Trinidad and Tobago PM sacks another Minister

August 3, 2014 | By | Filed Under News 

Prime Minister, Kamla Persad-Bissessar’s full statement on the resignation of Sports Minister Anil Roberts

The PM took no questions from the media at the post Cabinet press conference at which she read the statement.
“I continue to be disillusioned, disappointed and distressed by the level of deception and dishonesty associated with the well intentioned Life Sport programme.

Anil Roberts, Former Sports Minister

Prime Minister, Kamla Persad-Bissessar

The background is well known. At the hint of corrupt practices, I immediately ordered that the initiative be switched to the Ministry of National Security and instructed an independent audit be conducted.
After the findings of this audit were made available, I instructed that the report be sent to the Acting of Commissioner of Police, the Integrity Commission, the Head of the Public of the Service and the DPP for consideration.
But even as we await the finding of these independent institutions on the matter, the usual duties of the Minister of Sport are being burdened with the mounting controversy and questions surrounding the Life Sport programme.
I have allowed due process to occur; I have demonstrated patient allowance for all sides of the story to be heard through an independent audit.
I have given careful consideration to the rapidly emerging issues and have resisted quick judgment and rash decision.
The election of this government has changed the political landscape. The expectation of the public that something will be done when wrongs are committed in public office is (sic) now the hallmarks of good governance.
Consequently, I have decided to accept the offer of resignation as Minister of Sport from Mr. Anil Roberts.
Further, I have advised His Excellency, the Acting President of Trinidad and Tobago, Timothy Hamel-Smith that with effect from today Thursday July 31st 2014 in accordance with the provisions of section 3 (9) and 79 (1) of the Constitution of Trinidad and Tobago that the appointment of Anil Roberts as Minister of Sport be revoked and that Dr Rupert Griffith be assigned the responsibility for Ministry of Sport in addition to his present duties as the Minister of Science and Technology.”
The no nonsense Prime Minister has been cleaning out her Cabinet of officials deemed unfit by her. The majority of cases dealt with corruption. An unprecedented 11 ministers have been fired since Persad –Bissessar took office.
In March the Prime Minister orchestrated the revocation of the ministerial appointment of Dr Glenn Ramadharsingh.
He was the Minister of the People and Social Development.
Ramadharsingh became the subject of negative attention following allegations of disorderly behaviour on board a Caribbean Airlines (CAL) flight from Tobago.
A 12th minister, Jack Warner, left of his own volition amidst allegations of financial impropriety, following the Concacaf Ethics Committee report.
The People’s Partnership Government has not yet completed four years in office.
Out of the 11 people fired, four were axed in response to specific allegations. All of the Ministers were fired for corrupt practices or inappropriate behaviour.
In May 2011, Mary King became the first Minister to be dismissed following allegations of conflict of interest in the award of a contract.
Next in line was Minister in the Ministry of National Security Collin Partap in August 2012, following allegations that he refused to take a breathalyser test after leaving a nightclub.
One month later, then Justice Minister Herbert Volney was given the boot, for allegedly misleading the Cabinet over the Section 34 fiasco.
Apart from having a specific infraction levelled at them, Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar has also fired ministers for apparent non-performance. In these instances she gave the vague reason of Cabinet re-organisation.
In June 2011, Subhas Panday, Minister in the National Security Ministry, was relieved of his portfolio in the first Cabinet reshuffle, along with Therese Baptiste-Cornelis and Nan Ramgoolam. They were all senators and were replaced by Devant Maharaj, Verna St Rose-Greaves and Nicole Dyer Griffith (who was a parliamentary secretary).
By the next reshuffle in June 2012, St Rose-Greaves was out, along with John Sandy and Dyer Griffith. In came Jamal Mohammed and Marlene Coudray.
Mohammed’s appointment was however short-lived. He was fired in September 2013 and replaced by Gerry Hadeed.
In September 2012, when Volney was fired, Christlyn Moore was appointed. Moore’s appointment was terminated in September 2013 when Gary Griffith was appointed National Security Minister. Griffith replaced Jack Warner who had resigned in April of that year and was temporarily replaced by Emmanuel George.
In firing Ramadharsingh last March, the no nonsense Prime Minister had stated that “There must be no compromise on integrity, no allowance for arrogance, no room for violation of mutual respect; there will be no sacrifice of our values on the altar of political expediency.”
“Regardless of whether the decisions I take hurt me politically or not, I have the strength and courage and independence of mind to measure every tough decision on the basis of what is right and just…No one is exempt from the measure of value based leadership.”
“I hold no brief for any man or woman save the greater public interest. I am always aware of the higher expectation upon which this Government was elected and the immense responsibility each of us has to uphold public trust in all we do every single day of our lives. It is not a responsibility we can choose to have one day and lose the next,” she stated.”
“I  am reminded of Gandhi’s identification of one of seven social sins as being “politics without principle” I have insisted from the moment we took office that everyone of us must display a sound character of public integrity, fairness, humility, compassion and human dignity,” stated Persad-Bissessar.
She stated further that no man, nor woman, has been allowed and will not be permitted to deviate from the very principles upon which her Government was elected by the people into office.

