https://newssourcegy.com/wp-content/themes/main/timthumb.php?src=https%3A%2F%2Fnewssourcegy.com%2Fwp-content%2Fuploads%2F2020%2F02%2FScreen-Shot-2020-02-06-at-12.23.49-PM.png&q=90&w=795&zc=1

February 6, 2020

Ali told hundreds of residents of the largely Agricultural Island that when the PPP was in government, it had already negotiated with one of the leading distributors in the Caribbean to sell plantain chips under the brand ‘Island Chips’.

The debate around the growing plantain chip industry and its potential has once again resurfaced and this time, the PPP’s Presidential Candidate, Irfaan Ali, believes that the product is one which his party understands better than the government. 

Ali made the assertion on Tuesday while addressing residents of Wakenaam – a small island which sits at the mouth of the Essequibo River and has a population of just under 4,000 people. 

The PPP has traditionally enjoyed the support of residents of the Island. 

Ali told hundreds of residents of the largely Agricultural Island that when the PPP was in government, it had already negotiated with one of the leading distributors in the Caribbean to sell plantain chips under the brand ‘Island Chips’. 

“The brand was island chips, and we were going to have this distributor distribute the plantain chips all across the Caribbean,” he shared, adding that plantain chips are imported in large quantities in all CARICOM countries, including Guyana, and it would have been a great opportunity for this country to capitalize on.  

“We lost that opportunity because we did not have a government that understood how it [plantain chips] is connected to the international community and regional community” the Presidential Candidate posited. 

In 2016 though, the coalition government built a chips factory in a neighbouring Island – Leguan – but it is yet to be operationalized.

The factory is one of four projects – two chip factories and two call centres – under the $1B Rural Development Fund. 

Against that backdrop, Ali urged residents to take into consideration that it is “serious business” when they are voting, and they should not give support to a party which is there to “experiment”. 

“It is about who has a better vision and strategy which makes us all better” he said, implying that his party does. 

But this reliance on plantain chip as an economic activity is one which starkly contradicts the previously held position of the party. 

It was only last year the PPP General Secretary, Bharrat Jagdeo took aim at President Granger for saying that job creation can start with the selling of plantain chips. 

“It may start with plantain chips… small things could end up big,” Granger said at a press conference in 2017. 

Subsequently, the PPP and Jagdeo criticized the President and made fun of his position on plantain chips.

Jagdeo even criticized the incumbent administration and said it was creating a “plantain chip economy,” and what is needed is the provision of jobs in the emerging oil and gas sector. 

“What do we say to our children after you work hard and send them to school and to university and they get qualified? How do we say to them that they have to go and sell plantain chips on the street side? We want jobs in oil and gas for our children” Jagdeo had shared back in 2018. 

It is believed that Guyana imports more than $150 Million annually in plantain chips.(by Ravin Singh)

That’s very good if he tout plantain chip factory.. jobs creation.

currently Guyana is importing plantain chips from Trinidad and China, including bottle  fry Channa ( chick peas) 

My ex used to  wholesale , packaged plantain chips, peanuts ,channa  and salt sew ,her father had a shop ,grew up in small business.

I can recall bags of peanuts came from Pomeroon.

Ha..Ha.. ha.. Granger got bad mouthed when mentioned  production of plantain chips.

Wait till Sean from inside de gutter read dis he gotta complain...he did when Granger announced it..should be fun

My ex used to  wholesale , packaged plantain chips, peanuts ,channa  and salt sew ,her father had a shop ,grew up in small business.

You had an X.

Bai, that is a long story. Na go near deh, it going to start trouble. 

Ha..Ha.. ha.. Granger got bad mouthed when mentioned  production of plantain chips.

Granger is all talk and no action, it take the PPP to get things done. Where is Granger plantain factory, coconut oil factory and cassava mill???

Well, the famous phrase is Afros can't run cake shop and plantain chip business is not good. The coolie believes that sit at you bottom house and drinking piss is better than making plantain chip for a living. Where are my well informed PPP lungeras? 

There is a difference. PNC can’t run a cake shop and only talking about plantain chips factories. Dem can’t build shyte.

