AML Bill can be passed in 48 hours; Granger, Ramotar to meet:

President Donald Ramotar and Leader of the Opposition, David Granger.

The contentious Anti – Money Laundering and Countering the Financing of Terrorism Amendment (AML/CFT) Bill can be passed within 48 hours; however the government will have to abandon its “winner – takes – all” attitude, Opposition Leader David Granger told a news conference on Friday, May 30.

Guyana has been further blacklisted by the Caribbean Financial Action Task Force (CFATF) as a result of legislators’ failure to amend the current AML/CFT Bill.

The main opposition – A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) – is not taking the blame for the blacklisting and is instead blaming the governing People’s Progressive Party (PPP) government.

The blame game between the two sides has been ongoing for months now, followed by several fruitless meetings. In the meantime, Granger told reporters today that the amended Act can be passed in the National Assembly in 48 hours if the government concedes to several demands of the Opposition; something with the government refuses to do.

On Thursday, the minority opposition – Alliance For Change (AFC) – told a news conference that the Bill can be passed in 72 hours, but Granger believes that 72 hours is “too long”.

To decide on a way forward, another meeting is scheduled to take place on Monday, June 2 between Granger and President Donald Ramotar.

Following the CFATF further blacklisting, Ramotar in a statement called for the Opposition to pass the Bill “conditionally”; in response, Granger said, “It is not going to happen.”

The contentious Anti – Money Laundering and Countering the Financing of Terrorism Amendment (AML/CFT) Bill can be passed within 48 hours; however the government will have to abandon its “winner – takes – all” attitude, Opposition Leader David Granger told a news conference on Friday, May 30.

Guyana has been further blacklisted by the Caribbean Financial Action Task Force (CFATF) as a result of legislators’ failure to amend the current AML/CFT Bill.

The main opposition – A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) – is not taking the blame for the blacklisting and is instead blaming the governing People’s Progressive Party (PPP) government.

The blame game between the two sides has been ongoing for months now, followed by several fruitless meetings. In the meantime, Granger told reporters today that the amended Act can be passed in the National Assembly in 48 hours if the government concedes to several demands of the Opposition; something with the government refuses to do.

On Thursday, the minority opposition – Alliance For Change (AFC) – told a news conference that the Bill can be passed in 72 hours, but Granger believes that 72 hours is “too long”.

To decide on a way forward, another meeting is scheduled to take place on Monday, June 2 between Granger and President Donald Ramotar.

Following the CFATF further blacklisting, Ramotar in a statement called for the Opposition to pass the Bill “conditionally”; in response, Granger said, “It is not going to happen.”

what guyana politicians need right now,is take them all out into the streets and shoot them down like dogs

Tell aya "DE Duck" on his knees begging .....aya na want hear.....Dem even talking to abee GNI boy Farook.....Thing real Desperate. When Uncle Sam finish with Jagdeo aya gon hear the truth. LIKE ABEE BOY SAMAROO GOT MORE JUICE THAN JAGDEO NOW.

1. (AFC) – told a news conference that the Bill can be passed in 72 hours.

2. (APNU) - Bill can be passed within 48 hours.

This bill took many months and still didn't pass and suddenly it can pass in 48 hours? What am I missing here?

Granger said the bill can pass 48 hours if the government concedes to several demands of the Opposition.

So, this all about cat and mouse game by the opposition and nothing to do with the national interest? Folks, if this is what you want Guyana to be under an APNU administration, then we should all vote for them in 2016. Let's vote for a party that plays cat and mouse game with the Guyanese people.

Originally Posted by yuji22: Let me make my final statement on this thread: Indo Guyanese including including myself will have closure and forgive the PNC for their past misdeeds if they apologize. The opposition can give the PPP a run for their money if the PNC offers an apology, they have a good chance of winning a free and fair election. Granger conducts and carries himself like a true statesman despite his past association with the Burnham/Hoyte dictatorship era. He is a mature politician and has indicated that he is interested in a party of national unity. I like what I hear from Granger. I am beginning to like Granger due to the fact that he carries himself in a professional manner and looks presidential. What is the PNC waiting for ? XXXXXXXX warrior Member May 28, 2014 6:15 PM the ppp can stop being a minority if bar-rat apology to the guyanese people and the ppp start charging people for corruption and this is the same party is asking the pnc to do what. XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX NOW AYA NOTICE HOW THE THUTH COMMING OUT. XXXXX YUGEE JUMPING SHIP.....EEE LIKE GRANGER & PNC. ......Now Quote youGee ......."I like what I hear from Granger. I am beginning to like Granger due to the fact that he carries himself in a professional manner and looks presidential. " XXXXXX ABEE FRIEND WARRIOR SAY THE RIGHT THING........Bharat must admit what he did, Apologise, and PPP start charging Comrades for Corruption. XXXXXX Now dem Hear Aunty Dora got them pun she list.....Ready fuh them....Anil sleep at the Airport in Miami fuh ketch the first flight out....running fuh meet Abee Bhai Samaroo.

