December 5 ,2020

In keeping with a commitment by his party to inclusive governance, President Irfaan Ali yesterday announced that he has invited all former presidents to a meeting on December 15th to discuss national development.

“It will be an open-flow meeting where we bring together all the former presidents. I think that it will be an opportunity for us to continue to share ideas, generate ideas to talk about how we see Guyana’s development from our different perspectives; and then to work out a model and a framework of how we engage in the future and how we have continuous contribution,” Ali said on the sidelines of the launch of the Canada Guyana Chamber of Commerce yesterday afternoon at the Arthur Chung Conference Centre.

The living former presidents are Bharrat Jagdeo, who is now Vice President, Donald Ramotar, Samuel Hinds and Ali’s immediate predecessor, David Granger.

Ali said that all of the invitations went out yesterday andt could not readily say if there has yet been confirmation by any of the former presidents.

Granger, who has kept a low profile since demitting office at the start of August, could not be reached for comment.

Former President Donald Ramotar confirmed receipt of his invitation and he said he looks forward to what he explained will be a working lunch engagement with Guyana’s new President.

He said that he remains optimistic that Granger would form an active part of the engagement, putting the country ahead of any personal feelings he may harbour towards Ali or his PPP/C.

Sources close to the PPP/C told this newspaper that it is “a given” that both former presidents Hinds and Jagdeo would be present.

At his inauguration, Ali had noted the PPP/C’s pledge to pursue inclusionary Constitutional Governance in its manifesto and emphasised his intention to see implementation.

“To do so will require certain constitutional reforms which we will be formulated in consultation with the people. We will conduct a national conversation in which all ideas will contend, and all voices will be heard,” he had said then.

The living former presidents are Bharrat Jagdeo, who is now Vice President, Donald Ramotar, Samuel Hinds and Ali’s immediate predecessor, David Granger.

Biggest joke for the year, three of the past Presidents are from the PPP and they all tow the same line.

They are all ex-presidents. Give them credit regardless of which party they are from. This is an excellent gesture by president Ali to invite them. Granger would be there to represent his views. Django, there is no joke about the four former leaders. The joke is on you for casting doubt before the meeting takes place and concluded. People like you are destroying Guyana.

Viper
@Viper posted:

They are all ex-presidents. Give them credit regardless of which party they are from. This is an excellent gesture by president Ali to invite them. Granger would be there to represent his views. Django, there is no joke about the four former leaders. The joke is on you for casting doubt before the meeting takes place and concluded. People like you are destroying Guyana.

Three past Presidents from 1997 to 2015 ,the country still above Haiti ,what can they bring to the table ? who alyuh fooling ?

@Ramakant-P posted:

So what? Burnham and Hoyte are dead. They cannot come back from the grave, only to vote. Corbin once said that dialogue is a big step towards cooperation between the parties. I agree with him. It shows that PPP is an inclusive party. Nearly 50% of parliamentarians are non-Indians. Lots of blacks have been hired into prestigious positions. Only 5% of Indians were hired by the PNC coalition.

My post is missed by miles !!!!

@Ramakant-P posted:

Your post is prejudiced against an elected government. The PPP meant well and you are insinuating that there is racism involved here.

Are you serious ? read it again.

@Ramakant-P posted:

Biggest joke for the year, three of the past Presidents are from the PPP and they all tow the same line.

They tow the same line , Ali is inviting them for talks on Development. Read my posts why it's joke of the year .

Civil Society Organizations and the Opposition Political parties should be invited to have discussions on Development not past Presidents.

Jagdeo, incognito Ramotar, Hinds and Ali. Shyte, these ppl are hilarious. Indoes noted to swallow this crap. Hinds was not trusted by the PPP, instead of only having Hinds and Janet on the ticket they included Jagdeo. The man muss be the Khan of Guyana, charmed in some special way.

Granger is no different than Ali, Hinds and Ramotar, all absolutely useless as a bicycle tube with a hole in it.

Dem razz nevah do anything fuh the country.

Perhaps Ali is trying to be conciliatory but four times zero is still zero. All of them sitting at that table have presided over Guyana's descent into the sewer. Separately they were zeroes and together they will be the same.

This is just going thru the motions to show the western world that there is "collaboration" and "inclusiveness". Typical Guyanese stylee. Big lunches, much fanfare and at the end a lump of shit in every Guyanese stocking.

@Ramakant-P posted:

Are saying that the dialogue is a waste of time.   It is not crap, only in your mind.  Granger was invited because he is the only opposition President alive today. It is very inclusive.  You are one of many cynics who are routing for the Government to fail. Am I not right?

e invite dem fo drink rum.  Granger should not go.

@Ramakant-P posted:

Are saying that the dialogue is a waste of time.   It is not crap, only in your mind.  Granger was invited because he is the only opposition President alive today. It is very inclusive.  You are one of many cynics who are routing for the Government to fail. Am I not right?

