Dental Nurse destroys patient’s sinuses during extraction

June 28, 2012 | By | Filed Under News 

-    Victim admitted at GPHC
Family members of Desiree France yesterday related a horrifying tale of their experiences while France was a patient at the Georgetown Public Hospital Corporation (GPHC), over the past few days.
France, 34, of East Bank Berbice was admitted to the hospital’s Female Surgical ward last Friday with a sinus infection. The infection had led to inflammation leaking through her nose and mouth.
Although the patient has been in the hospital since last Friday, her family claimed that she has not been seen by any doctors.
They further claimed that patients, who were in the room with France claimed that she suffered two seizures and fell off the bed on Monday last, and when the nurses were notified, they left her on the floor until two attendants were available.
Sinus is a cavity within a bone or other tissue most commonly found in the bones of the face and connecting with the nasal cavity. Sinusitis however, is a swelling of the tissue lining the sinuses. Normally sinuses are filled with air but when they become blocked and filled with fluid, germs can grow and cause infection.
France did an extraction of a tooth in the upper jaw at the New Amsterdam Hospital on May 14, 2012. On her way home, she discovered that she was bleeding through her nose and immediately informed her sister, Karen France, a nurse at the hospital for 19 years.
Karen France advised her to revisit her at the hospital, where they both went to the dental doctor to explain the situation.
After seeing the dental doctor, Desiree France, who is also a nurse at a hospital in Black Bush Polder, was told that the dental nurse, who did the extraction, had destroyed the sinuses, according to Karen France.
She said that the doctor then sutured her sister’s gum the very day and sent her home. During the course of the night, Desiree France continued to experience severe pain, forcing her relatives to rush her to the Accident and Emergency Unit (A&E) at the New Amsterdam Hospital.
“There, she was seen by a doctor (name given), who prescribed some medication and asked her to return the following day to the doctor, who did the operation,” the sister related.
When the family visited the said doctor the following day, they were told that the sinus will take at least six months to close and requested them to take her home.
“When we took her back the Thursday, he referred her to the Ear, Nose and Throat Department. When we took her there, the doctor sent her for an X-ray of the face and mouth. She did the X-ray on the Friday May 18, 2012 and he referred her to a private doctor in Georgetown.”
She explained that they made an appointment and took her to the private doctor on Monday (May 21).
“The doctor said that the sinus was badly damaged and if she had stayed there one more day, she would have developed Sinusitis. She did the operation on my sister and was forced to remove two of her teeth but the sinus was still open, so she called for a surgeon, who came the same day.
The surgeon said that my sister needed to undergo further surgery to remove a piece of her gum for the necessary graft. He advised her not to eat anything, to only drink cold liquid for ten days.
After the ten days, she returned to the private clinic and was told that the “gum was looking good”. She was then discharged from the private clinic.
“She resumed duty on May 29 and on the following day, she called me and told me that she was experiencing numbness stretching from her right side face to her right foot. We took her again to the New Amsterdam Hospital and the doctor gave her some medication and sent her home.
“We then took her to a private doctor, who told us that because the sinus was left open for so long, she had developed a facial neuralgia.”
This is the occurrence of pain in the middle ear and auditory canal caused by inflammation. Facial neuralgia can cause paralysis, if it is not treated.
She was given medication and sent away. Last Monday however, when she woke up, there were streaks of unpleasant inflammation running out from her nose and her mouth.
Desiree France’s relatives then rushed her back to the New Amsterdam hospital. She was required to do a surgery but the family was informed that there was no anesthetist.
She was then transferred to GPHC’ s ENT department. The doctor at that hospital was in theatre, so he sent the family to a doctor at Woodlands hospital, who refused to look at the woman and sent her back to the public hospital.
They had to return to Berbice without being seen by a doctor. The following day, after being pushed around for several hours, Desiree France was then admitted to the hospital. After spending four days in the hospital, she has not yet been seen by a doctor, according to the sister.
She said when she visited the hospital yesterday; persons informed her that her sister had suffered three seizures in a few hours.
“Even when I went there during visitation hour, the doctors asked us to leave the room because they were now going and check on her, I stood outside and saw the bed shaking and when I rush in the room, I saw my sister suffering from another seizure and hitting her head on the bed and the doctors them leave the room.”
Karen France is now calling on the hospital to investigate the manner in which the nurses at GPHC tend to patients. “I watch the Minister on TV, talking about the quality of the hospital and he bragging that his hospital gives 100 percent treatment but I wouldn’t give them even five percent for the treatment my sister is receiving.”