Granger said the bill can pass 48 hours if the government concedes to several demands of the Opposition.

So, this all about cat and mouse game by the opposition and nothing to do with the national interest? Folks, if this is what you want Guyana to be under an APNU administration, then we should all vote for them in 2016. Let's vote for a party that plays cat and mouse game with the Guyanese people.

the politicians in guyana playing with people lives,some body have to take responsibility for this mess.the ppp government have to meet the opposition half way

This bill took many months and still didn't pass and suddenly it can pass in 48 hours? What am I missing here?

The realization that the PPP doesn't control parliament because the majority of the voters were AGAINST them.  The PPP needs to learn to respect the this decision by the voters and learn to NEGOTIATE.

Nobody has a monopoly on good ideas.  They need to retire Luncheon with his winner take all mentality.  The PPP does NOT have a mandate, except to consult with the opposition and COMPROMISE.

Cobra Granga Lieing.....This Bill can pass immediately....if Donald lock up Bha-Rat fuh Corruption.......AUNTY DORA WAITING FUH HIM NOW......24 Hour too long.....as soon as eee safetly in de hands of the Feds .....BILL PASS.
COBRA DE BALL IN DONALD HANDS....IF NOT HE GOING PUN AUNTY DORA LIST TOO....

So, this all about cat and mouse game by the opposition and nothing to do with the national interest?

So even though the majority voted AGAINST the PPP they must always have their way.

It doesn't work so.  The PPP has to learn how to play with others.  Bring their ideas and listen to others, and together craft solutions which satisfy all those around the table.

NOW AYA NOTICE HOW THE THUTH COMMING OUT. XXXXX YUGEE JUMPING SHIP.....EEE LIKE GRANGER & PNC.

Rats always flee the sinking ship.  The minute that Granger wasn't run out of RH, despite PPP howls that he has bloody hands, these guys began to panic.

Yuji and cobra apologize and the PNC will let you drink their soup.

....running fuh meet Abee Bhai Samaroo.

What's so special about this guy why every one is swooning over him?

CARIB J......OUR GNI BROTHER.....IS A SIMPLE OFFICER AND A GENTLEMAN...NOTHING ABOUT RACE FOR YOU TO PANIC.
AML Bill can be passed in 48 hours; Granger, Ramotar to meet: President Donald Ramotar and Leader of the Opposition, David Granger. XXXXXXXX AYA WATCH AT THE PICHA ABOVE....NUFF PPP SUPPORTERS CRYING NOW....DE Duck Bowing to Granger, Shaking eeee Hand, Massaging eee Hand, and Begging...."Ow..Ow...help abee na".....AND GRANGER STANDING LIKE A STATESMAN....JUST SMILING, LISTNING TO DONALD BEG.

The PPP is killing them with love. They more they play hard card the more people hate them. Cutting budgets and frustrating the passing of important legislations are getting the population more and more angry at these guys. The next elections' results will reflect the people's current disgust with the parliamentarians who are behind all this confusion and delays. The AFC is a high-flyer, but only for now. The elevator's wire-rope will pop and they will hit the bottom in gevy leaving the wrecked as a third force. Their time is coming and it's coming fast. Those who repress the people shall pay the price

This is a class act by Granger. He also outsmarted the AFC by offering to pass the bill in 48 hours instead of the AFC's 72 hours.

The PPP has to learn to play fair with the opposition and cannot always be on the winning side all of the the time. In a political atmosphere where you have a minority government you have to listen to the opposition and be fair and flexible.

I am happy that our politicians are showing maturity and it looks as if Granger swept the carpet from under the PPP's feet. Round one goes to Granger.

