all the village affairs;

Tell me,

was the winter-plum in

flower

before my gauze window

on the day you left?

[8th century Chinese poet Wang Wei]

===================================

Dear friend, when you left your village in Guyana and arrived in Florida, New York, Toronto or Wherever, did your reunited villager ask you a Wang Wei kind of question?

Did she ask if aunty Paro's guava tree was blossoming, or if uncle Naro's dog Nero was still attacking and biting the postman?

Wang Wei lived in faraway China about 1300 years ago. His interest in the village and home he left behind is something everybody can relate to.

You came, sir,

from my old village ---

You must know

all the village affairs;

Tell me,

was the winter-plum in

flower

before my gauze window

on the day you left?

[8th century Chinese poet Wang Wei]

===================================

Dear friend, when you left your village in Guyana and arrived in Florida, New York, Toronto or Wherever, did your reunited villager ask you a Wang Wei kind of question?

Did she ask if aunty Paro's guava tree was blossoming, or if uncle Naro's dog Nero was still attacking and biting the postman?

Wang Wei lived in faraway China about 1300 years ago. His interest in the village and home he left behind is something everybody can relate to.

Gilly,

Man I left so long that my friends I grew up with are all dead or migrated. I barely have relatives there anymore.

I can understand what you are saying. We long to see the things and people we left behind(especially the Skeldon sugar factory(lol)).

Originally Posted by chameli:

to this day, if someone visits or if I call my old village, I ask about all the ppl who are alive/ who married/ who got grandchildren/ who left who and tek who...who mek ovah dem house/ what our old house looks like

and how is the big old silk cotton tree where the Dutchmen used to live

I will never forget where I came from...

("chicken coop" and all)

and I know where I am headed...

even though it is more than 30 yrs since I left GY, I still care about things over there/ I feel pride when I see my old Primary school achievement etc

Chameli, is that you? This is high poetry!

I really like this post. Thanks.

BookSah, yep...me...the fake queen

I love Canada...I live here more than I live in GY

but each time I leave after a visit, it is with tears and a long sigh

I take a bow to the Mother Earth with my hand to my heart when I touch the ground

because no matter where we run, it is to home we are bound

i can see the tears in your eyes as you post this i know how you feel

nobody going back to the country with milk and honey at least you guys should go visit and see pradoville you will be proud and when aunty ask for a little raise take her to wok at the skeldon factory ops it not working 

I have visited at least 8 times but like many, I have no plans to go back to live there...

as for pradoville, I have no time or energy to envy anyone.  Night a run till day ketch am

and who God bless, no man can curse

god can be a good excuse for every thing 

PEOPLE MUST ALWAYS BE PROUD OF THEIR ROOTS!

No matter how much we achieve, no matter how much we change, no matter where we live, we must never forget our roots.

Personally, I love living in the US---I won't live anywhere else, but my roots will always be in the place where I was born---and that's Guyana.

It's always a joy visiting Guyana---always brings back SWEET MEMORIES of boyhood days.

Originally Posted by Riya:

My "nabel string buried in Guyana" 

it's always gonna be my sweet home

OK!

The Rev was born in Buxton.lol

When I left Guyana---my family lived in Prashad Nagar.

How about you Riya---gilbakka, chami and  others---where is your navel string buried ? Which village or scheme were you born in ?

Originally Posted by Riya:

My "nabel string buried in Guyana" 

it's always gonna be my sweet home

OK!

The Rev was born in Buxton.lol

When I left Guyana---my family lived in Prashad Nagar.

How about you Riya---gilbakka, chami and  others---where is your navel string buried ? Which village or scheme were you born in ?

My navel string was buried at Canal #2 Polder, West Bank Demerara 62 years ago. A nice place those days.

Gilly:

Take a peek at Canal #2 polder--click on full screen:

Thanks, Rev. In the 1950s-60s the canal was clear and there was less bush at the edge of the road. There were small sensitive ferns mainly.

my navel string bury a few miles east of Parika and nowhere in GY  holds such a strong tie to me as my childhood home (which is now owned by my 'aunt' )

last time I was there, it was surreal to sleep in the same room where I slept as a child.

I went back to GY only once since I came to the US. I'm hoping to take a trip soon. Maybe late December.