AFC Press Conference
Date: February 22, 2012
For Immediate Release to all Media Houses

AFC pledges support for ‘development oriented’ Parliamentary agenda.
Read by Khemraj Ramjattan

The Alliance For Change has every confidence that the Tenth Parliament of Guyana will deliver on its mandate to serve in the best interest of all the people of Guyana. The AFC believes that, if given a fair opportunity, the Tenth Parliament will see the introduction of a more advanced, inclusive form of governance, one where all the people of Guyana feel that their concerns are being addressed by their leaders. The Tenth Parliament is a definite, positive way forward for Guyana.

The AFC intends to work with the other political parties in the Parliament and our colleague MPs to ensure that the end results of the deliberations in the National Assembly are ultimately for the development of all Guyana. To this end, the AFC, through its magnificent seven in the House, pledges its commitment to a ‘Development Oriented’ Parliamentary agenda.

The AFC will, in the course of the life of the Parliament bring Motions and Bills to the House, which we hope our colleagues will objectively critique, with the intention that at the end of the deliberations we can offer to the people of Guyana a better product. Where we see necessary, the AFC will question the government, in an objective manner, much as we have been doing through our presentations in the debate on financial Papers 7 and 8/2011. Our questions on these two papers have been confined to four line items. We believe it is our duty as elected representatives of the people to ask the questions the people on the streets and in the market places and in their homes, are asking.

At this point, and because of the level of confidence we have in the Tripartite Talks with the government and APNU, the AFC anticipates that the 2012 National Budget may not be as big a challenge as some see. That is, providing that the committee set up under the Tripartite Arrangement to look at the Budget steps up the work it is expected to do. There must be more than talks of commitment. This is time for action! The AFC has identified its representatives for the Budget talks and our people are standing by.

[END]

AFC urges speedy resolution of issues affecting sugar workers
Read by Gerhard Ramsaroop

The Alliance For Change is pleased to note that, consequent to the our intervention, GuySuCo has issued a firm deadline on which they will pay the Annual Production Incentive (API), and they have promised a thorough investigation of the workers complaints at Blairmont. Workers concerns and their wellbeing are paramount to the AFC, and we will remain on the ball to ensure that these promises by GuySuCo are kept.

On Thursday 16, 2012 the Alliance for Change paid visits to the striking workers of Blairmont and again on Monday 20th, when we also met with the workers of Rose Hall Estate at the Tacama Turn, Stanleytown, East Bank Berbice.

The Blairmont workers, among other things, complained about the change in price for obstacles encountered in the fields, the changing of the amount of rods for the weeding gangs, having to choose between one pair of boots (when previously it was two pairs, one for the wet and one for the dry) and having on-site injuries changed to sick leave. They also highlighted what they saw as waste, incompetence and outright corruption by management. For example, the abuse of the ambulance in making personal errands such as going to the market, the estate bus taking one child belonging to management to school in New Amsterdam, while passing the children of workers waiting on the road, the manager travelling every day from Buxton when there is an estate house for him and his family, and the purchasing of expensive but inappropriate tractors, purportedly at $18M each, that subsequently suffered catastrophic damage, and for which there was no apparent warranty.

The workers of Rose Hall were in up in arms over the continued delay in the payment of the API which is normally paid in January, which was also an issue for the Blairmont workers. A few hundred of them had prepared to march from the Tacama Turn to the Estate, but called it off on account of the weather.

The AFC made it clear to both sets of workers that we are in solidarity with them and that we understand and empathise with their plight, especially with the cost of living being so high. However, we also emphasised that we were not there to replace the union, GAWU. Instead, we will help to publicise their cause through our presence and the media, and we will make representation for them at every opportunity and in Parliament. In that regard we met with Mr Komal Chand, the president of GAWU, and urged greater militancy from his quarters, and we met with Mr Nanda Gopaul, Minister of Labour and former Chairman of the GuySuCo Board, and asked for his intervention so that there can be a speedy resolution to the various issues the workers brought to the fore.

The AFC is very cognisant that the sugar industry is facing a crisis and is heading for closure and/or bankruptcy, and we cannot allow the AFC to be used as a scapegoat for any loss of jobs. The AFC also wants to make it clear that we are not casting blame on all of management, as may have been conveyed on our Berbice TV programme. We are keenly aware that management, especially on the lower end, suffer just as much as the workers, and there are very many managers at all levels, doing their best to keep the industry alive. We therefore unreservedly apologise to any of these good managers who may have felt offended by our general statements.

