One of the two transformational leader in the history of Guyana had his most profound impact prior to 1964 - the secondary schools were opened up to all in the country, UG got started, women got the vote, a non-Christian can get a civil service job without changing his name or religion, there was land reform and agri projects. The other transformational leader took two steps back and half-a-step forward - he got "Europe" out of Guyana, dismissed "Sir" 'from the vocabulary, became a fashionista with shirt-jacs and we all ate plantain and cassava. And of course civil society got ruptured and the seed for the underground economy of illicit trading, drug running and state asset appropriations were sown.

Hoyte undid the economic wrongs of his predecessor - opened up internal trading and released it from the yoke of trade licenses; liberated the currency by floating it to its right levels, and so on. But he was a stop-gap with some mo-fiah, slo-fiah ryhtms.

Jagdeo was thought of as a "big Projects" 'guy but these were not anything out of the normal run of things. The heist of State property was very creative though.

Alas, the Donald is not the assertive type and is more consumed by outing fires than effecting any visionary movement in the direction of Guyana. It's biggest bank is owned by Trinidad. The large private investments are not native. We are yet to find a visionary leader who can transform how we work in Guyana to an educated level where we come home and read to our kids and don't violate the next person as easy as it is to say "pass me de damn bottle ah liquor".

So let the tears flow, as I suspect the flame will.

These slo fiah mo fiah activist always bring pain to Guyana.  This has been part of the national equation since the 60's and I suspect will continue though with lesser and lesser impact as the progressive and decent folks see them relegated to the fringe.

The GoG and people have no option but to forge ahead, correct their deficiencies and bring progress to the people of the nation.

The faster we accept the reality of Guyana the better for all.  Ethnic security will be paramount in any decision and Indians have learnt from the last election, nothing will change.

Guyana will continue as two nations in one with a symbiotic relationship between the two major races always trying to get the better of each other.  The Afros will continue to dominate in certain segments holding institutional sway and be represented by the PNC.  This is same for Indians and the PPP will continue to dominate the political landscape for that segment.  From time to time, events and issues will bring unity, but this will be short lived and footnoted.

Barring any external event, the PPP will continue to hold power for the foreseeable future.  That's the stark reality.

These slo fiah mo fiah activist always bring pain to Guyana.  This has been part of the national equation since the 60's and I suspect will continue though with lesser and lesser impact as the progressive and decent folks see them relegated to the fringe.

The GoG and people have no option but to forge ahead, correct their deficiencies and bring progress to the people of the nation.

The faster we accept the reality of Guyana the better for all.  Ethnic security will be paramount in any decision and Indians have learnt from the last election, nothing will change.

Guyana will continue as two nations in one with a symbiotic relationship between the two major races always trying to get the better of each other.  The Afros will continue to dominate in certain segments holding institutional sway and be represented by the PNC.  This is same for Indians and the PPP will continue to dominate the political landscape for that segment.  From time to time, events and issues will bring unity, but this will be short lived and footnoted.

Barring any external event, the PPP will continue to hold power for the foreseeable future.  That's the stark reality.

THE KFC HAS ADOPTED THE SLO FIAH, MO FIAH POLICY AND HAS IMNPROVED IT TO SUCH AN EXTENT THAT THEY MURDERED THREE INNOCENT LINDENERS, LAUGH ABOUT IT AND NOW FORGOT ABOUT IT. THESE SHAMELESS SOBS!!!!

It all atarts with the politics. Get that right and Guyana's on its way. What does that mean? It means that the political process must be agreed upon by all parties (constitution, judicial independence, political victories must be respected, etc).

I'm unable to shake the feeling that Guyanes in Guyana are inured to things that in mature societies would bring civic outrage - things like when you drive past Pradoville and Pradoville II; like when you see State assets being taken from the people and given to a few. It's like Guyanese are numbed to such blatant iniquities. Thief, if you must....but to flaunt it?!

You see in Guyana you have two sets of people - the Clique and the others. The others can be divided into two - farmers and small entrepreneurs on the one hand and fixed income people on the other. The former is doing well , what with rising commodity and agri prices. The latter - well, even remitances don't add up. Neither thinks tey need a voice. Meanwhile politicians go through the motions of thinking they are representing the people. This is the pantomime you see on display in the courts and in Parliament. The call for Rohhe to go is exhibit A. Ain't gun happen, and life goes on.....

