100s silently forced to resign – Opposition Leader Jagdeo

Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo

APNU/AFC Govt “witch hunt”

Less than six months after the A Partnership for National Unity/Alliance For Change (APNU/AFC) coalition took office, hundreds of people are being “quietly terminated”, because of their ethnicity and/or their perceived political affiliation, Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo claimed.

A large number of officials who served under the previous regime have already had their employment terminated.

The former President told Guyana Times on Friday evening, “Those who are not being terminated because of these, their job environment is being made so uncomfortable that they are being forced to resign. So that is a silent number we don’t see who are forced to resign because of workplace discrimination…and what we have replacing them are people who are unqualified, who are pure politicians, like in the case of Berbice with Mr [Veerasammy] Ramayya.” He was referring to Ramaya who was dubbed “quasi political” by Minister of the Presidency Joseph Harmon.

Bharat Dindyal

He said Government’s move to appoint Ramayya as the Regional Executive Officer (REO) of Region Six (East Berbice-Corentyne) was “very disturbing”.

“Ramayya replaced a technical person and unfortunately, he does not possess any financial skills to manage the finances of the said Region,” Jagdeo stated.

Meanwhile, People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) Member of Parliament (MP) Irfaan Ali told this newspaper that the issue of “witch-hunting” and harassment of public servants and public officials continued to be one that was of great concern to him and his party.

“A lot of young professionals, the stories are not coming out in the press, they are forced on a daily basis to resign because of the inhumane treatment, because of the harassment, because of the insults that are meted out to them. This is something that continues on a daily basis. The most recent case is that of Mr Chamanlall Naipaul, who comes from Region Three. I think it is disgusting to [so] treat a senior journalist, a man who has so much of experience and has given so much of his life towards journalism, especially in Government service,” said Ali.

Lionel Wordsworth

He stated that Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo must be aware of the potential and capabilities of Naipaul because the two of them worked with each other during the Guyana Information Service (GIS) days.

“I know this personally. I think that we have to address the issue nationally whereby professionals, a lot of young professionals are sent home, sent on leave and harassed to resign and these are the stories that are not getting out there. I think that the population needs to understand that this is not only an ethnic issue, but this is an issue which is about retaining the skills, protecting people’s rights and their interests,” the PPP/C MP explained.

He noted that if persons in authority or those who have some power in the country could not protect these workers’ rights and their interests as well as their democratic freedoms with regard to employment, then “we are in a serious state” here in Guyana.

Ali emphasised that the powers that be should and are expected to execute their duties and obligations to all citizens of Guyana without fear or favour and without affection or ill will.

Rajendra Singh

“If you are going to say the perception of someone being affiliated with a political party and to harass them, to have them be fired, giving them retirement packages, I think it is directly infringing on persons’ democratic rights in workplaces… we believe that regardless of religion, ethnicity or political affiliation, they must have fair access to such,” he added.

Badree Persaud

Only recently, several high-profile officials were sent on leave including the Chief Executive Officers (CEOs) of the Guyana Sugar Corporation, Rajendra Singh; the Guyana Oil Company, Badree Persaud; the National Drainage and Irrigation Authority (NDIA), Lionel Wordsworth; and Guyana Power and Light, Bharat Dindyal among others .

That is social Cohesion.  Indians must step aside and let blacks  get rich as well.

They got their jobs because of nepotism mainly or the landscape of higher management would not be so infused with one race. The PPP excused it on account of that is the best they can find...clearly a lie.

Originally Posted by Danyael:

That is social Cohesion.  Indians must step aside and let blacks  get rich as well.

They got their jobs because of nepotism mainly or the landscape of higher management would not be so infused with one race. The PPP excused it on account of that is the best they can find...clearly a lie.

Burnham did the same and now granger is doing it again.

That is the landscape we have and the one you want per your bigotry so it is what you get because it remains the norm.

How come you are not complaining about the exclusion of a buckman? I don't see any cassava bread eating buckman on the list of people appointed. All you know about Guyana is what yo read in the newspapers. You choose the anti collie or anti PPP articles to post your vile and putrid hogwash here.

i see the "negra" dis, "buckman" dat cockroach crawl out from he hole to dig battie and smell

uh huh

I am glad  you did not see any buck men etc since that is the disease in your head. I see native peoples. Since only an idiot like you would be parsing your decision on what people eat that is your problem also

Did you see a cassava eating buckman apponted to any position?

i see the "negra" dis, "buckman" dat cockroach crawl out from he hole to dig battie and smell

uh huh

Yeah! Here comes the negro battie man. Can't stay away from "battie and antiman".

