300 residents affected

…calls made for better sea defence, improved drainage

Having lived through the terrifying experience of witnessing monster waves of the agitated Atlantic Ocean demolish a part of the sea defence structure and rush invasively into sections of West Coast Demerara/East Bank Essequibo, flattening fences, confiscating bridges, ransacking homes, and destroying cash crop and poultry enterprises as flood waters besiege hapless communities, residents of affected villages have called for the placement of boulders, improved sea defences, and proper drainage to reduce the impact of tidal flooding.
This call was made by the residents on Saturday, when Government officials and Civil Defence Commission personnel visited the affected communities. The Civil Defence Commission (CDC) has disclosed that some 300 homes have been affected by the recent tidal phenomenon.

Waves battered the sea defence structure on Friday

Guyana Times saw affected residents cleaning up their homes and premises of the debris deposited therein by the flood, which included mud, water and other articles captured by the ferocious waves, which some estimated were as high as 15 feet.
Residents of Ocean View, Uitvlugt, Leonora and Stewartville were on Saturday bracing themselves for another episode of the Atlantic Ocean overtopping the sea defence structure and invading their communities. Already, several families have been displaced and extensive damage has been caused to goods and household items.

Damaged clothing

Mother of two, Sharda Lall, explained that her husband was preparing to go to work when they heard the crashing sounds of the waves as the ocean invaded the coast. He raised an alarm, but they were no match for the determined Atlantic, as its gushing tides flowed into their Uitvlugt home.
She noted that she has lived in the area for some 18 years, but had never seen such high waves. Lall indicated that her spouse has been home since Friday, and has not been able to work.
“This is the first time we get flood in the house. The waves were very, very big, so all we asking the Government to do is if (they) could put some boulders to break the waves. I am not scared because I living here for 18 years, but with this which happened, I feel scared,” Lall told Guyana Times.

Residents are left to clean their yards in the aftermath of Friday’s flooding

Uitvlugt shop owner Mahadeo Ramlall has suffered losses in excess of $500,000, but he is thankful for the support of his neighbours, who assisted him in cleaning up after the deluge. However, much water was still evident in his business place. His losses include bags of salt, flour, rice and sugar; plus numerous bars of soap and hundreds of canned goods and other items.
Seventy-five-year-old Mangal (only name), a pensioner who has been living in the area since the late 1940s, has called on the Central Government and his local Neighbourhood Democratic Council to do more to improve drainage networks in the area.
“We had flood in 2005, but it never flood like this! It affected the entire Ocean View, and we are all very disturbed about it, because we felt that enough is not being done by the NDC and Central Government to help the people in this area. As a matter of fact, we felt left out,” the pensioner stressed.

Disappointment
Meanwhile, People’s Progressive Party Member of Parliament for Region Three, Irfaan Ali, and the Tuschen/Uitvlugt NDC announced that sub-groups have been formed and will visit communities in the region and liaise with the Public Infrastructure Ministry.
However, the NDC and MP have expressed disappointment with acting Prime Minister Carl Greenidge and with the Civil Defence Commission (CDC) for meeting residents without the NDC and Councillors of the Local Government arm being present.
“We feel disrespected after all our efforts to work in a collaborative manner with the stakeholders. (Nevertheless,) the local response committee will continue to work in the interest of residents,” the NDC noted.
The Civil Defence Committee has said it is working to organise support for relief efforts within the NDC, having conducted an “on the ground assessment of damages” as a result of the flooding.
“A report is completed and ready to be presented to Government for action. Throughout this exercise, the Geographic MP and NDC cooperated with Government officials and CDC in the interest of residents and the community,” it added.

Cleaning agents
The CDC, along with acting Prime Minister Greenidge, has distributed to the affected Region Three residents hampers which include water, mops, bleach and other cleaning agents. Given that many homes were abandoned, Minister Greenidge has cautioned against erecting structures that block drainage networks or are near sea defences, even as calls are being made to move the capital city and other densely populated areas away from the coast.
Meantime, over 50 displaced residents were scheduled to be relocated to the Uitvlugt Community Ground on Saturday evening.
The high tides are expected to last until Monday, and precautionary measures are still being encouraged, such as moving all animals and poultry to higher ground; elevating furniture, appliances and electronic equipment; unplugging all appliances and electrical equipment in lower flats; and using sandbags around doors to buildings. (Shemuel Fanfair)

https://guyanatimesgy.com/300-residents-affected/

Since when a person"s opinion in the past can be responsible for mother nature? Guyana is below sea level and the climate change effect is taking its toll on Guyana. Why yuji is picking on the past? 

Flood affected Uitvlugt residents get relief

Over 300 flood affected households in the Uitvlugt community on the West Coast Demerara (WCD) today received cleaning supplies to safeguard themselves against any serious water borne diseases and other hazards.

Acting Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs, Carl Greenidge (right) accompanied by Deputy Director General of the CDC, Lieutenant Colonel, Kester Craig (centre) and Regional Executive Officer, Dennis Jaikaran (left) during his walkabout in the community.

