These places need more Indian staffing.  As Jagdeo pointed out, there is a racists under-current among the Afros in Guyana and they will let Indians die if it's their choice.  You can expect this 100 fold if the PNC ever takes power in Guyana.

The AFC/PNC will holler racism but the truth must be spoken.

Yes that the PPP is not only racist, but thinks that it can only regain controil of parliament by scaring Indians.

I will appreciate any proof that anybody is preventing Indians from being educated, or telling them to keep their kids at home.   Just this lie shows exactly what Jagdeo is.

 The tourist operator said, oh pnc burning and killing and by the way they have a great water falls called Kaiteur. The tourist replied, how do I avoid "pnc burning and killing" in order to reach Kaiteir falls. The tourist operator replied, it is luck and chance. Then he got into the details of cost, 400US return to Guyana from Barbados then 200US to get to Kaiteur falls + danger of loss of life and limb due to pnc mo fiah and linden riots. The tourist thought for a while and said, damn that is too much money for me, my wife and two kids, 2,400USD just to see a water falls and no blue water and white sand beach! 

You need to catch a dose of reality and stop selling your nancy stories. 

And Caracas had way more violence than  Gtwn ever did.   And yet the tourists went?

Do you think that its odd that some one who is selling a product discourages some one from buying it.  Its like if I own a restaurant and you come in, and I tell you that the food is bad.

Next time that you lie be more creative.

The reality druggie is that many who vaguely hear of Guyana are intrigued because it is unknown and seems to be new spot.  Yes it has a reputation for crime, but so do Mexico, Jamaica, Brazil and many other places and yet tourists go there.'

So rest yourself while St Kitts cleans up in cruise tourism selling its "rainforest" tours.

Oh and by the way druggie your costs indicate exactly why the PPP is dreaming about tourism.  Now why should a tourist have to develop his own package, which will be quite costly, instead of having packages be developed. This is why packages are developed, So that an operator negotiates with service providers, promising (maybe even giaranteeing) volume, in exchange for lower prices and a more developed prtoduct.

So Druggie on day one a tourist is taken on a tour seeing G/twn which is known for its historic bildings, and it might amze you how fascinating non Guyanese find Stabroek Market.  Day two its Kaieteur Falls.  A few days (depending on the weather) to Iworkrama and other spots in the Rupununi. Given the increased visibility of Guyana in gold on TV maybe a trip to a safe gold mine, with tourists encourage to "mine", for an hour or so.

If a local tour operator is promised volume, i.e. 50 Euro  tourists from Bdos per week during the winter months, they will figure out how to reduce costs.  Tours in Guyana are expensive because volumes are low.

Its a pity that the only use you have for Guyana is to allow your family to be enriched through PPP corruption.

BTW now that CAL has the only flights to JFK and will kill Guyanese with airfares this summer, look for declining arrivals.  What will the PPP say then?

And Caracas had way more violence than  Gtwn ever did.   And yet the tourists went?

Do you think that its odd that some one who is selling a product discourages some one from buying it.  Its like if I own a restaurant and you come in, and I tell you that the food is bad.

Next time that you lie be more creative.

The reality druggie is that many who vaguely hear of Guyana are intrigued because it is unknown and seems to be new spot.  Yes it has a reputation for crime, but so do Mexico, Jamaica, Brazil and many other places and yet tourists go there.'

So rest yourself while St Kitts cleans up in cruise tourism selling its "rainforest" tours.

Oh and by the way druggie your costs indicate exactly why the PPP is dreaming about tourism.  Now why should a tourist have to develop his own package, which will be quite costly, instead of having packages be developed. This is why packages are developed, So that an operator negotiates with service providers, promising (maybe even giaranteeing) volume, in exchange for lower prices and a more developed prtoduct.

So Druggie on day one a tourist is taken on a tour seeing G/twn which is known for its historic bildings, and it might amze you how fascinating non Guyanese find Stabroek Market.  Day two its Kaieteur Falls.  A few days (depending on the weather) to Iworkrama and other spots in the Rupununi. Given the increased visibility of Guyana in gold on TV maybe a trip to a safe gold mine, with tourists encourage to "mine", for an hour or so.

If a local tour operator is promised volume, i.e. 50 Euro  tourists from Bdos per week during the winter months, they will figure out how to reduce costs.  Tours in Guyana are expensive because volumes are low.

Its a pity that the only use you have for Guyana is to allow your family to be enriched through PPP corruption.

BTW now that CAL has the only flights to JFK and will kill Guyanese with airfares this summer, look for declining arrivals.  What will the PPP say then?

You keep detracting from the facts, tourist want blue water which Guyana doesn't have. The rain forest tours are a sideshow and not the main course.  As to your Venezuela reference, the beaches are what lures the tourists and they don't venture out of the all inclusive resorts.