The AFC wishes to reassure all stakeholders that we see the sugar industry as vital to Guyana’s economy, especially the energy sector and as a major employer. Therefore, we will do all we can to support the industry and lobby for its transformation through ethanol production with the assistance of Brazil.

[END]

Issue of the East Bank Berbice Road
Read by Gerhard Ramsaroop

On Monday, a team from the Alliance for Change, comprising of Kojo McPherson, Freddie Kissoon, Region 5 Councillor, Cindy Sookdeo, Region 6 Councillor, Donna Mathoo and Michelle and Gerhard Ramsaroop, went to lend solidarity to the residents and drivers who were protesting the now infamous East Bank Berbice Road.

The conditions were deplorable to say the least; potholes more than a foot deep with cars scraping their bottoms while driving through. With few cars plying the route as a result, the inconvenience for the residents, especially school children, is very grave. Two main contributors identified by the residents were trucks fetching cement out of Bermine and H Nauth and Sons Construction Company. Our team saw this first-hand, and pictures were taken by AFC photographer, Kojo McPherson.

During the protest, we also met with the Regional Chairman, Mr David Armogan, and we assured him of the AFC’s support for an appropriate allocation for a new road. However, this was conditional upon transparency and accountability; we are not going to approve, for example, $100M for a $40M road, typical of the last PPP administration. We further recommended that weight restrictions be implemented immediately and also when the new road is built, according to its capacity.

We are heartened that consequent to our intervention, the Regional Chairman announced that a new road will be built. The AFC pledges to hold the Chairman to his promise, and we will ensure accountability and transparency.

[END]

Wednesday, February 22, 2012

The Blairmont workers, among other things, complained about the change in price for obstacles encountered in the fields, the changing of the amount of rods for the weeding gangs, having to choose between one pair of boots (when previously it was two pairs, one for the wet and one for the dry) and having on-site injuries changed to sick leave. They also highlighted what they saw as waste, incompetence and outright corruption by management. For example, the abuse of the ambulance in making personal errands such as going to the market, the estate bus taking one child belonging to management to school in New Amsterdam, while passing the children of workers waiting on the road, the manager travelling every day from Buxton when there is an estate house for him and his family, and the purchasing of expensive but inappropriate tractors, purportedly at $18M each, that subsequently suffered catastrophic damage, and for which there was no apparent warranty.

I remember how the children of the white masters had special buses and the children of the labourers, either walk, ride and hop on the buses to school.

Good job, AFC! Big Grin flag
Originally posted by BGurd_See:
Somehow gmoney manage to get himself in these photo ops even thought the AFC denied him a seat in parliament and he had to cry in his
flower garden.

Mits like BG_walla in pain .....
and it hurting eee that eee picture cant be reproduced or shown in public....
because eee jumbo-walla bigger than eee head.

Eeee should not be talking about a seat in parliament.....

Which party will try to accomodate A Godie_fella amongst them?
A seat wont wuk fuh eee.....eee need a bench with nuff support.
Originally posted by Nehru:
Al YUh notice how Moses always look PISSED these days. Pressure does Bust Pipe. yippie yippie

Bhai....our next President is looking good.
De man showing aya who got the Juice.
Yuh see Luncheon now admitting that de thiefing rampant.
De Exit strategy already in motion.
De Duck is yuh Short-Time Quickie Prezie...
Aborted....before 9 month.
Originally posted by Jalil:
Somehow gmoney manage to get himself in these photo ops even thought the AFC denied him a seat in parliament and he had to cry in his
flower garden.

I don't get you ..and others who share your "reasoning " . Is there any shame in having a hydrocele , which can be caused by the failure of the process vaginalis to obliterate.

Why chastise the man , because of a hydrocele ?
Did you inspect his scrotum and perform transillumination followed by ultrasound to confirm a hydrocele ? Having a medical condition should not be grounds for insults .

Confront him on his views not on an imagined medical condition . Would that be asking too much ?

Ostracizing someone on the arbitrary basis of a supposed medical condition is no worse than ostracizing someone because of their ethnicity.

Mitwah and others please take note.
Originally posted by Guyanese4eva:
flower garden.

