Far as I remember a couple of my klan are out there
Remind me, who is your klan?
I am coming back in August, Edmonton first then to Calgary.
I will be in Guyana February. Lemme know when Ywal be visiting.
Of course.
Hardly any Guyanese Here , I don't expect any replies.
@Twentyfourhourpharmacy posted:Hardly any Guyanese Here , I don't expect any replies.
LOL gyal all abee ah Guyanese
I meant calgary. No guyanese here.
@Twentyfourhourpharmacy posted:I meant calgary. No guyanese here.
Yes you are pretty much correct. When I was in Banff this summer there were lots of Indians and Paks visiting there, very few colored I noticed.
Even walking along Stephen Ave hardly any WI, I noticed. No WI food either to order in the area I was staying at
Nothing Guyanese here.
I have to get narines bread , salara , katahar , wiri wiri, indi curry and Masala from Toronto.
Its nice area though. But I found that many shops close up early. Core Shopping Centre I think had something close to WI food
My daughterâs friend is there..she toldme there r Indian shops there so she gets masala etc.
i know a few Gyese up there..friends of friends..cuz etc..but they r not on gni..lol
@Twentyfourhourpharmacy posted:I meant calgary. No guyanese here.
Guyanese Canadian Cultural Association,
712 5 Street SE Calgary, AB T2G 2W8, (403) 259-3780
Try them.
That can't be true?
How well do you know calgary ? Mitwah?
That address is THE EAST VILLAGE
That's by Good earth Cafe, central library, superstore.
@Twentyfourhourpharmacy posted:Remind me, who is your klan?
My son lives out there. I recall going to a Trini place several years ago dunno if they are still around.
I live in North Ont and the only thing I get up here is plantain and cassava...which I am surprised they carry.
DG on this forum lives in Calgary.
@Sunil posted:DG on this forum lives in Calgary.
How is he doing?
I just checked and saw that the last time he logged in to the forum was Jan last year
Maybe he passed away? I think his name is Hamid Rahim. Maybe someone here knows him?
He last visited GNI Jan. 4, 2023, 4:08pm.
Is this him:
Rahim, Hamid was born 20 September 1943, died 26 February 2023, and was buried 28 February 2023 in location F - 5 - 27 in Edmonton Muslim Cemetery (Islamic Funeral Society) in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada.
oh ***, yeah thats him. Oh my so sorry to know. This is his profile on the Forum, I can disclose it now.
So sorry. Deepest condolences to his family. My brother got along great with him here and used to tease him about his Harrison Ford photo, doffing his hat, etc. I used to wonder why he stopped posting. He was here a long time, and was a Moderator. He checked here a few weeks before his passing. I guess he was 80.
Sorry to hear, RIP Hamid.
Oh my, he was a good guy , but he was such a drama king .
Anyway , I will miss you demerara guy. Condolences to his family.
HAMID, Mohammed Zinuel Aberdeen Mr. Mohammed Zinuel Aberdeen Hamid, passed away at the age of 75, peacefully in his sleep, on the afternoon of September 26th, at Grandview Extended Care in Edmonton. He was the youngest of eight children and the last to pass on, of his brothers and sisters. His spirit and memory, however, lives on, in his four wonderful children, Saleena, Abida, Syed and Samir and his two beautiful grandchildren, Ariana and Devon and his extended family and friends. He worked most of his life as a bookkeeper in Guyana and then in Canada, and then in retirement, was active with his volunteer work. He was a gentleman and a very charming person. He will be very fondly remembered for his wonderful sense of humor, his love for movies and music, his talent with the pool cue, his love of singing and playing the guitar, his volunteer work in the community, and most of all, for his deep sentiment and love for his children and grandchildren and devotion to all his family. He will be greatly missed by all that knew him as he was very deeply loved.
Condolences to his family. May he RIP.
My symphathy go out to his family, RIP bud.
CondolencesâĶ
I didnt realize DG was that old..( would have been 80 if he was born in 1943)
RIP
He had Wakenaam connections
RIP
So very sorry to hear of DG passing.
May he rest in Peace.
One of the loyal members of this forum from way back.
@Villagebelle posted:So very sorry to hear of DG passing.
May he rest in Peace.
One of the loyal members of this forum from way back.
He was indeed very loyal. I remember his participation and contributions especially on the Bollywood Forum.
A large Guyanese family, last name Van Sertima, is in Alberta and has been there since the early 1970s.
@Lynn posted:CondolencesâĶ
I didnt realize DG was that old..( would have been 80 if he was born in 1943)
RIP
He had Wakenaam connections
RIP
Yeh Zed was his family.
@antabanta posted:A large Guyanese family, last name Van Sertima, is in Alberta and has been there since the early 1970s.
i knew a Mala V S from high sch..she was a yr or 2 my senior ..
i think she lived in MMZ
@Lynn posted:i knew a Mala V S from high sch..she was a yr or 2 my senior ..
i think she lived in MMZ
She's my cousin. Her mom's name is Doris nee Van Sertima. We used to visit them frequently in MMZ.
@antabanta posted:She's my cousin. Her mom's name is Doris nee Van Sertima. We used to visit them frequently in MMZ.
Sml world..she was a very quiet n nice young lady
@Lynn posted:Sml world..she was a very quiet n nice young lady
Indeed. Interesting you know her as a Van Sertima when that's her mother's maiden name.
@antabanta posted:Indeed. Interesting you know her as a Van Sertima when that's her mother's maiden name.
yes..that was the name she used in sch..Mala Van Sertima. I am not certain..she have have had a bro in high sch as well..long time ago so i may be wrong)