By Shikema Dey

Figure 1. Showing a breakdown of the Engineer’s estimate and how much the contract was awarded for.

Sources close to this project have revealed to Kaieteur News that the contractors were paid sums amounting to more than $600M last Thursday.
Kaieteur News is in receipt of the Memorandum to the Minister of Finance, Winston Jordan, from the Permanent Secretary of the Public Health Ministry, Collette Adams in correspondence to the Chairman of the National Procurement and Tender Administration Board (NPTAB), Berkley Wickham seeking approval to ‘single source’ bidders for the conversion of the old Ocean View International Hotel into a state-of-the-art Hospital for the incubation, isolation and quarantine of persons infected with the novel Coronavirus (COVID-19) along with the documents from the Finance Ministry giving approval.
Single sourcing is spelled out in the Procurement Act 2003, Section 28. An excerpt from that section says “The procuring entity may engage in single-source procurement when – (a) the goods or construction are available only from a particular supplier or contractor, or a particular supplier or contractor has exclusive rights with respect to the goods or construction, and no reasonable alternative or substitute exists; (b) the services, by reason of their highly complex or specialized nature, are available from only one source; (c) owing to a catastrophic event, there is an urgent need for the goods, services or construction, making it impractical to use other methods of procurement because of the time involved in using those methods.”
On the Memorandum, the works were separated into eight lots:
‘Lot 1’, the “Remodeling of the Main Wing, Installation of Medical Gas, HV AC – negative pressure system, Construction of Operating Theatre, Construction of R.C. Ramps and Laundry Room and Rehabilitation of Main Plumbing System and Distribution Networks” was awarded to International Imports & Supplies at $381M ($381,825,605).
‘Lot 2’, the “Remodeling of East Wing, Rehab of Roof, Construction of Power Supply Room, Construction of gate on the ground floor, Installation of New Electrical Mains, Perimeter lighting and Automatic Gate” was awarded to Ivor Allen at $388M ($388,402,665).
‘Lot 3’, the “Installation of Lift” was awarded to KP Thomas & Sons Contracting Inc at $49M ($49,201,944).
‘Lot 4’, the “Construction of Southern Concrete Fence, Timber Revetment, Construction of R.C. Base for Triage Area and Holding Area for Infectious Waste” was awarded to James Nicholson Construction Services at $54M ($54,761,525).
‘Lot 5’, the “Construction of Northern Fence Concrete Fence, Timber Revetment, Construction of R.C. Base for Morgue and Concrete Walkways for projects for the MOPH” was awarded to Associated Construction Services at $64M ($64,728,615).
‘Lot 6’, the “Construction of one (1) incinerator for sharps and medical waste” was awarded to Andy Moore at $4.1M ($4.1,000,000).
‘Lot 7’, the “Supply, Installation and Commissioning of HV AC Systems” was awarded to Antartic Maintenance & Repairs at $22M ($22,074,712).
The final ‘Lot 8’, the “Supply, Installation and Commissioning of CCTV Surveillance System” went to International Imports & Supplies for $86M (86,232,939).
Additionally, the Memorandum stated that “Funds have been provided by the Government of Guyana for the project named at caption.”
While no date was listed on the Memorandum indicating when the request was made, the approval was given on April, 16, 2020 by Chairman of NPTAB, Berkley Wickham – his signature was attached to the document.
On that document, it stated “As per the Procurement Act of 2003 Chapter 73:05, Section 11(1), details of the Contract Award should be forwarded to the National Procurement and Tender Administration immediately so as to facilitate publishing on its website www.npta.gov.gy within (5) days of the signing.”
However, a quick search of the NPTAB website, under ‘Tender Awards’, turned up no results for this contract. The only recent contract for the Public Health Ministry was in 2017 for the Renewal of International Gold software Support License for Total Maintenance Association (TMA) Software Programme and Training. That contract was awarded to Delta Dymanics Ltd. for US$30,294.
Kaieteur News also received copy of the estimate provided by the Engineers for each Lot alluded to in the Memorandum. However, those figures slightly differ from the ones approved by NPTAB. In some cases, the approved bids were higher than the estimate provided while others were lower.
The table enclosed in the story gives a breakdown of how much was saved and lost. (figure 1.)
Concerns have been raised about the long term justification for the use of the hotel and the arrangements that government has entered with the owners.
In recent years, spring tides have been causing overtopping causing flooding to areas nearby. Due to the hotel’s close proximity to the Atlantic Ocean, back in 2013, the facility took a hit after high tides resulted in significant damage amounting to millions.
Government acted on a suggestion for a specialty health facility after taking into consideration that the Pan American Health Organization/World Health Organization (PAHO/WHO) projects that by early May, Guyana will be dealing with 20,000 cases of COVID-19.