Now if only we can get an apology from Granger for what Burnham and Hoyte did and Guyana can start healing and we can all rest assure that Guyana will now move forward despite what political party wins the next elections.

I never imagined that I would live to see this day. Kudos to Granger. Now kick out Carl Greenidge and bring in a new generation finance critic. The next election will be a very interesting one.

This is a class act by Granger. He also outsmarted the AFC by offering to pass the bill in 48 hours instead of the AFC's 72 hours.

The PPP has to learn to play fair with the opposition and cannot always be on the winning side all of the the time. In a political atmosphere where you have a minority government you have to listen to the opposition and be fair and flexible.

I am happy that our politicians are showing maturity and it looks as if Granger swept the carpet from under the PPP's feet. Round one goes to Granger.

Now if only we can get an apology from Granger for what Burnham and Hoyte did and Guyana can start healing and we can all rest assure that Guyana will now move forward despite what political party wins the next elections.

I never imagined that I would live to see this day. Kudos to Granger. Now kick out Carl Greenidge and bring in a new generation finance critic. The next election will be a very interesting one.

lol . . . u probably regard this as a 'clever' post

har har har

har har har

No he is signaling that if Granger offers him soup he will drink it.  That PPP bowl now has a huge crack.

har har har

No he is signaling that if Granger offers him soup he will drink it.  That PPP bowl now has a huge crack.

Carib

I do not have to drink from anyone's bowl. I have millions of bowls to drink from  in my mansion in North America.

I care about Guyana and am very happy to see that Granger is acting like a statesman. In life, you give credit where credit is due. Right now Granger is looking Presidential and has signalled his intention to heal Guyana.

Now only if he could offer that long overdue apology.....

Round one to Granger.

Carib

I do not have to drink from anyone's bowl. I have millions of bowls to drink from  in my mansion in North America.

I care about Guyana and am very happy to see that Granger is acting like a statesman. In life, you give credit where credit is due. Right now Granger is looking Presidential and has signalled his intention to heal Guyana.

Round one to Granger.

The fact that he is doing outreach to people and exposing himself to their questions is good enough.  People did ask him questions on sensitive topics and he did expose himself to potentially embarrassing himself.

Now ask Ramotar to be as equally honest in forums with blacks.

Carib

Round one to Granger.

The fact that he is doing outreach to people and exposing himself to their questions is good enough.  People did ask him questions on sensitive topics and he did expose himself to potentially embarrassing himself.

Now ask Ramotar to be as equally honest in forums with blacks.

Granger took a huge risk but it paid off for him. His military and professional training is beginning to show.

I am still a firm PPP supporter but I can now sleep in peace knowing that Guyana will be in safe hands despite who wins the next election. Granger took his fight to the opposition in their own backyard and like Muhammad Ali, knocked out his opponent.

I admire principled politicians.

The PPP played their hands wrong. Times are changing and they refused to move with the times. The face of Guyana has changed and Granger recognized that fact and his timing was spot on.

The biggest causality will be the AFC. But who cares ? The AFC is only a protest party. The big boys will have to battle it out at the next election.

1. (AFC) – told a news conference that the Bill can be passed in 72 hours.

2. (APNU) - Bill can be passed within 48 hours.

The bill was on Jagdeo's table for years and the PPP had a majority in parliament to pass it. Why was it not passed? Am I missing something here?

The CFATF told Guyana since 2009 to amend the Bill, Jagdeo refused when he had the majority, so why blame the opposition today?

But the PPP continue to win the propoganda war while Mr. Granger squeeks.

Granger took a huge risk but it paid off for him. His military and professional training is beginning to show.

I am still a firm PPP supporter but I can now sleep in peace knowing that Guyana will be in safe hands despite who wins the next election. Granger took his fight to the opposition in their own backyard and like Muhammad Ali, knocked out his opponent.

I admire principled politicians.

The PPP played their hands wrong. Times are changing and they refused to move with the times. The face of Guyana has changed and Granger recognized that fact and his timing was spot on.

The biggest causality will be the AFC. But who cares ? The AFC is only a protest party. The big boys will have to battle it out at the next election.

And no apology given, so no black people agitating to get one from the PPP, and calling Granger a soup licker (a la Corbin) because he apologized to Indians.