The airtight alliance between America and Australia took a bumpy turn on Wednesday after a "hostile and charged" phone conversation was leaked between US President Donald Trump and his Australian counterpart, Malcolm Turnbull, in which the former reportedly called it his "worst call by far" with a foreign leader.

Mr Trump reportedly lambasted Mr Turnbull over a deal inked by the Obama administration to resettle up to 1,250 asylum seekers in the US.

Both leaders played down the encounter, but the leak underscored a longstanding debate about whether Australia relies too much on its northern ally in matters of foreign policy and security.

For a country that is so closely aligned to the US, which bolsters its security, and so geographically important to China, which underpins its prosperity, the balance is tricky.

There is no such thing as Australian Refugee, The American government had signed an agreement to take these refugees, while on hold by the Australian government, Trump is willing to take refugees but only from Christian White Nations, bloody racist. All these Muslim Refugees should change their names and convert to Christianity , then come to Trump's America and once here revert back to Islam.

Why do they have to go Trump's America?  Why can't they go to Trudeau's Canada? He said he wants refugees.  Remember?

With your reasoning, you should have stayed in Jagdeo's Guyana, he needs the "coolie" votes.

I spend enough time there and I have a Guyana passport with voting rights in the country of my birth.  I only wish Guyana can tek in some refugees.  Two hungry belly Venezuelans show up in Guyana and they got deported in no time.  You should have gone down there and fight for them.

Amral posted:

Trump is shaking things up and that is upsetting to many. For many years America was just strolling along and content to be the nice guy. Trumpster says no more

It's nice to help people, but at some point enough is enough.  When refugees and illegals start to bleed the economy somebody has to say stop.  Every politician knew this was a problem but they were afraid to lose votes so they ignored the problem.  Trump was the first to step out and acknowledge and say no more.  Now he is the bad guy.

Amral posted:

Trudeau will pay dearly for all the refugees he took in when election time comes around. His popularity is gradually going south

Those refugees will vote for Trudeau, they were given Landed Status upon arrival, so in three years they can become citizens and vote. Who does the conservatives have, O'Larry ,who emulates Trump, that behavior is not tolerated by Canadians.

I spend enough time there and I have a Guyana passport with voting rights in the country of my birth.  I only wish Guyana can tek in some refugees.  Two hungry belly Venezuelans show up in Guyana and they got deported in no time.  You should have gone down there and fight for them.

While you may have a valid passport and the rights to vote in Guyana, check carefully on its use, specifically in casting a vote in Guyana.

1. If a person has two passports .. one for Guyana and one for e.g., Canada, USA, etc., .. they need to be careful on when they use each passport.

2. If said person travels to Guyana on a Guyanese passport, s/he becomes subject to the laws of Guyana and the embassies .. e.g., Canada, USA, etc., .. cannot intervene if said person is detained, arrested, etc., in Guyana.

3. However, if said person travels to Guyana on a Canada, USA, etc., passport, said country can immediately intervene and protect the person from activities in Guyana.

The problem with America is the illegals coming from Mexico and the thousands that come on visitor visas and NEVER return to their home country. Canada has taken in over 50,000 Syrian refugees last year, where as the US took just under 3,000. These refugees were first taken to Lebanon, there in sub human conditions ,were sorted and vetted for almost two years before they become eligible and then sent to receiving countries, there were Christians and Muslims. These people given the same opportunity as many Guyanese would have done the "Back Track" deal and come to America. How would you like your own government , bomb the hell out of you, day and night, killing all at random , women and children, bombing hospitals, schools, shops and churches. Live an hour, walk a day in their shoes, sorry many flee with out shoes.

While you may have a valid passport and the rights to vote in Guyana, check carefully on its use, specifically in casting a vote in Guyana.

1. If a person has two passports .. one for Guyana and one for e.g., Canada, USA, etc., .. they need to be careful on when they use each passport.

2. If said person travels to Guyana on a Guyanese passport, s/he becomes subject to the laws of Guyana and the embassies .. e.g., Canada, USA, etc., .. cannot intervene if said person is detained, arrested, etc., in Guyana.

3. However, if said person travels to Guyana on a Canada, USA, etc., passport, said country can immediately intervene and protect the person from activities in Guyana.

In May 2015, all dem PNC people from Brooklyn went down to Guyana to vote in plane loads.  Many of them also have US passports.

Irrelevant to my specific comments.

Of note -- Dual Nationality -- US Department of State

Reference source -- https://travel.state.gov/conte...ual-nationality.html

Synopsis ...

[[Quote]]

Intent can be shown by the person's statements or conduct. The U.S. Government recognizes that dual nationality exists but does not encourage it as a matter of policy because of the problems it may cause. Claims of other countries on dual national U.S. nationals may conflict with U.S. law, and dual nationality may limit U.S. Government efforts to assist nationals abroad. The country where a dual national is located generally has a stronger claim to that person's allegiance.

However, dual nationals owe allegiance to both the United States and the foreign country. They are required to obey the laws of both countries. Either country has the right to enforce its laws, particularly if the person later travels there. Most U.S. nationals, including dual nationals, must use a U.S. passport to enter and leave the United States. Dual nationals may also be required by the foreign country to use its passport to enter and leave that country. Use of the foreign passport does not endanger U.S. nationality. Most countries permit a person to renounce or otherwise lose nationality.