What PPP/Guyana needs is a local Bibi Netanyhu.

Sorry base. This jew is guilty of genocide and is being protected by the US.

Correct Skelly Bhai. It is time that we speak out.

The man is a pathological liar. The American people are too blind to see his

chameleon like qualities.

The Rev warned many here on GNI about the dangers of electing him as President and now Rev is proven right.

No comment.

Baseman now you have a new Idol.

Nothing wrong to admire a murderer , there are lots of idiots out there who does that.

Hehe, how are your Jewish friends in Brooklyn these days, still buying your fallafel?

Originally Posted by Sheik101:

Kamla appears to be a woman of principle, with a no nonesense approach towards corruption. This is the kind of leadership any country would need.

You are RIGHT Bhai. Guyana no-nonsense  Leader gone too soon. DE Cheddi Beret Jagan. Remember what he did to his Finance Minister.  God Bless his soul.

The Rev warned many here on GNI about the dangers of electing him as President and now Rev is proven right.

Somewhere lie some human brains unpossessed. Why don't you go what belongs to you?

I nominate Priya Manickchand to be Guyana's first female president. She is pretty, smart, and she earned the title of a heavy weight champ. 

YEH right  BIG SOW?

Kamla appears to be a woman of principle, with a no nonesense approach towards corruption. This is the kind of leadership any country would need.

* Politicians with intelligence and integrity are a rarity.

* In Kmla's case you can also throw in beauty---along with intelligence and integrity.

* Anyway, Don't be surprised to see Kamla kicked out of office after one term.

* The masses are a$ses---they'll vote for corrupt politicans who lie to them.

I nominate Priya Manickchand to be Guyana's first female president. She is pretty, smart, and she earned the title of a heavy weight champ. 

YEH right  BIG SOW?

She looks like a well fed pregnant sow and further emphasizes this by wearing clothes too short and too tight for her.  She is now too ugly to think that some little boy is going to try to "fat eye" her when she visits their school.  So why does she dress like that?

YEH right  BIG SOW?

She looks like a well fed pregnant sow and further emphasizes this buy wearing clothes too short and too tight for her.  She is now too ugly to think that some little boy is going to try to "fat eye" her when she visits their school.  So why does she dress like that?

More RACIST IGNORANCE as quite expected.

YEH right  BIG SOW?

She looks like a well fed pregnant sow and further emphasizes this buy wearing clothes too short and too tight for her.  She is now too ugly to think that some little boy is going to try to "fat eye" her when she visits their school.  So why does she dress like that?

No lil bwoy want that sow.  Drug man maybe.  Nehru you want a piece of Piya?

YEH right  BIG SOW?

I would agree with her husband if he punch you in the face.

* Politicians with intelligence and integrity are a rarity.

* In Kmla's case you can also throw in beauty---along with intelligence and integrity.

* Anyway, Don't be surprised to see Kamla kicked out of office after one term.

* The masses are a$ses---they'll vote for corrupt politicans who lie to them.

Trinidad isn't Guyana.  There is a 30% swing vote which doesn't vote race and Kamla knows this.  She had the incompetent people in the first place.  She is forced to fire them as she fears that retaining them will cost her the election if she keeps them.  In addition Trinidadians aren't docile.  If they don't like something they DO something about it. Which is why that island is light years ahead of Guyana.

Guyanese shrug their shoulders..whine "wha we gun do".  The elites only want to drink soup so say nothing.  And there really isn't a swing vote in Guyana.  There lacks a solid group of voters who will swing from one party to the other, as in T'dad. 

