Ex-West Indies player honoured by the Queen

Alvin Isaac Kallicharran

EX-West Indies batsman Alvin Isaac Kallicharran was among several sports personalities, who were awarded the British Empire Medal (BEM) in the Queen’s New Year Honours list for his contribution to the sport.

The Guyanese-born batsman would now be entitled to attach the letters “BEM” to his title, signifying that he has been honoured by the queen.

He joins a list of sports personalities Peter Wynne-Thomas Nottingham Club historian, Anthony Clark, for his services to badminton, New Zealand coach Mary Wright for contributions to gymnastics, Sophia Warner for services to disability sports, race walker Chris Maddocks, for his services to athletics, Paralympic athlete Dr Anthony Griffin for services to sport and Stephen Baxter and Northern Ireland’s Crusaders FC manager, Stephen Baxter, for his contribution to football.

Born on March 21, 1949 in Georgetown, Guyana, Kallicharan played cricket from 1972 to 1981 as a left-handed batsman and a right-arm off spinner. Not only did he play for the West Indies team but he also used his elegant watchful batting style in teams including Guyana, Orange Free State, Queensland, Transvaal and Warwickshire.

Kallicharan debuted in his hometown in a face-off between West Indies and New Zealand between April 6-11, 1972, where he made a century without being bowled out. A year later he debuted in One Day Test Cricket, in a clash between England and the West Indies at Leeds, England, where he was stumped with 26 runs, but knocked over three stumps, while conceding 68 runs.

The cricketer was also named Wisden Cricketer of the year in 1983.

One of his more noted international innings where he made 158 runs against English bowlers during the first Test of the West Indies tour of England in London in July 1973. The knock was shrouded in controversy after he was run out by Tony Greig on the final ball of the first day.

He was later on embroiled in further controversy when he led an unofficial rebel tour to South Africa in defiance of the Gleneagles Agreement, which stated that Commonwealth Presidents and Prime Ministers were to discourage contact and competition with sporting organisations from South Africa, who at the time was operating under the policies of apartheid.

Kallicharan also took up the West Indies captaincy from 1977-1978, three years before his last Test Match and ODI appearances in 1981.

He spent the rest of his career playing for Orange Free State and Transvaal in South African domestic cricket. He is currently manager of Lashings World XI.

The British Empire Medal is an award given to people who did a commendable civil or military service worthy of recognition by the Crown.

In England New Year’s Day is usually marked by the naming of new members of orders of chivalry and recipients of other official honours. Kallicharran is expected to be handed the medal on New Year’s Day, by a representative of the queen in her name or by the queen herself.

Brian Davis, who managed the West Indies team while Kallicharran was captain, described him as an “affable person with a tremendous sense of humor”. He said that along with working with him in the West Indies team, he also played against him whenever TT faced Guyana

“I think it is well deserved,” Davis said. “It couldn’t happen to a nicer guy. He stuck with the team when many others were picking up and leaving. He was a great batsman and played very well, and if they want to award him then that is a good choice.”

https://newsday.co.tt/2018/12/...noured-by-the-queen/

Alvin is no PnC supporter, if he was posting on this forum, the same Mars would refer to him as a "mud head", as he so proudly proclaimed about all Indo posters who refuse to fetch pnc slopcan. 

If memory serves me right, he supported the AFC during the last election campaign and someone might be related to Moses ?

There is an Alvin Kallicharan Foundation in England that would go to Guyana once a year ,play matches, donate sports equipment and assist the government on Mental Health Issues. I think ,he was in Toronto about four years ago, he played a friendly match. Unfortunately, he is into the booze, I am surprised the Queen would choose to honor him.

Why a racist and Indo hater like you choose to post this article is beyond me. You should have outsourced this to django. 

Mars is active in sports, has always been an avid sports fan, and posted many articles about Guyana's cricketers.

British Empire Medal (BEM)

Let's petition Queen Elizabeth II to rename this award. It reeks of colonial snobbery and condescension. The British Empire collapsed decades ago.

Prashad proposes Knight of the British Empire Instead.

Mudhead has nothing to do with race, Numbnuts. For me, it would apply to those dunces like yourself or Yugi, who have mud between the ears where brains should be. Except that in your case, it would be more appropriate to call you Sewerhead after you took the plunge in the Demerara and floated for a while with the logs of thousands of GT dwellers.

Why a racist and Indo hater like you choose to post this article is beyond me. You should have outsourced this to django. 

Listen, Guyanese of all races put aside their differences for a good cricket match!

Why you have to call the man a racist.  I liked these guys, also Clive L and Roy F, Joel G, etc.

When Kalli beat up Lilly in the first ever World cup, the whole nation was celebrating!

Mars is active in sports, has always been an avid sports fan, and posted many articles about Guyana's cricketers.