PPP will actually build them factories and export too. I am tired of eating plantain chips made in Jamaica while plantains rotting in Guyana.

PNC can’t even build a good toilet.

hey hey hey 

You had an X.

Are you in la..la..land ? life goes on banna ,properties ,one in the homeland and the other here ,still owned jointly.

You had an X.

Are you in la..la..land ? life goes on banna ,properties ,one in the homeland and the other here ,still owned jointly.

Wait a second hay ... so you marrying them woman this for their property.. 

You had an X.

Wait a second hay ... so you marrying them woman this for their property.. 

No Sir ,we both worked and obtained them. The other one with my current partner is the same. Enough said , just saying there is no greed, let's get back to the discussion on the thread.

Well, the famous phrase is Afros can't run cake shop and plantain chip business is not good. The coolie believes that sit at you bottom house and drinking piss is better than making plantain chip for a living. Where are my well informed PPP lungeras? 

The selling of plantain chips, black pudding etc. is used here NUMEROUS times to ridicule black people, while portraying Indians in Guyana as captains of industry. Ask yuh fren Princess Kaz in Florida, he can repeat the lines ova and ova again.

Now comes fat ass Ali and he plantain chip factory and suddenly all de PPP morons hay who cuss black man now muttering "mmmm hmmm...ah wan good idea bai". SMFH.

Plantain Chip Stand VS Plantain Chip Factory are not the same BUT dummies will not know. Location!! Location!! A Plantain Chip Factory in Waakenam will result in Jobs, Exports, community development. Anyone knows the status of the Pig Farm in Buxton??

Idiot, wheh yuh tink black man used to get the plantain chips from? You think they used to buy it and resell it? Rabbi Washington had a plantain chip factory, dat mek he wan mogul?. Did you praise him as a business mogul while you had yuh PNC card and was scamming people coming thru customs?

Rabbi exported his chips to buxton and agricola

Yuh know what's funny about alyuh Indian racists? Plenty, PLENTY, Indian people used to mek and sell dahl puri, potato ball, etc. by the roadside. They put their children through school doing that honest, hard work.

Some black people used to do the same thing by making cook up rice, baked goods, black pudding, plantain chips etc and selling it to get by. Just like some Indians. Yet bigots like you made fun of them and painted them as a lower form of life, inferior to the "mighty Indian".

Alyuh Indians posting hay is a special kind of bigot. Not surprised all of you are part of the PPP.

You are obsessed with your ignorance and lack of comprehension!! No one said Entrepreneurship is bad. They are pointing out the lack of vision, intelligence and knowledge of the incompetent PNC.

ah shut yuh schupid, lying ass! Fluffing yuh EVERY post wid words like ignorance, comprehension, intelligence, compassion, integrity, honor etc. just to tek up space.

Banna, yuh hatred fuh black man is KNOWN! Right hay, alyuh ridicule po black people fuh selling plantain chips while po Indians selling potato ball branded as "entrepreneurial". Dat is a fact. Guh ask yuh neighba Ganga.

Indian PPP comrades you should respect Black people hard work in Guyana. Comrade King make it easy for us to come here. Comrade Granger is a good exemplary human, so is comrade Nagamootoo. Comrade Ali not saying nothing new.

Zara posted:

Indian PPP comrades you should respect Black people hard work in Guyana. Comrade King make it easy for us to come here. Comrade Granger is a good exemplary human, so is comrade Nagamootoo. Comrade Ali not saying nothing new.

A Neemakaram Crabdaag is respected by low lives raw sewage like you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

ILLITERATE GARBAGE, A GOVT ADVOCATING PLANTAIN CHIP STAND IS NOT THE SAME AS A PLANTAIN CHIP FACTORY LOCATED AT THE SOURCE.  You are beyond a CLOWN. Grow a friggin brain!!

You are the personification of illiteracy. Plantain chip stand is a microcosm of what will become the larger industry. It demonstrates demand and small people stepping up to fill it until a more commercial enterprise emerges.

The little roti shops in NY are another example. Sybils used to cater to early Guyanese immigrants before 5 stores emerged. It's how they start you imbecile.

