Your thoughts.

Don't just jump to simplistic and quick "solutions" as the effect might be worse than the solution.  It must be done in a way which does not trigger inflation thus wiping out most of the gains.  However, living wage are a right but comes with responsibility.  The Govt needs to evaluate ways of increasing disposable income that the economy could absorb.

Originally Posted by Prashad:
Enslavement a come for us coolie people so 10 percent does not refer to us.

are u serious or just plain retarded?

I assume he refers to the fact that the 10% will mostly benefit Govt workers of whom are 90% Afro.  The many struggling self employed (mostly Indian) will still have to scrounge for a living.  The Govt needs to look at a series of measures which captures a broad cross section of struggling people.

you "assume" wrong . . . for all the obvious reasons available even to those who are barely literate

read his shyte again

In its election manifesto, APNU+AFC promised "significant increases for public servants" during its first 100 days in office. At APNU+AFC rallies, Moses Nagamootoo and others promised a 10 percent increase. The coalition has to make good on its promises and poney up the payments.

Wait, were you born yesterday?  Baseman saw through these hallow promises and talk is cheap and getting vote is all what mattered.  They now need to follow through and have to deal with the real world.  Remember Obama promised to close Gitmo as soon as he is in, where are we today?

All politicians talk, then when the experts give them the hard facts and implications, they start to tap-dance and "evolve" on the matter.  Anyone who believe they can just hit +10% and move on, are mistaken.

I thought the PSU said 25% or there will be HELL.  New Govt, new tune????

That would be more realistic than 10%.

huh . . . why?

Make a lucky guess!!

HEHEHE  The Jackass don't know 25 greater than 10.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

huh . . . why?

Make a lucky guess!!  You good at it!!

everything turns on "realistic" bai

no need to be confused or confusing, rite?

think lil

The PNC now in control so they obviously will change their tunes.

I don't think they can afford it without raising taxes. 

Actually, if they reduce taxes in some quarters, they could increase revenues.  The arbitrage opportunity/incentive is very tempting.

huh . . . why?

think lil

Splitting hairs, everything "turns"on you Mr "Straw-man".  Now, as I advised, please avoid too much sun today.

huh . . . why?

think lil

Splitting hairs, everything "turns"on you Mr "Straw-man".  Now, as I advised, please avoid too much sun today.

u spew too much nonsense off the top of your head when trying to sound informed and intelligent

sometimes i am constrained to point out the dry shit when the joint starts to stink

huh . . . why?

think lil

u spew too much nonsense off the top of your head when trying to sound informed and intelligent

sometimes i am constrained to point out the dry shit when the joint starts to stink

Ok "straw-man", tell us what you think, on the 10% that is.  Take your time.

huh . . . why?

think lil

i don't have to "take [my] time" . . . this is not a conversation i am interested in

Now, Mr "Straw-man", what's bothering you today, the hot sun or the high winds?

In its election manifesto, APNU+AFC promised "significant increases for public servants" during its first 100 days in office. At APNU+AFC rallies, Moses Nagamootoo and others promised a 10 percent increase. The coalition has to make good on its promises and poney up the payments.

Uncle Gillbaka, you all leave Baseman alone.  This GNI site is the man's nirvana.

THE relation between aggregate consumption or aggregate savings and aggregate income, generally termed the consumption function, has occupied a major role in economic thinking ever since Keynes made it a keystone of his theoretical structure in The General Theory.

A living wage for the working class should be the benchmark to aim for but it can only be achieved with increases in productivity.

But what sociological issues can drive productivity?

A man must feel worthy.

So yes this 10% will tick inflation up a little but that is the price for the ordinary man to have more money in his pockets and more bread on his table. it is hope it will act as a stimulus for the working man to become more productive and to invest in his long term future.

I hope the working class invest these increases in their children's education and housing rather than on more rum and more wine.

Originally Posted by Brian Teekah:

Uncle Gillbaka, you all leave Baseman alone.  This GNI site is the man's nirvana.

THE relation between aggregate consumption or aggregate savings and aggregate income, generally termed the consumption function, has occupied a major role in economic thinking ever since Keynes made it a keystone of his theoretical structure in The General Theory.

A living wage for the working class should be the benchmark to aim for but it can only be achieved with increases in productivity.

A man must feel worthy.

So yes this 10% will tick inflation up a little but that is the price for the ordinary man to have more money in his pockets and more bread on his table. it is hope it will act as a stimulus for the working man to become more productive and to invest in his long term future.

I hope the working class invest these increases in their children's education and housing rather than on more rum and more wine.

Well, Mr "BT", there are more than one ways to "skin a cyatt", just ask Caribj.  Cheap flour would also go a long way, don't you think?

A man must feel worthy.

Well, Mr "BT", there are more than one ways to "skin a cyatt", just ask Caribj.  Cheap flour would also go a long way, don't you think?

No work today, Baseman?  Or no work forever for you Baseman?

I on a day off.  No work today for me.  So let us blog. 

A man must feel worthy.

