The enigma that’s AFC : --a party of conundrums and conflictsPDFPrintE-mail

Written by Mohabir Anil Nandlall   

Saturday, 17 August 2013 23:42

FROM its conception, and by its name, the Alliance For Change professes to be the political movement to catalyze change in Guyana’s political landscape. A common thread which runs throughout almost all of its public pronouncements is that it advocates for a high standard of political morality.

“Transparent government”, “accountability in public office” and high decorum from public officials have all been ideals espoused by this party. Indeed, these are ideals for which all political parties ought to protagonise. But none has done it as empathic as the A.F.C. 
Equally, none has failed more abysmally to practise what it preaches than the A.F.C. In this article, I will chronicle just a few examples to support my hypothesis.

Nagamootoo and N.I.C.I.L.
From the inception, A.F.C. has been critical of N.I.C.I.L., accusing it of innumerable financial irregularities, lack of transparency and accountability in its operations, and much more.

In the elections campaign of 2011, N.I.C.I.L has been a focus of theirs with all the leaders, including Moses Nagamootoo, castigating and denigrating the work and functions of N.I.C.I.L. After the elections, and in Parliament, they continued to be critical of N.I.C.I.L. in their presentations. 

In the press, the onslaught persisted. Not once, however, was it disclosed to the unsuspecting public that Mr. Moses Nagamootoo, the Vice-Chairman of the Alliance For Change and one of its Members of Parliament, was a lawyer retained by N.I.C.I.L., and that he had actually received almost $7 million in legal fees from this very organisation which they describe as being so corrupt.

It was only after I disclosed this information in a debate in Parliament National Assembly did it become public. To date, no member of the Alliance For Change has denounced this patent conflict of interest and political hypocrisy.

Pension and prevarications:
The pension and other facilities to which former President Jagdeo is entitled, by law, has evoked tremendous controversy. The fact that this Law was simply a codification of the benefits which all former Presidents enjoyed was simply ignored. The issue was propagandized to its fullest. The most prolific crusader against it was Mr. Moses Nagamootoo; he spoke at length about it during the elections campaign, at public meetings, rallies, in the newspapers, and on television. To quote him, “It rattled my soul.”

Not once did he disclose that when that very Law was passed in Parliament, he voted in support of it. In-fact, from all his utterances, he deliberately conveyed the impression that he voted against it. It was only after I produced the Hansard, during one of my presentations in Parliament, and revealed that he voted in support of it, was that information made public.

Indeed, seconds before I read from the Hansard, which, obviously, he didn’t realize I was about to do, his bold assertion was, “I never voted for it.” Again, the AFC has offered no apology to the public for this blatant prevarication.

Meridien and Marriott:
The disclosure that a Marriott Hotel will be built in Guyana was made early in the year 2011. Indeed, a few months prior to the November 2011 elections, there was a public sod-turning event at the proposed site, which was published in all the newspapers, and aired on television. No public criticism came from the A.F.C. 

As the elections were approaching, Robert Badal, the owner of the Pegasus Hotel, made public his association with the A.F.C. I have no doubt that this association came with great financial benefits.

It is not rocket science for anyone to quickly realize that a Marriott Hotel, in close proximity to the Pegasus Hotel, would pose significant competition in that realm of the hotel industry in which the Pegasus Hotel enjoys an almost absolute monopoly.

Almost immediately after Badal’s association with the A.F.C. was consummated, the party launched a sustained and vitriolic campaign against every aspect of the Marriott Hotel project, casting every conceivable reason as a basis for it to not materialize. But again, not for one moment during this sustained attack did the A.F.C. disclose, or even concede, that the party has a close and politically consanguine relationship with the Pegasus Hotel.

Specialty Hospital and Special Interests:
The establishment in Guyana of a specialty hospital of the kind conceived to be constructed at Lilliandal, East Coast Demarara, in the ordinary course of things, cannot be opposed by a sane mind. Expectedly, there was no known objection emanating from the Alliance for Change, initially. 

However, the objections to and criticisms of the project came in an avalanche when Fedders Lloyd Inc. was disqualified from the bidding process as a non-compliant bidder. The criticisms came largely from the AFC leader himself, Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan. Not surprisingly, it became public knowledge subsequently that Fedders Lloyd Inc. is his client. Again, no one in the AFC sees the conflict. At least, they have said nothing publicly about it.

Cathy and Consultancy:
It is now public knowledge that Ms. Cathy Hughes, an Executive Member and Member of Parliament for the Alliance For Change, owns a Public Relations company. This company was retained by the Sithe Global Group to do public relations work when the Amaila Falls Hydro-project received its first bout of criticisms. The chief critic again was her party, the Alliance For Change.          