IT NEVER CEASES TO AMAZE ME, THE ABILITY OF THE COALITION TO GOVERN & THE NEED TO HOLD ON TO POWER AT ALL COST. ITS A PITTY.

Gov’t to pay $52M in rental contract agreement from April to June to lease Ocean View Hotel

CLICK HERE TO READ

@Ramakant-P posted:

The contractor was paid US$3.25.  This looks like chicken feed.

Quote from the article, I am not sure what your are reading... are you OK.

That figure, is in addition to in excess of US$5 million (G$1B) to “retrofit” or furnish the old Hotel, sitting more than five acres of land at Liliendaal, East Coast Demerara (ECD) with the necessary equipment to transform it into a COVID-19 facility.

IT NEVER CEASES TO AMAZE ME, THE ABILITY OF THE COALITION TO GOVERN & THE NEED TO HOLD ON TO POWER AT ALL COST. ITS A PITTY.

Gov’t to pay $52M in rental contract agreement from April to June to lease Ocean View Hotel

CLICK HERE TO READ

Love this place. When in Guyana I would go there in the evenings for a swim. Been doing this for years. Quiet, reserve spot. Pity this happened.

@seignet posted:

They served some delicious Guyanese food. Nice breeze too.

Yeh. Seawall jus over the fence. I dont know what really happened. But this was a good investment. People would come from Caribbean countries to attend meeting there.  

@Sheik101 posted:

Yeh. Seawall jus over the fence. I dont know what really happened. But this was a good investment. People would come from Caribbean countries to attend meeting there.  

PPP Build and PNC Bruck. Brighter days are ahead, foreign investors are waiting for change in government, Sunny Days.

@kp posted:

PPP Build and PNC Bruck. Brighter days are ahead, foreign investors are waiting for change in government, Sunny Days.

Before it came to this, I would have wished if somebody with good business sense had cop it. Upgrade it and kept it going. Been going there since around 2010 -11 there's about. Nice place.

But again I dont know what happened that it ended up where it is today.

Nagamottoo could walk from his house to there. 😃

APNU/AFC stealing like there is no tomorrow.  It's a shame how a coalition of parties promised to wipe out corruption ended up doing more corruption than most could have ever imagined.  This is what you put politicians in office for -- they promise the world then forget about their promises and go in the other direction.  The new PPP/Civic government will have to do something urgent to stop this bleeding that's taking the life of the economy.  

@Sheik101 posted:

Before it came to this, I would have wished if somebody with good business sense had cop it. Upgrade it and kept it going. Been going there since around 2010 -11 there's about. Nice place.

But again I dont know what happened that it ended up where it is today.

Nagamottoo could walk from his house to there. 😃

Is Jacob Rambarran still the owner of the Hotel?  I heard it was privately sold to a New York based Guyanese  PNC supporter, who also helped with the Lobby firm. 

Renovations have stopped soon after the elections with many Trades  still not paid, someone got big paid off but the poor labourers got shafted.

APNU/AFC stealing like there is no tomorrow.  It's a shame how a coalition of parties promised to wipe out corruption ended up doing more corruption than most could have ever imagined.  This is what you put politicians in office for -- they promise the world then forget about their promises and go in the other direction.  The new PPP/Civic government will have to do something urgent to stop this bleeding that's taking the life of the economy.  

And they wondered how they LOST.

@kp posted:

Is Jacob Rambarran still the owner of the Hotel?  I heard it was privately sold to a New York based Guyanese  PNC supporter, who also helped with the Lobby firm. 

Renovations have stopped soon after the elections with many Trades  still not paid, someone got big paid off but the poor labourers got shafted.

The name Rambarran did pop now that u mentioned it, but I'm not sure. I did see a guy walking around from time to time in a short pants and shirt jack. I was told that he was the brother of tbe owner.  Interesting that it was sold to an overseas based guyanese. Didn't know that.

If I had the cheese I would cop it. Good location very promising.

But meh haan cyant reach suh far...yet.

@Sheik101 posted:

The name Rambarran did pop now that u mentioned it, but I'm not sure. I did see a guy walking around from time to time in a short pants and shirt jack. I was told that he was the brother of tbe owner.  Interesting that it was sold to an overseas based guyanese. Didn't know that.

If I had the cheese I would cop it. Good location very promising.

But meh haan cyant reach suh far...yet.

Form a consortium with a couple partners. Or make it a Time Sharing Resort where the money is made by managing the Resort.

The Rambarrans ( a few brothers) are know as double R. They started their business by importing TCL cement and Black turf water tank from Trinidad, they are located on Lombard St and they love to wear shirt jack... very dark skin.