Drugb is just being the usual idiot, he just can’t help himself. I played so much cricket as a youth that I still dream that I’m playing cricket and smashing the ball being bowled by Lamatas like Drugb and Yugi. My father was a member at GCC for many years and took me to the games at Bourda as a youngster. I liked Kallicharran but my favorite player in the earlier years was Rohan Kanhai. As I got older and Kanhai left the scene, I admired Richards the most strictly based on playing ability and nothing to do with anyone’s race or their personal lives. 

Mudhead has nothing to do with race, Numbnuts. For me, it would apply to those dunces like yourself or Yugi, who have mud between the ears where brains should be. Except that in your case, it would be more appropriate to call you Sewerhead after you took the plunge in the Demerara and floated for a while with the logs of thousands of GT dwellers.

Actually, Alvin is a PNC supporter. He endorsed the Coalition on several occasions.

Lots of people endorsed the Coalition ……  until after the Coalition proved that  they are hapless. now the Coalition is scared and are acting like they don't trust the voters to make the right decision.  

Jeez, y’all just can’t put aside race and party politics for one minute. The man was a great cricketer and a Guyanese hero and I’m happy that he has been recognized for his accomplishments. I couldn’t give a rat’s ass whether he was black, white or brown and I don’t know or care about what party he supported. 

Drugb is just being the usual idiot, he just can’t help himself. I played so much cricket as a youth that I still dream that I’m playing cricket and smashing the ball being bowled by Lamatas like Drugb and Yugi. My father was a member at GCC for many years and took me to the games at Bourda as a youngster. I liked Kallicharran but my favorite player in the earlier years was Rohan Kanhai. As I got older and Kanhai left the scene, I admired Richards the most strictly based on playing ability and nothing to do with anyone’s race or their personal lives. 

I liked Roy Fredricks style of batting!  Later, I also like Faud Bacchus!

Jeez, y’all just can’t put aside race and party politics for one minute. The man was a great cricketer and a Guyanese hero and I’m happy that he has been recognized for his accomplishments. I couldn’t give a rat’s ass whether he was black, white or brown and I don’t know or care about what party he supported. 

So you should have posted it in the cricket forum.

I don't know who gives anyone the right to tell another who they should support.  These people carry some mental condition where even the nice game of Cricket is muddied up. 

Even in India they celebrate Pakistani cricketers.  When I lived there, and I said Guyana, the first name came to their minds was Clive L. and second was Viv R from the WI!

This board is like the PPP Taliban!  Fcked up heads!

Left to right; Rohan Kanhai, Alvin Kallicharran and Dr. Cheddi Jagan

Rohan was more of a household name. Sunil Gavaskar and an Australian spin bowler named their sons after him; a pub in England is named after him too.

Who died and made you the Admin? Nobody goes there except DG to pad his post count. We have a few cricket fans here and we talk about cricket here. Just stroll on by if you don’t like it. 

You starting to sound like Basil Williams.

Left to right; Rohan Kanhai, Alvin Kallicharran and Dr. Cheddi Jagan

Rohan was more of a household name. Sunil Gavaskar and an Australian spin bowler named their sons after him; a pub in England is named after him too.

Bob Marley also named one of his sons Rohan.

I don't know who gives anyone the right to tell another who they should support.  These people carry some mental condition where even the nice game of Cricket is muddied up. 

Even in India they celebrate Pakistani cricketers.  When I lived there, and I said Guyana, the first name came to their minds was Clive L. and second was Viv R from the WI!

So go and post your lies on the PNC board.

Even Ray starts Cricket topics here. 

You starting to sound like Basil Williams.

Don’t you have dishes to wash or some Housewives show to look at? 

Suck me!!

Some of you go to bed with politics and race on allyuh minds

Good for Kalli...never got such accolades in West Indies...

While he was a great batsman, Kallicharran fell from grace in the WI because of two incidents in his career. He had agreed to join the rebels with the Kerry Packer circus and then he withdrew and became WI captain with the scrubs who were left behind. He also went to South Africa to play during the Apartheid years when SA was banned from international cricket. Unfortunately, those two incidents left a stain on him when he was a great player in earlier years.

Suck me!!

Easy deh Base, pull up yuh pants, you might catch a cold.

Suck me!!

Easy deh Base, pull up yuh pants, you might catch a cold.

Well, I could have gone low!  Leave at that!

Some of you go to bed with politics and race on allyuh minds

Good for Kalli...never got such accolades in West Indies...

While he was a great batsman, Kallicharran fell from grace in the WI because of two incidents in his career. He had agreed to join the rebels with the Kerry Packer circus and then he withdrew and became WI captain with the scrubs who were left behind. He also went to South Africa to play during the Apartheid years when SA was banned from international cricket. Unfortunately, those two incidents left a stain on him when he was a great player in earlier years.

I agree with Kalli for not going with Packer.  He may not have trusted Packer who was a ruthless businessman. But he should have not gone to South Africa.  That was blood money.