I disclosed this conflict of interest situation publicly on two occasions. Both times, I received letters from Mr. Nigel Hughes, her husband, Chairman of the A.F.C. and Company Secretary for Amaila Hydroelectric Project Inc. (AHEPI) demanding a retraction. I ignored both. It is obvious that the rank incest which contaminates these associations is oblivious to the AFC.

Hughes and Hydro:
I have no doubt that the disclosure that Mr. Nigel Hughes functioned simultaneously as chairman for the Alliance For Change and the Company Secretary for Amaila Hydroelectric Project Inc. is a shock from which many have not yet recovered. His decision to resign from the party rather than the company must have bewildered his supporters more than anything else. The fact that his leader disclaims knowledge of his dual role speaks volumes. To whom did he make his alleged disclosure that he is the company secretary for Amaila Hydro Electric Project Inc. when his leader is unaware, is indeed a million dollar question. Certainly, the disclosure was not made public and only that could have possibly dissipated the impregnable conflict of interest which he eventually admitted. Alas, this public disclosure is almost four years late.

A Foreman’s furor:
Those who are still recovering from the Amaila Hydro Electric Project Inc. conflict of interest debacle were dealt another blow when it was disclosed that Mr. Nigel Hughes had a lawyer/client relationship which lasted some six years with the foreman of the jury in the just concluded Lusignan massacre murder trial. In this case, the Judge embarked upon an exceptional procedure and specifically enquired from each juror, in the presence of all the lawyers, whether they had any relationship of any kind with any of the lawyers. The disclosure of this previous lawyer/client relationship came from neither the juror nor the lawyer.

The information about this relationship became public only after the trial. The juror has since admitted the relationship and was banned for life from ever serving on a jury. No such admission has come from Mr. Hughes. The case lasted six years. All the court documents were signed by the same lawyer. Only that lawyer appeared at the trial of the case. I draw no inference. I leave that to you.

Originally Posted by TI:

Any response from Frederick Kissoon? 

He does expose wrongdoings in de country!

Let's here from the Dr Rose/Harish S. Singh duo.  I assume everyone will lie low for a while.

Originally Posted by TI:

Let's here from the Dr Rose/Harish S. Singh duo.  I assume everyone will lie low for a while.

Do you prefer to read Lumumba and Kwame?

Originally Posted by TI:

Let hear is from the Rose/Singh duo!  You are also welcome to comment....on the article.

Originally Posted by TI:

Not Shit Head, he will continue to be in filth!!

Anil taking lessons . . .

How fitting a response from you, the so-called "intellect" of the board.

ow bai, is Anil teaching abee how to "protagonise" . . . lol

WHOLE 2 PAGES AND THIS idiot FOUND ONE MISSPELL WORD, HE GAT TO BE BRILLANT OR A jackass. voting IS OPEN TO THE PUBLIC.

arite, if this is a "misspelling," i challenge u and the other PPP illiterates to "spell" it correctly; and, if u do, i will request that the thread be deleted

GAME ON!

WHOLE 2 PAGES AND THIS idiot FOUND ONE MISSPELL WORD, HE GAT TO BE BRILLANT OR A jackass. voting IS OPEN TO THE PUBLIC.

arite, if this is a "misspelling," i challenge u and the other PPP illiterates to "spell" it correctly; and, if u do, i will request that the thread be deleted

GAME ON!

yOU ARE FULL OF shit. wHY DO I HAVE TO DO A SPELL CKECK TO PLEASE YOU???

GAME ON!

yOU ARE FULL OF shit. wHY DO I HAVE TO DO A SPELL CKECK TO PLEASE YOU???

way over your head . . . lol

The enigma that’s AFC : --a party of conundrums and conflictsPDFPrintE-mail

Written by Mohabir Anil Nandlall   

Saturday, 17 August 2013 23:42

FROM its conception, and by its name, the Alliance For Change professes to be the political movement to catalyze change in Guyana’s political landscape. A common thread which runs throughout almost all of its public pronouncements is that it advocates for a high standard of political morality.

Brains in Vat...the reality of decadence and corruption of their world is unknown to them... The input mechanisms filters that. The world  of the PPP is solipsistic. If the world is not as they see it then it is not as it should be. As Mr T said "Pity the fools". It is what happens when men think themselves gods and operate only in god mode.

These creeps needs to be sanitized.

It's a way to deflect from the substance of the article.  Reduk's tactic is to find grammatical and other immaterial flaws to detract from the heart of the matter.

Two pages of bunk...the kind they send their minions to plaster all across the net to disparage others and deflect from the stench of their own necrotic and corrupting practices.

