OK Folks!

Guyana's politics will forever be dominated by the 2 major political parties---the PPP and the PNC(now rebranded APNU). So where does this leave the Alliance For Change(AFC) ?

The way the Rev sees it, the AFC will always be the party that attracts the disaffected, the discontented, the dissatisfied, and the disloyal PPP and PNC voters---the protest voters.

In 2006, PNC supporters who lost confidence in Corbin and the PNC demonstrated their discontentedness by voting for black Trotman and the AFC.

And in 2011, PPP supporters who lost confidence in the PPP government under Jagdeo protested by voting for East Indians Ramjattan and Nagamootoo of the AFC.

THE AFC WILL FOREVER BE THE 10% PARTY!

In 2006 the AFC received 8.4%(28,386) of the votes and in 2011 they received 10.3%(35,333) of the votes.

Like I said, the protest votes will always gravitate towards the AFC!

Now, the way the Rev sees it, the AFC with 10% of the votes and 7 seats in parliament has a pivotal role to play in Guyana's politics.

THE ROLE OF THE 10% AFC MUST BE TO KEEP THE 2 MAJOR PARTIES(PPP & PNC(APNU) HONEST.

Let's take a look at the breakdown of seats in the 2012 parliament:

32 seats...PPP

26 seats...PNC(apnu)

7 seats...AFC

QUESTION:

Which party in parliament should get the speakership ?

Nagamootoo and the AFC are hell-bent on assuming the speakership position.

WILL THE AFC BE BULLIED BY THE PNC(APNU) ?

If Ramjattan and the AFC acquiesce to Backer of the PNC(apnu) assuming the speaker's position, then the AFC will be viewed by their supporters as weak, impotent, feeble and flaccid.

Of course, if the AFC and PNC(apnu) cannot agree on who will be speaker---the PPP will be smiling broadly.

But back to the subject line:

THE AFC WILL FOREVER BE THE THE 10% PARTY IN GUYANA!

They will always suck up the disaffected voters of the 2 major parties.

But right now---with their 7 seats in parliament---the AFC can play a major role in Guyana's politics---unless they allow themselves to be bullied by the PNC(apnu).

We shall soon find out if Ramjattan and Nagamootoo are men or substance---or if they are limp dicks.

It's crystal clear---if PNC's Backer becomes speaker---Ramjattan and Nagas are flaccid---limp---weak.

This is the Rev's first post on this forum---it's quite tame by the Rev's standards. Looking forward to chatting with some of you.

LONG LIVE GUYANA! MAY THE COUNTRY CONTINUE TO STRIVE ECONOMICALLY!

Originally posted by Mitwah:
Rev, Welcome! I would prefer Guyana to "thrive" rather than "strive". Wink welcome

Thanks for the warm welcome Mitts!

Listen! Politically Guyana will always be chaotic--but economically the country will thrive and strive---the Rev sees good things on the horizon for Guyana economically.

RE: NAGAMOOTOO & THE SPEAKERSHIP

It is clear that the PNC is hostile to an East Indian from the AFC assuming that position.

Nagas is clearly qualified--but in the minds of Granger and the PNC---his East Indianness is a disqualifer.
Originally posted by redux:
Rev Al - another PPP troll . . . in the spirit of "T. King"

The Rev is man of honesty and integrity, so you can always expect the truth from me.

Now, I am not a member of any political party in Guyana.

I believe former President Jagdeo towards the end of his term had metamorphosized into an arrogant, conceited, egomanaical scoundrel.

It was Jagdeo's high-handedness and priggishness that turned off many of the PPP supporters and resulted in the party getting nearly 18,000 less votes in 2011 than it received in 2006.

2006...PPP received 183,867 votes(54.6%)

2011...PPP received 166,340 votes(48.6%)

RE: NAGAMOOTOO

I question his wisdom in departing the PPP when he did---after 50 years with the PPP---he chose to join the PNC LITE(AFC).

But now that Nagas is a member of the PNC LITE(AFC)---I believe he is eminently qualified for the speakership---and only his East Indianness will disqualify him---in the minds of the PNC.

