

Kishan, I do not belong to any political party and would not support or defend the wrong things they do. That being said, I do not make statements without evidence like you keep doing all the time. With regards to cleaning up the garbage, what is the Mayor and City Council doing about it. It is their job. It is also the job of the people can help by not to littering and throwing their garbage everywhere unless they want to live in filth. Gaad man stop blaming the PPP for everything.

Dondadda:

I also do not belong to any party.

THE FACTS:

The City Council in 1999 presented to the Minister of Local Government a proposal to increase their income base.

The PPP rejected all of it.

How can I earn $5 but my expenses are $40 to keep the city in proper order?

So I will spend $5 and it will leave the city dirty.

Hope you understand.

Sugar is almost dead. Bauxite in crisis. 

The price of gold, is not what it was, the corrupt PPP/C is joining with the Rice Millers Association and giving the Rice Farmers a hard card, by reducing their prices considerable,

Pensioners are crying out for that mere pittance that was given. Works on contract are shoddily done and it would seems that money are being paid out just for the sake of kickbacks and a host of others.

You do not blame the Mayor and City Council, the Corrupt PPP/C had twenty odd years to kick their asses out, but by not holding Elections for over twenty something years, it is the fault of the PPP/C that the mayor and city council remains where they are..........compliments PPP/C

Tell that to the unemployed black denizens of South Ruimveldt, Durban Park, LaPenitance , Charleston, etc., where 9 to 10 of them live in a shack.

Listen, I am not talking only about Black people. I am talking about Indians and other races there. You are a racist if you think I am talking about black people only. Keep you racist crap for others. 

Originally Posted by Brian Teekah:

Dondadda:

THE FACTS:

The City Council in 1999 presented to the Minister of Local Government a proposal to increase their income base.

Hope you understand.

City Hall wasted all the monies that were given to them between 1992 and 1998. They failed to execute their plan during those years.Hamilton Green wasted the people's money like he did when he was in the PNC. Hoyte knew that and that is the reason Hoyte kicked his ass. So I respectfully disagree with you on this one.

Dondadda:

THE FACTS:

Hope you understand.

City Hall wasted all the monies that were given to them between 1992 and 1998. They failed to execute their plan during those years.Hamilton Green wasted the people's money like he did when he was in the PNC. Hoyte knew that and that is the reason Hoyte kicked his ass. So I respectfully disagree with you on this one.

PADDING THE PAYROLL WITH PHANTOM EMPLOYEES. Talk about kickbacks!

Tell that to the unemployed black denizens of South Ruimveldt, Durban Park, LaPenitance , Charleston, etc., where 9 to 10 of them live in a shack.

Listen, I am not talking only about Black people. I am talking about Indians and other races there. You are a racist if you think I am talking about black people only. Keep you racist crap for others. 

Do you know the logic of a discussion? Your post insinuates that there are jobs for all Guyanese but some don't want to work. I picked an urban section - largely black - and asked you to tell these people who are looking for jobs that there is plenty of opportunities. Where on earth do you take this logic and transform it into a commentary on race?

, what is the Mayor and City Council doing about it.

They have no obligation to do anything given that their mandate to govern ended in 1999.

Blame the PPP for not holding Local Gov't elections.

Agreed the PPP should have called Local Gov't election and that is for them to explain to the voters. However, if as you say that the Mayor and City Council has no obligation to do anything then why are they still there unless they are there to collect their salaries for doing nothing. If as you say there mandate had ended in 1999, then technically they are unelected and should go look for work rather than riding the gravy train. They are just as corrupt as the people they accuse of being corrupt.

Why is the PPP failing to transform the economy???

Interesting question, we were the poorest when the Corrupt PPP/C take up power in 1992 and today 22 years later we are still the poorest, we did nothing to raise the standard, not an iota to boast about, today the squalor all over Guyana is driving away tourist, simply Guyana Stinks, and Irfaat the dunce thinks that he will bring back Guyana to its glory days, but he is doomed to failure.

economy???

The key word here is "transform". Even those who support the PPP, in order to make the PPP better and greater, should ask the same question.Greatness is measured by how much you can achieve with your potential, NOT how much you are different from a low standard (the past PNC).

I agree with Kari.

Guyana needs a transformational President. The PPP must throw out the old and bring in a young and new generation of Politicians who will infuse fresh bold in the PPP.

Failing to do so will eventually see a dead PPP ten years from now.

Do you know the logic of a discussion? Your post insinuates that there are jobs for all Guyanese but some don't want to work. I picked an urban section - largely black - and asked you to tell these people who are looking for jobs that there is plenty of opportunities. Where on earth do you take this logic and transform it into a commentary on race?