I don't get you ..and others who share your "reasoning " . Is there any shame in having a hydrocele , which can be caused by the failure of the process vaginalis to obliterate.

Did you inspect his scrotum and perform transillumination followed by ultrasound to confirm a hydrocele ? Having a medical condition should not be grounds for insults .

Confront him on his views not on an imagined medical condition . Would that be asking too much ?

Ostracizing someone on the arbitrary basis of a supposed medical condition is no worse than ostracizing someone because of their ethnicity.

Is Raghubeer your family too?
Originally posted by Mitwah:
flower garden.

Is Raghubeer your family too?

Sorry, wrong person.
Guyanese4eva as noted by Mits and others.... what is shameful is when an honest decent and normal person like Mr Ramsaroop is being hounded and attacked because he helping the Guyanese and he can get around easily....and is not anchored like de fella who you admitt is bogged down, limited and restricted with a super-sized Jumbo_Hydro-Seed.

Mr Ramsaroop is doing a good job helping the Guyanese with their problems and issues.

Lets hope Medicaid can help de problems and issues of your brother.....de poor fella needs help urgently.
Guyanese4eva as noted by Mits and others.... what is shameful is when an honest decent and normal person like Mr Ramsaroop is being hounded and attacked because he helping the Guyanese and he can get around easily....and is not anchored like de fella who you admitt is bogged down, limited and restricted with a super-sized Jumbo_Hydro-Seed.

Mr Ramsaroop is doing a good job helping the Guyanese with their problems and issues.

Lets hope Medicaid can help de problems and issues of your brother.....de poor fella needs help urgently.

I am off all week , doing work from home and find myself online quite a bit this week .

For your sake ,lets discuss these issues slowly :

1.Mr Ramsaroop, who by all accounts is an upstanding Guyanese happens to be public official and with that position comes criticism . Not everyone will be in agreement with Mr Ramsaroop . If he is someone , who is grounded in principles and is morally upstanding ( a rare find in Guyana ), then even his worst crtics will eventually respect him .

2.You do Mr Ramsaroop no favors by belittling another member based on your imagined scrotum size of that particular member . How nasty , low , revolting and utterly obnoxious !!!

3. lets suppose that Mr Ramsaroop has a hydrocele , would that make him less of a person ? Does he deserved to be ridiculed for a medical condition ? I suppose that I don't need to answer this question for you ..but I wouldn't hold my breath

4 . None of my brothers post here . If you are related to BGdee , thats fine , just don't project that to others here .

5. On the issue of who gets around faster , here is BGDsee racing against Nuff , how do you think Mr Ramsaroop ( BMI >30 ) would fare against BGdsee

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fsZXD5QmtHg

6.. This is my last post on this issue ..feel free to continue with your stupidity.
Guyanese4eva, you are probably a neophyte on GNI.

Are you aware of Drug-B's self-confessed criminal activities of smuggling in GUyana and how he sold to his own family at black market prices?

Are you aware of his wicked, evil and immoral comments or conjectures even on very sad occasions?

When he makes it his business to hound honest decent people like Gerhard, then it's time to come to their defense.

Examine his posts and you will see how Drug-B would deliberately obfuscate the issues by his disparaging statements of people and their families with the malicious intent of belittling them.

Bgurdy = "Big Goadee" was the way to respond to his inferences or judgments based on inconclusive or incomplete evidence in kind.

I hope medicaid finds a cure and can help him with his brain damage.
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Mitwah:
Guyanese4eva, you are probably a neophyte on GNI.

Bgurdy = "Big Goadee" was the way to respond to his inferences or judgments based on inconclusive or incomplete evidence in kind.
QUOTE]

Only the low IQ would choose a legitimate medical condition which affects boys and men to respond to BDgsee's alleged idiotic online comments .

The only thing you are really accomplishing is disparaging those who legitimately suffer from scrotal pathologies .

Please accept our apologies if you too suffer with "De Soongu"....
and if you do not indulge in his wicked, evil and immoral comments or conjectures even on very sad occasions....
you will have no need to worry or be embarassed.