Originally posted by Rev Al:
OK Folks!

Guyana's politics will forever be dominated by the 2 major political parties---the PPP and the PNC(now rebranded APNU). So where does this leave the Alliance For Change(AFC) ?

The way the Rev sees it, the AFC will always be the party that attracts the disaffected, the discontented, the dissatisfied, and the disloyal PPP and PNC voters---the protest voters.

In 2006, PNC supporters who lost confidence in Corbin and the PNC demonstrated their discontentedness by voting for black Trotman and the AFC.

And in 2011, PPP supporters who lost confidence in the PPP government under Jagdeo protested by voting for East Indians Ramjattan and Nagamootoo of the AFC.

In 2006 the AFC received 8.4%(28,386) of the votes and in 2011 they received 10.3%(35,333) of the votes.

Like I said, the protest votes will always gravitate towards the AFC!

Now, the way the Rev sees it, the AFC with 10% of the votes and 7 seats in parliament has a pivotal role to play in Guyana's politics.

THE ROLE OF THE 10% AFC MUST BE TO KEEP THE 2 MAJOR PARTIES(PPP & PNC(APNU) HONEST.

Let's take a look at the breakdown of seats in the 2012 parliament:

32 seats...PPP

26 seats...PNC(apnu)

7 seats...AFC

QUESTION:

Which party in parliament should get the speakership ?

Nagamootoo and the AFC are hell-bent on assuming the speakership position.

WILL THE AFC BE BULLIED BY THE PNC(APNU) ?

If Ramjattan and the AFC acquiesce to Backer of the PNC(apnu) assuming the speaker's position, then the AFC will be viewed by their supporters as weak, impotent, feeble and flaccid.

Of course, if the AFC and PNC(apnu) cannot agree on who will be speaker---the PPP will be smiling broadly.

But back to the subject line:

THE AFC WILL FOREVER BE THE THE 10% PARTY IN GUYANA!

They will always suck up the disaffected voters of the 2 major parties.

But right now---with their 7 seats in parliament---the AFC can play a major role in Guyana's politics---unless they allow themselves to be bullied by the PNC(apnu).

We shall soon find out if Ramjattan and Nagamootoo are men or substance---or if they are limp dicks.

It's crystal clear---if PNC's Backer becomes speaker---Ramjattan and Nagas are flaccid---limp---weak.

This is the Rev's first post on this forum---it's quite tame by the Rev's standards. Looking forward to chatting with some of you.

LONG LIVE GUYANA! MAY THE COUNTRY CONTINUE TO STRIVE ECONOMICALLY!

Are you come to us with special gifts of prophesy that you know the AFC will be a 10% party for ever? Why would APNU's political reasoning that they deserve the position be framed as bullying? Theres is a letitimate request as any.

The AFC cannot let the PPP have the position. That much is clear. They have legitimate reason in terms of power relations not to want it in the hands of the APNU. They Further have the power to hand it over to either of the two.

The PPP in their interest would not want it in the hands of the APNU. They know neither the AFC or the APNU can permit them to have it given their history in parlaiment and their habit of cutting everyone out of the loop when they can. It means that in terms of negotiation of power relations the can only play defense against the APNU getting the position.

The APNU wants it because they need some control of parliament. They also know the PPP is hostile to them and their only friend who can give them power is the AFC. They do not have much negotiation room in real terms except to come to some arrangement with the AFC. They tried to do so with offering a rotating speakership role. In ordinary terms this is a reasonable thing to do if it were a social position. This is a political position and the AFC reputation as independence is at stake. They cannot appear to be having a continuing alliance with the APNU.

As the scenario is set; the PPP should know by now they will never have it. They can offer as the the better deal to the AFC than the APNU has to give it to the AFC completely. Left with keeping the Peace, the AFC may have to take the first tenure of what ever split term the APNU proposes. They cannot take the second term since the APNU might not give it back and no constitutional authority exists for any to take it back. Secondly, elections may be called before the term is up.
Originally posted by D2:

As the scenario is set; the PPP should know by now they will never have it.