When there is a medical-malpractice case in the United States, the family of the patient may sue for compensation or doctor may have to face a jury. Malpractice happens all the time in many countries beyond America. Doctors and Nurses may perform their skills 99.9% of the time, and you don't hear about the success of their expertise to save lives, but the fraction of that one percent that something goes wrong it will make headline news.

UNBELIEVABLE!!

These people have turned Guyana into a healthcare latrine pit.

When you think you've heard it all . . .

While this is clearly an unfortunate clinical outcome , your idiotic commenst have made me realise  that YOU haven't heard much to begin with .

In the USA , acc to JAMA , upwards of 250, 000 americans are KILLED anually due to medical errors . This would effectively wipe out the entire population of Guyana in 3 years . Your puny mind better believe that !

Additionally , in the USA, 7000 deaths are caused annualy by presciption errors . 1.5 million people in the USA are also injured annually due to rx errors .

I can write pages of examples of cases . Case in Brooklyn of woman having seizures who later died because she was ignored WHILE HAVING SEIZURES in a US hospital .

Another eg , infant died in Brooklyn because he was given the adult dosage of antibiotics. Despite obvious clinical distress as observed by the parents , pt was ignored and documentation allegedly edited in an attempt to cover up the gross negligence.

Case of Fulminant hepatitis , case of hemoptysis , case of DKA , all these patients  died in the USA because of medical errors .. UNBELIEVABLE . Again , I can write pages and pages of cases like these . In 24 hrs from now , in the USA there will be a spike in hospital deaths and injures due to medical erros .. UNBELIEVABLE .. happens every JULY 1st .. Have you heard it all now ? Puny mind !

Having said that , it should be noted that Guyana's medical infrastructure has indeed been greatly improved . It is a work in progress but great strides and progress has been made . There needs to be a clinical quality predictor study with measurable outcomes pinpointing problem areas to be addressed . It is clear that improvements need to be made .

UNBELIEVABLE!!

Oh  C'mmon!  You  do not  honestly believe  that  shyt!   While the  health  care  system  in  Guyana  is  most  certainly   not a  cadillac one and  is  far  from  being  perfect,   I  have  to  agree  with  Nehru  that it  is  5000% (  maybe a bit  exaggerated )   than  the morgue it  was  in  the  PNC/ Burnham  era

Originally Posted by Pointblank:

Family members of Desiree France yesterday related a horrifying tale of their experiences while France was a patient at the Georgetown Public Hospital Corporation (GPHC), over the past few days. France, 34, of East Bank Berbice was admitted to the hospital’s Female Surgical ward last Friday with a sinus infection. The infection had led to inflammation leaking through her nose and mouth. Although the patient has been in the hospital since last Friday, her family claimed that she has not been seen by any doctors. They further claimed that patients, who were in the room with France claimed that she suffered two seizures and fell off the bed on Monday last, and when the nurses were notified, they left her on the floor until two attendants were available. Sinus is a cavity within a bone or other tissue most commonly found in the bones of the face and connecting with the nasal cavity. Sinusitis however, is a swelling of the tissue lining the sinuses. Normally sinuses are filled with air but when they become blocked and filled with fluid, germs can grow and cause infection. 
France did an extraction of a tooth in the upper jaw at the New Amsterdam Hospital on May 14, 2012. On her way home, she discovered that she was bleeding through her nose and immediately informed her sister, Karen France, a nurse at the hospital for 19 years.
Karen France advised her to revisit her at the hospital, where they both went to the dental doctor to explain the situation.
After seeing the dental doctor, Desiree France, who is also a nurse at a hospital in Black Bush Polder, was told that the dental nurse, who did the extraction, had destroyed the sinuses, according to Karen France.
She said that the doctor then sutured her sister’s gum the very day and sent her home. During the course of the night, Desiree France continued to experience severe pain, forcing her relatives to rush her to the Accident and Emergency Unit (A&E) at the New Amsterdam Hospital.
“There, she was seen by a doctor (name given), who prescribed some medication and asked her to return the following day to the doctor, who did the operation,” the sister related.
When the family visited the said doctor the following day, they were told that the sinus will take at least six months to close and requested them to take her home.
“When we took her back the Thursday, he referred her to the Ear, Nose and Throat Department. When we took her there, the doctor sent her for an X-ray of the face and mouth. She did the X-ray on the Friday May 18, 2012 and he referred her to a private doctor in Georgetown.”
She explained that they made an appointment and took her to the private doctor on Monday (May 21).
“The doctor said that the sinus was badly damaged and if she had stayed there one more day, she would have developed Sinusitis. She did the operation on my sister and was forced to remove two of her teeth but the sinus was still open, so she called for a surgeon, who came the same day.
The surgeon said that my sister needed to undergo further surgery to remove a piece of her gum for the necessary graft. He advised her not to eat anything, to only drink cold liquid for ten days.
After the ten days, she returned to the private clinic and was told that the “gum was looking good”. She was then discharged from the private clinic.
“She resumed duty on May 29 and on the following day, she called me and told me that she was experiencing numbness stretching from her right side face to her right foot. We took her again to the New Amsterdam Hospital and the doctor gave her some medication and sent her home.
“We then took her to a private doctor, who told us that because the sinus was left open for so long, she had developed a facial neuralgia.”
This is the occurrence of pain in the middle ear and auditory canal caused by inflammation. Facial neuralgia can cause paralysis, if it is not treated.
She was given medication and sent away. Last Monday however, when she woke up, there were streaks of unpleasant inflammation running out from her nose and her mouth.
Desiree France’s relatives then rushed her back to the New Amsterdam hospital. She was required to do a surgery but the family was informed that there was no anesthetist.
She was then transferred to GPHC’ s ENT department. The doctor at that hospital was in theatre, so he sent the family to a doctor at Woodlands hospital, who refused to look at the woman and sent her back to the public hospital.
They had to return to Berbice without being seen by a doctor. The following day, after being pushed around for several hours, Desiree France was then admitted to the hospital. After spending four days in the hospital, she has not yet been seen by a doctor, according to the sister.
She said when she visited the hospital yesterday; persons informed her that her sister had suffered three seizures in a few hours.
“Even when I went there during visitation hour, the doctors asked us to leave the room because they were now going and check on her, I stood outside and saw the bed shaking and when I rush in the room, I saw my sister suffering from another seizure and hitting her head on the bed and the doctors them leave the room.”
Karen France is now calling on the hospital to investigate the manner in which the nurses at GPHC tend to patients. “I watch the Minister on TV, talking about the quality of the hospital and he bragging that his hospital gives 100 percent treatment but I wouldn’t give them even five percent for the treatment my sister is receiving.”