BOTH the PPP and the PNC know who their voters are, and neither fear that part of their base will swing to the other.  The discontents will either not vote, or register a protest vote for a party which will never win.

So Granger has a gun man at his convention and Ramotar has a minister who drove drunk, was involved in a serious accident, fled the scene, and got away with it.  Both men know that they will be back next election.

YEH right  BIG SOW?

I would agree with her husband if he punch you in the face.

Husband??? You mean anti man! What kind a man would has his woman showing out all she knitting and flesh like that?  Is she a pole dancer?

YEH right  BIG SOW?

Plump and juicy, juss like a ripe Koa.

The knock on Kamla is that she spends too much time abroad and not enough on crime and poverty. Sounds familiar? Okay, this is from one of my PNM family member when I was in Mohamedville, San Jaun/Bharataria a couple days ago. 

Where Trinidad differs from Guyana is that both the PNM and UNC/COP know that they can win, or lose.

Guyana.  The PPP knows that they will win, and the PNC knows that they will be the dominant opposition party, so both settle happily into those positions and have no interest in what your average Guyanese thinks of them.  So we have the blatant fiasco at the PNC Congress and the daily corruption, crudeness and arrogance at the PPP.  Neither care how average Guyanese view this.

Not so Trinidad.  Manning built his mansion and was arrogant that Trinis wouldn't care so called elections before they were due.  A whole slew of PNM supporters promptly voted for COP.  Kamla fears that some COP supporters might switch to Rowley.  This doesn't happen in Guyana.

Shiek Kamla loosing big time in the last local election her party lost big time Maybe the PPP saw this and is afraid that the same will happen in GY thats why they dont want local elections.

She also pissed off the muslim community in TT which is actively involved in politics

Pointblank

NO ROOM TO WIGGLE

Anil Roberts’ resignation today as MP reduces Govt numbers

By Ria Taitt Political Editor

Today is the dawn of a new era of public accountability and transparency in the affairs of the House of Representatives.
The new Standing Orders will come into effect from today - the start of the fifth session of the Tenth Parliament- and will usher in a new way of doing business in the elected chamber. The Senate, which is still in the process of examining and reviewing its standing orders, will continue under the old rules.
The following are some of the important changes which would take place in the House of Representatives:
1) All statements by Ministers would now have to be submitted to the Speaker in advance of their delivery in Parliament. These statements are also limited to ten minutes and must be on government policy. This would prevent abuse of using the statements to deal with all kinds of issues.
2) There is also now a prime ministerial question time on the second sitting of every month. During this period the Prime Minister can be asked questions on current matters of national importance or on the general performance of the Government by any member of the Opposition. The question time would be 30 minutes long.
3)There is also now something called “urgent questions”. These are questions for which just one hour notice is required (as opposed to the 28-day notice period which previously applied to all ministerial questions). These questions can be asked of any minister on any matter deemed by the Speaker to be “urgent” and “in the public interest”.
4) The rules also allow the regular questions to ministers on matters not deemed to be urgent and for which the normal 28 day notice is needed. Under the previous rules there could have been any number of deferral on these questions to ministers.
5)There is a motion on national policy issues where once the House approves a matter by way of a motion, the Cabinet is required to act on it.
6)The length of speeches has been amended. Where previously all speakers had a total of 75 minutes, the new time limit is 30 minutes, with an extension of 15 minutes.
7)The big area of oversight under the new Standing Orders lies in the committee system. There are now 12 standing committees in all. Previously there were five standing committees. All of the seven new committees are oversight committees which would monitor actions and decisions of the Government.
Originally Posted by Pointblank:

Shiek Kamla loosing big time in the last local election her party lost big time Maybe the PPP saw this and is afraid that the same will happen in GY thats why they dont want local elections.

She also pissed off the muslim community in TT which is actively involved in politics

Fill me in on why Kamla is upset with the Muslim community? 

Originally Posted by Pointblank:

These very Muslims also point out that she condones some corrupt practices also.

Originally Posted by raymond:

Priya needs to eat mo salad and exercise every day...goodness she fat

Also, why would she wear something like that with her size

ray:

* Now yuh slim down yuh picking on fat women. Anyway, yuh right---Priya needs to take some PERSONALITY RESPONSIBILITY.