Originally Posted by Danyael:

Two pages of bunk...the kind they send their minions to plaster all across the net to disparage others and deflect from the stench of their own necrotic and corrupting practices.

Are any of the charges listed in the article not correct?  If so, I'm sure you will see a legal response, wouldn't we?

Originally Posted by TI:

Let hear is from the Rose/Singh duo!  You are also welcome to comment....on the article.

Baseman is Anil Nandalal your nephew?

Baseman is it true Anil Nandalall's Mother in law was Deported from the USA for smuggling 5 Kilos Cocaine in her Crack?????Bibi Rahaman

Baseman is it true Anil Nandalall's Mother in law was Deported from the USA for also.......... smuggling Guyanese into the USA using her daughters passport?Bibi Rahaman

Baseman is it true Anil Nandalall's Mother in law was caught with close to 100 stolen Blank New Guyana Passports in her possession?????Bibi Rahaman

Baseman is it true Anil Nandalall's was the attorney representing his mother-in law in the Stolen Guyana passport case??????Bibi Rahaman

http://www.stabroeknews.com/20...en-passports-charge/

Baseman is it true Anil Nandalal was able to waterdown this charge to possession of only one Stolen Guyana passport.....and had his mother in law and her young boyfriend....each plead guilty to thief of a single Guyana Passport????Bibi Rahaman

Baseman is it true Anil Nandalal was also the attorney of Choice for Narco Trafficers and Drug Lords in Guyana?????

https://propagandapress.wordpr...er-attorney-general/

Baseman is it true....Anil Nandalall took his mother-in-law....

a convict in the USA and Guyana .......

into the Police Headquarters to celebrate and party with President Ramotar????

Baseman is it true....Anil Nandalall on a ministers salary....was able to buy a new US$160,000 Range Rover....and paid all cash????

Are any of the charges listed in the article not correct?  If so, I'm sure you will see a legal response, wouldn't we?

The point is I do not care if they are. I care that the secrecy over the Marriott is in line of the autocratic decision making of  the PPP and it has to be stopped. I care that if the creeps can present nagamotto's payment checks they can show us Iffart's seven million for Lenora ( why that price) which has since been buried in a black hole at the Skeldon plant.

I care that NICIL is a black box, NIS is the same NBS etc. I care that they have glaring dysfunction at GUYOIL and NCN and that is over looked...I care that all of their family members are there as leeches on the state... I care that these people do not advance our democracy but seeks to use the dictatorial constructs in the system to preserve autocratic rights.

My problem with the AFC is not t hat they are crooks. I see them as I see all people, subject to corrupt practices. My problem with them is their buying into this PPP scheme that things can function if only on a hope and a dream and not by clear, distinct, intellectually defensible and functionally sound systems to defend what are the moral imperatives.

Again, the PPP is crooked because they can do as they please. Were we possessed of systems that demand accountability the run away thievery that give us two pradovilles and  everyone from Miss Piggy to the stuttering butt boy with a mansion would have rational explanations.  I care that we are creating a new elites of PPP and their families and that poison  is seeding the parallel underground economy of drugs and crime and international money laundering that has reached the heights of supporting terrorism in FARC. There is no defending what they stand for. There is no option for a cleansing from them internally. They are concretized corruption.

there are no "charges" in the article requiring a "legal response" . . . just tendentious social commentary and embarrassingly poor writing

that's all

there are no "charges" in the article requiring a "legal response" . . . just tendentious social commentary and embarrassingly poor writing

that's all

I would think placing people names to actions [written] which can damage their character and reputation would be reason for charges of seditious libel, slander or something similar regardless of grammatical or spelling errors.

that's all

I would think placing people names to actions [written] which can damage their character and reputation would be reason for charges of seditious libel, slander or something similar regardless of grammatical or spelling errors.

"seditious libel" . . .  are u freakin serious?!

dude, doan just throw words around just because it sounds nice and make u feel all important and smart . . . u just like Anil

smh

Quote Baseman : I would think placing people names to actions [written] which can damage their character and reputation would be reason for charges of seditious libel, slander or something similar regardless of grammatical or spelling errors.

Look how Danyael & Redux send Baseman running fuh cover....

Baseman ask de piss drinking attorney general what is slander.....

"Drug Enforcement Agents at JFK ...caught....your Nephew Anil mother-in-law ....... with 5 Kilos Cocaine ....... up she Crack"

Baseman what was Anil Mother-in-law Exporting from Guyana.... Cocaine or Crack?????

Baseman .....do not expect support from yuh buddy Big_Seed ..... because de lady get caught infringing pun Walla patent.

