100s silently forced to resign – Opposition Leader Jagdeo

Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo

APNU/AFC Govt “witch hunt”

Less than six months after the A Partnership for National Unity/Alliance For Change (APNU/AFC) coalition took office, hundreds of people are being “quietly terminated”, because of their ethnicity and/or their perceived political affiliation, Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo claimed.

A large number of officials who served under the previous regime have already had their employment terminated.

The former President told Guyana Times on Friday evening, “Those who are not being terminated because of these, their job environment is being made so uncomfortable that they are being forced to resign. So that is a silent number we don’t see who are forced to resign because of workplace discrimination…and what we have replacing them are people who are unqualified, who are pure politicians, like in the case of Berbice with Mr [Veerasammy] Ramayya.” He was referring to Ramaya who was dubbed “quasi political” by Minister of the Presidency Joseph Harmon.

Bharat Dindyal

He said Government’s move to appoint Ramayya as the Regional Executive Officer (REO) of Region Six (East Berbice-Corentyne) was “very disturbing”.

“Ramayya replaced a technical person and unfortunately, he does not possess any financial skills to manage the finances of the said Region,” Jagdeo stated.

Meanwhile, People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) Member of Parliament (MP) Irfaan Ali told this newspaper that the issue of “witch-hunting” and harassment of public servants and public officials continued to be one that was of great concern to him and his party.

“A lot of young professionals, the stories are not coming out in the press, they are forced on a daily basis to resign because of the inhumane treatment, because of the harassment, because of the insults that are meted out to them. This is something that continues on a daily basis. The most recent case is that of Mr Chamanlall Naipaul, who comes from Region Three. I think it is disgusting to [so] treat a senior journalist, a man who has so much of experience and has given so much of his life towards journalism, especially in Government service,” said Ali.

Lionel Wordsworth

He stated that Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo must be aware of the potential and capabilities of Naipaul because the two of them worked with each other during the Guyana Information Service (GIS) days.

“I know this personally. I think that we have to address the issue nationally whereby professionals, a lot of young professionals are sent home, sent on leave and harassed to resign and these are the stories that are not getting out there. I think that the population needs to understand that this is not only an ethnic issue, but this is an issue which is about retaining the skills, protecting people’s rights and their interests,” the PPP/C MP explained.

He noted that if persons in authority or those who have some power in the country could not protect these workers’ rights and their interests as well as their democratic freedoms with regard to employment, then “we are in a serious state” here in Guyana.

Ali emphasised that the powers that be should and are expected to execute their duties and obligations to all citizens of Guyana without fear or favour and without affection or ill will.

Rajendra Singh

“If you are going to say the perception of someone being affiliated with a political party and to harass them, to have them be fired, giving them retirement packages, I think it is directly infringing on persons’ democratic rights in workplaces… we believe that regardless of religion, ethnicity or political affiliation, they must have fair access to such,” he added.

Badree Persaud

Only recently, several high-profile officials were sent on leave including the Chief Executive Officers (CEOs) of the Guyana Sugar Corporation, Rajendra Singh; the Guyana Oil Company, Badree Persaud; the National Drainage and Irrigation Authority (NDIA), Lionel Wordsworth; and Guyana Power and Light, Bharat Dindyal among others .

That is social Cohesion.  Indians must step aside and let blacks  get rich as well.

They got their jobs because of nepotism mainly or the landscape of higher management would not be so infused with one race. The PPP excused it on account of that is the best they can find...clearly a lie.

Originally Posted by Danyael:

That is social Cohesion.  Indians must step aside and let blacks  get rich as well.

They got their jobs because of nepotism mainly or the landscape of higher management would not be so infused with one race. The PPP excused it on account of that is the best they can find...clearly a lie.

Burnham did the same and now granger is doing it again.

That is the landscape we have and the one you want per your bigotry so it is what you get because it remains the norm.

