Amidst protests, South Africa defers posthumous award to Burnham – reports

April 30, 2013, By , Filed Under News, Source

The South African government has reportedly suspended granting a national award to former Guyana President, Linden Forbes Sampson Burnham, in the wake of pressure from several quarters.

Burnham, through his daughter Roxanne Van West Charles, was set to receive the posthumous award of the Order of the Companions of O R Tambo, on Saturday as part of South Africa’s celebrations of Freedom Day celebrated on April 27.

Former President, Linden Forbes Sampson Burnham

Burnham ruled Guyana for 21 years before his death in 1985, at age 62. He has been time and again linked to the murder of Walter Rodney, a Guyanese historian, political activist and scholar, who was killed by a car bomb in 1980. It was this accusation and a petition that reportedly caused the South Africans to rescind their decision. There has been no official word from that government on the postponement.

South African official news statements made no mention of Burnham’s award following the event Saturday and Kaieteur News was unable to immediately make contact yesterday with his daughter.

However, a circulated email purportedly sent by Diedre Viljoen, Minister (Plenipotentiary) of the South African High Commission in Canada to the Van West Charles family, indicated that the South African government has decided to defer the posthumous award “indefinitely”.

The instructions came from Mandla Feni, Protocol and Ceremonial Services of the South African Presidency. It was sent Tuesday to the High Commission in Canada and forwarded to Burnham’s daughter on Wednesday.

On April 22, Chancellor of the National Orders, Dr. Cassius Lubisi, announced that Burnham would be honoured for “his dedication to the liberation of his country, Guyana, as well as the African continent. He established diplomatic relations with many African countries and expressed solidarity with the liberation movement and freedom fighters in South Africa. This solidarity with the leaders of the ANC strengthened relations between Guyana and South Africa.”

The award had drawn strong criticisms from Jamaican scholars Dr.Rupert Lewis and Dr. Horace Campbell.

There has not yet been any official comment from the People’s National Congress Reform, a party that Burnham founded.

The change.org website hosted a petition to President of South Africa, Jacob Zuma, condemning the choice of Burnham as the intended recipient of O R Tambo Award. In total, 38 persons, locals and foreign nationals were set to be honoured Saturday.

“Even a cursory investigation reveals that Linden Forbes Sampson Burnham, a late President of Guyana, was disastrous for Guyana and its people, as head of a corrupt, brutal and murderous regime, replete with election rigging, illegal referendums and an imposed Constitution in 1980.

Internationally, it is also known that Burnham was an agent of imperialism, associated with the foreign policy goals of the US, France and other colonial powers,” the petition said. Almost 100 persons signed that petition to the South African President.

“It is an embarrassment that the Government of South Africa made the decision to confer this award.  The award is an affront to the legacy and memory of Walter Rodney, Father Darke, Ohene Koama, Edward Dublin, and the numerous others who paid with their lives or liberty for challenging the increasing repression of the Burnham government.

“Neither Rodney’s assassination in June 1980, nor the other murders of that period have been investigated to this day, despite numerous calls.”

Originally Posted by Mr.T:
Originally Posted by Observer:

Where are D3 and all Fatboy's defenders?

You calling your esteemed leader Ramotar a fatboy now?

i THINK you are a great Student of guyana's History.

You see, Ramotar like his dhall and rice and he will maintain a medium belly. He is considered chubby not fat. 

May be lobbying by Jamaican Pan-Africanists behind the scenes played a part in South Africa putting an end to Burnham's award. Some Jamaican Pan-Africanists were very upset with this award.

You see, Ramotar like his dhall and rice and he will maintain a medium belly. He is considered chubby not fat. 

Ramotar like his dhall and rice and he also likes his dhall and roti   My kind of guy.

Sad day and bad decision.

The Hon LFS Burnham did what he had to do to fight apparthied,  award or no award apparthied is no longer in that part of the world. I hope President Ramouthar continue in mR bURNHAM FOOTSTEPS( and so far the PPP has been doing that) AND be on the side of the struggling people of Palestine.