US12.3M LINDEN WATER SUPPLY REHABILITATION PROGRAMME ON TARGET

TWO contracts for civil works to improve water service provided to Linden customers of the Guyana Water Inc. (GWI) were on Friday signed between the GWI, represented by its CEO, Nigel Niles, and Suresh Jagmohan, proprietor of S. Jagmohan Hardware Supplies and Construction Services, the contractor...

http://www.guyanachronicleonline.com/site/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=49247:us123m-linden-water-supply-rehabilitation-programme-on-target&catid=2:news&Itemid=3

While the AFC and their goons were hellbent on destroying Linden---

---the PPP continues to focus on growth and development.

It all atarts with the politics. Get that right and Guyana's on its way. What does that mean? It means that the political process must be agreed upon by all parties (constitution, judicial independence, political victories must be respected, etc).

I'm unable to shake the feeling that Guyanes in Guyana are inured to things that in mature societies would bring civic outrage - things like when you drive past Pradoville and Pradoville II; like when you see State assets being taken from the people and given to a few. It's like Guyanese are numbed to such blatant iniquities. Thief, if you must....but to flaunt it?!

You see in Guyana you have two sets of people - the Clique and the others. The others can be divided into two - farmers and small entrepreneurs on the one hand and fixed income people on the other. The former is doing well , what with rising commodity and agri prices. The latter - well, even remitances don't add up. Neither thinks tey need a voice. Meanwhile politicians go through the motions of thinking they are representing the people. This is the pantomime you see on display in the courts and in Parliament. The call for Rohhe to go is exhibit A. Ain't gun happen, and life goes on.....

I'm not arguing with anything you say, my point is Ethnic security trumps it all.  The Indians cling t the PPP for that reason as the Afros clinged to the PNC pre-1992.

Kari, every society have the "clique" and the "others", just ask "Occupy Wall Street".

I'm not arguing with anything you say, my point is Ethnic security trumps it all.  The Indians cling t the PPP for that reason as the Afros clinged to the PNC pre-1992.

Kari, every society have the "clique" and the "others", just ask "Occupy Wall Street".

Indians for PPP and Blacks for PNC (now APNU) is ingrained in Guyanese DNA, you're right. A good leader needs to know how to make this a plus and not a negative, or to pull Guyanese out of this mind-set.

I wonder how many on the insouciant on this BB would be fine with this winner-take-all abomination if Indians were to become an 'electoral' minority in Guyana

Indians were in this position artificially from 1968 - 1985 and this period coincided with the bigges wave of emigration to North America. Richmond hill is Exhibit "A". In other words Indians' financial and human capital flight was the response. But, here is an important caveat, this was not an electoral minority situation, but by rigging.

The PPP is in power and you would think that Indian financial and human capital would be optimized. Instead, because of the political governance instability (the Phantom wars and the rise of the Clique class), Indians continue to do what they did in 1968 - 1985, albeit on a lesser scale, as they are now allowed to prosper in any which way they can. This does not engender a climate for society to be transformative. We missed the boat on the technology back-office boom in non-ibndustrialized economies, and resource use is still constrained by huge foreign capital investment and know-how, as both native capital and governement are deficient. Again the politics is important, in that instead of having favorable government-private relationship to move Guyana forward, what you have is the mechanism of the Clique class.

The "Native Indians" ....better yet.

There should be constitutional reform where winner takes it all is diluted and where the GDF comes under some type of judicial control separate and apart from political influence and interference in domestic politics.

I wonder how many of the insouciant on this BB would be fine with this winner-take-all abomination if Indians were to become an 'electoral' minority in Guyana

There should be constitutional reform where winner takes it all is diluted and where the GDF comes under some type of judicial control separate and apart from political influence and interference in domestic politics.

In the absence of radical demographic change; as long as the PPP criminals can frighten enough Indo-Guyanese into giving them an electoral majority; YOU, and the other race hegemonists who TALK a good game, really want no part of this democratic "constitutional reform" you PRETEND to support.

THAT IS MY POINT!! mr fraud

BTW, your oft-repeated, incoherent nonsense about the GDF is simply translated from cowardly bigotspeak as:"PPP must rule as long as blackman is majority in army!" 

i hope i've been of service . . .