To all the idiots who seem to not understand that my criticism is of the GUYANA health care delivery system, not just the GPHC . . ., I invite you to examine the sequence of events highlighted above. Focus carefully on the "private" clinics' 'essential role' in dispensing [even] basic care in a system you fools brag about [confusing and confused reporting by KN notwithstanding].

In doing so, please understand that the genesis of this poor woman's nightmare is a tooth extraction that breached the sinus cavity - not an uncommon occurrence with such a procedure [why an unsupervised "nurse" is performing dental surgery is another (scandalous) matter entirely.

ALL the medical professionals here come across as uncaring, grossly INCOMPETENT and/or negligent on a level that would be unacceptable ANYWHERE in this hemisphere.

@mara: the reflexive adverting to the "morgue" healthcare [in many ways a bullshit claim] of the Burnham years after two decades of PPP rule doesn't cut it.

smh

Originally Posted by Mara:

UNBELIEVABLE!!

Oh  C'mmon!  You  do not  honestly believe  that  shyt!   While the  health  care  system  in  Guyana  is  most  certainly   not a  cadillac one and  is  far  from  being  perfect,   I  have  to  agree  with  Nehru  that it  is  5000% (  maybe a bit  exaggerated )   than  the morgue it  was  in  the  PNC/ Burnham  era

True, it is clearly better than what was there under the PNC and everyone would like to see it even better.  This specific case should not be blow out of all proportions as such negligence and malpractice happens all over.  In the great USA with all the resources and technology there are many cases of malpractice.  Of course one could point out the compensation a person would receive, but that does not take away the fact that there is malpractice here.

It's good to criticize when such things happen however, the outcome should be lessons learned and how to prevent recurrence.  Redux, if fairness, go to Guyana and see the many new facilities constructed and yes, surely there is a need for improved skills.  But it's not in a latrine pit, as you put it.

Originally Posted by Mara:

UNBELIEVABLE!!

Oh C'mmon! You do not honestly believe that shyt! While the health care system in Guyana is most certainly not a cadillac one and is far from being perfect, I have to agree with Nehru that it is 5000% ( maybe a bit exaggerated ) than the morgue it was in the PNC/ Burnham era

Agreed Mara and Nehru.

One needs to be circumspect to make reasoned arguments/decisions.