Did you see a cassava eating buckman apponted to any position?

Sorry...did not see a rotie or bigannie eating sudra  either since I do not think that is a qualification for any office either.

uh huh

Yeah! Here comes the negro battie man. Can't stay away from "battie and antiman".

well, enough about 'me' . . . let's get back to your "negra" dis, "buckman" dat

sunlight is your enemy

we need to hear more

Granted, we have not seen this list. However, here is the rub....neither have you. So to now tell us that its all about nepotism says a lot about your unwillingness to even consider that there is some level of injustice at play. 

uh huh

sunlight is your enemy

we need to hear more

I call it as I see it. Be it buckman, chineyman, blackman, coolieman, putageeman, whiteman or any other man. Go back to surfing the internet for your "auntieman kind".

Granted, we have not seen this list. However, here is the rub....neither have you. So to now tell us that its all about nepotism says a lot about your unwillingness to even consider that there is some level of injustice at play.

And, to suggest that this reality is a reflection of the fact that the PPP only hired Indians can only go so far... .its like where do we draw the line as the witch-hunt continues

Last edited by VishMahabir
Originally Posted by VishMahabir:

IF the society is bifurcated by race and its politics is infused on account of race and no one intents to forge strategies that value merit over nepotism you will get work environment where Satteur can hire all his kids and their cousins to fill the GRA or where that prim peacock Ramson can say politics is family business and excuse the children of PPP members and their family on the PPP list as acceptable. Justice will come when good men comes to craft policies.

The PPP at the moment is un election mode and do not have any policy changes that affect this kind of behavior on the table. They simply intend to make hay of it because there are hypocrites in the indian communities who conveniently forgot that it was endemic practice in the PPP until a few months ago and lasting over two decades. When the PPP engages the opposition on their terms for better systems to manage nepotism, call me. You cannot complain on what is the curse of all.

uh huh

sunlight is your enemy

we need to hear more

I call it as I see it. Be it buckman, chineyman, blackman, coolieman, putageeman, whiteman or any other man. Go back to surfing the internet for your "auntieman kind".

contextualize for abee nuh

re-visit one more time for your "blackman" audience the horror u experienced upon arriving at Howard University and noticing all dem "negras" on campus

i especially like dat wan . . . your Black, Muslim congressman would likely be fascinated with that too, no?

IF the society is bifurcated by race and its politics is infused on account of race and no one intents to forge strategies that value merit over nepotism you will get work environment where Satteur can hire all his kids and their cousins to fill the GRA or where that prim peacock Ramson can say politics is family business and excuse the children of PPP members and their family on the PPP list as acceptable. Justice will come when good men comes to craft policies.

The PPP at the moment is un election mode and do not have any policy changes that affect this kind of behavior on the table. They simply intend to make hay of it because there are hypocrites in the indian communities who conveniently forgot that it was endemic practice in the PPP until a few months ago and lasting over two decades. When the PPP engages the opposition on their terms for better systems to manage nepotism, call me. You cannot complain on what is the curse of all.

More hogwash form a sakawinki parrot. This buckman does not know what the roads of Guyana look like. He has not seen this country for over 40 years and he thinks he is an authority on Guyana. Go figure.

You poor people still hurting because PPP LOST.

This thread shows the mentality of Guyanese.

Here we have positions filled mostly with PPP cronies...mostly East Indian...EhEh..so their party (PPP) lost the election now it's time to cull the herd...remove the dead weight...replace with what we hope is better stock...now we got people crying because is only Indians being turfed.

Whatderass yall expect them to do fire some putagees, blacks, Amerinds that never held these positions??

We now hear..

ETHNIC CLEANSIING....HAHAHAHAHHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

THIS HAS NOW BECOME A FKIN JOKE.

PNC's official policy of ethnic cleansing is being exposed.

LMAO!!!!! East Indian teefman getting caught and fired now qualifies as "ethnic cleansing". Ah gon dead wid laff hay!

More hogwash form a sakawinki parrot. This buckman does not know what the roads of Guyana look like. He has not seen this country for over 40 years and he thinks he is an authority on Guyana. Go figure.

And you know this!!!!

I am an authority on guyana the as I am an authority on physics, computing, mathematics etc because it is what one does in pursuit of interests.  One knows as one desires to know.  They do not sit back like a chronic old racist hack and yap about cassava and piwari and believe they make sense.

