Reply to "School daze…ah mean days"

@Wildflower posted:

Yes bossman, ( ya rass not boss a dis house no mo😄)….yes to salt n pepper with green/half ripe mangoes. My bestest friend 😔had mango trees and she could climb so she was responsible for mangoes.

I used to bring a bowl full of ripe gooseberries with salt n pepper done mix up.

also, I used to take roti ‘wrap’ for lunch…sometimes fry bigan or pumpkin etc in it….try buying that now!
jeez I am drooling. I have not had gooseberry in looooong time

Many days I had the roti wrap..but with fry eggs .  We had fireside only n my sis had to wake at 5 am to cook 2 roti for me with d ‘curry’ but sometimes d ‘curry’ (fry baigan or bora etc  ) didnt finish in time so she fry up egg.  She wrapped 2 sep roti because I never ate BFast..too early to eat food but my dad milked the cow at that hr (using a lantern , as it was still dark outside).  My sis quickly boiled a 1cup so that i got milk with milo or ovaltaine to drink before i left home.  Whn i got to sch, I ate my bfast but the hot roti used to ‘sweat’ in the plastic bag n become soggy.  But whn yuh belly hungry, u eat anything..we nah mek styles..food was food back then.  My gfs used to have ‘pocket piece’ ( I didn't have a cent ) n they bought the goodies from Mr Gulchrn mom..eddo/cassava balls , boil n fry channa.  They went to her home as it was quite early..i think we arrived at sch before 8 am. (the boat departed  at 6 am..i left home at 530 am n didnt get home until after 630 pm..sometimes even 7 pm whn the last train was delayed or whn Malali got stuck on a sandbank..)

FUN days!!

Lynn
Last edited by Lynn