Originally Posted by VVP:

Banna,

I do not know much about the rice industry plight other than scanning headlines.  But let me ask you since you know, doesn't the payment have to do with something about the GOVERNMENT receiving payments directly from Venezuela and the rice farmers didn't get paid?  Or something like dat?  This is not the same situation for miners, I think.

And of course the rice industry let itself be used by the PPP in that nonsnse, which makes my point. 

They should have insisted in full representation and oversight of any funds taht are due to them.

They should have understood that the Venezuela deal wasnt based on sound business practises, but was a political attempt by Chavez to annoint himself as Emperor of the Caribbean and Central America.  So not sustainable, as Venezuela continues t collapse.

But the rice industry sees itself as a ward of the state. Yes the PPP was happy as it ensured that they retained control over their base.  But clearly the disadvantages of this have become apparent now that a new group have arrived.

I ain't looking to see what the PPP seh, ah looking fuh see wha the rice farmers demand per what YOU stated.

The rice industry continue to be stooges of the PPP so are saying what the PPP says that they are saying.  Certainly iof they said different APNU would have been quick to let this be known.

You can gauge what rice farmers demand from what Holder is telling them, and this is fully in line with the hysteria from the Guyana Times.

Originally Posted by Georgie:

Carib you are really too much now.

The rice farmers are not asking for total support.  They also need help too.  Why don't you carry your racist self in a corner.

Our Coalition Government is not racist and I know my President, Dr Granger will soon reach out to the rice farmers.

Which other industry demands guaranteed prices and guaranteed markets and full insulation against market conditions?  ONLY RICE!

They do nothing to find new markets and demand that civil servants do this for them. It is preposterous that the gov't must find markets for them They ought to find the markets, through locating buyers, and then obtain gov't support, to the extent that foreign gov'ts intervene.

What a dumb statement in bold.  This is a function of government AH; to find markets for major industries that support the economy.  You are one fing dumb person.  I thought you were lil brighter than PNC man redux, but it looks like you know nothing about government.

Banna,

I do not know much about the rice industry plight other than scanning headlines.  But let me ask you since you know, doesn't the payment have to do with something about the GOVERNMENT receiving payments directly from Venezuela and the rice farmers didn't get paid?  Or something like dat?  This is not the same situation for miners, I think.

And of course the rice industry let itself be used by the PPP in that nonsnse, which makes my point. 

They should have insisted in full representation and oversight of any funds taht are due to them.

They should have understood that the Venezuela deal wasnt based on sound business practises, but was a political attempt by Chavez to annoint himself as Emperor of the Caribbean and Central America.  So not sustainable, as Venezuela continues t collapse.

But the rice industry sees itself as a ward of the state. Yes the PPP was happy as it ensured that they retained control over their base.  But clearly the disadvantages of this have become apparent now that a new group have arrived.

The " rice industry" is not an apprehending entity that sees hears or feels. It is an assemblage of poor farmers who have from time immemorial been told that they must sell to the government and are paid per some grading structure that eternally stole from them. They do not know of the "industry" beyond that point. It is no fault of theirs but the habit of business to which they were  indoctrinated and which has always been.

Indeed there has to be some brokering system outside government to whom they must sell since they are not of the scale where they can take it upon themselves to establish a marketing structure without help. The government has to help. It has been their job by default to this point so like anything else they have to take it upon themselves to execute the function until they can extricate themselves from the task.

Banna,

The " rice industry" is not an apprehending entity that sees hears or feels. It is an assemblage of poor farmers who have from time immemorial been told that they must sell to the government and are paid per some grading structure that eternally stole from them. They do not know of the "industry" beyond that point. It is no fault of theirs but the habit of business to which they were  indoctrinated and which has always been.

Indeed there has to be some brokering system outside government to whom they must sell since they are not of the scale where they can take it upon themselves to establish a marketing structure without help. The government has to help. It has been their job by default to this point so like anything else they have to take it upon themselves to execute the function until they can extricate themselves from the task.

The government will always have to be looking for markets for the rice industry in Guyana.  Most of the farmers are small and cannot look for markets.  Only the very large millers might be able to sell under bilateral transactions.