100s silently forced to resign – Opposition Leader Jagdeo

APNU/AFC Govt “witch hunt”

Less than six months after the A Partnership for National Unity/Alliance For Change (APNU/AFC) coalition took office, hundreds of people are being “quietly terminated”, because of their ethnicity and/or their perceived political affiliation, Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo claimed.

Every time a PPP thief get catch he shouts ethnic cleansing. And that's after the PPP operated several death squads to terminate the lives of mostly black Guyanese men over a 23 year period. The UN should investigate the disappearance of all the Guyanese who refused to vote PPP.

There is a lot of truth regarding the harassment of East Indians perceived to be PPP supporters. A family member of mine was constantly harassed. He always voted AFC. He is kind of like a maverick like me...so he stood his ground and fought. The problem is the PPP has no credibility. And when they use Raj Singh and Dindyal as the model of victimization no one except the Indo racists will take them seriously.

Originally Posted by TK:

There is a lot of truth regarding the harassment of East Indians perceived to be PPP supporters. A family member of mine was constantly harassed. He always voted AFC. He is kind of like a maverick like me...so he stood his ground and fought. The problem is the PPP has no credibility. And when they use Raj Singh and Dindyal as the model of victimization no one except the Indo racists will take them seriously.

TK, "harrassment" is one thing . . . deplorable, and in most cases not policy driven, hence curable before disease sets in

taking away someone's livelihood through ethnic cleansing is a whole different monster

we should never conflate the 2

Originally Posted by TK:

TK, "harrassment" is one thing . . . deplorable, and in most cases not policy driven, hence curable before disease sets in

taking away someone's livelihood through ethnic cleansing is a whole different monster

Ethnic cleansing means one group is killing and imprisoning the other in a systematic manner so as to create a pure homogenous group. As far as I am aware, this has never occurred in Guyana whether it the early 1960s inter-ethnic riots/killings or the deadly period of narco/ethnic/opportunistic/extra-judicial killings between 1997 to 2006. The PNC started this dangerous rhetoric around the mid-1990s and now the PPP is using the term ethnic cleansing recklessly.

The real danger is the President and Prime Minister do not seem to understand that at mid-levels these struggles for opportunities and resources will occur. Moses has a duty to make sure these concerns are addressed. The AFC is clueless. One of the reasons why the President appears clueless has to do with the fact that he surrounds himself with old army men. He does not seem to get that diversity comes in different shapes and form.

Originally Posted by TK:

The AFC is clueless. One of the reasons why the President appears clueless has to do with the fact that he surrounds himself with old army men. He does not seem to get that diversity comes in different shapes and form.

Originally Posted by TK:

The disease in this is the PPP did it routinely and never called their harangue or racist spouting harassment. Indians accepted.  Satteur is an example. What he did was obscene and the PPP allowed it. The Ramotar children were accepted because they supposedly had the credentials. That they supplanted people with similar credentials was nary a worry.  This is a disease.

Granger's talk of inclusion is farcical. He can think himself jesus and wish that others come to break bread but I will declare it here and now, he is wasting his time. The PPP is in election mode and they aim to win the prize of office as an ethnic prize an for that reason they will massage every avenue to highlight the "plight" of indians at the hands of the black man and black culture.

The barrage of distorting commentaries from the Times is not happenstance. It is design. This ides that the budget does not conform to any clearly formalize strategy for development is the PPP campaigning. They never sought to explain their budgeting allocations, account for how it was spent and for any of the excesses to their friends and family. It was not  nepotism; it was practice. It will bother them now.

Our problem is to not let the next election cycle comes around with race being the seed of our political disputes. That alas is me wishing with my penny in the local fountain. Maybe I should just wish and retrieve the penny for a more fruitful possibility

That is the landscape we have and the one you want per your bigotry so it is what you get because it remains the norm.

Look, they promised a different approach, now they are doing the same. After elections, they pledged national unity. They just said social cohesion was important. Well, wait until you have the evidence that these personsxwere corrupt before letting them go. The more things change,mother more they stay the same.

Z
Originally Posted by TK:

Ethnic cleansing means one group is killing and imprisoning the other in a systematic manner so as to create a pure homogenous group. As far as I am aware, this has never occurred in Guyana whether it the early 1960s inter-ethnic riots/killings or the deadly period of narco/ethnic/opportunistic/extra-judicial killings between 1997 to 2006. The PNC started this dangerous rhetoric around the mid-1990s and now the PPP is using the term ethnic cleansing recklessly.