I was speaking to a Jamaican pan-Africanist today he compared Burnham to Mobutu and was very glad that South Africa stopped the award. 

There is one aspect of Burnham that I liked. Burnham had free education from primary to university along with free textbooks in an economy based on bauxite, rice and sugar. Mobutu never had that even with all the wealth that he had in the congo.

The Hon LFS Burnham did what he had to do to fight apparthied,  award or no award apparthied is no longer in that part of the world. I hope President Ramouthar continue in mR bURNHAM FOOTSTEPS( and so far the PPP has been doing that) AND be on the side of the struggling people of Palestine.

Myself and Skeldon can attest that Chief was a PNC strongman from Corriverton. It is quite disgraceful that Chief feels saddened that his hero, the Thug and Dictator Burnham was denied this award.

Wah yu nah shut you ugly ass face. Yu gadfadda bin ah terrarist.

Chief,

You have no morals. You leeched off the Indians on the Corentyne. Your father and grandfather grazed on the fish that were seized by Washington and Ceres. Remember these two PNC thugs took all the fish, quakes and cast nets from the Indians. Your family benefitted from the bully tatics used by the PNC.

I can see  why you think it's a sad day. I bet you slapped your chest and cried your eyes off when the bastard died.

Why don't you use your money and bestow an honor on this dead bastard terrorist?

Chief,

You have no morals. You leeched off the Indians on the Corentyne. Your father and grandfather grazed on the fish that were seized by Washington and Ceres. Remember these two PNC thugs took all the fish, quakes and cast nets from the Indians. Your family benefitted from the bully tatics used by the PNC.

I can see  why you think it's a sad day. I bet you slapped your chest and cried your eyes off when the bastard died.

Why don't you use your money and bestow an honor on this dead bastard terrorist?

DIS A NUFF NUFF DAAG SHIT A FALL FRAM SKETELDAM HEAD. HEY HEY. 

Originally Posted by PRK:

Chief,

The truth always hurt. If this is all what you say it is, then eat it. I know you like to eat kaka.

Chief,

The truth always hurt. If this is all what you say it is, then eat it. I know you like to eat kaka.

SUH YUH STUPID BIG BELLY SHART ASS TINK. MEH GAT PROPATY ALL IN GUYANA TRINIDAD ORLANDO . MEH NAH TIEF DE POPLE MONEY LIKA YUH. 

Chief,

SUH YUH STUPID BIG BELLY SHART ASS TINK. MEH GAT PROPATY ALL IN GUYANA TRINIDAD ORLANDO . MEH NAH TIEF DE POPLE MONEY LIKA YUH. 

They bsay show me your Company and I eill tell you who you ARE!!!!!

Chief,

YES YU COMPANY A JAGDOE AND IRFAT. DA MEAN YUH A WAN TIEF MAN TOO. 

Chief,

Gal,

Abie ah dem PPP man. You tink wen you cum to Amerika, me an Nehru can tief you?

Chief,

Dem Dah Ah meh Buddy Pickney Dem!!!!

I see Skeldon man and Yugi getting a heart attack. Mr Burnham like the other late leaders of Guyana including Dr Jagan played thier part on the internatoinal scene and assisted in shaping world policies.

Chief,

I lived less than 6 years under your idol. I did not experience the exterme conditions my family did. I hated that that negro from the first time I saw him in 1964. He had that arrogant and evil look on him. Little did I know that you and your family will join with him to inflict hardship on your own people. What a disgrace! When I went in 1977 to Guyana, your godfather's goons searched our house for contraband. My wife was so scared, that she said that she will not return to Guyana until the negroes are out of power. She kept that promise.

Played the part of a good Robber man. I am NOT surprise that you were/ARE a great friend and supporter of this DAAAAG.  Dem seh some Abeee like put we mouth weh deh Soup ah leak.

