Home » latest news » Body of overseas based Guyanese found in trench

Body of overseas based Guyanese found in trench

August 10, 2015 11:36 am Category: latest news A+ / A-

crime[www.inewsguyana.com] – The Guyana Police Force is conducting investigations into the circumstances surrounding the death of an overseas based Guyanese whose body was found in a trench at Black Bush Polder.

According to the Police, 51-year-old Ramdas Sohan was found sometime around 6:35 hrs on Monday August 10 in a trench at Yakasuri South Zone, Black Bush Polder, Corentyne.

Police indicated to that a car belonging to Sohan, a building contractor, was also found submerged in the trench. Investigations are continuing.

Police probing overseas Guyanese death

The wrecked car that was pulled from the canal

A father of four was on Monday morning found dead along the Yakusari, Black Bush Polder road suspected to have been involved in an accident, since his wrecked motor car was fished out of a nearby canal.

The dead man has been identified as Ramdas Soman, 51 of Queens, New York, US, formerly of Yakusari, Black Bush Polder, Corentyne, Berbice.

According to reports received, Soman was found by his brother Lionel about 06:30h during a search operation after he went missing. His body bore minor bruises consistent with a vehicular accident.

Soman reportedly arrived in Guyana on August 6 to attend his mother-in-law’s funeral which was held on Sunday at Number 72 Village, Corentyne. He was due to return home shortly.

Lionel Soman told Guyana Times that after the funeral, his brother called and informed him about 19:30h that he was at the Yakusari Entrance heading to his home.

At 20:00h, Lionel claimed that his brother did not show up and his sister who was with him suggested that they wait another 15 minutes. After that time elapsed and the man did not show up, he drove to the Number 51 and Springlands Police Stations to enquire whether or not there were any reports of an accident, but Police ranks confirmed there were no such reports.

He then went to a few guesthouses in the area to look for his brother, but there were no signs of him. The worried brother claimed that on his way home, he did not see any vehicle along the Black Bush Polder road.

However, he ventured out early Monday morning in his boat with three others in search of his brother. As they travelled along the waterway, they saw the man lying on the parapet in a motionless state.

Dead, Ramdas Soman

At the same time, he saw a Police vehicle passing and stopped them.

As they searched further, they came into contact with the motor car bearing registration number PTT 1933 belonging to BB Exotic Gardens submerged in the water. The car was completely wrecked. Lionel believes that his brother might have been under the influence of alcohol and as such, lost control of vehicle and ended up in the canal.

From all indications, the man received injures and managed to get out of the wreckage, but subsequently died. The access road, the brother stated, is in a deplorable state. The Police in a release stated that they were investigating the circumstances surrounding the man’s death.

The body was taken to the Skeldon Hospital Mortuary where a post-mortem examination is scheduled for Wednesday.

Pointblank
Originally Posted by asj:

Still I say that the PNC/AFC cannot provide security

Body in trench reminds me Farouk Kalamadeen ..... except his body was headless and it was during the PPP reign. Security I tell ya!

boy...yuh really jump the gun on this one

Ray, lets hope that we will see some improvement in Crime Sitution with the allocation of the 21 Billion in the Budget.

Apology accepted

I am shocked........not for the reasons in these posts, but because I spoke to Alan last week outside my office at Wall St. That must have been the day or two before he flew out. Alan is a close friend and lean in all respects. He was working on a City (NYC) contract. He had a good business in New York. I know the family well. Man, this is sad news.

Please refrain from writing stuff you do not know or cannot validate.

Overseas-based businessman found dead in Black Bush trench

AUGUST 11, 2015 | BY  | FILED UNDER NEWS 

– believed to have lost control of vehicle

An American citizen and father of four is now dead, apparently when he lost control of the vehicle he was driving on the Black Bush Polder Public Road on Sunday evening.

The damaged vehicle.

Dead is 51-year-old Ramdas Soman, called Allan, of Queens, New York, and Yakusari South Zone, Black Bush Polder, Corentyne, Berbice. Soman’s body was found at about 0635hrs on Monday in a trench at Yakusari. The motor vehicle he had reportedly been driving was also found submerged in the trench. According to information, the man, a building contractor, would visit Guyana on a regular basis and whenever here he would stay at his brother’s residence at Yakusari. He owns business overseas and in Guyana, including a block factory at Eccles, East Bank Demerara. Soman reportedly only arrived in the country on August 6th to attend his mother-in-law’s funeral. The man reportedly went to the funeral at Number 72 village on August 9th (Sunday) and left for home around 17:00 hrs. Between that time and 20:00 hrs his whereabouts were unknown. The family last made contact with him around 20:00 hrs when he informed them that he was on his way home. However after that there was no further contact with the man. Relatives subsequently became concerned and started making inquiries since he was supposedly alone in his new jeep, PTT 1933. A relative said that after the man did not arrive home after some time they went to the Number 51 and Springlands Police Stations and made inquiries of any accident. They also checked a few guest houses in Springlands, but the man was not there. A search party was launched and residents found Soman’s body partly submerged a few yards near to his vehicle in a trench along the Black Bush Polder road. Investigators are working on the theory that the man was heading into Black Bush Polder at a fast rate of speed when he came upon a hole in the middle of the road and had to swerve suddenly, he subsequently hit a speed bump which was not too far off. He subsequently lost control and ended up in the corner of the road which was recently ploughed. This did not help the situation as the vehicle toppled and ended up in the trench. Soman subsequently fell out or jumped out of the vehicle as it toppled and ended in the water.

