Ex-first lady barred from Guyana president's house
Jan-20-09 4:51pm

Guyana's former first lady told reporters Tuesday that security agents have barred her from the presidential house where she has lived in separate quarters from President Bharrat Jagdeo since their divorce in 2007.

Varshnie Singh, in a rambling press conference in the capital, said she has been prohibited from entering the presidential house since the weekend and has been wearing the same clothes for two days because all her belongings are locked away in the high-security compound.

"I left my family and the country of my birth to make a new life with someone I loved only to find that I meant nothing," said the visibly fatigued Singh, a British-born economist whose nearly nine-year marriage to President Bharrat Jagdeo ended in April 2007.

Singh, who said she was staying with relatives, then demanded Jagdeo's government grant her a duty-free concession to import a car, restore her diplomatic passport and "first lady privileges" and pay a settlement so she could buy her own home.

"The president has paid nothing toward my existence for the past 10 years. I now have no choice but to move back to the U.K." said the former first lady, who runs a Guyana charity that helps sick children travel overseas for medical care.

In a lengthy written statement, Singh maintained that Jagdeo locked her out of the couple's bedroom a week after the two married in 1998.

"Nothing I could do was ever right. Any attempts to find out what was wrong, why he stopped talking to me ... were met with long silences which lasted days on end and I got no answers," she wrote.

Presidential spokesman Kwame McKoy said Jagdeo will offer no comment regarding Singh because authorities were studying her 20-page statement.

In mid-April 2007, Guyana's first family announced they were splitting due to "amicable" differences. The couple wed in 1998, a year before Jagdeo became president of the small, English-speaking South American nation. They do not have any children.

In late 2007, Singh organized her first bizarre news conference to appeal to her fellow citizens to lend her a car to carry out charitable work, complaining she had to walk or take a bus since state cars were no longer available to her.

Originally posted by Chief:
Bhai every story has three sides, leave the President and his private life alone.

Lets focus on the corruption and how a new Gov't can bring about change for the betterment of all Guyanese.

Stop the personal attacks.

I disagree chief, when you run for president there is no more personal life. That is a myth.
J
Originally posted by jags:
Bhai every story has three sides, leave the President and his private life alone.

Lets focus on the corruption and how a new Gov't can bring about change for the betterment of all Guyanese.

I disagree chief, when you run for president there is no more personal life. That is a myth.

There is also a limit as to what is personal and what is not.

This article is quoting what the wife claimed, please remeber it takes two to tango.

Bro now is not the time to focus and husband and wife "he seh she seh". There is bigger fish to fry rather than worrying about the man failed marriage.

You are off your rocker. If Obama locked his wife out of the house with no explanation he would definitely be shouted down by the people.
Polls after polls has shown that the average man in the street cared less about Clinton pushing a cigar up Monica patacake.

The average voter wants to hear about what the Politician will do to better his life.

All I am saying is lets focus on issues that will attract votes.
He was impeached so the nation took his benavior seriously.
Originally posted by D2:
Polls after polls has shown that the average man in the street cared less about Clinton pushing a cigar up Monica patacake.

The average voter wants to hear about what the Politician will do to better his life.

Nonsense!!!
Congress and Ken Starr impeached him not the electorate!!

You better checked how well was his popularity during and after the impeachment hearings.
Originally posted by D2:

You are off your rocker. If Obama locked his wife out of the house with no explanation he would definitely be shouted down by the people.

shut it dumm2...Dr Jagdeo shood ah kick she ass out on the street.
Originally posted by cain:
In a lengthy written statement, Singh maintained that Jagdeo locked her out of the couple's bedroom a week after the two married in 1998.

Wally, after doing this to the woman, she should have kicked his arse out and kept the home and the car and whatever else was necessary.

Doubt, she had no kids, mariage was not long-term, etc. They had a settlment, so they should go their own separate ways.
Originally posted by BGurd_See:
First of all which father in his right mind will allow his daughter to live with a man without signing legal papers.

Hehe, bai nuff does do it tight in GT. If di gyal goa wid di man, ah wah yuh gon do nah? Me went deh, morals gaan foa channa down deh, nuff gyal a get "put" wid man. The moral decay is at the top, ask why a president would enter into such an arrangement.
Originally posted by Sanjay:

Guyana's former first lady told reporters Tuesday that security agents have barred her from the presidential house where she has lived in separate quarters from President Bharrat Jagdeo since their divorce in 2007.

Varshnie Singh, in a rambling press conference in the capital, said she has been prohibited from entering the presidential house since the weekend and has been wearing the same clothes for two days because all her belongings are locked away in the high-security compound.

"I left my family and the country of my birth to make a new life with someone I loved only to find that I meant nothing," said the visibly fatigued Singh, a British-born economist whose nearly nine-year marriage to President Bharrat Jagdeo ended in April 2007.

Singh, who said she was staying with relatives, then demanded Jagdeo's government grant her a duty-free concession to import a car, restore her diplomatic passport and "first lady privileges" and pay a settlement so she could buy her own home.

"The president has paid nothing toward my existence for the past 10 years. I now have no choice but to move back to the U.K." said the former first lady, who runs a Guyana charity that helps sick children travel overseas for medical care.

"Nothing I could do was ever right. Any attempts to find out what was wrong, why he stopped talking to me ... were met with long silences which lasted days on end and I got no answers," she wrote.

Presidential spokesman Kwame McKoy said Jagdeo will offer no comment regarding Singh because authorities were studying her 20-page statement.

In mid-April 2007, Guyana's first family announced they were splitting due to "amicable" differences. The couple wed in 1998, a year before Jagdeo became president of the small, English-speaking South American nation. They do not have any children.

In late 2007, Singh organized her first bizarre news conference to appeal to her fellow citizens to lend her a car to carry out charitable work, complaining she had to walk or take a bus since state cars were no longer available to her.

KING KONG is a nasty mud crab man.

Nasty fellow, may he rot in hell.

Joseph Hamilton waiting for him with the "akia stick"

House of Isreal people use to beat PPP people with ackia stick.

KING KONG gonna get some good licking like a chicken from Joseph Hamilton. Once a House of Isreal, always a House of Isreal.
D
Originally posted by Sanjay:

SAD STORY, Mad
Originally posted by D2:

Nonsense!!!
Congress and Ken Starr impeached him not the electorate!!

You better checked how well was his popularity during and after the impeachment hearings.
Star represented the state and while he may have had ulterior moitives he acted on an what was an error in judgement by the president. The -president apologize to the nation for his errors and that is the record.

Our president has denied any responsibility for his lies and never cared for the public outcry against his abuse. He did not face any condemnation because there are people like you who would think a lie that he had a wife is a minor error and his abuse of said woman a minor transgression. That however is not what is tolerable in any most western societies.
Originally posted by SuperMike:
Originally posted by D2:

You, being a legitimate member of the culturally backward others would not grasp the gravity of his abuse.
Originally posted by SuperMike:
Originally posted by D2:

A Statement like this from you Supa proves 2 things:

1. the dispect the PPP has for women;

2. they will forever have to hide behind a false man since you are a nasty person.

CHANGE IS COMING TO GUYANA