They are not looking for work. They know where the jobs are. There are vacancies posted everywhere, even on Lamp posts. They are lazy and they and you know that. If they can find a rum shop they can find a damn job but you people overseas keep sending them barrels. 

Dondadda:

THE FACTS:

Hope you understand.

City Hall did not get a chance to touch the money assigned to Georgetown for the special project; it was all spent on paying off people like PURAN brothers and Cevon Wast Management.

STOP these lies Donadadee.

economy???

I agree with Kari.

Guyana needs a transformational President. The PPP must throw out the old and bring in a young and new generation of Politicians who will infuse fresh bold in the PPP.

Failing to do so will eventually see a dead PPP ten years from now.

Irfan ALI!  YEH.  

He has an MBA from India and is studying for a PHD from Green Tea University ( a diploma mill under federal investigation) compliments of former AFC financier who now is a regular at Freedump House.

Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

What facts or economic statistics can we look at to determine whether the economy has been transformed or not? What does transformation of economy means? Please describe so we can get clear understanding.

Billy you like ask questions, I hope you capable of providing answers.

The best analysis of the going ons in Guyana economically was done by Mr Nagamootoo and Mr Singh from the AFC.

Counter their claims.  I challenge you.

http://www.kaieteurnewsonline....unlock-our-gridlock/

As economy slips, AFC holds the key to unlock our gridlock

MARCH 16, 2014 | BY  | FILED UNDER AFC COLUMNFEATURES / COLUMNISTS 

By Moses V. Nagamootoo and Sasenarine Singh

Overshadowed by the crisis in the sugar industry, Guyana’s economic performance last year is far from satisfactory. Gone forever is the 7% economic growth rate in the last years of Desmond Hoyte and Cheddi Jagan.
Whilst prices for our primary products in 2013 have dipped, it is primarily the lack of vision, bungling and incompetence of the minority government that is at the heart of Guyana’s lukewarm economic performance.
The political hustle for survival and rule by propaganda, have eaten valuable time to hone in on how to change things around. Guyanese need leadership and statesmanship, not propaganda trash and cuss-down pantomimes.
Reports indicate that in 2013 production of sugar, fish, bauxite and poultry meat declined. We need to urgently do clinical analyses of our failure in these sectors, and come up with answers.
Rice, forestry, diamond and gold output improved, but the fall in price for gold, and uncertainty over the rice market, have affected performance. For example, the increase in gold production from 438,000 oz. in 2012 to over 459,000 oz. in 2013 was eroded by a 28% decline in gold price.
All of our energies need to be on how to improve our economic performance. Instead, the myopic Robb Street gang diverts attention away from this task, and gets lost in the political propaganda game of “blame-it-on-the-opposition”.
The September 2013 Quarterly Report from the Bank of Guyana gives some startling indications of our economic status. These are some key facts:
1.         The overall balance of payments recorded a deficit of US$220.4 million as compared to a surplus of US$57.8 million for the same period in 2012.  This, in ordinary expression, means that Guyana has a shortfall because our use of funds is more than that what we earned. The situation has gotten worse over 2013.
2.         This deterioration was primarily due to an expanded current account deficit and a lower capital account surplus. This enlarged current account deficit was mainly on account of lower inflow of current transfers and higher services payments. As at September 2013, the deficit on the services account expanded by 57.3 percent or US$75.8 million to reach US$208.0 million on account of higher payments for non-factor services. (In the simplest of terms an increase in payments for non-factor services can be driven by increase payment for shipping costs, airline travel costs, etc. and is an outflow of cash from the economy)
3.         Remittances decreased by 47.5 percent or US$181.5 million to US$200.9 million when compared to the previous year.
4.         The capital account surplus decreased by 20.2 percent to US$172.2 million on account of lower foreign direct investment and portfolio investment by private citizens. (Investments are down as at September 2013 and are expected to decline in 2014 and this is a real problem, But the Minister of Finance is too high of propaganda on the anti-money laundering issue to pay any heed to this crisis)
5.         Inflows from bilateral and multilateral agencies decreased by 19.7 percent to US$120.6 million as at the end of September, and this is a clear sign that the “gravy train” is slowing down. It may not be surprising that after investing hundreds of millions of dollars in the productive sector, the international community expects that Guyana should be in a much more opportune position to facilitate the private sector as the “engine of growth”. But, instead, PPP tried to haul the private sector onto its opposition-bashing propaganda train.
6.         The gross international reserves were drawn down by some US$200.9 million from US$834.9 million to US$634.0 million over the year to September 2013 to finance the overall deficit.  (That was almost a quarter of the international reserves vanishing as a result of the PPP mismanagement of the economy).
7.         Even though the international reserves increased to US$751.2 million at the end of December 2013, when compared to December 2012, we lost some US$74 million of our reserves in 2013 under this PPP Government.
The PPP must answer to the people for the state of our economy. They must say why they have squandered the many opportunities to allow this economy to grow at 7-8 percent annually, which is what is required to grow our people out of poverty.
As a result of the wanton squander-mania and mismanagement of the economy by the PPP, our people continue to suffer in increasing numbers in abject poverty. The latest estimated poverty rate is closer to 40 percent of the population with 70 percent of the Hinterland residents (mainly Amerindians) continuing to live in wretched conditions.
The UN has also revealed that in 2011 some 46.1 percent of our youths are classified as unemployed; classic economic NINJAS (no income, no jobs, no assets). On the flip-side, almost 90 percent of the Guyanese with a University education are on a plane out of the country permanently.
These are horrifying revelations that expose that the current Ramotar administration is failing to deliver on promises to turn the economy around. They have instead turned it upside down.
The AFC stands ready to work with all patriotic Guyanese to transform our society and economy within the next generation. As we said in our Action Plan, we stand ready to pool ideas on re-vamping and re-energising our economy to create more jobs and to resuscitate hope that we could survive.
But Guyana cannot turn around unless we have serious leaders in Government who are focused and driven with an ambition to do what it takes politically to forge national unity and make necessary compromises to put the entire Nation to work.
The AFC has become, over a very short time, the conscience of our people, especially our young people, and we see urgent need for a national conversation on the way forward.
We are not interested in Budget Talk on who to blame for the wretchedness in our society. We need a Budget Plan on how to take us out of the rot, and how to manage our limited financial resources so that everyone, especially our lowly-paid public servants, could get a small bite of the cherry.
It is time this minority government follow the AFC road-map for recovery. In the AFC, we remain confident that we hold the key to unlock our gridlock, by using political consensus to open the door to better economic performance.

