Indian man, 57, paralyzed after encounter with police 02:22

Story highlights

• Sureshbhai Patel is visiting from India to help take care of his grandson
  • He required back surgery after police forced him to the ground

<cite class="el-editorial-source">(CNN)</cite>It started out as a morning walk, but ended up with a 57-year-old grandpa laying partially paralyzed in an Alabama hospital bed.

Sureshbhai Patel required spinal fusion surgery to repair damage to his back when his family says police twisted his arm and forced him to the ground.

The incident began Friday when Madison Police got a suspicious person report.

Police say someone in the small community about 12 miles east of Huntsville called to report a man walking in neighbors' driveways and peering into garages.

"The caller, who lives in the neighborhood did not recognize the subject and thought him to be suspicious," a statement from Madison Police said.

When police responded, there was a language barrier.

Patel, who is visiting from India to help take care of his developmentally delayed, 17-month-old grandson Ayaan, speaks little English.

Chirag Patel, told CNN Affiliate WHNT that his father tried to communicate with officers, telling them "No English. Indian," when they approached. He also said his father gave police his address and pointed to his son's house.

Madison Police agree that there was "a communication barrier," bet

Indian man, 57, paralyzed after encounter with police 02:22

Story highlights

• Sureshbhai Patel is visiting from India to help take care of his grandson
  • He required back surgery after police forced him to the ground

<cite class="el-editorial-source">(CNN)</cite>It started out as a morning walk, but ended up with a 57-year-old grandpa laying partially paralyzed in an Alabama hospital bed.

Sureshbhai Patel required spinal fusion surgery to repair damage to his back when his family says police twisted his arm and forced him to the ground.

The incident began Friday when Madison Police got a suspicious person report.

Police say someone in the small community about 12 miles east of Huntsville called to report a man walking in neighbors' driveways and peering into garages.

"The caller, who lives in the neighborhood did not recognize the subject and thought him to be suspicious," a statement from Madison Police said.

When police responded, there was a language barrier.

Patel, who is visiting from India to help take care of his developmentally delayed, 17-month-old grandson Ayaan, speaks little English.

Chirag Patel, told CNN Affiliate WHNT that his father tried to communicate with officers, telling them "No English. Indian," when they approached. He also said his father gave police his address and pointed to his son's house.

Madison Police agree that there was "a communication barrier," bet

because they run away from you and cobra the snake

This seems like a terrible misunderstanding. Combination of a foreigner unaware of American suspiciousness of people staring into driveways and what not and our police's penchant for excessive force towards civilians (of all races).

I agree. In the south they are accustomed to see Afros and treat them like Animals much less an Indian. The police probably thought was an Alien.!!!

Just the way you does RUN when you hear Uncle Nehru coming???

uncle nehru staggering up the road 

Yuh does frighten Uncle Nehru Patke yuh and yuh gun start crying like the lil Gal you are.

little girl more like a buxton black women

I used to love Buxton women. I does buy dem a lil drink and we does sit and talk whole night. Nice people.

This seems like a terrible misunderstanding. Combination of a foreigner unaware of American suspiciousness of people staring into driveways and what not and our police's penchant for excessive force towards civilians (of all races).

I agree. In the south they are accustomed to see Afros and treat them like Animals much less an Indian. The police probably thought was an Alien.!!!

Actually, I've lived in the South (Texas, Carolinas etc.). They're pretty nice there. I had a wonderful time. And there's a lot of Indos scattered all over. I suspect the South has more Indos than NYC does. Also, many parts of the South are fairly cosmopolitan and urbane. It's not all a scene out of the movie "Deliverance." The place is just lovely. Don't knock it until you've had a chance to indulge.

I was always like 30 mins away from some curry place. They Indos seemed to get on ok.

Yuh does frighten Uncle Nehru Patke yuh and yuh gun start crying like the lil Gal you are.

I used to love Buxton women. I does buy dem a lil drink and we does sit and talk whole night. Nice people.

i use to party in buxton,i will take a shot here you know gawoo and sexey 

I beat the two of them together.. Sexy died. Gawoo lives now in Courbane Park. Was Jagan Bodyguard.

There are pockets of places in the south where people are openly racist but that is remote from Europe where they maintain they are civilized. However, I live in MD now and I got the treatment that fellow received twice because someone called in to say there was a "lurker" in the hood.Even after being here for clost to 7 years I still get the cops "creeping" up on me at times if I am out late.

As long as you are not the acceptable color and the people in the area do not know you they may call you a "lurker". Just a few days ago an elderly lady, apparently out for her morning walk, passed me. A bit later I saw her coming up from behind me. Apparently she came back to tell me that only residents are allowed to walk there since it was a private gated community. I asked her then "what are you doing here?". she mumbled about living "here" and move on.

SOuth is not bad

I frighten South.

I have travelled thru the SOuth and deep South...Georgia, Alabama, Mississippi, Tenn and ah bunch of other places...even stayed in some of them... seems ok

Lots of Indians live in the South

which is why I doan know he sound so frikken

The south has more coolie people than NYC

There are pockets of places in the south where people are openly racist but that is remote from Europe where they maintain they are civilized. However, I live in MD now and I got the treatment that fellow received twice because someone called in to say there was a "lurker" in the hood.Even after being here for clost to 7 years I still get the cops "creeping" up on me at times if I am out late.

As long as you are not the acceptable color and the people in the area do not know you they may call you a "lurker". Just a few days ago an elderly lady, apparently out for her morning walk, passed me. A bit later I saw her coming up from behind me. Apparently she came back to tell me that only residents are allowed to walk there since it was a private gated community. I asked her then "what are you doing here?". she mumbled about living "here" and move on.

Shoulda tripped the ole gummer.,,,bitch.

I beat the two of them together.. Sexy died. Gawoo lives now in Courbane Park. Was Jagan Bodyguard.

i was with sexy when he die,me and gawoo went hunting a few times you know benwire he die too,i bet them guys use to take away your lunch money 

IF you hugly enuff they won't do you nuttin.Originally Posted by RiffRaff:

SOuth is not bad

I frighten South.

I have travelled thru the SOuth and deep South...Georgia, Alabama, Mississippi, Tenn and ah bunch of other places...even stayed in some of them... seems ok

Originally Posted by Bruddaman:
IF you hugly enuff they won't do you nuttin.Originally Posted by RiffRaff:

SOuth is not bad

I frighten South.

yuh tek yuh rass eye and pass meh nuh