Listen D2:

The PPP controls the executive branch of government---that's good enough for them.

The PNC(26 seats) and the AFC(7 seats) have a combined 33 seats in the legislative branch---that's 1 seat more than the PPP.

So it is fair for an opposition member of parliament to assume the speakership position.

WHICH OPPOSITION PARTY WILL ASSUME THE SPEAKERSHIP---PNC OR AFC ?

The AFC is arguing that since the PNC will be opposition leader---it is only fair that the AFC assumes the speakership position.

And let's remember, those 7 AFC seats will be pivotal in the decision making process in parliament.

LISTEN! WHAT IT COMES DOWN TO IS TRUST.

Does the AFC trust the PNC to control the speakership position ?

or

Does the PNC trust the AFC to control the speakership position ?

Clearly Granger and the PNC do not trust AFC's Nagamootoo. They may have trusted Trotman more---Trotman is a former PNC bigwig---and he is black---Nagas East Indianness disqualifies him in the minds of the PNC.

Bottom line:

WITHOUT UNITY IN THE OPPOSITION---THE PPP WILL BE SMILING BROADLY!

Originally posted by D2:

As the scenario is set; the PPP should know by now they will never have it.

Listen D2:

The PPP controls the executive branch of government---that's good enough for them.

The PNC(26 seats) and the AFC(7 seats) have a combined 33 seats in the legislative branch---that's 1 seat more than the PPP.

So it is fair for an opposition member of parliament to assume the speakership position.

WHICH OPPOSITION PARTY WILL ASSUME THE SPEAKERSHIP---PNC OR AFC ?

The AFC is arguing that since the PNC will be opposition leader---it is only fair that the AFC assumes the speakership position.

And let's remember, those 7 AFC seats will be pivotal in the decision making process in parliament.

LISTEN! WHAT IT COMES DOWN TO IS TRUST.

Does the AFC trust the PNC to control the speakership position ?

and

Does the PNC trust the AFC to control the speakership position ?

Clearly Granger and the PNC do not trust AFC's Nagamootoo. They may have trusted Trotman more---Trotman is a former PNC bigwig---and he is black---Nagas East Indianness disqualifies him in the minds of the PNC.

Bottom line:

WITHOUT UNITY IN THE OPPOSITION---THE PPP WIL BE SMILING BROADLY!

The AFC cannot trust either party and should not. It should deal in tangibles. They have the upper hand on both of these competing groups and in them is invested the great hope that things can change. They are the reason the present dynamics of checkmating the PPP exists. On that account they should get the speakership role.

I care little for the postulations on what disqualifies Nagamotto. I know the adversarial competing roles and ingrained racism of each for the other is enough to cause apprehensions in both. I am not going to say the PNC is more racist than the PPP.

It is an idiot who say the opposition should be united on everything. That means the PPP is beyond redemption. That can never be the view since the objective is not to place blame but create systems that curtail the excesses of ethnic prejudices. The AFC is our last hope here since neither the PPP or the APNU has ever articulated the necessity for constitutional changes.

And what I said above is etched in stone. The PPP will not get the speakers role. That would be gross irresponsibility for the AFC since they are the only one who could give them the position. If they do, I will be the first one to decry their stupidity to the end of time. In this case it is better the APNU than the PPP...it is the mangy dog we hope wont bite us. The PPP always bite greedily and viciously. They did it for 20 years.
Originally posted by Nehru:
REv, I do not like and think Race should be an issue. It has to be about Competence. If it is NOT, then the whole Snakeoil Business of "CHANGE" was just that, SNAKEOIL.

Nehru:

There is no doubt in my mind that Deborah Backer of the PNC, Ralph Ramkarran of the PPP, and Moses Nagamootoo of the AFC are all eminently qualified to assume the speakership position.

But when I read the comments of PNC Granger dismissing and disparaging Nagamootoo as a candidate for speaker and calling for the AFC to present someone else, I am compelled to expose his prejudice against Nagas and his real motive.

THE TRUTH IS GRANGER AND THE PNC DO NOT TRUST EAST INDIAN NAGAMOOTOO.

