Yog: Lizaveta Ramotar’s appointment was done deal

Jan 10, 2015

Former CEO of GT&T Yog Mahadeo says after the shortest interview of his life he was told Lisaveta Ramotar’s appointment as Gold Board manager was a done deal and as such he withdrew his application for the position.

The daughter of President Ramotar was appointed the new general manager of the Guyana Gold Board on a one-year contract in late December.

Writing on his FB page yesterday Mahadeo says, “I attended an interview – which panel comprised of Messrs. Ganga, Gossai and I believe the APNU/PNC rep (cannot remember the name). This interview was the shortest interview I ever attended…Immediately after the interview I was informed by a personal contact that I should not have applied since the appointment of a certain person for the job was “Fait accompli”..Unfortunately at that time I became engrossed with the personal events of my family. However, I realized that if someone’s appointment was fait accompli, then my application only served to create the semblance of a process and so I proceeded to send a withdrawal to my application. This withdrawal was dated December 22, but was sent by email as I was out of town. This email, according to my mail server was delivered December 30. 6) I was made to understand that, later that day, an appointment was announced…”

The Mosquito understands Paul Bhim former CEO of Guysuco also withdrew his application.

Ramotar beat out  Mahadeo after a list of 13 applicants had been whittled down to the two of them. The interview committee was composed of the Bank of Guyana Governor Gobind Ganga and Jeffrey Thomas, the APNU board member. They were unanimous in their choice when they recommended her to the full board for its approval.

Ramotar holds a Masters Degree in Finance and Investment from the University of York in the United Kingdom and a Master of Business Administration (M.B.A.) from the University of Toronto in Canada. She also has 12 years of work experience, including at the World Bank (KN).

The position became vacant after Anantram Balram resigned in early November following a probe into fraud at the Bartica sub-office of the Gold Board in March. Employees had managed to mix silver in with the gold submitted to the office although the amounts stolen were said to be nowhere near those mentioned in the media.

Wrap: Get Here (If You Can)

Jan 9, 2015

Mission Accomplished

I was waiting for Dr Yog Mahadeo's comment on that farce of a job interview process. Yog has a doctorate in business management and served as CEO of GT&T. He is not a government yesman.

Reminder: In early December, President Ramotar confirmed Dr Gobind Ganga's appointment as Governor of Bank of Guyana where he was acting Governor since May last year and where he has worked the past 19 years save for a short break of service.

Exactly one month after Dr Ganga's confirmation, he interviewed President Ramotar's daughter and gave her the top job at the Gold Board, a key state agency.

A done deal, as the report says. How the PNC's Jeffrey Thomas could participate in that charade is bewildering. David Granger may have some explaining to do.

The pretense that she got her job on merit is obscene. This is the second case of naked nepotism in this woman "experience". The first was her posting to the WB despite there being long standing workers with vastly more experience and comparable qualification. This is the friends and family cartel doing business as usual.

Lisaveta Ramotar

Financial Analyst

Previous
  1. Microcars Caribbean,
  2. Scotiabank,
  3. Toolsie Persaud
Education
  1. Rotman School of Management
228connections

Join LinkedIn & access Lisaveta's full profile. It's free!

As a LinkedIn member, you'll join 300 million other professionals who are sharing connections, ideas, and opportunities.

• See who you know in common
  • Get introduced
  • Contact Lisaveta directly

Background

Summary

I am a versatile, solutions-focused analyst and finance professional offering vast practical experience in financial statement modeling, account reconciliation, variance analysis, and the application of accounting principles. I have superb organizational skills with precise attention to detail, and I am able to pinpoint financial discrepancies and errors to mitigate risk of significant cost absorption. As an articulate communicator I can develop meaningful, productive relationships through professional collaboration with colleagues, vendors, senior management, and key stakeholders.

I have multi-faceted experience in private sector and business development in transitional economies, as well as extensive experience in credit and foreign exchange risk management and regulatory and policy development.
----------------------------------------------------------
AREAS OF PROVEN PERFORMANCE

• Financial Statements
• Financial Analysis
• Variance Analysis
• Reporting & Analysis
• Written & Oral Communication
• Vendor & Stakeholder Relations
• Process Improvements
• Task Coordination/Prioritization
• Leadership & Motivation
• Conflict Resolution
• E-Views, SPSS, Bloomberg, Capital IQ
• MS Office, Project, Gantt charts

Experience

Financial Consultant

Microcars Caribbean
January 2014 – April 2014 (4 months)Canada/Guyana

• Created full set of pro-forma financial statements for 5 financial periods, including income statements, balance sheets and cash flow statements, for presentation to and consideration of potential investors; conducted valuation of project using cash flow model and the residual valuation models (year 1 revenue forecasted at $10M, growing to $16M by year 5).
• Conducted thorough market research and financial analysis to develop and overhaul pricing strategy to improve marketability; strategy was implemented by key stakeholder.
• Collaborated with stakeholders on the development of the start-up business plan and forecasted demand using expert opinion and time series projection methodology to determine most efficient factory and warehouse redesign.