The real danger is the President and Prime Minister do not seem to understand that at mid-levels these struggles for opportunities and resources will occur. Moses has a duty to make sure these concerns are addressed. The AFC is clueless. One of the reasons why the President appears clueless has to do with the fact that he surrounds himself with old army men. He does not seem to get that diversity comes in different shapes and form.

i use "ethnic cleansing" because it is the preferred, provocative buzzword of the PPP and theGuyana Times chorus on GNI

i don't think either of us need a history or dictionary definition of the term for purposes of this discussion

my point is narrow, and i don't see the immediate relevance of your 2nd paragraph

Originally Posted by Zed:

Look, they promised a different approach, now they are doing the same. After elections, they pledged national unity. They just said social cohesion was important. Well, wait until you have the evidence that these personsxwere corrupt before letting them go. The more things change,mother more they stay the same.

Get real. The man won because he relied heavily and against all odds to present himself as fair. Still few indians voted for him and those who did indeed would expect him to be fair but fair does not mean neglecting his good foot soldiers.

He has to move his views on the backs of those who can best carry it forward. It is wishful thinking that he will go our there and immediately balance things out. That is not being unrealistic but hypocritical. It is also hypocritical that he will retain any of the cronies from the former administration.

These are known people and they have made their mark on being anti this administrations. Many of them neglected their obligations to be neutral and had their names on various and sundry lists without first doing the prudent thing and resigning their offices if they were going to be active campaigners.

Yes we need a difference but it has to be a full throated appeal from the heart and not the nonsensical campaigning on racist traction as usual from the PPP. Could you tell me of one change the intend in the constitution so we are not creatures of political office? Have they said "lets set up a serious constitutional reform panel to rid ourselves of this disease of racism"

Granger is wasting his time with his appeal with Jesus virtues. He needs to be formalizing a philosophy backed by proposals for institutional changes rather than begging these PPP punks to be agreeable.

Originally Posted by TK:

The disease in this is the PPP did it routinely and never called their harangue or racist spouting harassment. Indians accepted.  Satteur is an example. What he did was obscene and the PPP allowed it. The Ramotar children were accepted because they supposedly had the credentials. That they supplanted people with similar credentials was nary a worry.  This is a disease.

Granger's talk of inclusion is farcical. He can think himself jesus and wish that others come to break bread but I will declare it here and now, he is wasting his time. The PPP is in election mode and they aim to win the prize of office as an ethnic prize an for that reason they will massage every avenue to highlight the "plight" of indians at the hands of the black man and black culture.

The barrage of distorting commentaries from the Times is not happenstance. It is design. This ides that the budget does not conform to any clearly formalize strategy for development is the PPP campaigning. They never sought to explain their budgeting allocations, account for how it was spent and for any of the excesses to their friends and family. It was not  nepotism; it was practice. It will bother them now.

Our problem is to not let the next election cycle comes around with race being the seed of our political disputes. That alas is me wishing with my penny in the local fountain. Maybe I should just wish and retrieve the penny for a more fruitful possibility

You are an idiot, with a closed mind, who is so blinded by hate for the PPP as the cause of all Guyana's problems. You sound as if the PPP has done some terrible injustice to you and you are gunning for vengeance. Your diatribe will not fool anyone here...go back and review your words...all of them display an attack on the PPP but you praise every action of the coalition.  

I agree that Granger's plans for inclusion is farcical...but at least I am willing to give him a chance to see what he is willing to do in terms of policy to bring the nation together. So far, since this is the major problem facing us in Guyana, and one that threatens to diminish any economic and social gains this regime can salvage, Granger as not, as a leader utter a single word in the form of a major speech addressing this problem. It continues to fester. Iam also hearing through the grapevine that Granger might be ill and that the old guard PNC may be running the show from the shadows. Not sure how much of this is true.   I also have a few stories like TK about family members who were harassed (and I will argue that some of these cases may fall into the category of perception and fear)...but you would think that the govt will address them...but no they continue to let the perception of harassment and "ethnic cleansing".

However, you knuckleheads must understand also that Moses and Ramjattan are fair game for criticisms. They went out to bring in the 11% to give the coalition its victory. 

In addition, as long as this racial problem is not addressed, it will continue to plague us. It will be an issue in the next election. AND, yes, the PPP will milk it....they have a right to do so as long as the problem is not addressed.