I would be willing to wager that the PNC will be more amenable to AFC's Trotman as speaker---he is black and a former PNC member.

I am curious to see how this speakership position plays out---I rather suspect Ramjattan and Nagamootoo will be bullied by the PNC---and PNC Backer will be speaker.

If Nagas is denied the speakership---President Ramotar should bury the hatchet and offer him the Tourism Ministry. As a result, you will have:

32 PPP seats + 1 AFC seat = 33 seats in Parliament = MAJORITY. lolhahahahaha

The AFC cannot trust either party and should not.

You're speaking like an armchair politician. If there is no trust, there will be no cooperation. Anyone who wishes to see a stalemate in decision-making has a personal agenda and does not speak for of good Guyanese.

For an intelligent man, you're really getting politically dirty in your old days. If Guyana had a person like you to run the country, the whole country would vacate to no mans land.
Originally posted by ABIDHA:
The AFC cannot trust either party and should not.

You're speaking like an armchair politician. If there is no trust, there will be no cooperation. Anyone who wishes to see a stalemate in decision-making has a personal agenda and does not speak for of good Guyanese.

For an intelligent man, you're really getting politically dirty in your old days. If Guyana had a person like you to run the country, the whole country would vacate to no mans land.
I do not know there are field politicians! If the mediocre lot in office are the epitome of the elite among practicing politician then impoverished does not do justice to describing them. I also know many of them well and dare say can look them in the eye and make my points here quite nicely as well.

Guyana does not need me. It need my input. My children and my wife needs me more and they are tied to this place so alas my input is all that will be available at the moment.

And again, the AFC cannot trust those who live by distrust and greed.
Originally posted by ABIDHA:
"Recall legislation" mean anything to you . . . FOOL?!

So stupid . . . race drunkenness has rotted what's left of your brain.

Debate the issue rather than calling the man names. Intelligent people don't do the things you do. What make your knowledge on the subject, unique and factual?

What is there to debate? IDIOT!!

"Recall legislation" mean anything to you? . . . FOOL!

Race drunkenness has rotted what's left of your brain . . . smh

redux:

Why the cheap shot and boorishness in addressing the Rev ?

Didn't your parents teach you to be polite and cultured ?

Or do you just pride yourself in being nasty, rude, and uncouth ?

Listen, of course I am familiar with the recall legislation.

I wasn't suggesting that Nagas cross the floor---all he has to do is support the PPP now and then in parliament---32 + 1 = 33 Smilehahaha

By the way redux--its OK to disagree with the Rev--but please tone down the personal insults. No need to call me a fool. Thanks.

Originally posted by Inqubus:
gwan back to yuh temple rev your coolie flock is waiting.

Inqubus:

It's called a mandir. Smile

By the way, just like the N word is deemed to be derogatory by blacks---the C word is also deemed to be derogatory by many East Indians.

I am surprised this forum permits the C word to be tossed around.

The PPP makes NO DEALS. The Guyanese People have decided on Ramoutar for President. Executive Presidency has it's Previliges.

Bhai Nehru, don't swear on the PPP. Jagdeo made all kind of deals with Corbin. The people have voted against his monarchy. Politics is about making deals. If the PPP and the AFC can come together, we will have a win-win-win situation once they can agree on an agenda.
Bhai Mits, These are the FACTS" Trotman and the youth Arm of AFC would have to be killed before you see a merge between PPP and AFc. Secondly, have a talk with Moses NOW and he will tell you that he made a TERRIBLE MISTAKE. Remember how hot his FIRE was before Election? NOW, he mouth COLD like ICE. He anger and passion(And those were legitimate) have died down and so he can NOW think clearly.

Bhai, with all due respect, Jagdeo is history, there is a NEW Sheriff in Town.
Originally posted by Mitwah:
The PPP makes NO DEALS. The Guyanese People have decided on Ramoutar for President. Executive Presidency has it's Previliges.

Bhai Nehru, don't swear on the PPP. Jagdeo made all kind of deals with Corbin. The people have voted against his monarchy. Politics is about making deals. If the PPP and the AFC can come together, we will have a win-win-win situation once they can agree on an agenda.

