Duncan ‘forced’ to withdraw candidacy for Mayor hours before election

Share on Facebook
Tweet on Twitter
Deputy Mayor Sherod Duncan

Deputy Mayor Sherod Duncan has noted that he has been ‘forced’ to withdraw his candidacy for Mayor of Georgetown, citing “ministerial intervention” in the process.

Duncan made the announcement hours before the elections are due to be held at City Hall on Thursday.He was contesting against current Mayor, Patricia Chase-Green.

Duncan in a statement noted in the last few days the local government process has been tainted with “ministerial intervention” and it is his belief that Councillors have been coerced to give their support in a particular direction to maintain the status quo; undermining the democratic process.

Mayor of Georgetown, Patricia Chase-Green

“This and the use of municipal resources to campaign for the incumbent does not auger well for our local democracy, and presents an unleveled playing field; a selection of Mayor and not an election. These factors have caused me to reevaluate my candidacy for Mayor. I therefore withdraw my candidacy for Mayor of Georgetown,” Duncan said.

He further noted that he will not be contending for the Deputy Mayorship “as this position requires someone more in tuned with the incumbent Mayor’s thinking and work ethic.”

“Serving the Municipality of Georgetown as Deputy Mayor has been a rewarding experience for me and an education. I have enjoyed the support of Councillors across the political divide, the Coalition Government’s confidence, (the Government continues to have my unswerving support) and I am humbled by the support of the residents of the Municipality of Georgetown.”

BECAUSE THE PNC IS A PATHETIC GOVT MADE UP WITH JACKASSES AND THEIR SUPPORTERS ON GNI NOT ONLY BRAIN DEAD BUT SOME THE THE MOST DUMB, STUPID AND SLAVE MINDED FOUND ON THIS PLANET!!!!!!!

You being a slave to the "Coolie Party"

your perception is others are like you,...wrong bhai.

Django, dis ah Sunday marning. Nah mek me me forsake god and start pun you dis early. You ah talk bare rass about coolie party. Wah you nah talk about niggro party? Wah you nah talk about tax dem poor peeple fuh give the rich in govt raises? Until you cyan see pass you nose, shet you behind.

Dis Bhai Django thinks that he is Black. Dat is ok if he thinks so but he dare not pick on he mattie Indo. Dat is when he needs some good lash.

Be careful bhai. I got suspended for something close to what you are saying...about this black thing.

Dis Bhai Django thinks that he is Black. Dat is ok if he thinks so but he dare not pick on he mattie Indo. Dat is when he needs some good lash.

Be careful bhai. I got suspended for something close to what you are saying...about this black thing.

Skelly,you r@ss too crude,that's why you got suspended.

Bhai yugi22,I have respect for all the people in this world,I got European Dougla nieces and nephews,my nephews spouses are white Europeans,one of my nephew in Canada girlfriend is Chinese,we got almost the races in our family,the new generation of our family genes mixed up tar@ss,my grandfather embraced everyone so we followed his principle.

YOU HAVE TO BE JUST STUPID OR shameless LIKE UNCLE TOM. DAT DAAG LOOK THE GUYANEE PEOPLE IN THE EYE AND TOLD THEM AS PRIME MINISTER HE IS ENTITLED TO LIVE IN ABSOLUTE LUXURY, WHILE THE PEOPLE BEGGING HOUSE TO HOUSE FOR A LITTLE SALT AND RICE. I AM NOT SURPRISED THAT A NAMAKARAM CRABDAAG LIKE THAT HAS THE SAME VALUES AS YOU DO!!

I really wish when we block members we can't read their shyte when they are quoted by another poster, dam!

Skelly,you r@ss too crude,that's why you got suspended.

Bhai yugi22,I have respect for all the people in this world,I got European Dougla nieces and nephews,my nephews spouses are white Europeans,one of my nephew in Canada girlfriend is Chinese,we got almost the races in our family,the new generation of our family genes mixed up tar@ss,my grandfather embraced everyone so we followed his principle.

Django Bhai,

I have no problems with interracial marriages and interracial families. ZERO. In another 25 years there will be a lot of interracial mixing and there is nothing wrong with it.