He is advised to act Kool ....like U are trying to do.....and behave himself in a better way if he wants his soongu to be no so obvious.
Mits how yuh doin bro? I'll be up later this year and so we will have to catch up with the gang, cain and the pirate and of course, the girls Smile

Jalilbhai, more than likely we will touch NY too Smile
Originally posted by Gerhard Ramsaroop:
Mits how yuh doin bro? I'll be up later this year and so we will have to catch up with the gang, cain and the pirate and of course, the girls Smile

Gerharld i see the AFC IS ON THE BALL that great,but personally i am looking forward to see some ministers going to jail.at present i am saying hang them but i will settle for jailing them.i will be watching. guyana have to change for the better at all cost

I am doing great. Say hi to your better half. Certainly looking fwd to catch up. Big Grin

Only the low IQ would choose a legitimate medical condition which affects boys and men to respond to BDgsee's alleged idiotic online comments .

Then Bharat Jagdeo is of low IQ? clever

How come you did not speak up when Jagdeo was pointing out to the masses at his meetings that Mr. Ramjattan is cock eyed and has a cock eye view of things?

Don't lecture me on morals when you are morally bankrupt.

Why don't you show an iota of your IQ by discussing the topic at hand?
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Guyanese4eva:

How come you did not speak up when Jagdeo was pointing out to the masses at his meetings that Mr. Ramjattan is cock eyed and has a cock eye view of things?.

Why don't you show an iota of your IQ by discussing the topic at hand?[/QUOTE]

Did you pay attention to those who spoke up ? I guess strabismus is not your concern ..you are more concerned with other men's balls. Enjoy your circle jerk when you meet up with your scrotally obsessed crew. Yet you bitch to admin about civil exchange .

I'm off on my 4.5 mile run ...
who say gmoney is upstanding citizen? that family sold a piece of land handed down to them by a donor with the intention of being planted. They cashed in while soup was dripping from the PPP coup. When PPP soup cut off gmoney and his pops flew the coup into the arms of the ppp rejects. de man then went on to immortalize his name in the annals of history as the inventor of the plywood computer. ahahahahahahhah

Which land was donated to us, BGurd_See?

How come you did not speak up when Jagdeo was pointing out to the masses at his meetings that Mr. Ramjattan is cock eyed and has a cock eye view of things?.

Did you pay attention to those who spoke up ? I guess strabismus is not your concern ..you are more concerned with other men's balls. Enjoy your circle jerk when you meet up with your scrotally obsessed crew. Yet you bitch to admin about civil exchange .

Keep running away... panman

Anyway, don't lecture me, when you are morally bankrupt.

You see why dem guys does chastise your rass. Guyane4man tryin to pick up for you but doan worry, he/she has to now see you in action.
Originally posted by cain:

You see why dem guys does chastise your rass. Guyane4man tryin to pick up for you but doan worry, he/she has to now see you in action.

G4evaman is an assiduous and devoted admirer of Drug_B. He seems to regard him with pleasure, wonder, and approval and have a high opinion of; esteem or respect for him.

G4evaman turns a blind eye to these kind of conjectures. Frown

G4evaman is an assiduous and devoted admirer of Drug_B. He seems to regard him with pleasure, wonder, and approval and have a high opinion of; esteem or respect for him.

G4evaman turns a blind eye to these kind of conjectures. Frown

You are a little wuss . I don't agree with DrugB , in fact quite the opposite .

I take issue with the fact that you in your "rebuttals " to DrugB, you have degraded the dignity of those who actually have scrotal pathologies .

You are a selfish , conceited hypocrite .

I am doing great. Say hi to your better half. Certainly looking fwd to catch up. Big Grin
Smile

Hey cainsta wavey

I'm not trying to pick up for him . I just don't like the disparaging of those who actually have the referenced scrotal pathologies . Why demonize the condition : many young kids and men of all ages suffer from this condition ..why bring shame to them ?

Keep running away...

Anyway, don't lecture me, when you are morally bankrupt.

Morally bankrupt ..is this a term you learnt in your circle jerk group ?

Yes ..I did my 4.5 miles ..will restart my kickboxing regime this weekend ..

I'm not trying to pick up for him . I just don't like the disparaging of those who actually have the referenced scrotal pathologies . Why demonize the condition : many young kids and men of all ages suffer from this condition ..why bring shame to them ?

Drugman loves the attention, if it was the opposite he would have stopped his BS remarks which he does in all threads regardless.
Why stop the man's thrills?

Drugman loves the attention,

I could give 2 shits about who loves the attention . I made my point and with all respect due to the original poster of this thread, I will not hijack the thread . I'm done with this discussion .