Hey Mits, you serious about karaila recipes? That book I mentioned, BITTER GOURD by Ji says, has recipes. It costs only CAD$6.44 on Amazon. Why yuh don't spend de blasted money and buy de book, eh? Yuh got plenty money to reach the Maldives and to promise to drink tea with Mr T in Britain, but yuh prefer to bug GNI peeps for freeness? Awee ah watch yuh.

Maldives, Bali, Singapore, Thailand are next on my bucket list. Had to cancel due to an emergency with one of the members in the group.  Anyway tea again with Mr. T and draught beer with Sunil is possible since we will make a stop over in England. 

I am having Goya Champuru for supper. 

Good for you, man. You're one lucky bloke.

...and we r two broke blokes.

Cain, the money I save from growing what I eat goes towards my travel funds. There are more savings from not drinking coffee or booze and not  smoking.

Ever had the Goya Champuru, it's Japanese Fried Rice. 

Goya Champuru is Japanese Stir Fry with Karaila, tofu and other things. It's a major part of Japanese cuisine. Mits is dining in style. 

There is a very popular Japanese restaurant nearby. They cook your dish right in front of you. 

BTW, the Rat said that he doesn't want any old cow with calves. 

Last edited by Mitwah

Mits, I am very sorry. I honestly do not have a recipe for ripe Karila. I only know about fried green Karila and Veggie Kaloungie.

You ever ate ban/bhan karaila? It's small and spherical and grew wildly in the sugarcane fields.

Got some seeds. Will try it next year.

I planted a few seeds this year. Gave my brothers a couple plants. I kept one and had about 75 - 100. Next year I will keep about 2 plants. They do very well in full sun. They are hard to find among the leaves.DSC_0322

• DSC_0322

Anyone tasted karaila achar?

Yes. after chopping or slicing the karela very thin,  soak it in some salt for about 1/2 hour, drain and squeeze out the excess water; I would also place it and spread it out on a cookie pan in the sun to dry for a few hours. Add your favorite ingredients for chutney, place over heat and bring to slow boil and remove for cooling and storage. Very delicious. It was in Tamil Nadu that I first tasted it. 

Skelly, the vines make a great shade. I plan to make a trellis beside my deck on the sunny side about 8 to 10 feet high to block the afternoon sun. I may plant about 5 or 6 plants. They thrive well in sunny locations. They are called " ban kareli". Ban means become, Kareli means baby or choti sa karela (the big ones).

We just call them kareli. I brought some seeds from Guyana this past March and started them in my greenhouse towards the end of April. I am not sure anyone else ever planted these in this climate.

Skelly, the vines make a great shade. I plan to make a trellis beside my deck on the sunny side about 8 to 10 feet high to block the afternoon sun. I may plant about 5 or 6 plants. They thrive well in sunny locations. They are called " ban kareli". Ban means become, Kareli means baby or choti sa karela (the big ones).

We just call them kareli. I brought some seeds from Guyana this past March and started them in my greenhouse towards the end of April. I am not sure anyone else ever planted these in this climate.

Will plant some seeds next summer in my neck of the wood.

How long does it take to fruit ?

You should see some kareli by end of July or so. I have a chain link fence and I plant close to the fence. On one plant, you might get about 15 or so a week. Lots of flowers, most of them do not bear fruit(vegetable).

Mits, I am very sorry. I honestly do not have a recipe for ripe Karila. I only know about fried green Karila and Veggie Kaloungie.

You ever ate ban/bhan karaila? It's small and spherical and grew wildly in the sugarcane fields.

I planted a few seeds this year. Gave my brothers a couple plants. I kept one and had about 75 - 100. Next year I will keep about 2 plants. They do very well in full sun. They are hard to find among the leaves.DSC_0322

These karaila  grows wild on chain link fences and bushes in Tortola, BVI, that Guyanese there  like to cook. Many attend Sea Cow Bay Mandir.

Also, no one owns the wild chickens on the island  and Guyanese have a field-day with free chicken. If they lay eggs in your yard, its yours.  

Start them inside, transfer them to the ground when threat of frost is gone. In my area that could be late May. I put mine down during the last week of May and about mid July,  I started to pick them before they mature into ripe fruits.

Tola posted:

These karaila  grows wild on chain link fences and bushes in Tortola, BVI, that Guyanese there  like to cook. Many attend Sea Cow Bay Mandir.

Also, no one owns the wild chickens on the island  and Guyanese have a field-day with free chicken. If they lay eggs in your yard, its yours.  

Some people here only get these when relatives from Guyana visit them. The relatives bring fried Kareli. I have not seen them in any oriental or WI store here. 

Tola posted:

Skelly, sometimes they appear in stores here with Ochro, but not often.

But Grace foods seems to be coming more, because they are not perishable.

I don't know where here is but in Queens NY, you can get pretty much every and anything between the Chinese, Indian, Bangladeshi and West Indian Stores. You just have to know what to ask for. A lot of the time it's a learning process and you come home with something different. People who ask relatives to bring anything for them are just plain lazy and cheap. Sorry if I offended anyone. I plant peppers and make my own pepper sauce.