Quote Baseman : I would think placing people names to actions [written] which can damage their character and reputation would be reason for charges of seditious libel, slander or something similar regardless of grammatical or spelling errors.

"Drug Enforcement Agents at JFK ...caught....your Nephew Anil mother-in-law ....... with 5 Kilos Cocaine ....... up she Crack"

Baseman what was Anil Mother-in-law Exporting from Guyana.... Cocaine or Crack?????

Baseman .....do not expect support from yuh buddy Big_Seed ..... because de lady get caught infringing pun Walla patent.

Address the content of the article written by the AG.  Don't side-step and muddy the waters.  The man made some damning accusation and all alyuh could do is play stupid.  Attack the article for its contents and facts.

Nagamootoo's payment from NICIL was earned based on legal services his firm provided on behalf of taxpayers. How does this compare to the millions that the PPP tiefmen are stealing from the taxpayers through NICIL?

Don't these jackasses know the difference between tiefin and earning money?

Address the content of the article written by the AG.  Don't side-step and muddy the waters.  The man made some damning accusation and all alyuh could do is play stupid.  Attack the article for its contents and facts.

"damning accusation" . . . is that to be regarded in the same vein as your [mis]use of "seditious libel"??

As I said, address the content of the AG's article.  That's the heart of the matter.

hmmmm . . . tendentious social commentary on matters ventilated a lot more intelligently here and in the press over the past couple of years

i am not into public masturbation . . . what is there to address?

hmmmm . . . tendentious social commentary on matters ventilated a lot more intelligently here and in the press over the past couple of years

Maybe you should try less hard.

i suspect that if i hold it up to the light and examine carefully, i'll find something witty in your 'response'

but i don't have the time, inclination or the necessary forensic tools right now, arite?

Originally Posted by God:

Nagamootoo's payment from NICIL was earned based on legal services his firm provided on behalf of taxpayers. How does this compare to the millions that the PPP tiefmen are stealing from the taxpayers through NICIL?

Don't these jackasses know the difference between tiefin and earning money?

Nagamootoo is Grassroot person....

Both Jagdeo & Ramotar agreed 

Moses is the only person who can get the Berbicians

to give up their Land so the Berbice Bridge.....

and..... Hope Canal could be Built ....

So Moses was employed  and paid by NICIL 

for the following services

1.  Draft legal framework and negotiate compensation and relocation of D’Edward home-owners for construction of the Berbice River Bridge.

( pathetic when Jagdeo & Ramotar lie  .....and forget the truth....that it was  Moses got the home-owners to agree to relocate from D'Edwards so the Berbice Bridge could be Built.)

2.  Negotiate and settle compensation with Sheet Anchor-Palmyra land owners for acquisition of the pasture east of the Berbice Bridge.

( pathetic when Jagdeo & Ramotar lie  .....and forget the truth....that it was  Moses got the Sheet Anchor-Palmyra land owners to agree the acquisition of their Pasture east of the Berbice River ........so the Berbice Bridge could be Built.)

3.  Negotiate compensation package and re-location of homeowners, farmers and occupiers in Dochfour-Hope for the digging of the Hope Canal.

( pathetic when Jagdeo & Ramotar lie  .....and forget the truth....that it was  Moses got Grassroot homeowners, farmers and occupiers in Dochfour-Hope to agree to relocate so the Hope Canal could be fixed.)

PLUS :

4.  Arbitrate as a quasi judge in a $600 million claim by NICIL against GNIC together with Messrs Robin Stoby and Stephen Fraser.
The Arbitration Tribunal held over 50 sittings, but Moses get only a contract fee since 2009 and not a per diem.

This is what them Shameless Crab Dogs

& Jagabat Women talking about

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Read statement by Moses nailing their lies.....

‘Target for character assassination’

February 7, 2013 ·

Dear Editor,

The moribund PPP continues to target me for character assassination. The insane attack on my right to work and earn as a professional is a political response to my exposure of corruption, and the principled stand of the Alliance for Change that the billions being held by NICIL ought to be paid into the Consolidated Fund.

The latest attack is the banner Sunday Chronicle of February 3, headline ‘Nagamootoo exposed again – received millions from NICIL.’ The rag stated that “for the period January 1, 2007 to December 31, 2008, Mr. Nagamootoo received $6.7M in legal fees from NICIL.”

But from the figures provided by NICIL and published in Chronicle, the alleged $6.7M sum was paid over a six-year period (2006 to 2011) on several contracts for legal service, a couple of which are still to be completed.

We know that the Chronicle has a fatal attraction for lies. But it is pathetic when a liar forgets his own lies.