So, I see The Marriot Hotel gonna do well eh?

Yes for dignitaries, world leaders, executives, businessmen and affluent overseas visitors. ahahahah No more 1 star pegasus and princess. ahahahah

Originally Posted by Dondadda:
Originally Posted by Prashad:

Feel sorry for your self.  Which one of the personalities in your head answering there?

Stop embarrassing yourself Prashad. You are a Brown clown.

You have to read The West on Trail to truely understand what I am saying.  Many of us East Indians perceive our selves as being brown but others such as white racists perceive us as being black and no different from the black African.

Yes for dignitaries, world leaders, executives, businessmen and affluent overseas visitors. ahahahah No more 1 star pegasus and princess. ahahahah

First you say,

Then you say,

You rass really confused nuh.

First you say,

Then you say,

I don't expect a person with a feeble mind and one foot in the grave to understand that the Marriott is not targeted towards ecotourists. This population is a hardy bunch, they don't want 5star accommodations, they rather sleep under the stars. And besides the accommodations would be in the jungle not in the city for eco tourists. 

There is still hope for you thought, you may still ketch sense if you desist from smoking dry cow shyte. 

First you say,

Then you say,

I don't expect a person with a feeble mind and one foot in the grave to understand that the Marriott is not targeted towards ecotourists. This population is a hardy bunch, they don't want 5star accommodations, they rather sleep under the stars. And besides the accommodations would be in the jungle not in the city for eco tourists. 

There is still hope for you thought, you may still ketch sense if you desist from smoking dry cow shyte. 

By the crap u post I'd say this "dry cow shyte" is on your daily menu.

1. Not all tourists want blue water.

2. Guyana does have blue water. I used to go and swim in those blue water lakes in Linden as a kid.

3. eco tourism is a big money spinner these days.

4. In Suriname they built tourist resorts with river beaches in the jungle. These places are packed to the rafters most of the time. I am even thinking of copying that idea and taking it to Guyana.

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

1. Not all tourists want blue water.

2. Guyana does have blue water. I used to go and swim in those blue water lakes in Linden as a kid.

3. eco tourism is a big money spinner these days.

4. In Suriname they built tourist resorts with river beaches in the jungle. These places are packed to the rafters most of the time. I am even thinking of copying that idea and taking it to Guyana.

Those tourists are far and few in between, possibly .01% of the tourist population. While Guyana has its allure, there is not enough critical mass of hardy tourists to make this significant. That aside, you as usual are a day late and a dollar short. There are umpteen river resorts in Guyana that actually do very well.

Linden blue lakes are toxic dumps, not fit for swimming and the water is stagnant. Tourist are turned off by old mining pits used as recreation sites. 

And yet your PPP is wasting money building a Marriott Hotel.  For whom?  Poeple like you who will return home, and most likely stay with your relatives, unless they live in some hovel?

And why is the PPP spending hundreds of millions of US dollars to expand CBJIA?  For more CAL 737s from JFK?  Not likely if only Guyanese visit.

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

Druggie screams that tourism ha sno hope yet supports the PPP spending millions on Marriott and CBJIA?   Clearly the APNU/AFC are correct when they say that these are projects that should not be funded by taxpayers who should also not be responsible for any loans incurred.

And so you have established a case why the goivt should leave Marriott to be 100%R funded by PRIVATE investors.  If there is a market for it then private investors should assume full risk.

if the government need to build a hotel why they did not build a hotel with a golf course

You see when GOVTs make decsions and not private investors with experience as hotel developers.  And when the main criteria for a project is to reward the ex president's corrupt business friends, you do not expect proper decisions to be made.

Indeed even the private investors arent sure about the project, which is why the govt had to promise them a return of their investment if it fails, and to guarantee loans used for the project.

And so you have established a case why the goivt should leave Marriott to be 100%R funded by PRIVATE investors.  If there is a market for it then private investors should assume full risk.

NICIL is not the only share holder in the Marriott project. The govt is waiting for it to be built before disclosing all parties since the opposition would try to derail the project with threats to life and limb if they knew the investors. Now the govt's role is to act as a security to investors so that they would more likely invest. Some countries do this by subsidies, tax breaks and other methods. Even Jamaica have public/private partnerships to spur development. After which the shares by govt is divested and the taxpayers get back their money. 

Even your hero nation Barbados have public private partnerships. In fact the bajan govt owns hotels, a fact you would rather hide from us hahahah:

http://barbadosfreepress.wordp...-at-only-74-million/

NICIL is not the only share holder in the Marriott project. The govt is waiting for it to be built before disclosing all parties since the opposition would try to derail the project with threats to life and limb if they knew the investors. Now the govt's role is to act as a security to investors so that they would more likely invest. Some countries do this by subsidies, tax breaks and other methods. Even Jamaica have public/private partnerships to spur development. After which the shares by govt is divested and the taxpayers get back their money. 