Skelly, your post immediately above sounds like a good synopsis for an Exposé on Forbes and the PNC.  Maybe you should consider writing it; I'm certain it will be a bestseller.   

Obs,

I call it as I see it.

Played the part of a good Robber man. I am NOT surprise that you were/ARE a great friend and supporter of this DAAAAG.  Dem seh some Abeee like put we mouth weh deh Soup ah leak.

Are you doubting that he did not contribute to the war against apparthied?

No he did not. He fooled stooges like you. He was all for himself Did not care about his own People in Guyana , you think he cared about them  in SA?????????

Nehru  currently you  embrace a corrupt regime, much more corrupt than the late LFSB.

Cool down buddy cool down and get some facts straight, today you and your buddy Jagdeo benefited heavy from the dictator constitution you inherited from Forbes Burnham. A constitution that was passed after a rigged referendum. Today Jagdeo built a castle with money he did not earned.

You should be the last person to say bad things about the late President LFS bURNHAM.

Some of you are programed and cannot think for yourself. It is a known fact that LFS Burnham was a dictator, he rigged several elections and established himself Presdent for life. He could not accomplished that without the help of your Ma and Pa Dr and Mrs Jagan.  Who was Joey Jagan god father? Forbes Burnham! Who stole the 1973 elections? Forbes Burnham! Who supported Burnham in 1974 ? Cheddie Jagan and Janet Jagan!

At no time did I ever say Burnham was a good person what I continue to say is 1. He was brilliant 2. He outsmarted the Jagans at thier own game!!

During his time as leader of Guyana he made quite a few accomplishments and those of you who want to deny that is doing that out of pure hate and anything PNC is bad!!

Thank God, today the PPP corruption is making the PNC regime look like angels.

Let me state this,over the years on GNI  I have been called a PNC, ppp, and AFC supporter BY PEOPLE WHO DO NOT AGREE WITH MY OBJECTIVE position that I take on issues that relate to Guyana. 

All I have to say to the idiots who love to attach labels on anyone who is fair is KISS MY BLACK ASS!!

What is sad about Nehru and his hate crew is that they  love to say how America is great but it seems like did not learn anything from living here. 

American Lesson 101 for Nehru and his hate crew.

Last week in Texas a library was dedicated to President George Bush, all the Presidents gathered there and paid tribute for the work he done.

Make a study of that!!

I got a problem when I see some of the same people who are against Burnham getting the award are the same people who would give talks about how racist koolies are.  I got a problem with that.

What is sad about Nehru and his hate crew is that they  love to say how America is great but it seems like did not learn anything from living here. 

Last week in Texas a library was dedicated to President George Bush, all the Presidents gathered there and paid tribute for the work he done.

Make a study of that!!

Study What. Any of those presidents ever strave their People, Killed their People, Send Special Forces to People House. Man you are so bloody Stupid, no wonder you were cleaning Burnham ASS!!!!

Make a study of that!!

Study What. Any of those presidents ever strave their People, Killed their People, Send Special Forces to People House. Man you are so bloody Stupid, no wonder you were cleaning Burnham ASS!!!!

...and you were holding the lamp!!!

Go read up on George Bush, just a little hint how many Americans died in Iraq and Afghanistan?

Make a study of that!!

Go read up on George Bush, just a little hint how many Americans died in Iraq and Afghanistan?

Dat is a STUPID answer!!!

Make a study of that!!

Nehru Bhai,

You see chief's family were all soupinista's. They turned on their own people to falsely accuse them of buying contraband goods. Those people were wrongfully arrested by the PNC police and GDF forces and jailed. In turn the chief's family received banned stuff(flour, dhall, sardines etc.).
That PNC membership card was gold to the chief.  He's hoping one day that the PNC will return to power and he can use his PNC power to intimidate the Indians again. He thinks he might even get the Minister of Labour job.