You will loose your penny.

Last edited by VishMahabir

I doan think many are suspected of corruption. It is the policy of replacing them with members from their camp. 

I listened to the words of Granger coming out his mouth at a breakfast meeting, on inclusive governance. I considered it to be at the politiacal level.

Once at the political level, then he would be more considerate with the firings. However, the PNC arm controls Granger and Inclusive governance is not a sincere gesture.

Now, Granger want the PPP to fulfill its constitutional obligations. The firings will go on.

Originally Posted by TK:

You are an idiot, with a closed mind, who is so blinded by hate for the PPP as the cause of all Guyana's problems. You sound as if the PPP has done some terrible injustice to you and you are gunning for vengeance. Your diatribe will not fool anyone here...go back and review your words...all of them display an attack on the PPP but you praise every action of the coalition.  

I agree that Granger's plans for inclusion is farcical...but at least I am willing to give him a chance to see what he is willing to do in terms of policy to bring the nation together. So far, since this is the major problem facing us in Guyana, and one that threatens to diminish any economic and social gains this regime can salvage, Granger as not, as a leader utter a single word in the form of a major speech addressing this problem. It continues to fester. Iam also hearing through the grapevine that Granger might be ill and that the old guard PNC may be running the show from the shadows. Not sure how much of this is true.   I also have a few stories like TK about family members who were harassed (and I will argue that some of these cases may fall into the category of perception and fear)...but you would think that the govt will address them...but no they continue to let the perception of harassment and "ethnic cleansing".

However, you knuckleheads must understand also that Moses and Ramjattan are fair game for criticisms. They went out to bring in the 11% to give the coalition its victory. 

In addition, as long as this racial problem is not addressed, it will continue to plague us. It will be an issue in the next election. AND, yes, the PPP will milk it....they have a right to do so as long as the problem is not addressed.

You will loose your penny.

I would be an idiot if I dreamed of impossible things. ONe does not get rid of racism by taking selective stance of wishing it away and hope for good men to come out of the wood works. I have been here since time immemorial commenting on the same and there is evidence in the world's literature that without institutional fences to contain the boundaries of ethnic expressions to good ends it will not grow in fruitful ways. That is why we have rules for every conceivable thing on the planet that is necessary and just.

When the PPP came into office I defended jagdeo, expressed hope that he being young would see a difference because he had the recent burnham years as a guide of what not to do.

Instead he did the most brazen thing and ignored all pretenses to democratic government and went on a rampage of one man rule with corruption being his only legacy to us. The PPP are who they presently are because of his complete and total neglect of what is right.

I do not give a damn about whose family member was harassed as evidence of nepotism or corruption. That is not going to change my position that the PPP has and never intend to be fruitful for real change and were masters of manipulating the system to foster nepotism and by that injuring the black people of our land.

Granger's expression of inclusion has to come with hard line positions. Inclusions has to come with a refashioning of the institutions and not via elite accommodations. You are the one being the ass if you think that is not the necessary path for any idea of inclusion.

Get real. The man won because he relied heavily and against all odds to present himself as fair. Still few indians voted for him and those who did indeed would expect him to be fair but fair does not mean neglecting his good foot soldiers.

He has to move his views on the backs of those who can best carry it forward. It is wishful thinking that he will go our there and immediately balance things out. That is not being unrealistic but hypocritical. It is also hypocritical that he will retain any of the cronies from the former administration.

These are known people and they have made their mark on being anti this administrations. Many of them neglected their obligations to be neutral and had their names on various and sundry lists without first doing the prudent thing and resigning their offices if they were going to be active campaigners.

Yes we need a difference but it has to be a full throated appeal from the heart and not the nonsensical campaigning on racist traction as usual from the PPP. Could you tell me of one change the intend in the constitution so we are not creatures of political office? Have they said "lets set up a serious constitutional reform panel to rid ourselves of this disease of racism"

Granger is wasting his time with his appeal with Jesus virtues. He needs to be formalizing a philosophy backed by proposals for institutional changes rather than begging these PPP punks to be agreeable.

Maybe I am too idealistic. We need to figure out a way to get out of this cycle we are in and do things differently. Granger might be a decent person but he is tied to the old political imperatives as the previous government. Many in Guyana are trapped by their experiences and past and cannot transcend that. Some of these persons posting here have been out of Guyana a long time. You will expect them to have learnt something better than the racism and crap they spew forth in a regular basis.

Z