"Recall legislation" mean anything to you? . . . FOOL!

Race drunkenness has rotted what's left of your brain . . . smh

redux:

Why the cheap shot and boorishness in addressing the Rev ?

Didn't your parents teach you to be polite and cultured ?

Or do you just pride yourself in being nasty, rude, and uncouth ?

Listen, of course I am familiar with the recall legislation.

I wasn't suggesting that Nagas cross the floor---all he has to do is support the PPP now and then in parliament---32 + 1 = 33 Smilehahaha

By the way redux--its OK to disagree with the Rev--but please tone down the personal insults. No need to call me a fool. Thanks.

'Rhevaherrend' [interesting choice of alternate nic] sir, I smelled your race obsessed stink coming a mile away . . . lucky that's all I'm permitted to call U on GNI!

redux:

The Rev is delighted to know that you have a superior sense of smell.

How about working on your sense of humor---you'll be less quarrelsome and definitely more good-natured. Smile

redux:

How about working on your sense of humor---you'll be less quarrelsome and definitely more good-natured. Smile

Sorry, I don't find race baiting for sport or cheap political gain funny!!

It is my contention that Nagamootoo's East Indianness disqualifies him as speaker in the minds of Granger and the PNC. Is that race baiting ? No!

Listen, The Rev is a very blunt and straightforward man---and the truths I espouse will in some instances offend some of you. It's easy to bawl and scream race-baiting when you can't handle the TRUTH.

Granger's lame and pathetic excuse for not supporting nagas is because of his long association with the PPP---a party nagas discarded.

THE TRUTH IS GRANGER AND THE PNC ARE REPELLED BY NAGAMOOTOO'S EAST-INDIANESS!

They are prejudiced in favor of a black speaker---which is their right.

They ought not lie about Nagas past association with the PPP----they ought to tell the truth---Nagas's East Indianness is a disqualifer for the PNC.

By the way, Trotman is secretly supporting PNC's Backer----TROTTY WILL ALWAYS HARBOR FEELINGS FOR THE PNC!

Let's see how this plays out.

It is my contention that Nagamootoo's East Indianness disqualifies him as speaker in the minds of Granger and the PNC. Is that race baiting ? No!

Listen, The Rev is a very blunt and straightforward man---and the truths I espouse will in some instances offend some of you. It's easy to bawl and scream race-baiting when you can't handle the TRUTH.

Granger's lame and pathetic excuse for not supporting nagas is because of his long association with the PPP---a party nagas discarded.

THE TRUTH IS GRANGER AND THE PNC ARE REPELLED BY NAGAMOOTOO'S EAST-INDIANESS!

They are prejudiced in favor of a black speaker---which is their right.

They ought not lie about Nagas past association with the PPP----they ought to tell the truth---Nagas's East Indianness is a disqualifer for the PNC.

By the way, Trotman is secretly supporting PNC's Backer----TROTTY WILL ALWAYS HARBOR FEELINGS FOR THE PNC!

Let's see how this plays out.

Just don't bitch & whine like a lil girl when people call you out, that's all . . . Rhevaherrend
HEHEHE FUNNY BUT TRUE partybanana partybanana yippie yippie

redux:

Rev Al - another PPP troll . . . in the spirit of "T. King"

The Rev is man of honesty and integrity, so you can always expect the truth from me.

Now, I am not a member of any political party in Guyana.

I believe former President Jagdeo towards the end of his term had metamorphosized into an arrogant, conceited, egomanaical scoundrel.

It was Jagdeo's high-handedness and priggishness that turned off many of the PPP supporters and resulted in the party getting nearly 18,000 less votes in 2011 than it received in 2006.

2006...PPP received 183,867 votes(54.6%)

2011...PPP received 166,340 votes(48.6%)

RE: NAGAMOOTOO

I question his wisdom in departing the PPP when he did---after 50 years with the PPP---he chose to join the PNC LITE(AFC).

But now that Nagas is a member of the PNC LITE(AFC)---I believe he is eminently qualified for the speakership---and only his East Indianness will disqualify him---in the minds of the PNC.