Originally Posted by Jungle Girl:

Apology accepted

Guyana is worst than HELL. I am predicting it will get from bad to worst given the INCOMPETENT PNC and 2 House Slaves are CLUELESS!!!

Why don't you try to hold your breath for an hr, foolish veryfkn foolish.

Yes my apologies, no excuses.

So much crimes are happening makes one thinks that everything that happens is a crime.

Guyana is worst than HELL. I am predicting it will get from bad to worst given the INCOMPETENT PNC and 2 House Slaves are CLUELESS!!!

Why don't you try to hold your breath for an hr, foolish veryfkn foolish.

iF ONLY YOU HAD A BRAIN!!!

Asj, all of us who are concerned about the daily murder are robbery are 99.9 accurate in reporting it. There are two versions of the news. It's not your fault, but you witness the criminal appeasers come out in full force to attack you for one error.

I didn't see them come out and sympathize with the brutalized woman.
Asj, all of us who are concerned about the daily murder are robbery are 99.9 accurate in reporting it. There are two versions of the news. It's not your fault, but you witness the criminal appeasers come out in full force to attack you for one error.

Cobra bhai, I take it jokingly, but seriously I should have been more careful.

Thanks.

You are suddenly concerned about daily murder in Guyana? What's the reason for this newly discovered concern of yours? It wasn't there earlier this year or for the last 23 years when the PPP didn't do much to bring it under control.

Originally Posted by Mars:

You are suddenly concerned about daily murder in Guyana? What's the reason for this newly discovered concern of yours? It wasn't there earlier this year or for the last 23 years when the PPP didn't do much to bring it under control.

Crime was considered legal in dem days by PPP...everything irie.

So much crimes are happening makes one thinks that everything that happens is a crime.

Perfectly understandable asj - no worries!

Originally Posted by Jungle Girl:

Perfectly understandable asj - no worries!

Hey! Thanks JG, you are a darling.

Really, now you running like a scared ***** cat.  Just recently you were kicking everything PPP/Jagdeo, now the shit hitting the fan, you diving for cover!!

Confused individual, as usual!!

No it is not confusion, the report first came out and was posted and my comments made: Was not aware that later there was another report with more meat on it.

Did not realize until Ray made his comments.

If you were someone with a little bit of brains, then you would have look at the situation and understand, but to come here and spew garbage, it is just like you.

I am shocked........not for the reasons in these posts, but because I spoke to Alan last week outside my office at Wall St. That must have been the day or two before he flew out. Alan is a close friend and lean in all respects. He was working on a City (NYC) contract. He had a good business in New York. I know the family well. Man, this is sad news.

Please refrain from writing stuff you do not know or cannot validate.

Kari this is shocking....Alan called me last week, I guess he had to leave suddenly for the Funeral....he did not mention anything about going to Guyana.

I spoke with other members in the family and they are still shocked.

Alan was like a little Brother to us and he will be missed.

Those of us who were close to Alan know we have to Ignore the nonsense people would want to say.

Asj you explained what you said based on the first report.... This is sad for many of us who were close to Alan.

Patricia Jordon-Langford's photo.

Jalil, I'm trying to get in touch with Alan's nephew Robbie, but don't have his number. "lean" in my post was meant to be "clean". He spoke to both you and I just before leaving for Guyana.

Alan Soman's Viewing:

Soman died in an accident on the Black Bush Polder road and today was viewing before his casket is flown to NY, where he resided.

I was there with his brother and  sisters including Klenie and my cousin Vincent, her husband, to say farewell to this Guyana-born businessman and extraordinary personality,  who is loved by all.

Jalil, I'm trying to get in touch with Alan's nephew Robbie, but don't have his number. "lean" in my post was meant to be "clean". He spoke to both you and I just before leaving for Guyana.

Strange things happening in that country. An acquaintance returned after holidaying-the next day he entered a coma and died. I am reminded of Mara and him getting sick as returned back to Canada. Another fella years ago returned and became sick-never recovered. Makes me wonder, as I am planning a trip.

Just wanted to comment a bit on the demise of travelling to Guyana.