No work today, Baseman?  Or no work forever for you Baseman?

I on a day off.  No work today for me.  So let us blog. 

Baseman living the life banna, work and play, just like you and our various handles.  All work and no play, not good.

A man must feel worthy.

Mr. BT, that bolded part is sheer brilliance!!!! You ever consider offering your services to President Granger? Well anyway, when you get lil time read de fuss paragraph hay. Ah suspect you seen it befo.

http://press.princeton.edu/chapters/s978.html

Your thoughts.

Don't just jump to simplistic and quick "solutions" as the effect might be worse than the solution.  It must be done in a way which does not trigger inflation thus wiping out most of the gains.  However, living wage are a right but comes with responsibility.  The Govt needs to evaluate ways of increasing disposable income that the economy could absorb.

Evidence is that your PPP flooded Guyana with all sorts of lies.  The country is bankrupt and highly indebted.  Billions of dollars stolen.

The priority of the coalition will have to be to ascertain the true financial position of the country and to see how funds that were stolen can be returned.

All they need to do is to put Jagdeo, Irfan and the others in a jail cell with the most violent black criminals they can find and all the funds will be quickly returned.

Does the fact that this majority African gov't is making a serious attempt to rescue Guysuco, with its mainly Indian employee base not register in your primeval racist brain?  Have you heard any faction of the PNC object to this?

Please note that it was the Indo party which has left many Indians in this position, and are totally unrepentant as they now scream how wonderful Raj Singh was and how its anti Indian to fire him.  Did they not also notice that Burrowes was given the boot as well?

But what if the PPP left the cupboard bare.  Guysuco in trouble.  Gold Board in trouble.  Consolidated Funds in overdraft.  National debt much higher than originally thought.  And an economy which is already slowing as commodity prices drop.

The gov't cannot spend what it doesn't have.

But what if the PPP left the cupboard bare.  Guysuco in trouble.  Gold Board in trouble.  Consolidated Funds in overdraft.  National debt much higher than originally thought.  And an economy which is already slowing as commodity prices drop.

The gov't cannot spend what it doesn't have.

Carib, I'm aware of the financial straits PPP left for the coalition. The new government, however, has to keep its 100-days promises to uphold its image, its credibility. It cannot afford to lose trust. I hope the government sells some rice, sugar, gold etc and finds funds the PPP sequestered in secret accounts.

Originally Posted by Franky:

Then did the coalition lie just to win? They must have known that they would not be able to keep the 10% promises. Maybe knowing they will blame the empty coffers for not being able to keep their promises, they were secure in making them anyway.

The liers in the PPP pack,they ruled with no

transparency.

Originally Posted by Django:
Originally Posted by Franky:

Then did the coalition lie just to win? They must have known that they would not be able to keep the 10% promises. Maybe knowing they will blame the empty coffers for not being able to keep their promises, they were secure in making them anyway.

The liers in the PPP pack,they ruled with no

transparency.

No doubt about that as well.

Your thoughts.

Evidence is that your PPP flooded Guyana with all sorts of lies.  The country is bankrupt and highly indebted.  Billions of dollars stolen.

The priority of the coalition will have to be to ascertain the true financial position of the country and to see how funds that were stolen can be returned.

All they need to do is to put Jagdeo, Irfan and the others in a jail cell with the most violent black criminals they can find and all the funds will be quickly returned.

Bai, exactly how this relates to 10% across the board increase?  Yes, I agree, stolen assets should be returned and unreconciled wealth should be taxed as unreported income.

Does the fact that this majority African gov't is making a serious attempt to rescue Guysuco, with its mainly Indian employee base not register in your primeval racist brain?  Have you heard any faction of the PNC object to this?

Please note that it was the Indo party which has left many Indians in this position, and are totally unrepentant as they now scream how wonderful Raj Singh was and how its anti Indian to fire him.  Did they not also notice that Burrowes was given the boot as well?

Not sure what you making a fuss over.  I agree with living wage for all, but the [program need to look at that "non-employed", those struggling outside the system.

Not sure why you defer to race with everything.  Baseman said in another post, e.g. employed people are being screwed be the VAT system and mid-to-lower income Govt worked bear the brunt.  This needs to be rectified.  Now who are these, mainly Afros, right (Civil Servants, Police, GDF, etc).

There is no quick and easy solution if you want something that is fair and sustainable.  Shot-gun actions tend to backfire.

Originally Posted by Itaname:

A man must feel worthy.

Mr. BT, that bolded part is sheer brilliance!!!! You ever consider offering your services to President Granger? Well anyway, when you get lil time read de fuss paragraph hay. Ah suspect you seen it befo.

A man must feel worthy.

What nonsense?

You never heard of Great minds think alike.  Never read that article. But thanks for posting.

A man must feel worthy.

What nonsense?

You never heard of Great minds think alike.  Never read that article. But thanks for posting.

Bai, you ain't gat flowery words like dem princeton professors. You words more "floury". You not just a plagiarist and liar, but yuh shameless too LOL