• York Region ambulances bound for Guyana
  • David Fleischer
  • May 22, 2012 - 1:33 PM

Source - York Region

Two York Region ambulances set to hit the auction block will instead continue to make a difference, this time in the South America.

“Little things make big differences,” said Harry Harakh, founder of the Guyana Burn and Health Care Foundation.

He came to address regional council last week, thanking politicians for donating the ambulances to the foundation, so they can be used by a hospital in Guyana’s capital, Georgetown. The hospital’s ambulances have been minivans in which stretchers need to be tied to the floor with rope.

Mr. Harakh explained how sick or pregnant patients now travel to the hospital by cab or whatever other method they can and how burn care, in particular, was once practically non-existent in the country.

He has partnered with doctors and nurses at Toronto's Sunnybrook hospital to improve equipment and facilities there. The hospital will also help check out and equip the new ambulances before they head south.

The region typically puts ambulances that hit six years or 250,000 kilometres up for auction, where they can bring in as much as $5,000. But 25 per cent of all surplus ambulances are made available to qualified charities and three were potentially available this year.

The recipients are responsible for transportation, maintenance and all other costs once they receive the vehicles.

Previous donations have gone to charities in Uganda and Ecuador, as well as local groups, such as Scouts Canada.

Mr. Harakh invited councillors to visit when the ambulance arrives and handed them a coffee table book about the country.

Following Mr. Harakh’s address to council, regional chairperson Bill Fisch responded in kind.

“Thanks, on behalf of York Region for your work. It’s not only necessary, it’s a heck of a good deed,” he said.

He came to address regional council last week, thanking politicians for donating the ambulances to the foundation, so they can be used by a hospital in Guyana’s capital, Georgetown. The hospital’s ambulances have been minivans in which stretchers need to be tied to the floor with rope.

PPP progress at its best. 

Two condemned ambulances are even better than what they currently have. 

By the way, whatever happened to those two helicopters that Brassington and his relatives procured from a junkyard and then sold them to the GOG for millions. These tiefmen belong in jail.

Originally Posted by God:

By the way, whatever happened to those two helicopters that Brassington and his relatives procured from a junkyard and then sold them to the GOG for millions. These tiefmen belong in jail.

Where are the three helicopters? The one broken down in the Rupununi was the better deal. They they should have repaired that one instead of buying these two junk that were abandoned for over a decade. I bet the purchase was a scam as well. Might as well be since we hardly hear of these crafts anymore.

Imagine our primary hospital does not have good emergency vehicles and personnel. And they want to use our nations assets to build a "specialty hospital"! That again was a deal to finance some one of the PPP cronies with NICIL doing t he arranging. These PPP crooks are about owning our country from under us. The are managing us into the category of the permanently poor as the Haitians are just because the political class are grotesque parasites who consume all the nations wealth leaving the majority poor.

250000 kms should give them quite a few years actually. Those ambulances will be far more comfortable than minivans.

They already have 250,000km on the clock, that's why they were planning to auction them.  That's a lot of mileage, oops kilometerage

250000 kms should give them quite a few years actually. Those ambulances will be far more comfortable than minivans.

They already have 250,000km on the clock, that's why they're auctioning them. 

Oh God! Yeah I got that but as much as it's got some milage on it that's not a lot for those vehicles. My 4 cylinder Cavalier Chev has over 230000kns and I don't plan on getting rid of it anytime soon,the thing runs great.

Actually I lied, I'm gonna be looking into whether or not I could throw a small 8 cyl or maybe a 6 into it, if an 8 won't work.

Then I can race for pink slips,yessss.

Imagine our primary hospital does not have good emergency vehicles and personnel. And they want to use our nations assets to build a "specialty hospital"! That again was a deal to finance some one of the PPP cronies with NICIL doing t he arranging. These PPP crooks are about owning our country from under us. The are managing us into the category of the permanently poor as the Haitians are just because the political class are grotesque parasites who consume all the nations wealth leaving the majority poor.

WHATTACK! Outta de ballpark.

YUh rite, that is a remarkable commentary.

Imagine, giving the Indians, rights for an organs transplant facility.

One can say, perhaps that is the plans of the PPP. Provide poor services which eventually will assure the death of Guyanese in large numbers.

A sound economic plan which the Minister of Health and his boss sold to the Indians.

I think the PPP is capable of killing Sawh. Janet Jagan encourage some shit before she died.

Indira should write a book and  expose those crooks.

Where are the three helicopters? The one broken down in the Rupununi was the better deal. They they should have repaired that one instead of buying these two junk that were abandoned for over a decade. I bet the purchase was a scam as well. Might as well be since we hardly hear of these crafts anymore.

You should ask David Granger who was a PNC member at the time when the Monkey Man was ruling about the TATA bus company that was nationalize and wasted. That's only one example!

Originally Posted by ABIDHA:

You should ask David Granger who was a PNC member at the time when the Monkey Man was ruling about the TATA bus company that was nationalize and wasted. That's only one example!

Dude, you are bordering on the obscenely ignorant. Here the presentation is on our hospitals serviced primitively as if we are Somalians living in a failed state. The story is we are better served by discarded vehicles donated by a very small municipality and the organization receiving them understands how significant a contribution these vehicles will be to our deprived system.

This is not about Granger and his supposed flaws on account of him serving in the security forces during the PNC era. How many of those do you have inclusive of Felix and Green, Joe Singh and the Current commanders who were staunch PNCites. Do only the ones outside the PPP come with baggage?

But then again  you are plainly absurd. Speak to our lacking in primary health care and yet these corrupt officials were bent on creating a specialty  hospital for medical tourism to line the pockets of PPP cronies.

I live in York Region and I am happy this region is doing something good.

Take note how the AFC supporters are critical of any positive development.

Where has anyone been critical for the much needed charity to fill a void? The comment is to the abject disgust one feels for this government obvious neglect of so basic a service while sanctimoniously still insisting on spending the money the nations money on boutique health care for the rich.

I live in York Region and I am happy this region is doing something good.

Take note how the AFC supporters are critical of any positive development.

Fool, did you read any of my posts on this?

Your level of ignorance is nicely reflected in your posts.

..and you're the type of guy that is a blueprint for building an idiot.

I will collect this one and grudgingly store it away until such convenient time that I may use it to inflict blunt force trauma on one of these knuckle headed dudes! That was wicked! The banna aint come up for air since!

Your level of ignorance is nicely reflected in your posts.

..and you're the type of guy that is a blueprint for building an idiot.

Whattack! Bhim!