In a previous front-page banner headline on Sunday, October 7, 2012, this government paper cited a single project (Berbice Bridge) and said that NICIL has paid me “almost $7M for processing of land transports” for relocated D’Edward residents…..( pathetic when a liar forgets his own lies.)

I am an attorney-at-law. I am self-employed and independent. Since 2006 I rejected a million-dollar, monthly, sinecure appointment as Political Advisor or Ambassador under the Jagdeo presidency. I instead chose to do legal work for a living.

I was retained by the Guyana Government through NICIL, with full approval of Cabinet, to do specialized legal work. Since 2006, NICIL offered me contracts to:-

1.  Draft legal framework and negotiate compensation and relocation of D’Edward home-owners for construction of the Berbice River Bridge.
2.  Negotiate and settle compensation with Sheet Anchor-Palmyra land owners for acquisition of the pasture east of the Berbice Bridge.
3.  Negotiate compensation package and re-location of homeowners, farmers and occupiers in Dochfour-Hope for the digging of the Hope Canal.

4.  Arbitrate as a quasi judge in a $600 million claim by NICIL against GNIC together with Messrs Robin Stoby and Stephen Fraser.
The Arbitration Tribunal held over 50 sittings, but I get only a contract fee since 2009 and not a per diem.

With these vulgar public attacks and earlier release of cheques paid to me, in breach of all ethical and professional conduct, it seems that the (Jagdeo/Ramotar)  PPP-NICIL want to run me off the Arbitration Tribunal. They want to take away my right to work, which is my right to life.

I am proud of the legal work I have done over several years. I am satisfied that D’Edward villagers received in excess of $90 million in compensation, for which I had demanded that they pay no fees, and a  package that included:-

●  a house-lot for every home-owner who was removed from D’Edward;
● payment of $1.00 (yes, one Guyana dollar) for a house-lot in Ketting (Cotton Tree);
●  streets plus water, electricity and telephone services for the re-location area;
● extended time for affected residents to re-locate;
● assistance to remove their houses and structures.

On 16th October, 2012  Manzoor Nadir, “live” on state-owned National Communications Network (NCN), said that I was paid “$10 million, maybe $20 million fees” by the Chinese company that is involved in expansion work at the Cheddi Jagan International Airport.

On 17th October, 2012, the Guyana Chronicle reported the lie.

The truth is I have not worked for the Chinese airport company.

I did assist another Chinese company

that wanted to invest in Guyana.

But I have not charged

that Chinese company any fees.

The PPP is turning its guns on me for exposing the obscene $3 million a month pension, benefits and other facilities package for past presidents.

They are mad that I exposed the billions that NICIL, the government’s fat milking cow, rakes in that should go into the Treasury.

Let me say this: As a lawyer, I have helped many poor people as well as this blighted PPP government. For example, I prepared conveyance documents for government at a nominal fee of $2,500 for each transport passed to people on the Corentyne and in West Berbice. I helped a few NDCs to recover arrears in rates and taxes at a nominal fee of $500 for each legal notice, hardly enough to cover paper, ink and stamps!

For several years, whilst I worked as a journalist, I donated the bulk of my salary to the PPP. I was never and I am not infected with the greed for money. My hands are clean!

And yes, I bitterly opposed in 2009 the vulgar move to pass the president’s pension package (benefits and facilities) when it was rammed through the PPP as a Cabinet decision. I was not allowed a conscience vote on it in parliament. I had to vote along party lines.
On this issue, Nandlall reportedly “nailed” me.

The truth is, I opposed the 2009 bill. I gave so-called PPP leaders hell for it, and accused them of betraying principles of “revolutionary morality.” On November 4, 2011, Kaieteur News quoted me as saying “Jagdeo’s pension plan rattled my soul.”

I explained then:……. “To my utter shame and regret I voted for it, because I was required to do so as a PPP MP.”

I have not lied on this issue. The PPP realized it was caught with its pants down, so it back-tracked and now tries to discredit me in my profession.

But these attacks are not simply about my earnings. They are small potatoes compared to what government is paying their lawyer friends.

What the PPP wants is to tarnish me with their corruption brush.

They want to buy my conscience, to silence me with their filthy money.

No way, Jose!
Yours faithfully,
Moses V Nagamootoo

Redux we have addressed Anil & Baseman Lies about Moses....

Do you think the now address this.......

i suspect that if i hold it up to the light and examine carefully, i'll find something witty in your 'response'

but i don't have the time, inclination or the necessary forensic tools right now, arite?

whatack! Bing!

All of you PNC yard fowls a katahers, address the points raised by Mr Nandalal.

Mr Baseman. Here is a much bigger conflict of interest.