[[Unquote]]

I spend enough time there and I have a Guyana passport with voting rights in the country of my birth.

Bibi, I now wonder about your commitment to America. When I got my US citizenship in 1992, I got a US passport and never again renewed my Guyanese passport. Why do people have dual citizenship?

Amral posted:

DrugB i have to pay more in taxes to keep the deficit from growing bigger. Thanks to years of wasteful spending by govt. The refugee crisis will it the bottom line and thats why i said come election time there will be some hell to pay for the Liberal govt that is power now

Well you are not alone, many of my family members are not happy with Canada's liberal policies while they got to bust their buts to make ends meet. 

I spend enough time there and I have a Guyana passport with voting rights in the country of my birth.

Bibi, I now wonder about your commitment to America. When I got my US citizenship in 1992, I got a US passport and never again renewed my Guyanese passport. Why do people have dual citizenship?

The PNC crowd has US Citzenship and they all go to vote in Guyana.  Please renew your Guyana passport and complete the necessary paperwork to get a Guyana ID.  We need your vote n 2020.

I am not interested Bibi. February 21st will make 30 years since I came to America and although I have been critical of some of America's actions, I have never cared to be a part of any other society than America. I intend to keep it that way.

I can only imagine how difficult it must be to live for 30 years in a country whose domestic and foreign policy goes against the fiber of your value system. Especially after leaving the country of your birth for Similar reasons.  Life is not fair.

That is the challenge that every American has gal. When Obama was President, half of the population felt disenfranchised. Now that Trump is President, more than half feel that way. Same with when Bush was President. Americans have been protesting from the beginning with the Boston Tea Party and they haven't stopped. If it wasn't because some policies/processes went against the fiber of their value system, they wouldn't have wasted their time protesting.

Bai I came to Canada (at age 18) when the world was a different place. 

To besides I never one day went on the welfare system or unemployment insurance.

I went to school/college and started working in this country from age 20 and have held a job(s) for the past 34 1/2 years and paid my fair share of taxes. Became a citizen, voted and have upheld the laws of my adopted country and never one day tried to impose my beliefs in Canada.

So come to me again with a different argument.

Amral

I think Trump is doing the right thing in the wrong way.  It's clear that America can no longer sustain the influx of immigrants and illegals.  The economy is bleeding.  Green card holders should not have been disrupted. They have to come up with a better system.  At the same time the Democrats have to stop telling their constituents that Trump ban Muslims.  Many of these protesters are not English speaking.  They believe everything told to them.   

Why would you have paid a bunch of money if you were sponsoring them legally to come. You will only be doing that if you were going to do something illegal.

As for Cda I think the fee to process an application is about $900.00?? which I think is a fair price. But there are questions that you answer and a point system that you must qualify under, so you will have a fair idea if your application stands a fair chance.

I think Trump ban is only temporary anyway

Amral
Amral posted:

Why would you have paid a bunch of money if you were sponsoring them legally to come. You will only be doing that if you were going to do something illegal.

As for Cda I think the fee to process an application is about $900.00?? which I think is a fair price. But there are questions that you answer and a point system that you must qualify under, so you will have a fair idea if your application stands a fair chance.

I think Trump ban is only temporary anyway

Amral, When I sponsored my immediate family members, I did so legally. I paid all the filing fees and helped them with their expenses in Guyana. Been here 47 years. Never been stopped by a cop or even got a speeding ticket. I do not peddle in shady stuff.

Amral posted:

To besides I never one day went on the welfare system or unemployment insurance.

I went to school/college and started working in this country from age 20 and have held a job(s) for the past 34 1/2 years and paid my fair share of taxes. Became a citizen, voted and have upheld the laws of my adopted country and never one day tried to impose my beliefs in Canada.

Deep respect to you Amral.  Same here.  I respect and uphold the laws of my adopted country.  And I am grateful that I can wear my saree and go to a mandir or mosque anytime I want.  I have never once been disrespected or discrimated against.  And I make the same salary as every white man in my office.

Like you, I will never impose my beliefs or religion on others.  I will never curse the bridge that I cross.

Amral posted:

Same here except the years.  A lot of these immigrants are more educated than both of us.   Mississauga is booming because of them.  

You need to explain how you differ from them.

AJ

bai dont make me start, more educated meh rass, is only because of modern technology dem lil smart.

Let me ask you, have you ever see a young person add up a column of numbers without using a calculator, even at the flipping bank the teller cannt even balance a simple deposit slip without pulling out the calculator. As for long division hahahah, yeah yeah they all got mba and mbc and doctorate etc etc. If we in our time had what they have now dont you think we will also be much more educated.

The Indians and Paks are the hoity tighty ones, the filipinos are more willing to work hard and do menial jobs to get ahead.

Amral

I work in place where I see my fair share of these folks.  All of them getting accepted to come to Canada because they have Masters and Phd and dunce like rass.

I am of the opinion that Canada should take people from all walks of life and we will be better off, not just the wealthy and the supposedly educated, for the same reason you mention above.

Now, back to the topic.  Just like how we were given a chance here in this country we need to pass that generosity to others.  

We also  need to make sure that somebody will be around when it comes time to change our diapers in the nursing home.  

AJ