Feds eye Brooklyn Sen. John Sampson in corruption probe 

Real estate agent Edul Ahmad, guilty of mortgage fraud, told federal authorities about payments he made to Sampson after the powerful Democrat claimed he needed money, sources said.

Comments (2)
Friday, January 4, 2013, 8:45 PM

Print
New York Senate Democratic Majority Leader John Sampson. The New York State Senate Puerto Rican Caucus honored the National Puerto Rican Parade and the Mayors of Puerto Rico at Maestros Restaurant, 1703 Bronxdale Avenue, here today June 10, 2010.

Jeanne Noonan/New York Daily News

New York Senate Democratic Majority Leader John Sampson is being investigated by the feds for allegedly accepting funds from guilty mortgage fraud schemer Edul Ahmad.

Related Stories

The feds are investigating Brooklyn Sen. John Sampson for allegedly accepting money from a shady broker, sources told the Daily News.

The real estate agent, Edul Ahmad, started singing to the feds before he even pleaded guilty in October to a $14 million mortgage fraud scheme, sources said. He faces more than 10 years in prison and $15 million in fines and restitution.

Ahmad told the feds about payments he made to Sampson after the powerful Democrat claimed he needed money, sources said. It is unclear if the money was couched as a gift or a loan, or whether Sampson repaid Ahmad.

"We are not making any statement whatsoever on that issue at all," said Sampson's spokesman.

CORRUPT5N_2_WEB

Todd Maisel/New York Daily News

Edul Ahmad of Queens, (PICTURED), was found guilty of mortgage fraud in Brooklyn Federal Court. Ahmad told the feds about payments he made to Sampson after the powerful Democrat claimed he needed money, sources said.

According to Board of Election records, Sampson reported $2,000 in donations from Ahmad in 2006 and 2007.

Ahmad's lawyer Steven Kartagener declined comment.

The real estate agent is also embroiled in the federal investigation over a secret $40,000 zero-interest loan he made to Congressman Gregory Meeks.

Sampson had been the Democratic Conference leader for the past two years before he was dumped in favor of Yonkers Sen. Andrea Stewart-Cousins last month. There had been whispers that Sampson was under investigation, according to a Democratic insider.

"This is why the conference got rid of him," the insider said. "There was always another shoe that was ready to drop."

Ahmad, a former cop in Guyana and naturalized U.S. citizen, pleaded guilty in October to an unrelated $14 million mortgage fraud scheme in which straw buyers submitted falsified applications to money lenders.

Ahmad's Facebook page still depicts him socializing with Sampson and other former top Democratic elected officials.

The House Ethics Committee concluded its probe into Ahmad's secret $40,000 loan to Meeks, calling the congressman's failure to disclose the loan for two years "inadvertent."

Meeks told The News he is "shocked" to hear Ahmad is cooperating with the government, and predicted it will have no bearing on him.

"There's absolutely nothing Mr. Ahmad could do or say that would hurt me," Meeks said, adding that he has not spoken to him in "years."

Originally Posted by JoKer:

Bhai, Reading and understanding still a problem eh???

Pavi, if yuh ain't in de know then you just ain't in de know

This Joker dude is also Davendra/Mahen/Ronal Narain. He posts spam and replies to his own spam. He will make a good standup comedian.

Joker gets his spam from slicing it off directly from a squealing PPP pig

This Joker dude is also Davendra/Mahen/Ronal Narain. He posts spam and replies to his own spam. He will make a good standup comedian.

I see you didn't refute the accusation of using aliases.

You feel free to believe whatever you like bro. I doan confirm or deny anything except of my own choosing. Joker decides what he wishes to confirm or deny. Not you buddy

Very interesting. You choose to hide behind aliases. Good luck.

Me and Rev Alexei are probably the two worst aliases here