In the absence of radical demographic change; as long as the PPP criminals can frighten enough Indo-Guyanese into giving them an electoral majority; YOU, and the other race hegemonists who TALK a good game, really want no part of this democratic "constitutional reform" you PRETEND to support.

BTW, your oft-repeated, incoherent nonsense about the GDF is simply translated from cowardly bigotspeak as:"PPP must rule as long as blackman is majority in army!" 

As long as the danger of a reconstituted nexus between the PNC and GDF exist, the PPP could remain in power with all their shortcoming.

Never again to pre-1992 oppression, brutality and the virtual enslavement of the Indian masses under guns and boots.  That era can never be allowed to be resurrected....never again!  Now run off and take out the garbage before your wife barks at you!

As long as the danger of a reconstituted nexus between the PNC and GDF exist, the PPP could remain in power with all their shortcoming.

Never again to pre-1992 oppression, brutality and the virtual enslavement of the Indian masses under guns and boots.  That era can never be allowed to be resurrected....never again!  Now run off and take out the garbage before your wife barks at you!

U didn't even thank me for the translation services . . . how rude

HEHEHEHAHAHAHAHA RUN ALONG BOY.

The other transformational leader took two steps back and half-a-step forward - he got "Europe" out of Guyana, dismissed "Sir" 'from the vocabulary, became a fashionista with shirt-jacs and we all ate plantain and cassava.

Why don't you tell us the truth that you cut wheat flour from Winston Murray during the Cassava/Plantain period? 

Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

The other transformational leader took two steps back and half-a-step forward - he got "Europe" out of Guyana, dismissed "Sir" 'from the vocabulary, became a fashionista with shirt-jacs and we all ate plantain and cassava.

Why don't you tell us the truth that you cut wheat flour from Winston Murray during the Cassava/Plantain period? 

Billy B bhai, I used to get meh wheaten flour from meh friend who got stuff from Brazil for his dredges in the interior. Winston woulda cut meh rass if ah de ask he fuh wheat flour.

Winston Murray was my boss for 4 years (1980 to 1984) and I didn't socialize with him. We kept our relationship at a professional level. So I wouldn't dare ask him for wheat flour.

Wah odda truths yuh wanna hear? Ah gon also ask you fuh some truths on your end, if you don't mind. You see my life is open - nothing to hide. Et tu?

Kari bhai,

During the days of food shortages my partner in ministry used to send two of his subordinates to Guyana Stores to stand in line all day so he could get food stuff at control price. He couldn't afford blackmarket prices so he had to have gov't paid workers line up all day instead of doing their job. The two middle-aged civil servants were kind a happy since they could get scarce items at control price for themselves too. Burnham's leadership spelled disaster for Guyana. Thank god he is gone.

That's right. the knowledge sharing institute was for a selected few only. My friends and I would head up to berbice 4'oclock in the morning. we would pick up the potato, flour etc. then hustle back to G\T before sunrise. Most times we would make it back without any problems but sometimes the police at sparendaam would be lying in wait to seize our stuff. This was how I remember it back then, while guys like caribj and redux were enjoying fresh poke compliments of the GDF farm up the east bank,  

Originally Posted by Sheik101:

That's right. the knowledge sharing institute was for a selected few only. My friends and I would head up to berbice 4'oclock in the morning. we would pick up the potato, flour etc. then hustle back to G\T before sunrise. Most times we would make it back without any problems but sometimes the police at sparendaam would be lying in wait to seize our stuff. This was how I remember it back then, while guys like caribj and redux were enjoying fresh poke compliments of the GDF farm up the east bank,  

Nah, the PNC boys had their party card and never felt or saw the suffering.

Baseman you can scream as much a syou want but the Indian % of the vote declines with each election.  And as the last election showed, mnay are tired of the PPP.

So do not think that you can play the game of ignoring the African voter without consequences.   A priority ought to be to develop structures which deal with the ethnic insecurities of the Indian and the African/mixed camps.  Note that APNU didnt just get the African vote as this is 30-32% and they got 41%, despite the AFC pealing away a portion of this bloc.  

It should bother you that mixed voters cast their votes almost exactly as do the African voters, despite the fact that there is hardly a unanimous harmony between mixed people and blacks.

So scream your "never again". You need to learn that the best way to ensure security for Indians is to ensure that the African/Mixed bloc feels included.