A Rebel can't come soon enough. YUh know when good ppl tek over a country all dem crooks in the country heads up to America. Plenty already gat property waitin fuh dem.

@seignet posted:

A Rebel can't come soon enough. YUh know when good ppl tek over a country all dem crooks in the country heads up to America. Plenty already gat property waitin fuh dem.

But in Guyana, they all return for more free milk and honey.

Going to be a helluva meeting. Ali eating some fluffy roti.

Rat Man sitting in a corner reading "A Destiny to mould".

Hinds smiling without knowing why

Donald drinking XM

Granger sleeping and nodding like he know wha going on.

Then a puff of smoke and Forbes appears with a low growl "the audacity of you buffoons to convene a gathering without my presence" as they all fall to their knees.

Donald drinking XM

Then a puff of smoke and Forbes appears with a low growl "the audacity of you buffoons to convene a gathering without my presence" as they all fall to their knees.

Now that's a joke. You sound just like Auntie Cumsie.

@Tola posted:

But in Guyana, they all return for more free milk and honey.

Instead of Forbes visiting from the dead, Kofi goan get reborn. Dis time dey goan get his name rite, instead of Cuffy and the poor image of him at the Square of the Revolution.

@seignet posted:

Instead of Forbes visiting from the dead, Kofi goan get reborn. Dis time dey goan get his name rite, instead of Cuffy and the poor image of him at the Square of the Revolution.

True dat Siggy. Cuffy wuz we fuss "leader" of sorts. He should be at the meeting. Maybe he can tell them what to do with the sugar industry.

Donald drinking XM

You 'feget' about dem eating from a Purine leaf wid dem fingers. Sitting next to each other and don't-give-ah-dam about COVID.

To show how poorly thought out this is, despite any good intentions that may exist, of far greater use would be inviting people to a sit down on our RACE problem! Everyone avoids the elephant in the room, choosing to muse over useless shit like having 5 half dead, DUMB, mofos eating and drinking at the state's expense, claiming they talking about "development".

What development can there be if the RACE issue is not addressed? There needs to be a sit down about this, and not ONLY for heads of state. There must be representatives from the African and Indian communities. People like Dev, the PPPites, the PNCites, David Hinds, etc. to hash out our differences and WHY we are afraid of each other.

I predict NONE of these dummies will do that.

Secondly, if you want to have "talks on development" why is it limited to only 5 dotish people? This reeks of elitism. You mean there is NO ONE ELSE in Guyana with ideas for development? Why not drill down into the lower ranks of those administrations and invite those people for a much larger discussion.

And it shouldn't be a one time fete with liquor. These people are jokers.

This is a discussion among former Presidents.  They have lots of discussions in cabinet meetings.  The PNC had their chance to do something about the economy but they didn't care because it was said that it was the Indians who will benefit more.

‘Reject the invite’

December 6 ,2020

Political Scientist, Dr. David Hinds

– coalition supporters tell Granger ex-presidents confab is for PPP propaganda
– say Ali is playing games

Former President and Leader of the A Partnership for National Unity + Alliance For Change (APNU+AFC), David Granger should reject President Irfaan Ali’s invitation to meet with him along with the other past presidents, Political Scientist, Dr. David Hinds said as he questioned the motive of the meeting.

“In my humble opinion, the president is playing games. You either want to meet with the opposition or you don’t,” Dr. Hinds said.

On Friday, President Ali disclosed that he invited the country’s former presidents – David Granger, Bharrat Jagdeo, Donald Ramotar and Samuel Hinds – to a high-level meeting on December 15, 2020 to discuss Guyana’s development.

“It will be an open floor meeting where we will bring together all the former Presidents. I think it is an opportunity for us to continue to share ideas, generate ideas, talk about how we see Guyana’s development and to work out a model and a framework on how we engage on the future and how we have continuous contribution,” the President explained.

But Dr. Hinds, in his weekly Sunday column in this publication, questioned the real purpose of the meeting. “And what is the objective of this meeting, may I ask? Mr. Ali sees three of those ex-presidents at PPP meetings as they all belong to the same party. He sees Mr. Jagdeo more often as the latter works in his office and belongs to the Cabinet. So, what does he want to say to them that requires the presence of Mr. Granger? Is he inviting Mr. Granger to a PPP executive meeting?” he questioned.

The Political Scientist said while on the surface, the meeting with all the past presidents sounds like a noble undertaking, Guyanese ought not to forget that it was President Ali, who indicated that he will not recognise the Leader of the Opposition, Joseph Harmon until the People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) is recognised as a legitimate government.

“The president is looking for a photo-opportunity—pure and simple. He wants to use this confab to signal to the diplomatic community that he is an inclusive leader. It is the kind of window-dressing that has been part of the PPP’s approach to governance since the 1950s,” Dr. Hinds said.