In Bhagavad Gita, Krsna declares that he is the seed giving father of All living entities. Therefore, everyone is equal in his eyes. It does not matter if you are white, brown or black.

I do have problems when people pick and try to demean another race and you crossed the line by picking on Indos and calling them a Cool** people party. That in itself is quite racist and you must desist from demeaning Indos.

Yuji22.

Rohee endorses Jagdeo statement that PPP is a ‘coolie people’ party

–    Says Afro Guyanese should welcome statement
General Secretary of the People’s Progressive Party (PPP), Clement Rohee, yesterday supported the statements made by his comrade, Bharrat Jagdeo, to the effect that the incumbent party is a “coolie people” party.

PPP General Secretary, Clement Rohee

As he hosted the PPP’s weekly press conference at Freedom House Robb Street, Georgetown, Rohee said that he saw nothing wrong with former President Jagdeo’s allusion to the PPP as a coolie people party.
Jagdeo made this statement on Sunday when he spoke at the memorial service held in honour of former President and founder member of the PPP, the late Dr. Cheddi Jagan at Babu Jaan, Corentyne, Berbice.
Jagdeo, who is known to speak rashly at this yearly forum, told thousands who gathered at the event that the “opposition” whispers to its supporters, “Let us throw out the coolie people.”
Jagdeo added that the opposition “consistently shouts about the racism of the PPP but they practice racism. They whisper campaigns. In the last elections they went to some of the Afro villages and beat some drums at six in the morning and say let us throw out these coolie people. Get up and go out and vote.”
Yesterday Rohee was questioned as to whether he supported the statements made by his comrade and he responded in the affirmative.
Rohee said that PPP is indeed a “coolie people” party as it is “overwhelmingly supported by Indians.”
Asked if he considered the impact such a statement can have on PPP supporters who are of another race, Rohee said that he doesn’t see that any harm can be caused.
He even told media operatives that PPP supporters who are Afro-Guyanese should welcome the statement as it is forthright.

http://www.kaieteurnewsonline....coolie-people-party/

Mits that is KN TOILET PAPER reporting. 

OUR Hero Bharat was responding to the RACIST PNC who were saying
" Throw the Cool** people out"

We have every right to defend ourselves against blatant PNC racism.

You sold yourself to the murderous and racist PNC which has given you and the AFC Husk.

Suh why you post articles from KN,

Does it not sound hypocritical.??

I separate their filth from the odd fair reporting.

Django, every day you flood the board with topics more than anyone else, but your topics are mostly pro PNC as you carefully filter out issues that show the govt in a bad light. The sure sign of a paid blogger like cribby.  Grow some balls and start holding your boys accountable. 

You guys have to stop accusing Django as PNC operative. Since some of us are PPP die hard, should we considered ourselves PPP operatives? I am also angry at Granger and the PNC, but we can beat up the messenger for what going on in Guyana.

Cobra posted:

You guys have to stop accusing Django as PNC operative. Since some of us are PPP die hard, should we considered ourselves PPP operatives? I am also angry at Granger and the PNC, but we can beat up the messenger for what going on in Guyana.

Looks like some of the pnc spiked koolaid leak into your cup. Let the man take his blows, it is well deserved. 

At the end of the day, Rohee endorsed Jagdeo statement that PPP is a ‘coolie people’ party.

Cobra posted:

Looks like some of the pnc spiked koolaid leak into your cup. Let the man take his blows, it is well deserved. 

I made an honest opinion about the fact that you can't hold a poster personally responsible for what is taking place in Guyana, or what news he may have missed out on. It's a request, not a command.

Cobra posted:

I made an honest opinion about the fact that you can't hold a poster personally responsible for what is taking place in Guyana, or what news he may have missed out on. It's a request, not a command.

Then request that your friend Django post articles shedding light on the PNC corruption as he floods the the board with topics. We are all entitled to our opinions, and this is my opinion that he represents the PNC on this board. 

Bai, here's a better comeback: Sometimes KN is printed on toilet paper. But other times KN wraps the news in Cadbury paper.

In fact what it really means when KN post critical articles against the PNC is that the evidence is so obvious that even a small child will concur.