How come you are not complaining about the exclusion of a buckman? I don't see any cassava bread eating buckman on the list of people appointed. All you know about Guyana is what yo read in the newspapers. You choose the anti collie or anti PPP articles to post your vile and putrid hogwash here.

i see the "negra" dis, "buckman" dat cockroach crawl out from he hole to dig battie and smell

uh huh

I am glad  you did not see any buck men etc since that is the disease in your head. I see native peoples. Since only an idiot like you would be parsing your decision on what people eat that is your problem also

Did you see a cassava eating buckman apponted to any position?

i see the "negra" dis, "buckman" dat cockroach crawl out from he hole to dig battie and smell

uh huh

Yeah! Here comes the negro battie man. Can't stay away from "battie and antiman".

Did you see a cassava eating buckman apponted to any position?

Sorry...did not see a rotie or bigannie eating sudra  either since I do not think that is a qualification for any office either.

uh huh

Yeah! Here comes the negro battie man. Can't stay away from "battie and antiman".

well, enough about 'me' . . . let's get back to your "negra" dis, "buckman" dat

sunlight is your enemy

we need to hear more

Granted, we have not seen this list. However, here is the rub....neither have you. So to now tell us that its all about nepotism says a lot about your unwillingness to even consider that there is some level of injustice at play. 

uh huh

sunlight is your enemy

we need to hear more

I call it as I see it. Be it buckman, chineyman, blackman, coolieman, putageeman, whiteman or any other man. Go back to surfing the internet for your "auntieman kind".

Granted, we have not seen this list. However, here is the rub....neither have you. So to now tell us that its all about nepotism says a lot about your unwillingness to even consider that there is some level of injustice at play.

And, to suggest that this reality is a reflection of the fact that the PPP only hired Indians can only go so far... .its like where do we draw the line as the witch-hunt continues

Last edited by VishMahabir
Originally Posted by VishMahabir:

IF the society is bifurcated by race and its politics is infused on account of race and no one intents to forge strategies that value merit over nepotism you will get work environment where Satteur can hire all his kids and their cousins to fill the GRA or where that prim peacock Ramson can say politics is family business and excuse the children of PPP members and their family on the PPP list as acceptable. Justice will come when good men comes to craft policies.

The PPP at the moment is un election mode and do not have any policy changes that affect this kind of behavior on the table. They simply intend to make hay of it because there are hypocrites in the indian communities who conveniently forgot that it was endemic practice in the PPP until a few months ago and lasting over two decades. When the PPP engages the opposition on their terms for better systems to manage nepotism, call me. You cannot complain on what is the curse of all.

uh huh

sunlight is your enemy

we need to hear more

I call it as I see it. Be it buckman, chineyman, blackman, coolieman, putageeman, whiteman or any other man. Go back to surfing the internet for your "auntieman kind".

contextualize for abee nuh

re-visit one more time for your "blackman" audience the horror u experienced upon arriving at Howard University and noticing all dem "negras" on campus

i especially like dat wan . . . your Black, Muslim congressman would likely be fascinated with that too, no?

Originally Posted by VishMahabir:

IF the society is bifurcated by race and its politics is infused on account of race and no one intents to forge strategies that value merit over nepotism you will get work environment where Satteur can hire all his kids and their cousins to fill the GRA or where that prim peacock Ramson can say politics is family business and excuse the children of PPP members and their family on the PPP list as acceptable. Justice will come when good men comes to craft policies.

The PPP at the moment is un election mode and do not have any policy changes that affect this kind of behavior on the table. They simply intend to make hay of it because there are hypocrites in the indian communities who conveniently forgot that it was endemic practice in the PPP until a few months ago and lasting over two decades. When the PPP engages the opposition on their terms for better systems to manage nepotism, call me. You cannot complain on what is the curse of all.

More hogwash form a sakawinki parrot. This buckman does not know what the roads of Guyana look like. He has not seen this country for over 40 years and he thinks he is an authority on Guyana. Go figure.