As Linden showed it doesnt take much to light a spark.

How soon people forget that Guyanese had to line up to purchase food under the PNC

This is what communism brings and you all ought to be glad that the Cold War was over a Hoyte had restored capitalism.

Now imagine if Cheddi was still able to cozy up to Castro and to keep his state owned corporations.  You do recall that the single most destructive act by Burnham, nationalizing the economy and destroying the formal private sectgor, was celebrated by Cheddi.

Following the collapse of the Soviet Union, most Socialist leaders in the world and certainly Michael Manley of Jamaica moved to the middle and embraced private enterprise as an important contributor of growth and development.

The is no indication that Cheddi post-1992 would have cozied up to any socialist and communist leader.

Baseman you can scream as much a syou want but the Indian % of the vote declines with each election.  And as the last election showed, mnay are tired of the PPP.

So do not think that you can play the game of ignoring the African voter without consequences.   A priority ought to be to develop structures which deal with the ethnic insecurities of the Indian and the African/mixed camps.  Note that APNU didnt just get the African vote as this is 30-32% and they got 41%, despite the AFC pealing away a portion of this bloc.  

It should bother you that mixed voters cast their votes almost exactly as do the African voters, despite the fact that there is hardly a unanimous harmony between mixed people and blacks.

So scream your "never again". You need to learn that the best way to ensure security for Indians is to ensure that the African/Mixed bloc feels included.

As Linden showed it doesnt take much to light a spark.

Last election was a aberration.  True, Indians were ready to break with the PPP, but they felt conned, now it's "back home" for everyone.  The vast majority who voted AFC does not want to see a return of the PNC.

The AFC lost a golden opportunity to play a positive and meaningful role in parliament. Instead, ex PPP members from the AFC started a campaign to destabilize the country by heaping lies that they could not prove and was exposed at the recent debates.

By inciting terrorist acts in Linden, they drove fear in the minds of those who wanted to give them a chance.

Die hard fanatics and terrorists will not want to admit it but the AFC is finished. They are now posting "Dear John" letters in newspapers in Guyana in an effort to rebrand themselves.

They are yet to show that they can make a positive change in Guyana. Their new standard of journalism is " dem boys seh". The AFC is finished. It is quite correct to say that the PPP supporters who left have returned home.

Following the collapse of the Soviet Union, most Socialist leaders in the world and certainly Michael Manley of Jamaica moved to the middle and embraced private enterprise as an important contributor of growth and development.

The is no indication that Cheddi post-1992 would have cozied up to any socialist and communist leader.

Note that I said the Cold War was over. Had the Cold War been alive for sure that Cheddi would have jumped into that Castro bed, and if he didnt Janet would have ensured that he did.  It took many years before the PPP stopped calling itself Marxist Leninist. 

Michael Manley was never a Marxist as Cheddi definitely was. More of the Western Europe socialist model.  There is precious little of the Jamaican economy he nationalized, except in some instances of failed hotels which were abandoned after Jamaican capital fled to Florida.  And the US stopped investing in Jamaica.....that is apart from Mark Rich.

Last election was a aberration.  True, Indians were ready to break with the PPP, but they felt conned, now it's "back home" for everyone.  The vast majority who voted AFC does not want to see a return of the PNC.

You dont get the point.  The Indian vote is shrinking and the mixed vote is increasing.  Over 2/3 of the mixed vote goes PNC because they perceive them as being hostile to non Indians.  They got 41%.  Even if every single African voted PNC...and this was definitely NOT the case, the PNC still got 2/3 of the mixed vote at a minimum as the African vote is now around 30-32%.

So demographic trends suggest that unless cross ethnic alliances are established the Indians will become a minority bloc.

There will come a time when the Indian attitudes will matter no mlore than do African attitudes today.  So unless the PPP/Indians become more open their future is uncertain.

By inciting terrorist acts in Linden, they drove fear in the minds of those who wanted to give them a chance.

yuji people like you need to stop looking at AfroGuyanese as empty vessels who have no thoughts unless some one tells them what to do.  It is clear that Lindeners and AfroGuyanese in general are frustrated by life under the PPP and so they do not need Nagamootoo or Ramjattan to tell them what to do or think.  Indeed the notion that these two gentlemen have any influence beyond Regions 5 and 6 is laughable.