Acting Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs, Carl Greenidge visited the area today and distributed bleach and jeyes fluid among other supplies to the residents.

Speaking with the Department of Public Information (DPI), the Minister noted the severe damage to the residents’ properties and explained that the collaborative effort being undertaken by the Civil Defence Commission (CDC), the Region Three Administration and the Government Ministries and Agencies is geared at providing the necessary assistance.

“I’ve seen a lot of people with their beds, furniture and bedding inundated and what the CDC has done is to provide some material to help to reduce the chances of infections and the like. That’s going to be a continuous process…they have enough for the affected families at the moment. At the same time we’re seeing some families with children with all their books damaged and we will try and see what can be done to render them assistance there as well,” Minister Greenidge explained.

High tides overtopped sections of the West Demerara seawall yesterday, inundating the communities of Leonora, Stewartville and Uitvlugt. Several portions of the upper part of the Uitvlugt seawall’s concrete crest broke under the pressure of the above normal tides, resulting in immense flooding in the area. “They (engineers) are trying to reinforce the wall from the other side, secondly they are trying to keep the drains flowing cause that’s a big thing and a problem that the community has to help us with. If they block the drains then the water can’t come off”, Minister Greenidge told DPI.

This resident received her cleaning supplies.

According to the Minister, while efforts are underway to minimize the problem for the medium-term, going forward, the government will assess long-term solutions that will prevent such disasters from reoccurring in Guyana at large.

Meanwhile, Deputy Director General of the CDC, Lieutenant Colonel, Kester Craig told DPI that the sanitation supplies will aid the residents in cleaning up the community, while protecting them from threats such as insects and snakes.

The CDC which is the body which is responsible for disaster management in Guyana has played a critical role since the incident occurred . The Commission along with assistance from the other stakeholders has since set up two shelters at the Uitvlugt Estate Community Centre and the Uitvlugt Secondary School to house the residents affected by the flooding.

Craig said that to date, the Uitvlugt  Secondary School shelter has a total of 41 persons who receive periodic health visits, while the Community Centre shelter has four persons.

“We’re working closely with the Regional Administration, Ministry of Public Health, Ministry of Communities, Ministry of Public Infrastructure and we’ve gotten significant support from the Guyana Police Force, who are patrolling the community and providing transportation for us for the relief distribution,” Craig underlined.

This is one resident’s flooded backyard.

Acting Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs, Carl Greenidge listening to this resident concerns during his walkabout in UItvlugt today.

They need to place huge wave-breakers further out so the wave breaks up and not impact the wall directly.  These problems are not insurmountable, but you cannot just fold your arms after it subsides and panic next time around.  The Govt needs to put a plan in-place and move on it when the sea recedes. 

Guyanese are a reactive.  The Govt has to up its game!  This situation is annual and predictable.

Yuji how yuh tink about that dirty Indian Mr TK. He dirty because he bon support dem blackman foh govern Guyana? Ehehe...

Labba, shett yuh rass and stop mekkin' trouble!

Yugi22, please tell us what the PPP did in their 23 years reign in preparation for a situation like this?

Did they not use the Amrinds to get money from Norway to fight Global Warming disasters?

What happened to the money?

Yugi22, please tell us what the PPP did in their 23 years reign in preparation for a situation like this?

Did they not use the Amrinds to get money from Norway to fight Global Warming disasters?

bai like you never pass by pradoville 

They need to place huge wave-breakers further out so the wave breaks up and not impact the wall directly.  These problems are not insurmountable, but you cannot just fold your arms after it subsides and panic next time around.  The Govt needs to put a plan in-place and move on it when the sea recedes. 

Guyanese are a reactive.  The Govt has to up its game!  This situation is annual and predictable.

they never know you was a adviser for the ppp you tell them bai

Cobra posted:

Since when a person"s opinion in the past can be responsible for mother nature? Guyana is below sea level and the climate change effect is taking its toll on Guyana. Why yuji is picking on the past? 

yugi never went back to guyana so he have no clue what is happening when there is high tide the public road from liliendall to UG road is flood and this is greater georgetown 

SINCE 2015 BILLIONS WERE SPENT ON COMMISSIONS, Backballing, Green, Waste of a new Stadium when we had Jagdeo's  Cricket Stadium. Trotty give his dadee millions to sit in a friggin Room, I can go on and on like the Energizer Bunny but I am sure Django and Caribj will able to explain for us!!!!

why you do not shut you rass and talk to cobra he might enlighten you how the sea level is rising with the cause of climate change you think this problem was only happening for 2 yrs it was there when the ppp was ruling and it will get worse.you have to move the people to your mountain top

warrior posted:

10 years from now it will all be under water unless something is done re Global warming and rise of the ocean.

warrior posted:

10 years from now it will all be under water unless something is done re Global warming and rise of the ocean.

we have to move more inland soon defending against the sea will get too expensive we close down the estates because it was too expensive to maintain 10 yrs from now we will be saying the same about the sea defense guyana have too much land not to start this process all we need is a government with the sense and the will