Despite the bad news in the sugar and bauxite industries the economy still grew by 5.7%. How many countries in the Caribbean and Latin America have been able to weather the storm and still record economic growth like Guyana. I am not asking to make comparison with the PNC era.

Dat numba is like nice cook up rice.

This debate cannot go anywhere unless we are going to debate.

So you put out some questions.  I put out a position and you Billy totally ignore my points and past this 5.7 percent with a bull crap comment.

I cannot debate with you people. Really, you all not prepared to face the issues.

But to the 5.7%, let me make this clear, I have serious issues with this number.

Given the persistent pockets of poverty, lack of productive jobs and self-employment opportunities, together with the pressures and strains on the livelihoods of the vast majority of Guyanese, economic growth has been generally disappointing.

But I have major issues with how the PPP computes the growth rate since so many are in pain yet the PPP claims all this growth.  FOR WHOM?

I have major issues with the quality of data coming out of the Ministry of Finance.

Not only me, the best Guyanese economist alive Professor Clive Thomas also in his SN articles have a major problem with the statistical FRAUD that the PPP put out as the economic growth rate.

But back to the point, answer the issues raised by Nagamootoo and Singh.

Remittance down, Foreign Investment down, sugar down, bauxite down, gold down because of poor prices but guess what the economy grew by 5.7%.

We are not that dunce as the PPP think we are and please STOP playing with our intelligence.

The 5.7% growth figure is a FRAUD!

Dondadda:

THE FACTS:

Hope you understand.

City Hall did not get a chance to touch the money assigned to Georgetown for the special project; it was all spent on paying off people like PURAN brothers and Cevon Wast Management.

Bai, Dondadda always gives you the truth. Telling lies is a bad thing.

It is possible to have economic growth and still have persistent pockets of poverty, lack of productive jobs, and self-employment opportunities. Just look at the country (USA) we are living in.  Can you use the poverty in Detroit or elsewhere to argue that the US economy is not growing? The gov't put out its arguments about the economy but you are claiming they are all false information.  I went through the budget presentation by Ashni Singh and found some vital info. about the economy.

1) private sector credit expended by 34.60%

2) External debt declined from 46.7% to 41.9% of GDP

3) $9.70 billion to Sugar

4) $6.20 billion subsidy to Linden for Electricity (Hello Carib)

5) tax threshold increased from 40K to 50K

6) Personal income tax rate decreased from 33 1/3% to 30%

7) 290 new doctors recruited

8) 10,286 new houselots

Exports in sugar, bauxite, and seafoods declined. These are dark spots in the economy.