Rev, What kind of relationship do you suppose Ramjattan and Trotman have?

The gaumatie affair is not water under the bridge. Moses is throwing a wedge between the two leaders. Do you foresee a split in the future?.
Originally posted by Ramakant_p:

The gaumatie affair is not water under the bridge. Moses is throwing a wedge between the two leaders. Do you foresee a split in the future?.

Rama:

You have posed a good question. The Rev would postulate that there is a mutual respect between the 2 founders of the AFC, Trotman and Ramjattan.

But I rather suspect there is a deeper bonding and a deeper trust between Ramjattan and Nagas than between Ramjattan and Trotman.

Ramjattan supports Nagas 100% for the speakership position; Trotman does not.

And keep this in mind---in 2006 when Trotman was the AFC's presidential candidate---Ramjattan was his loyal deputy. But in 2011, when Ramjattan was the AFC's presidential candidate---Trotman initially chose not to be Ramjattan's deputy---Holder was. It was only after Holder pulled out because of health reasons---that's when Trotman agreed to run with Ramjattan.

By the 2016 general election, I wouldn't be surprised to see a split between Ramjattan and Trotman. There is also a good chance nagas may return to the PPP.

Originally posted by Gerhard Ramsaroop:
Maths question:

If in 2006 the AFC garnered 8% of the votes and then in 2011 gained 10%, how does that make the AFC the perpetual 10% party? Taking into further consideration that the latest gain by the AFC put the PPP Gov't in a minority position, for the first time since 1964.

Gerhard:

The Rev has always prided himself in being a man of numbers, and one of my mantras is:

NUMBERS DON'T LIE!

So let me assist you with your math question.

Regarding the AFC being the perpetual 10% party, let me remind you of the comment I made in the lead post:

Lets look at the AFC total votes in 2006 and 2011:

2006...AFC received 28366 votes(8.4%)

2011...AFC received 35333 votes(10.3%)

So The AFC gained 6967 votes--not bad--looks like the AFC performs better with an East Indian leader.

Now Gerhard, let's examine the votes more closely by region.

In 2006 when black Trotman was the AFC's presidential candidate---PNC supporters who had lost confidence in Corbin and the PNC protested by voting for Trotman and the AFC---the AFC received 3166 votes in Region 10 and 13876 votes in Region 4.

In 2011 when East Indian Ramjattan was the AFC's presidential candidate---the PNC supporters who had previously supported black Trotman and the AFC went home---and it was the PPP supporters who had lost confidence in PPP who voted for the AFC.

Let's take a look at the numbers in 3 regions---Region 4, 6, and 10:

REGION 6---nagas territory

2006...Trotman's AFC received 3091 votes

2011...Ramjattan/Nagamootoo's AFC received 11634 votes

THE AFC PICKED UP 8453 VOTES IN REGION 6 ALONE.

REGION 10---linden

2006...Trotman's AFC received 3166 votes

2011...Ramjattan's AFC received 1324 votes

THE AFC LOST 1842 votes---no black Trotty, so PNC voters went back home.

REGION 4

2006...Trotman's AFC received 13876 votes

2011...Ramjattan's AFC received 10635 votes

THE AFC LOST 3241 votes---again, no black Trotty the PNC voters went back home.

CONCLUSION:

When the AFC's presidential candidate is east Indian---disillusioned PPP voters will protest and vote for the AFC; when the AFC's presidential candidate is black---disillusioned PNC(apnu) voters will protest and vote for the AFC.

If Trotman or Hughes is the AFC's presidential candidate in 2016---the AFC will lose votes in Region 6 and also region 5---PPP strongholds.

It would be interesting if Nagas is the AFC's presidential candidate in 2016---in that case the AFC may be able to add a few thousand votes to the 35333 votes they received in 2011.

BOTTOM LINE: The AFC will always attract the protest votes---hence will forever be the 10% party.