--------

Complaint against Finance Minister filed with accountants group

Posted By Staff Writer On July 11, 2012 @ 5:28 am In Local News | No Comments

Robert McRae, one of the partners of the Ram & McRae accounting firm, has lodged a complaint against Minister of Finance Dr. Ashni Singh to the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Guyana (ICAG), alleging that he has continually broken the law while in control of public spending.

In his complaint, McRae noted that one of ICAG’s functions is to “regulate the discipline and professional conduct” of its members and its registered students “by maintaining strict professional ethics.” “If the Act and the By-Laws apply to students it must surely apply to the conduct of the country’s highest ranking chartered accountant,” he said in the complaint.

McRae’s complaint comes days after Chairman of the National Assembly’s Public Accounts Committee (PAC) Carl Greenidge wrote the ICAG seeking guidance on the perceived conflicts of interest created by the appointment of Gitanjali Singh, the wife of Minister Singh, to the post of Audit Director at the Audit Office.

Sources close to the ICAG have told Stabroek News that ICAG’s Council has met and has considered the complaint, after it had been sent to its investigative committee. On Greenidge’s request for guidance, the Council is considering this and it is treating the matter with some measure of urgency.

In the complaint, McRae lists a number of violations of the Constitution, breaches to Section 41 of the Fiscal Management and Account-ability Act 2003, conflict of interest, conflict of duties, violations of the audit requirements of the Companies Act 1991, and violations of Sections 158 to 160 of the Companies Act 1991.

Dr. Singh as Minister of Finance, he noted, is the most high profile Chartered Accountant in Guyana and that the powers and duties of the Minister of Finance are set out principally in the Constitution and the Fiscal Management and Accountability Act (FMAA) 2003. Further, he said that Dr. Singh is Chairman of the Board of Directors of the National Industrial and Commercial Investments Limited (NICIL), which is a government company under the Companies Act 1991. “Dr. Singh is the subject Minister of NICIL and under the Public Corporations Act reports to the National Assembly on NICIL,” he said.

“It is also my contention that as a Chartered Accountant charged with the management and control of the public purse Dr. Singh has a responsibility to the profession and the country to maintain the highest standards established by the profession for its integrity and reputation. His continuing breach of the law reflects adversely on the entire profession and the Institute and brings the entire membership into disrepute,” said McRae.

‘Unauthorised
transfers’

In pointing out one of the breaches of the Constitution by the Minister of Finance, McRae said that Article 217 (3) of the Constitution of Guyana provides that ‘No monies shall be withdrawn from any public fund other than the Consolidated Fund unless the issue of those monies have been authorised by or under an Act of Parliament.

He noted that according to the FMAA 2003 public monies means all monies belonging to the State received or collected by officials in their official capacity or by any person authorised to receive or collect such monies and, without limitation, includes a) tax and non-tax revenue collections authorised by law; (b) grants to the Government; (c) budget agency receipts; (d) monies borrowed by the State or received through the issuance and sale of securities; (e) moneys received or collected for and on behalf of the State; and (f) moneys that are paid to or received or collected by an official pursuant to any law, trust or other agreement which moneys are to be disbursed for a purpose set out in that law, trust or agreement.

McRae noted that the Report of the Auditor General for the year 2010 disclosed a number of transfers made to and from the Consolidated Fund.

“It is respectfully submitted that even if the sums were merely transferred to the Consolidated Fund they would constitute a withdrawal, unless the transfers were authorised by or under an Act of Parliament. I have made diligent enquiries and searches and have seen no authority for the said transfers, nor has the Minister of Finance even acknowledged that the transfers were ever made and the funds utilised. Additionally the records indicate that part of those sums were transferred to the Consolidated Fund and subsequently disbursed,” McRae said.

“I further submit that this action or series of action constitute a violation of Article 217 (3) of the Constitution. All members of the Institute have a duty to uphold the laws of Guyana and if the breach continues once it is brought to the member’s attention it constitutes a flagrant disregard for the law of the land and must constitute misconduct,” McRae said.

In speaking to what he called the Minister’s breach of Section 41 of the FMAA 2003, McRae said that Subsection (2) of this section imposes on the Minister sole authority for the release of monies from the Contingencies Fund.

“My complaint is that Dr. Singh has persistently violated the law governing the Contingencies Fund, a sub-fund of the Consolidated Fund, as revealed by the Reports of the Auditor General on the Public Accounts of Guyana and on the Accounts of the Ministries/Departments/Regions for the years 2006-2010,” he said.

‘Conflicts’

With regard to conflict of interest, McRae noted that since August 2006, Dr. Singh has been serving as the senior Minister of Finance “creating a conflict of interest situation with the Office of the Auditor General at which his wife, Ms. Gitanjali Singh is the senior-most qualified accountant.”