5.7% economic growth is relatively spectaculary when we look at other countries. Only China had growth of 7.7%.  Can we beat them chinese?

The construction industry in Guyana is doing well. No wonder stone production increased by almost 50%.

Dondadda:

THE FACTS:

Hope you understand.

Bai Dondadda,

De truth ah taboo fuh some ah dem peeple on GNI. Me nah call name you no. Dem peeple no who abie ah taak about.

It is possible to have economic growth and still have persistent pockets of poverty, lack of productive jobs, and self-employment opportunities. Just look at the country (USA) we are living in.  Can you use the poverty in Detroit or elsewhere to argue that the US economy is not growing? The gov't put out its arguments about the economy but you are claiming they are all false information.  I went through the budget presentation by Ashni Singh and found some vital info. about the economy.

8) 10,286 new houselots

Exports in sugar, bauxite, and seafoods declined. These are dark spots in the economy.

5.7% economic growth is relatively spectaculary when we look at other countries. Only China had growth of 7.7%.  Can we beat them chinese?

The construction industry in Guyana is doing well. No wonder stone production increased by almost 50%.

LOL! Dem bais comparing Merika wid Guyana.

Originally Posted by Kapadilla:

8) 10,286 new houselots

You mean dem dhall gotay peeple?

Dondadda:

THE FACTS:

Hope you understand.

Bai Dondadda,

De truth ah taboo fuh some ah dem peeple on GNI. Me nah call name you no. Dem peeple no who abie ah taak about.

some estate woman sues suing 

Originally Posted by Kapadilla:

8) 10,286 new houselots

You mean dem dhall gotay peeple?

Na meh mean dem hignorant jackass lika yu.

No excuse. If Hammie Green was a bad mayor then the people of G/twn should have had the opportunity to vote him out in 1999 or 2000.

Indeed it was the GGG which defeated the PNC in G/twn in 1994.  How many people even remember who the GGG is, and the fact that the PNC didnt win G/twn.  So if GGG no longer exists where does that leave the governance of G/twn?

Despite the bad news in the sugar and bauxite industries the economy still grew by 5.7%. How many countries in the Caribbean and Latin America have been able to weather the storm and still record economic growth like Guyana. I am not asking to make comparison with the PNC era.

Guyana benefitted from a commodity BOOM.  Its economy wasnt linked to US and EU economies as were those of the Caribbean as it doesnt depende on discretionary spending by people from those countries.

Why not compare Guyana with the rest of South America between 2008 and 2013, and then tell us whether we enjoyed the fantastic growth rate of those nations in the earlier part of the commidity boom?

The PPP should stop trying to take credit for factors over which they have no control, and that is the commodity boom, and continued remittances.

8) 10,286 new houselots

1.  Construction and retail are doing well because the gold industry is doing well, and remittances continue.  This has NOTHING to do with PPP policies.

2.  Gold and rice are doing well because prices are high.  Even if there has been softening in gold recently, prices are still high by historic levels, enabling production from gold fields that would not be profitable were prices lower.

Notwithstanding that rice farmers are being shafted, so how mcuh longer can they afford to grow more rice.

3.  debt reduction is due to the residual impact of earlier agreed up debt write-off.  This is not a transformative economic development strategy.

4.  The electricity subsidy is paid to BOSAI which uses most of the electricity that it generates.

5.  Why is subsidizing sugar seen as an economic boon?  It represents wasted resources and at some point Guyana will suffer.

6.  Guyana is one of the poorest countries in South America.  Its growth rate is still not enough to allow it to catch up, especiallyas Guyana has the same economic structure that it had SEVENTY years ago!  Instead of sugar and bauxite, it is now gold and rice.  Only change!  It remains a producer of unprocessed (or minimally processed) commodities subhect to volatile prices, and it no longer recieves substantially higher than market price guarantees from the EU to mitigate commodity price volatility.

Get back to me if gold falls down to $800. Loads of miners will have to shut down.  Exports will drop, and all that easy consumer credit will have to be written off.

Please develop an understanding of basic economics, and stop parrotting what GINA tells you to chirp!

. However, if as you say that the Mayor and City Council has no obligation to do anything then why are they still there unless they are there to collect their salaries for doing nothing. If as you say there mandate had ended in 1999,

They are still there because there has been no election.  Given that thbere has been no election there woiuld be no one to govern because the electorate hasnt selected any one.

Its the PPPs fault. They are engaging in this rant because the people of G/twn do not want Sooba, a woman with no qualifications, to be foisted on them.

Have local gov't elections and end the nonsense!