A Partnership for National Unity’s parliamentarian, Debra Backer is hospitalised due to a prolonged illness but Opposition Leader, David Granger on Friday said it was too early to think about replacing her.

“The matter hasn’t arisen at this point in time…Mrs. Backer’s condition is stable and we don’t have reason to speculate her attendance,” he told a news conference.

The witty Backer, who rose to active political prominence in the Peoples National Congress Reform (PNCR) under the leadership of late Desmond Hoyte, has so far missed two straight sittings of the National Assembly.

When the front-bencher was first discharged from surgery, Backer had managed to attend a small number of Assembly sittings before reporting absent. Since then, she has been hospitalised and in a serious condition. “Her condition is stable and when she is better she’ll return to parliament. That’s as much as we can say at this point in time,” said Granger.

With here absence, the government and the combined opposition are tied at 32-32 in the 65-seat House. Sittings resume on January 16. Backer is also Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly.

APNU earlier this year was forced to recall Richard Allen after he collapsed in the House and replace him with Renita Williams ahead of crucial votes for the 2013 National Budget.

excerpts from demwaves

APNU earlier this year was forced to recall Richard Allen after he collapsed in the House and replace him with Renita Williams ahead of crucial votes for the 2013 National Budget.

PNC acted immediately to replace Richard Allen.

What is preventing them to act in the same manner for Debra Backer?

There's no urgent need, D_G.

Parliament is in recess until January 16, i.e., 20 days from now.

Ms Backer could recover by then.

The fundamental issue, Gilbakka, is the immediate replacement of an MP by the PNC when s/he is ill.

The fundamental issue, Gilbakka, is the immediate replacement (note today is Dec27) of an MP by the PNC when s/he is ill.

$hit-head is telling us the PNC will remove this MP IMMEDIATELY.

Gilbakka....just look how De Ole PNC Hydro Engineer ....Phaglee

Dis chap real dotish.

According to de Donkey....He got more Juice than Backer in the PNC.

Burnham kept him all those years ......but PNC will get rid of Backer Immediately.....Dis fool is saying he is more important to the PNC than Ms. Backer.

Richard Allen must be in his corner crying foul, he fainted in the National Assembly and was immediately recall, Backer is ill, and hospitalized  in a serious condition, missed two sittings and is still clings onto her seat in Parliament.

Conscience, how much land Irfaat gave you on the East Bank? Did you use or act as  a straw buyer?

Straw buyer. The corrupt people are on this board. Rev, Nehru, Yuji and others. 

Conscience, how much land Irfaat gave you on the East Bank? Did you use or act as  a straw buyer?

Kwame admit.....

Supporting & Practicing Buggery

Has it's benefits under Jagdeo & Ramotar

Kwame admit.....

Jalil, I just want to make sure my lot is not nearby.

Originally Posted by Conscience:

Richard Allen must be saying to himself, he was unfairly treated. Compare to Ms.Backer.

World Bank report....

On basis of per capita income…World Bank ranks Guyana second poorest in Caricom

DECEMBER 30, 2013 • BY STABROEK EDITOR •

With a Gross National Income (GNI) of just US$3, 410 per capita, the World Bank in its 2014 World Development Report rated Guyana among the least wealthy in CARICOM. This figure is in stark contrast to that of Guyana’s fellow CARICOM country, The Bahamas, whose GNI is recorded as US$21,280 per capita, making it the wealthiest CARICOM country. According to the World Bank, Guyana is the second poorest country in Caricom but far ahead of Haiti, which has a GNI of US$760 per capita. “For 2012, the economy expanded by 3.7% down from 4.5% in 2011 and 4.4% in 2010.” The Bank however noted the economy’s expansion in 2013 which it attributed to increased activity in rice and gold production, as well as improvement in the manufacturing sector. The Bahamas’s economic prosperity, on the other hand, is attributed mostly to its vast tourism sector which accounts for over 60% of the Bahamian Gross Domestic Product (GDP), and creates jobs for more than fifty percent of the country’s workforce. The island’s financial services sector is the second most vibrant and accounts for about 15% of its GDP. Guyana was also outperformed by Trinidad and Tobago which registered a GNI of US$14,400 per capita. In fact, the twin-island state has been doing so well that the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) in 2011 removed it from its list of developing countries. The country’s economy is driven by its petroleum industry, although its manufacturing and tourism sectors are also very important. St Kitts and Nevis also did well, registering a GNI of US$13,330 per capita. Tourism and manufacturing are the main drivers behind the twin-island federation’s development, after sugar cultivation, owing to growing production costs and falling world market prices, was reduced. The tourism sector has been doing particularly well, and the island has seen tourist arrivals expand from 379,473 in 2007 to 587,479 in 2009. It is also tourism which helped Antigua and Barbuda attain its US$12,640 GNI per capita. The country’s tourism sector accounts for more than half of the GDP, although the growing medical schools and its students make very large contributions to the economy. Guyana’s CARICOM and South American neighbour Suriname achieved a GNI of US$8,480 per capita although its economy fell on hard times during the 1990’s. The country’s ability to beat back economic hardships and register such a relatively high GNI is a result of government initiatives to diversify the economy, and decrease dependence on Dutch financial assistance. Bauxite mining couple with exploration and exploitation of oil contributes substantially to the country’s GDP, although agriculture and ecotourism are important components. Ranking closer to Guyana was Jamaica and Dominica with GNIs of US$5,140 and US$6,460 per capita respectively. About 50% of Jamaica’s economy is built on income generated by tourism-related services. At the same time, Jamaica’s economy is a fair mixture of state enterprises and private businesses, while agriculture, financial and insurance services, manufacturing and mining play integral roles in the country’s economy. Meanwhile, Dominica, whose economy historically depended largely upon gains from its banana and other agricultural endeavours, came back from the brink of a financial crisis in 2003 and 2004 to experience growth levels of 3.5 percent and 4.0 percent in 2005 and 2006 respectively. Growth in 2006 in particular, was said to be the fruit of macroeconomic reforms pursued by government, which saw new ground gained in construction, tourism, offshore services and some sectors of the country’s banana industry.