THE REV HAS SPOKEN---THE TRUTH AS USUAL. Smile

Originally posted by Ramakant_p:

Rama:

You have posed a good question. The Rev would postulate that there is a mutual respect between the 2 founders of the AFC, Trotman and Ramjattan.

But I rather suspect there is a deeper bonding and a deeper trust between Ramjattan and Nagas than between Ramjattan and Trotman.

Ramjattan supports Nagas 100% for the speakership position; Trotman does not.

And keep this in mind---in 2006 when Trotman was the AFC's presidential candidate---Ramjattan was his loyal deputy. But in 2011, when Ramjattan was the AFC's presidential candidate---Trotman initially chose not to be Ramjattan's deputy---Holder was. It was only after Holder pulled out because of health reasons---that's when Trotman agreed to run with Ramjattan.

By the 2016 general election, I wouldn't be surprised to see a split between Ramjattan and Trotman. There is also a good chance nagas may return to the PPP.

Thanks!! If Moses returned to the PPP, he will have to do some serious Sucking up. I hope he has good knee pads..
Originally posted by Gerhard Ramsaroop:
Maths question:

If in 2006 the AFC garnered 8% of the votes and then in 2011 gained 10%, how does that make the AFC the perpetual 10% party? Taking into further consideration that the latest gain by the AFC put the PPP Gov't in a minority position, for the first time since 1964.

Gerhard:

The Rev has always prided himself in being a man of numbers, and one of my mantras is:

NUMBERS DON'T LIE!

So let me assist you with your math question.

Regarding the AFC being the perpetual 10% party, let me remind you of the comment I made in the lead post:

Lets look at the AFC total votes in 2006 and 2011:

2006...AFC received 28366 votes(8.4%)

2011...AFC received 35333 votes(10.3%)

So The AFC gained 6967 votes--not bad--looks like the AFC performs better with an East Indian leader.

Now Gerhard, let's examine the votes more closely by region.

In 2006 when black Trotman was the AFC's presidential candidate---PNC supporters who had lost confidence in Corbin and the PNC protested by voting for Trotman and the AFC---the AFC received 3166 votes in Region 10 and 13876 votes in Region 4.

In 2011 when East Indian Ramjattan was the AFC's presidential candidate---the PNC supporters who had previously supported black Trotman and the AFC went home---and it was the PPP supporters who had lost confidence in PPP who voted for the AFC.

Let's take a look at the numbers in 3 regions---Region 4, 6, and 10:

REGION 6---nagas territory

2006...Trotman's AFC received 3091 votes

2011...Ramjattan/Nagamootoo's AFC received 11634 votes

THE AFC PICKED UP 8453 VOTES IN REGION 6 ALONE.

REGION 10---linden

2006...Trotman's AFC received 3166 votes

2011...Ramjattan's AFC received 1324 votes

THE AFC LOST 1842 votes---no black Trotty, so PNC voters went back home.

REGION 4

2006...Trotman's AFC received 13876 votes

2011...Ramjattan's AFC received 10635 votes

THE AFC LOST 3241 votes---again, no black Trotty the PNC voters went back home.

CONCLUSION:

When the AFC's presidential candidate is east Indian---disillusioned PPP voters will protest and vote for the AFC; when the AFC's presidential candidate is black---disillusioned PNC(apnu) voters will protest and vote for the AFC.

If Trotman or Hughes is the AFC's presidential candidate in 2016---the AFC will lose votes in Region 6 and also region 5---PPP strongholds.

It would be interesting if Nagas is the AFC's presidential candidate in 2016---in that case the AFC may be able to add a few thousand votes to the 35333 votes they received in 2011.

BOTTOM LINE: The AFC will always attract the protest votes---hence will forever be the 10% party.

THE REV HAS SPOKEN---THE TRUTH AS USUAL. Smile

Dem AFC bais gon always gi da Govt lil prablims. But mi tink coolie, chinee, putagee, buck gon vote PPP, Afro and most dugla gon vote PNC. Nuff coolie nah trust dem Afro bais no moo, dem a split coolie vote and leh PNC win. Datt's a big prablim foa AFC come 2014. PNC win = PNC + GDF rule Guyana foa nex 50 years.