NO ONE gets into a large commercial enterprise without demonstrated demand. And here comes you, laughing at a poor black man mekking and selling he plantain chips but lauding Mr. Ali for the larger enterprise. That is the CLOWN that you are!

“The brand was island chips, and we were going to have this distributor distribute the plantain chips all across the Caribbean,” he shared, adding that plantain chips are imported in large quantities in all CARICOM countries, including Guyana, and it would have been a great opportunity for this country to capitalize on.  

But this reliance on plantain chip as an economic activity is one which starkly contradicts the previously held position of the party. 

It was only last year the PPP General Secretary, Bharrat Jagdeo took aim at President Granger for saying that job creation can start with the selling of plantain chips. 

Subsequently, the PPP and Jagdeo criticized the President and made fun of his position on plantain chips.

Jagdeo even criticized the incumbent administration and said it was creating a “plantain chip economy,” and what is needed is the provision of jobs in the emerging oil and gas sector. 

Since I have a few minutes. A cursory read of the bolded red above and the sheer NONSENSE being peddled by Ali and the clowns in the PPP is evident. They were FOR the plantain chip industry (claiming ownership of the original idea). Then RATman criticized it. Now FATman is trying to sell it again. All for political expediency.

Then comes the PPP simpletons like Nehru, Sean and Dave clapping loudly. No shame in alyuh stupidity.

Furthermore, how does a "plantain chip factory" help Guyana? Considering Jamaica, Costa Rica, DR, and a billion other countries grow plantains commercially, what exactly are the barriers to entry to getting into this enterprise? NONE.

Exhibit A - check the net, you'll find a ton of plantain chip companies in the Caribbean - Mr. Joes, Mr John's, Mariquitas, Caribbean Crisps, Soldanza, Lam's, National etc.

How would Guyana compete with them? What exactly is Guyana's competitive edge here? Would the price of Ali's "Island Chips" be profitable enough to sustain an industry, given the competition already out there?

Ah kno, ah kno. Y'all need not answer. Most of the people who could answer and discuss don't post hay no mo. Demerara guy gon post a picture of a plantain, Nehru gon scratch he ass and smell, and suh on.

Guyana is run by a bunch of very DUNCE people on ALL sides. No competitive analysis, nothing. Just build shit and hope it flies. God help Guyana.

You had an X.

Who asked you to lift your frock and exposed yourself.??

You had an X.

When people inquisitive , you have to let them know. That's how Django roll.

He doesn't ask people personal questions ,not his business.

Y'all hated Ronan, but he leff he mark pon alyuh wid he phraseology. "lift your frock", etc. Even Princess Kaz running around talking about "selling aids infested bt" and suh on.

Practicing the same thing that alyuh appeal to Amral to ban Ronan fuh. No shame in alyuh. Two black man manners all alyuh, suh yuh run complaining.

Some people don't know when to shut dem rass and stay in the pasture. Best to ignore jackass.

Ok! I am putting you on ignore. 

It's good for your Mental Health.

()
Take Action
Reveal Post
Blocked Post(Un-Block Member)

Some people don't know when to shut dem rass and stay in the pasture. Best to ignore jackass.

Ok! I am putting you on ignore. 

He didn't get your point. lol. He's Kinda Puzzled

In 2016 though, the coalition government built a chips factory in a neighbouring Island – Leguan – but it is yet to be operationalized.

The got the plantain but not the chips.  

How about naming the product "Wakalicious Chips"? 

The Plantain chip factories funding was budgeted in 2014.

July 9, 2015

During last year’s budget debate, former acting Minister of Tourism Irfaan Ali had said that the $1 billion was proposed, out of the ministry’s overall $2.2 billion budget, for the fund which will support enterprise development initiatives in rural areas. He had also promised that there will be quarterly reports on the progress of the $1 billion Rural Development Fund and had encouraged members from regions countrywide to educate their villagers about how to access it. “This revolving fund covers all regions. Once it is approved, public ads will be made and calls for proposals to be part of this revolving fund,” he had said.

Read more

It was announced the Leguan Factory to be started in August 2019

more on the story here