I happen to agree with CaribJ on the rice industry solution. Just like sugar, it has to be produced efficiently in order to survive. It can not be subsidized perpetually by a 3rd world govt unless there is a net gain to the tax payers. The days of the small farmer in the West Indies is over as they can't compete with the mega farms world wide that produce rice and sugar at a fraction of the cost.   

In the US we have the farmer subsidy that are tied to the prevailing market prices of crops. When the prices are low on the world market, the govt steps in with subsidies to the tune of 10 to 30 billion USD.  This in itself destabilizes the industry in other smaller producing nations like Guyana. 

What a dumb statement in bold.  This is a function of government AH; to find markets for major industries that support the economy.  You are one fing dumb person.  I thought you were lil brighter than PNC man redux, but it looks like you know nothing about government.

It is NOT the role of government to find markets for privately owned companies because it is not within the skill set for civil servants to do so.

Apparently you were extremely happy with the state of the rice industry in the 70s.  Demand that every act must be performed by gov't and you will be right back to a bureaucrat who knows nothing about rice running the industry.

The government will always have to be looking for markets for the rice industry in Guyana.  Most of the farmers are small and cannot look for markets.  Only the very large millers might be able to sell under bilateral transactions.

the farmers don't export what they grow.  Its the millers who do. So why cannot they be expected to PROTECT THEIR INTERESTS by ensuring that they can sell their products?

Government can assist, and gov't can protect.  Government CANNOT run the industry because gov't is NOT involved in the industry.

Put agriculture in the hands of civil servants and disaster is sure to follow.  Examples are encouraging farmers to grow 600k tons, when you can only sell 400k.  Encouraging them to sell to lunatics who periodically invade Guyana and assault Guyanese, and then be shocked when the same mad hatters decide to stop purchases when Guyana refuses to adhere to their bullying.

If the rice industry saw itself as being responsible this silliness would not happen.

And while Guyanese want civil servants to run the industry rice producers from elsewhere are approaching buyers and seizing markets that should belong to Guyana.  If I can buy Guyanese fish in CARICOM supermarkets, why not Guyanese rice?

In the US we have the farmer subsidy that are tied to the prevailing market prices of crops. When the prices are low on the world market, the govt steps in with subsidies to the tune of 10 to 30 billion USD.  This in itself destabilizes the industry in other smaller producing nations like Guyana. 

In fact this practice by the USA destroyed the rice industry in Haiti and the chicken industry in Jamaica.  They subsidized inefficient US producers who promptly dumped their produce in these islands, killing off the local industry.  Similar subsidies by the EIU has done tremendous damage to Caribbean sugar.

Government should keep far away from agriculture, except to provide the most basic support.

Do you know some of the biggest beneficiaries from the fuel deal to the mining sector are East Indians?

I just found this out after doing this post.

So this definitely is not a race thing.

What matters, if it is good for gold, then it is good for rice.

Check out who are the richest people in Bartica - Indians.  They making a killing from this gold deal.

Do you know some of the biggest beneficiaries from the fuel deal to the mining sector are East Indians?

Check out who are the richest people in Bartica - Indians.  They making a killing from this gold deal.

The biggest local gold miners are Indians.  Many of the smaller miners who are being forced out of the industry are blacks, as are many of the workers who are losing their job.

Those who want to juxtapose rice and mining for racial purposes are being mischievous.  This is why the PPP will remain a "coolie party" to use a term that Jagdeo and Rohee were proud to use during the election.

The biggest local gold miners are Indians.  Many of the smaller miners who are being forced out of the industry are blacks, as are many of the workers who are losing their job.

Those who want to juxtapose rice and mining for racial purposes are being mischievous.  This is why the PPP will remain a "coolie party" to use a term that Jagdeo and Rohee were proud to use during the election.

kishan now realizing dis

ooops!

Originally Posted by Brian Teekah:

LIKE REDUX record stick?

This is what I cannot handle.  This board have extremist from the PNC and extremist from the PPP posting all day long.

Let us get some rational post from sensible people.

Gilly Baka, where are you.

Let us hear from sense.

I have had enough of YUJI and REDUX, tow mad and racist men.

sumady really really getting dem panty in a bunch . . . losing their mind because i CORRECTLY point out:

This thread is premised on a LIE!!

heh heh heh heh