Reply to "What's cooking today"

@cain posted:

THURSDAY...whatderass is dis I readin? So I guess is tv dinners in yo skites. Or you cook an freeze food for whole week?

CAIn CAIN!!!

I freeze my soup only as i make a big pot..

regular  food stays 3 days in fridge. I cook a lot  sundays as i dont cook before i go to work on Mon N Tues (im  on feet for entire shift..not sitting or standing but moving abt ..i am 62 n refuse do ‘double’ shift at this age!! .ie  to cook n clean at home then go to work at 4 pm.

Wed is my rest day..i avoid  doing anything..even drs appointment ie if i can help it so  we eat lef leff on wed..i just laze around, catch up with phone calls n msgs n em etc n missed tv shows .

sometimes i do freeze dal as i cook a big pot of that n my girls sometimes stop by without notice..so this way they have something..i can easily whip up a quick roti or bake for them.

sometimes i freeze a lil GY greens  for big daughter as she enjoys  GY pumpkin , seim n katahar..so if i cook these n i know she is coming over later in the week..i would freeze a sml bowl for her

NO TV dinner!!! now way!! I have NEVER eaten TV dinner or FROZEN meals  from supermarket ..I cook from scratch n eat home food 99% of time..we do take out once in a while..n I only eat out out  special occasions only .  Hubby loves home cooked food..GYese dishes.  Older daughter eats healthy n indulges in her fave GY food whn she visits.  Lil one loves junk food..n im an international cook for her..( yest i made shepherds  pie just for her alone!! ..but opted for minced turkey n topped with mashed cauliflower, making it a bit more healthy.  I often make pizza for her but from scratch..even the dough!  I go easy on cheese n i roast lot-of veggies..so again it-is pizza but much healthier than store bought)

For myself..im on low carbs because few yrs ago, my bld sugar went up..so i started to watch carb intake..I was never into  junk food n too much  sweet/desert,( except our Gyese pastries n sweets but i am careful with these now.)

I make a huge pot of lentil sweet potato soup n freeze in sml containers ...then i steam or sautee or roast veggies sep to last 1 day or 2 so it is fresh(as i dont like mushy veggies.)  I cook my protein sep..egg (boiled. Scrambled n make veggie  quiche often ) ..i bake salmon n cook chkn  to last for 2-3 days n I always have black bean salad but i add a lot more stuff in it ..so I Make a batch n it lasts for abt 5 days in fridge

PS ..Whn  me pickney dem was at home..i was cooking everyday esp d lil 1..she thought i ran a  full time restaurant ..lol

But now me just  relax n tek it easy .

whn they notify me ahead..i does cook food that they like..n i cook extra for lil 1 to take..big girl eats here n thats it..no doggy bag

Lynn