“To compound the conflict Dr. Singh is also Chairman of the National Industrial and Commercial Investments Limited which is also audited by the Audit Office of Guyana,” he said.

“While it should be noted that the responsibility is usually on the auditor to remove himself or herself from the conflict, it is my contention that Dr. Singh knew or ought to have known that that by accepting the appointment he was being placed in a position of conflict and should have taken steps to prevent such a situation,” McRae added.

Additionally, he also contends that there is a conflict of duties, while noting that it is a fundamental precept of the profession that a member must remove himself from any situation which threatens his independence and puts him in a position where he has a conflict of interest which has been defined to include a conflict of duties.

“As Chairman and director of the National Industrial and Commercial Investments Limited, Dr. Singh owes a fiduciary duty to the company. In his dual roles as Chairman and director Dr. Singh individually and collectively effectively reports to himself under the Public Corporations Act No. 21 of 1988 for which he has parliamentary responsibility and cannot therefore faithfully execute his fiduciary responsibility,” he said.

“I wish to submit the following for your consideration and ruling on whether Dr. Singh’s duty as concerned Minister collides with his duties as Chairman and director of NICIL,” he said.

McRae also charged that the fact that the acting Auditor General Deodat Sharma is not a member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Guyana and nor does he hold a practice certificate from the Institute, renders him unqualified for the post of Auditor General hence violating the Companies Act 1991.

“The directors of NICIL including Dr. Singh have caused the company’s financial statements to be signed by Mr. Deodat Sharma who is not a member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Guyana and who does not hold a practicing certificate of the Institute.

“While the Constitution of Guyana is the supreme law and the provision of any law, including the Companies Act, which is inconsistent therewith is void, I respectfully submit that reliance on the Constitution is only available if the procedures for the appointment of an Auditor General or acting Auditor General have been complied with. It is my contention that this has not been the case,” McRae said.

“I would also urge the Institute to be mindful that in the discharge of its function to ‘regulate the practice of accountancy’ it must ensure that accounts, and importantly the public accounts of Guyana, are prepared and audited to the highest standards prescribed by the International Federation of Accountants and adopted by the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Guyana,” he said.

Mr Baseman. Here is a much bigger conflict of interest.

--------

Complaint against Finance Minister filed with accountants group

Posted By Staff Writer On July 11, 2012 @ 5:28 am In Local News | No Comments

Robert McRae, one of the partners of the Ram & McRae accounting firm, has lodged a complaint against Minister of Finance Dr. Ashni Singh to the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Guyana (ICAG), alleging that he has continually broken the law while in control of public spending.

In his complaint, McRae noted that one of ICAG’s functions is to “regulate the discipline and professional conduct” of its members and its registered students “by maintaining strict professional ethics.” “If the Act and the By-Laws apply to students it must surely apply to the conduct of the country’s highest ranking chartered accountant,” he said in the complaint.

McRae’s complaint comes days after Chairman of the National Assembly’s Public Accounts Committee (PAC) Carl Greenidge wrote the ICAG seeking guidance on the perceived conflicts of interest created by the appointment of Gitanjali Singh, the wife of Minister Singh, to the post of Audit Director at the Audit Office.

Sources close to the ICAG have told Stabroek News that ICAG’s Council has met and has considered the complaint, after it had been sent to its investigative committee. On Greenidge’s request for guidance, the Council is considering this and it is treating the matter with some measure of urgency.

In the complaint, McRae lists a number of violations of the Constitution, breaches to Section 41 of the Fiscal Management and Account-ability Act 2003, conflict of interest, conflict of duties, violations of the audit requirements of the Companies Act 1991, and violations of Sections 158 to 160 of the Companies Act 1991.

Dr. Singh as Minister of Finance, he noted, is the most high profile Chartered Accountant in Guyana and that the powers and duties of the Minister of Finance are set out principally in the Constitution and the Fiscal Management and Accountability Act (FMAA) 2003. Further, he said that Dr. Singh is Chairman of the Board of Directors of the National Industrial and Commercial Investments Limited (NICIL), which is a government company under the Companies Act 1991. “Dr. Singh is the subject Minister of NICIL and under the Public Corporations Act reports to the National Assembly on NICIL,” he said.

“It is also my contention that as a Chartered Accountant charged with the management and control of the public purse Dr. Singh has a responsibility to the profession and the country to maintain the highest standards established by the profession for its integrity and reputation. His continuing breach of the law reflects adversely on the entire profession and the Institute and brings the entire membership into disrepute,” said McRae.