Even your hero nation Barbados have public private partnerships. In fact the bajan govt owns hotels, a fact you would rather hide from us hahahah:

It would have been understandable if the govt limited its assistance to providing the land free of charge, and also installing infrastructure, waiving duties and VAT.

But it went further than this.  Clearly the priavte investors are scared of this venture and were unwilling to do so w/o govt assuming 100% of the risj if it failed. 

Also if the investors had a real conviction they would not care what the AFC and APNU thought.  Indeed there is sufficient evidence that corrupt Indian businessmen have gotten all sorts of favors from the PPP, maybe even your family.  So a few more will not make a difference.

It is clear;
1.  A significant % of the equity is being invested by a govt owned entity.

2.  The loans are being guaranteed by this entity.

3.  The equity investment by the private investors is also guaranteed by this entity.

Therefore if the venture fails private investors assume ZERO risk, and the govt 100%.  Even in Haiti hotels get built with all of this support, so whats so problematic of Guyana.  Unless one believes that there are already too many hotel rooms, and that the deamand for premium facilities in uncertain?

My question to you is why is not a 100% PRIVATELY funded project.  100% of teh equity from the private sector who also assume risk if the venture fails and the assets from the bankruptcy are insufficient to repay the lenders.

Druggie what is obvious is that.

1.  The private sector investors have no faith in this project's success.

2.  They were coerced by the PPP in order to give the appearance that this is not a govt owned hotel.

3.  As a result the investors demanded a 100% guarantee that their funds will be returned if the project fails and ZERO exposure to any liabilities from lenders, and others.

What the private investors see is that the hotels in Guyana have less than 30% occupancy rates.  That the bulk of the visitors are Guyanese, most of whom stay with friends and relatives.  And that it is not a sure fact whether sufficient numbers of those who do stay in hotels will be willing to pay rates higher than that charged by the competition, whichy will tghen force Marriott to reduce its rates. 

Note that Marriott will demand its management fee.  They might even charge a premium fee for a high risk destination like Guyana, more than a surer place like Trinidad which has a well establishe dhigh end business traffic.  Thus driving up the costs of running the hotel.

So druggie it is clear to all, EVEN YOU, that this venture is seen as being too risky to be supported only by PRIVATE entities, so a govt entity has to step in and assume 100% of the risks of this venture.

It would have been understandable if the govt limited its assistance to providing the land free of charge, and also installing infrastructure, waiving duties and VAT.

But it went further than this.  Clearly the priavte investors are scared of this venture and were unwilling to do so w/o govt assuming 100% of the risj if it failed. 

Also if the investors had a real conviction they would not care what the AFC and APNU thought.  Indeed there is sufficient evidence that corrupt Indian businessmen have gotten all sorts of favors from the PPP, maybe even your family.  So a few more will not make a difference.

It is clear;
1.  A significant % of the equity is being invested by a govt owned entity.

2.  The loans are being guaranteed by this entity.

3.  The equity investment by the private investors is also guaranteed by this entity.

Therefore if the venture fails private investors assume ZERO risk, and the govt 100%.  Even in Haiti hotels get built with all of this support, so whats so problematic of Guyana.  Unless one believes that there are already too many hotel rooms, and that the deamand for premium facilities in uncertain?

My question to you is why is not a 100% PRIVATELY funded project.  100% of teh equity from the private sector who also assume risk if the venture fails and the assets from the bankruptcy are insufficient to repay the lenders.

Druggie what is obvious is that.

1.  The private sector investors have no faith in this project's success.

2.  They were coerced by the PPP in order to give the appearance that this is not a govt owned hotel.

3.  As a result the investors demanded a 100% guarantee that their funds will be returned if the project fails and ZERO exposure to any liabilities from lenders, and others.

What the private investors see is that the hotels in Guyana have less than 30% occupancy rates.  That the bulk of the visitors are Guyanese, most of whom stay with friends and relatives.  And that it is not a sure fact whether sufficient numbers of those who do stay in hotels will be willing to pay rates higher than that charged by the competition, whichy will tghen force Marriott to reduce its rates. 

Note that Marriott will demand its management fee.  They might even charge a premium fee for a high risk destination like Guyana, more than a surer place like Trinidad which has a well establishe dhigh end business traffic.  Thus driving up the costs of running the hotel.

So druggie it is clear to all, EVEN YOU, that this venture is seen as being too risky to be supported only by PRIVATE entities, so a govt entity has to step in and assume 100% of the risks of this venture.

There are no local investors with deep pockets enough to finance the Marriott and the big foreign investors are turned off by the mo fiah slow fiah crew, the political stability that Barbados have and Guyana doesn't because of the opposition.