He added: “Since coming to power four months ago it has governed with a political sledgehammer which it has mercilessly used on members and supporters of Mr. Granger’s party. Now, he wants to meet Mr. Granger with three of his comrades at the table—to discuss what? The PPP is playing smart without being clever.”

Dr. Hinds said Granger should not attend that meeting. He said any meeting between the president and the opposition must be direct.

CGID President Rickford Burke

President of the Caribbean Guyana Institute for Democracy (CGID), Rickford Burke a strong supporter of the coalition also in a letter to Granger on Saturday, urged the former president not to accept President Ali’s invitation in light of Government’s stance not to recognise the Opposition Leader.

“First, the constitution mandates the President to consult with, and in some instances seek the approval of, the Opposition Leader, before certain decisions and apportionments are effected.

Consequently, Mr. Ali’s expressed position is repugnant to the constitution. Your acceptance of

Mr. Ali’s invitation will in great measure grant legitimacy to Mr. Ali’s unlawful and patently egregious conduct. It will also confer validity on his nefarious attempt to hijack the coalition’s agenda and direct its posture on the legality of the fraudulent PPP government,” Burke said.

Further the CGID President accused the Ali Administration of launching a “war” on Afro Guyanese and supporters of the country, even as it embarks on ethnocracy in the management of the country.

“They have fired 990 Afro-Guyanese, falsely arrested and wrongfully charged Afro-Guyanese officials from GECOM, the PNCR and the Afro- Guyanese head of NICIL, without just cause. The lands and property of Afro-Guyanese citizens are being unlawfully seized; as the PPP regime attempt to reverse decisions by your government on some whimsical, arbitrary, albeit unlawful, crack-pot determination that the APNU+AFC coalition government was unlawful,” Burke pointed out.

Like Dr. Hinds, the CGID President, expressed the view that Al’s government is not interested in genuine consultation. “They are inciting ethnic and political confrontation while extending an olive branch to you in isolation. The open contempt they have deliberately demonstrated towards you, your party, as well as the coalition’s leadership, and the opposition leader, belies Mr. Ali’s intent to create a political gimmick with such a meeting. This must be summarily rejected,” he told the former president.

He said Guyanese and supporters of the coalition, must have unfettered access to lease or purchase state lands and property; government contracts; credit and financing for small, medium and large scale businesses; investments in the oil and gas sector and transformational development projects, as well as equitable, secured and hassle free employment in the public sector. Further, he said that the charges against the GECOM, NICIL and APNU+AFC officials must be terminated.

Hinds and Burke are correct. As I said this is useless. If Ali and Ratman are truly interested in "development" then the race issue with involvement from true representatives of Africans and Indians is where to start.

Imagine the audacity of these PPP clowns to think they can sit down with one black man for a photo op and then claim "inclusiveness" LOL.

Guyana has a policy/agreement where the President and the Leader of the Opposition meet on a regular basis to discuss issues.

Trust/distrust is a personal matter for each individual while the policy to regularly meet is paramount.

Guyana has a policy/agreement where the President and the Leader of the Opposition meet on a regular basis to discuss issues.

Trust/distrust is a personal matter for each individual while the policy to regularly meet is paramount.

That's true ,Irfaan Ali trying to change the modus opeandi .

This is not a proposed meeting by A president and A opposition leader.

Granger is being invited in his capacity as past opposition leader, together with all past and present PPP presidents.  In this proposed meeting trust/distrust is not a personal matter, but a political one.

Build personal trust first, before having a political discussion.   

@Django posted:

That's true ,Irfaan Ali trying to change the modus opeandi .

Irfaan Ali is not changing the modus operandi. He has scheduled a meeting with past/former presidents.

On the meetings between the current President and Opposition Leader, it is the Opposition Leader who does not recognize the current government; hence his refusal to meet with President Irfaan Ali.

Irfaan Ali is not changing the modus operandi. He has scheduled a meeting with past/former presidents.

On the meetings between the current President and Opposition Leader, it is the Opposition Leader who does not recognize the current government; hence his refusal to meet with President Irfaan Ali.

Then Granger should decline the invitation.

Was it not the same after the 2015 elections ?

@Django posted:

Was it not the same after the 2015 elections ?

Django --

For the 2015 elections, indeed the PPP/C did not attend parliament on the opening date -- hence it boycotted at that time -- protesting the manner in which the elections were conducted.

However, the PPP/C returned to parliament in mid August, 2015;about three months later since the May 11, 2015 elections and functioned fully in the proceedings and activities in the parliament.

Django --

For the 2015 elections, indeed the PPP/C did not attend parliament on the opening date -- hence it boycotted at that time -- protesting the manner in which the elections were conducted.

However, the PPP/C returned to parliament in mid August, 2015;about three months later since the May 11, 2015 elections and functioned fully in the proceedings and activities in the parliament.

Including the ruckus in Parliament ,then by 2018 the plan was hatched to overthrow the Government.