Business Coordinator

Scotiabank
July 2013 – October 2013 (4 months)Canada

• Conducted budgetary verification and variance analysis for the business control group, liaising with department heads and developing a cost benefit analysis of their achievements; identified avoidable expenditure and revamped cost processes to improve efficiency.
• Researched and prepared financial presentation documents for Managing Director to present to the Federal Reserve Bank of New York, demonstrating adherence to various trading regulations; documents were accepted and the department was deemed compliant with regulations.
• Developed first ever Business Continuity Plan from conception for the Group, enabling it to satisfy the Bank’s internal regulation that a Continuity plan be in place, and ensure in the case of a disaster work can continue with minimal disruption to profitability and employee productivity. This required mapping the entire business line and understanding the interconnections between the various lines within the Group, as well as their relations outside.

Financial Consultant

Toolsie Persaud
May 2012 – August 2012 (4 months)Guyana

• Conducted financial and market analysis of company to determine demand, cash flow projections and debt capacity to determine whether there was demand for products and whether the company had the financial capacity to extend business line.
• Developed a full business proposal for company that was seeking to investment of $4M in a kiln drying factory; consulted with company stakeholders and governmental officials on the lumber sector and the country’s national development strategy and through this developed the full business plan for the project that was approved by the authorities and expected to increase revenue by 20 percent

Project Coordinator

Government of Guyana
June 2007 – July 2011 (4 years 2 months)Guyana

Leading and monitoring a team of 5 multi-disciplinary professionals in a $25M project, implemented reform measures in the judiciary worth $10M as part of the first ever judicial modernization project in Guyana.

• Enabled modernized and more efficient court procedures and led to the implementation of court recording technology for the first time, as well as a document management system. This required an understanding of the future demand on the court system, conducting cost/social cost benefit analysis of project and determining if the system was sustainable.
• Collaborated with the central government to achieve policy reforms within the judiciary that focused on investment climate improvement.
• Conceptualized, spearheaded and negotiated the overall plan of activities and budget for the programme, collaborating with key multi-organizational stakeholders as such allowing for smooth execution of project with minimal disruption to normal work activity determining type and timing of various reform activities.
• Developed a report presenting a strategy to management based on statistical modeling to indicate best methods to reduce case backlog in the High Court of Guyana; led to a reduction of backlog from 15,000 cases to 5,000 cases.
• Advised Ministry of Finance stakeholders on acceptable financial governance practices in judicial systems; partnered with stakeholders to conduct a needs assessment.
• Independently wrote a policy paper based on the Fiscal and Financial Accountability Act which was implemented shortly after completion and allowed for autonomous budgeting process within the judiciary for the first time.
• Negotiated with the funding agency to finance the real estate extension $300,000 of the Principal Magistrates Court in Guyana which required all stakeholder buy-in and was accomplished.

Procurement Manager, Fiscal and Financial Management Programme

Ministry of Finance
2006 – 2007 (1 year)Guyana

• Restructured financing measures for the Guyana Revenue Authority by developing goods and consulting specifications; conducted the procurement activities required to introduce Value Added Tax in Guyana, raising $5M+ in the first year.
• Developed annual operating plans, yearly procurement plans, and budget and disbursement projections in line with stakeholder priorities and technical contract requirements; improved the procurement process by spearheading the creation and implementation of a more efficient system.

Advisor to Canadian Executive Director

The World Bank
November 2003 – November 2005 (2 years 1 month)Washington D.C. Metro Area

• Leading a team of 6 finance professionals, analyzed and presented recommendations to the Canadian Executive Director on public sector programs, projects and strategies for countries in West Africa and the Caribbean.
• Assessed and researched proposed investment factors such as corporate governance structure and local laws governing shareholder protection, financial structure of investments; wrote position papers and speaking points for Executive Director on private sector investments in transitional and developing economies.
• Briefed and prepared the Executive Director for meetings with prime ministers, ambassadors and finance ministers.