To all the idiots who seem to not understand that my criticism is of the GUYANA health care delivery system, not just the GPHC . . ., I invite you to examine the sequence of events highlighted above. Focus carefully on the "private" clinics' 'essential role' in dispensing [even] basic care in a system you fools brag about [confusing and confused reporting by KN notwithstanding].

In doing so, please understand that the genesis of this poor woman's nightmare is a tooth extraction that breached the sinus cavity - not an uncommon occurrence with such a procedure [why an unsupervised "nurse" is performing dental surgery is another (scandalous) matter entirely.

ALL the medical professionals here come across as uncaring, grossly INCOMPETENT and/or negligent on a level that would be unacceptable ANYWHERE in this hemisphere.

@mara: the reflexive adverting to the "morgue" healthcare [in many ways a bullshit claim] of the Burnham years after two decades of PPP rule doesn't cut it.

smh

I  can  assure  you  that  my  response  was  neither a 'reflexive adverting' nor  an  attempt  to  deflect  from  the  obvious  incompetence, palpable  negligence and  callous  attitude of  those  concerned  in  this  particular  case.  Rather  it  was an informed,  deliberate and  reflective comparison  of   what  pervades  then  and where  the overall health  care system  stands  today. There  was  a  time  when  GPHC and  NA Hospital  was considered  a  morgue by many  patients and  it  was  not  uncommon  to  double  up   in   single  beds and  in  some  instances, without  mattress  &  linen  (  I  witness this  at  GPHC in  1991) Cross contamination  and  infection was  rampant and  there  were  reported  cases  of  rats  the  size  of  cats eating    patients alive at  these  institutions. Infrastructures   were  near  collapse and medicine  were  non existent.   

Surely there  is  is  a  lot  more  need  to  be  done  before  we  can come  anywhere  close   to  being considered  a  modern  health  care  provider. However  I  feel  very  confident  that  a  balanced  and  informed  assessment  of 'Then  & Now'  would  be  akin  to  emerging  from  pit  in  hell to the  light  of  dawn.   

the health care system inprove 5000% yet the ppp crime family do not use the hosiptals in guyana.robert wife scare to give birth in GPO,lunchon fly out of the country and it goes on and on maybe some of you fools should try going to GPO in the night and see what kind of service you get

As expected, your silly one  track  mind would  never permit  an  impartial  and objective assessment of issues and offer practical  solutions.  it  is  that  type  of intractable  hard nosed  attitude  on  all  sides that makes  consensus and  finding  common  grounds  so elusive and  impossible. 

what you trying to say,explain i am not too bright

Very very simple! "the health care system in Guyana is most certainly not a cadillac one and is far from being perfect,but I have to agree with Nehru that it is 5000% (* maybe a bit exaggerated ) better than the morgue it was in the PNC/ Burnham era!"

keyboard warrior , you do not have the intellectual acumen to call anyone a fool . If you actually read the responses , you would note that no one ever clamied that Guyana's healthcare system is adequate . They took offense to this moron Redux 's claim that Guyana's healthcare system has been transformed to a Latrine .  Transformed  ? From what ??? Maybe if he had actually said the healthcare system " remained " a latrine , then there would not be as much opposition . This fool implies that such condtions are exclusive toGuyana, with his reference to hearing it all The fact of the matter is the negligencies he highlited are common even in the US. He is unable/unwilliing to recognize that improvements to Guyana's healthcare system have been undertaken and that is the point of contention in this thread ? Got it ? 

We should be glad that the case discussed is not a mortality case . It is quite unfortunate . There needs to be a revamping of Guyana's healthcare system in terms of quality control , quality health indicators and mesurable clinical outcomes .

Originally Posted by Guyanese4eva:

the health care system inprove 5000% yet the ppp crime family do not use the hosiptals in guyana. robert wife scare to give birth in GPO, lunchon fly out of the country and it goes on and on ...

Many members of the political parties - PNC, AFC and PPP - use external sources for medical attention.

Originally Posted by Guyanese4eva:

the health care system inprove 5000% yet the ppp crime family do not use the hosiptals in guyana. robert wife scare to give birth in GPO, lunchon fly out of the country and it goes on and on ...

Many members of the political parties - PNC, AFC and PPP - use external sources for medical attention.

But it's very different when the sitting Govt officials do it.  It's a vote of no-confidence in the quality of care they have been responsible for.  The expect the Guyanese to accept it when they themselves are unwilling to do so.

The PNC and AFC are critical of quality of care and vote by seeking private treatment.  Had they used the services out of patriotism, then you would say they have no credibility to be critical, wouldn't you?