"Mitwah" has a serious problem commenting on the thread, it is clear he/she ran out of constructive posts and resorts to cutting and pasting...pity on his/her soul. Nevertheless, back to the thread, according to one source, Mr.Allen was forced to resign.

I received enough to Build the White House.

"Mitwah" has a serious problem commenting on the thread, it is clear he/she ran out of constructive posts and resorts to cutting and pasting...pity on his/her soul. Nevertheless, back to the thread, according to one source, Mr.Allen was forced to resign.

Tell us how much land was given to you? I am inclined to believe you used straw buyers or you are being used as a straw buyer.

After reading "Mitwah's" posts, one wonders why the obsession he/she has with housing Ministry and particularly the subject minister, Is it a personal vendetta, and he's using this forum to utter hogwash?

Thanks for reading my posts.

Tell us how much land was given to you?

I am inclined to believe you used straw buyers or you are being used as a straw buyer.

One has to have pity on Mitwah's Soul, he/she is like a kindergarten pupil playing on a keyboard.

Thanks for reading my posts.

Tell us how much land was given to you?

I am inclined to believe you used straw buyers or you are being used as a straw buyer.

A relative of ailing APNU member of Parliament Richard Allen said  that his condition has taken a turn for the worse following the announcement of his replacement as a member of the parliament. The family member said that there's a possibility that the signature on the letter of resignation sent to House Speaker Raphael Trotman was forged also. He said that he has not spoken to the APNU region one MP personally but he received reports from other family members who did. He said Allen feels let down and says that they(APNU) acted as though he was on his dying bed.
The ruling People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) also slammed the move to replace Allen in a press release issued yesterday. The party said it sees his hasty recall as a sign of the character of the opposition in this country. “It reveals a ruthless nature of the PNC/APNU as being vicious, unsympathetic and cruel. Mr Allen fell ill while attending Parliament a few days ago. The actions taken by the PNC/APNU demonstrates that the party even though operating with a changed name, has actually retained all its negative traits,” the party noted.

I believe. You are a thieve yet you sleep with prostitutes. All that thieving money and you can't get a woman? You must be ugly. 

Kwame admit.....

Why 50% Poke is avoiding the Above...

Come on Councie...stop Hiding

I believe. You are a thieve yet you sleep with prostitutes. All that thieving money and you can't get a woman? You must be ugly. 

As long as I have you I will never need another. See you tomorrow night.

Deputy Speaker for medical tests in Florida

Deputy Speaker Debra Backer was this morning flown to the United States to undergo testing for an illness recently discovered, APNU leader, David Granger today confirmed.

Contacted Granger told Stabroek News that “she has gone to Florida for tests”.

This newspaper understands that Backer, a member of APNU  was seen being wheeled into the Cheddi Jagan International Airport, Timehri early this morning. Backer’s illness caused her to be absent from recent sittings of Parliament.

Deputy Speaker for medical tests in Florida

Deputy Speaker Debra Backer was this morning flown to the United States to undergo testing for an illness recently discovered, APNU leader, David Granger today confirmed.

Contacted Granger told Stabroek News that “she has gone to Florida for tests”.

This newspaper understands that Backer, a member of APNU  was seen being wheeled into the Cheddi Jagan International Airport, Timehri early this morning. Backer’s illness caused her to be absent from recent sittings of Parliament.

Why did she have to go to Florida for medical tests? Do law makers have any confidence in the medical system they help set up? Who is paying her airfare and all medical and other expenses?

Richard Allen was instantly replaced after fainting briefly in the National Assembly, Backer is seriously ill, missed a two consecutive sittings and still clings onto her seat...

I think its time for us to cease fire and wish Ms.Backer a speedy recover to her illness.

Conscience, I asked questions, I did not make conclusions. Answer the questions if you know.

Originally Posted by Dondadda:

I think its time for us to cease fire and wish Ms.Backer a speedy recover to her illness.

Conscience, I asked questions, I did not make conclusions. Answer the questions if you know.

He only knows the words he's told to say,he cannot answer on his own, he doesn't seem to know much.