Economist

Bank of Guyana
1998 – 2002 (4 years)Guyana

• Developed a risk factor methodology using the Value at Risk model to quantify daily risks banks were facing in trading, enabling the creation of a policy guideline to assist banks on calculated risks in foreign policy trading on a foreign exchange system of $420 million.
• Developed financial models that allowed for forecasting the stability of commercial banks; used micro- and macro- prudential indicators to perform stress testing on the financial system, co-authoring the first ever report on commercial bank stability recommendations of document implemented to safeguard against financial crash
• Prepared semi-annual and annual reports on the performance of non-bank financial institutions and reported on the developments in the foreign exchange market.
• Conducted yearly audits of licensed foreign exchange dealers; assessed quarterly internal compliance with the Basel Core Principles for effective bank supervision by reporting volume exposures and trading movements to director.

Education

Rotman School of Management

Master of Business Administration (MBA)
2011 – 2013

Managerial Economics | Financial Accounting | Managerial Accounting | Statistics for Management | Managing People in Organisations | Finance 1: Capital Markets and Valuation | Managing Customer Value | Managerial Negotiations | Corporate Finance | Global Managerial Perspective | Economic Environment of Business | Business Analysis and Valuation

University of York

MSc. Project Analysis, Finance and Investment

Recipient of British Chevening Scholarship (Scholarship provided full tuition, living expenses, books and stipend allowances)

University of Guyana

BSc. Business Management

Completed Level 1 of the CFA examination; Level 2 candidate

Skills

• Business Valuation
  • Forecasting
  • Financial Analysis

With all those credentials behind her she should do better at hiding stuff much better than the last guy.

"The position became vacant after Anantram Balram resigned in early November following a probe into fraud at the Bartica sub-office of the Gold Board in March. Employees had managed to mix silver in with the gold submitted to the office although the amounts stolen were said to be nowhere near those mentioned in the media."

Originally Posted by Kapadilla:

hey hey hey...dem bais in Guyana gat nuff mail order PHD. Hey hey hey. Is wan whole crew. Vishnu and all dem. Harse when you gettin you own bai? Hey hey hey...

Don't need Phd to make pellucid arguments or ensure my dick works. You on the other hand you need those kind of props.

hey hey hey...dem bais in Guyana gat nuff mail order PHD. Hey hey hey. Is wan whole crew. Vishnu and all dem. Harse when you gettin you own bai? Hey hey hey...

Don't need Phd to make pellucid arguments or ensure my dick works. You on the other hand you need those kind of props.

Harse_Man I am wan dunce fram Mahaica bai. Me don't need dem fancy letta da from mail order degree. Ehehehehehhehehehe.......

Miss JB u are boring regardless of what you reincarnate as.

IOriginally Posted by HM_Redux:

I have been reading over the last few day and laughed at this one.

Mr. Horseman, you busted this crook Miss JB who now re-incarnate as Kapidilla.  

Then people get PHD fuh waste time, to reveal them assish self on GNI with all this wate talk.

Talk more Kapidialla, oops Ms JB  oops Mr Tyrone.

Then people get PHD fuh waste time, to reveal them assish self on GNI with all this wate talk.

Hey hey hey...Ehehehehehe...Sase yu na go try foh get yu mail order Dactarate? Tek Harse wid yuh. Hehehe...

Still using that Phd as a dick prop eh? hehehehehe smh.......the "intellectual".

EH Mr. Tyrone is alive on GNI, now posting as Kapidilla.  Gone are the days of MISS JB.  

Ehehehehe...me boy wukkin up de XM wite. Hey hey hey...

I was waiting for Dr Yog Mahadeo's comment on that farce of a job interview process. Yog has a doctorate in business management and served as CEO of GT&T. He is not a government yesman.

Reminder: In early December, President Ramotar confirmed Dr Gobind Ganga's appointment as Governor of Bank of Guyana where he was acting Governor since May last year and where he has worked the past 19 years save for a short break of service.

Exactly one month after Dr Ganga's confirmation, he interviewed President Ramotar's daughter and gave her the top job at the Gold Board, a key state agency.

A done deal, as the report says. How the PNC's Jeffrey Thomas could participate in that charade is bewildering. David Granger may have some explaining to do.

Granger and Corbin do need to explain themselves here Gilly.