‘Unauthorised
transfers’

In pointing out one of the breaches of the Constitution by the Minister of Finance, McRae said that Article 217 (3) of the Constitution of Guyana provides that ‘No monies shall be withdrawn from any public fund other than the Consolidated Fund unless the issue of those monies have been authorised by or under an Act of Parliament.

He noted that according to the FMAA 2003 public monies means all monies belonging to the State received or collected by officials in their official capacity or by any person authorised to receive or collect such monies and, without limitation, includes a) tax and non-tax revenue collections authorised by law; (b) grants to the Government; (c) budget agency receipts; (d) monies borrowed by the State or received through the issuance and sale of securities; (e) moneys received or collected for and on behalf of the State; and (f) moneys that are paid to or received or collected by an official pursuant to any law, trust or other agreement which moneys are to be disbursed for a purpose set out in that law, trust or agreement.

McRae noted that the Report of the Auditor General for the year 2010 disclosed a number of transfers made to and from the Consolidated Fund.

“It is respectfully submitted that even if the sums were merely transferred to the Consolidated Fund they would constitute a withdrawal, unless the transfers were authorised by or under an Act of Parliament. I have made diligent enquiries and searches and have seen no authority for the said transfers, nor has the Minister of Finance even acknowledged that the transfers were ever made and the funds utilised. Additionally the records indicate that part of those sums were transferred to the Consolidated Fund and subsequently disbursed,” McRae said.

“I further submit that this action or series of action constitute a violation of Article 217 (3) of the Constitution. All members of the Institute have a duty to uphold the laws of Guyana and if the breach continues once it is brought to the member’s attention it constitutes a flagrant disregard for the law of the land and must constitute misconduct,” McRae said.

In speaking to what he called the Minister’s breach of Section 41 of the FMAA 2003, McRae said that Subsection (2) of this section imposes on the Minister sole authority for the release of monies from the Contingencies Fund.

“My complaint is that Dr. Singh has persistently violated the law governing the Contingencies Fund, a sub-fund of the Consolidated Fund, as revealed by the Reports of the Auditor General on the Public Accounts of Guyana and on the Accounts of the Ministries/Departments/Regions for the years 2006-2010,” he said.

‘Conflicts’

With regard to conflict of interest, McRae noted that since August 2006, Dr. Singh has been serving as the senior Minister of Finance “creating a conflict of interest situation with the Office of the Auditor General at which his wife, Ms. Gitanjali Singh is the senior-most qualified accountant.”

“To compound the conflict Dr. Singh is also Chairman of the National Industrial and Commercial Investments Limited which is also audited by the Audit Office of Guyana,” he said.

“While it should be noted that the responsibility is usually on the auditor to remove himself or herself from the conflict, it is my contention that Dr. Singh knew or ought to have known that that by accepting the appointment he was being placed in a position of conflict and should have taken steps to prevent such a situation,” McRae added.

Additionally, he also contends that there is a conflict of duties, while noting that it is a fundamental precept of the profession that a member must remove himself from any situation which threatens his independence and puts him in a position where he has a conflict of interest which has been defined to include a conflict of duties.

“As Chairman and director of the National Industrial and Commercial Investments Limited, Dr. Singh owes a fiduciary duty to the company. In his dual roles as Chairman and director Dr. Singh individually and collectively effectively reports to himself under the Public Corporations Act No. 21 of 1988 for which he has parliamentary responsibility and cannot therefore faithfully execute his fiduciary responsibility,” he said.

“I wish to submit the following for your consideration and ruling on whether Dr. Singh’s duty as concerned Minister collides with his duties as Chairman and director of NICIL,” he said.

McRae also charged that the fact that the acting Auditor General Deodat Sharma is not a member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Guyana and nor does he hold a practice certificate from the Institute, renders him unqualified for the post of Auditor General hence violating the Companies Act 1991.

“The directors of NICIL including Dr. Singh have caused the company’s financial statements to be signed by Mr. Deodat Sharma who is not a member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Guyana and who does not hold a practicing certificate of the Institute.

“While the Constitution of Guyana is the supreme law and the provision of any law, including the Companies Act, which is inconsistent therewith is void, I respectfully submit that reliance on the Constitution is only available if the procedures for the appointment of an Auditor General or acting Auditor General have been complied with. It is my contention that this has not been the case,” McRae said.

“I would also urge the Institute to be mindful that in the discharge of its function to ‘regulate the practice of accountancy’ it must ensure that accounts, and importantly the public accounts of Guyana, are prepared and audited to the highest standards prescribed by the International Federation of Accountants and adopted by the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Guyana,” he said.

Wasn't this one old story?  Was there ever a resolution?